A plea to Parnell Park

Some people from Dublin taking criticisms of the ground a bit personally is quite strange.....

We are only a week away from Leinster championship meeting of Meath and Louth, and majority of people who went to this venue last year have bad memories of the venue, now maybe staff were caught on the hop and didn't expect a sell out (actually probably over sold) but this year there can be no excuses, I genuinely feared for the younger member of my family safety as pushing and shoving while waiting for gates to open became very dangerous, I put my then 9 yo daughter in front of me with a Louth man saying he would try to keep the front from pushing back as i tried to lean back to stop any shove forward, all this while stewards put up signs saying they would not open gates until x time, there was unreserved seating and the Qs were getting bigger as everyone tried to push to front to get a better seat in stand,. The clubhouse was packed I had arrived somewhat early and tried to get a drink (non alcoholic) after waiting unsuccessfully for 20 minutes I left and looked at the bewildered family who were having a christening in clubhouse been taken over by quite loud and excited Meath and Louth men. Once inside the shop ran out of everything including water, on a hot day this was particularly bad for children.
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:11178 - 27/05/2017 12:28:44
If people are rushing/shoving before gates opened then the gardai/stewards need to be more proactive in policing entry to the ground. Poor if shop ran out of supplys but hhard for them to do much if demand is so high. Can be hard to predict at times at games. Poor management of venue to organise christening in clubhouse on day of game.
So PP you know what's coming, this game is already nearly a sell out, be prepared.
1. Open gates early , at least 90 minutes before throw in.
2. Do not have a function in club on that afternoon.
3 . Please ensure basic water supplies at venue, (go to cash and carry)
The last 2 are more for people having function and for children attending match.
4. Double the amount of stewards.
I have never worried for the safety of my children at a match (bar 10 when some idiots tried to get a rise) what makes the GAA great is the family day out aspect, the kids embarrassment at their dads childishness (well mine anyway) but the want to go to a match is always there. I only say this as I have my 5 tickets for this game bought , my now 10yo daughter for first time in 4 years doesn't want to go, the same girl who went with me to newry on a terrible night, and is like my mascot she goes to every game I go to, cause she is worried about last year and same thing happening again. I have told her it wont and they will be better organized this Time. Please Parnell Park make this a enjoyable and safe day for all attending.
This post is not intended in anyway as a slight on Dublin GAA or the officials at Parnell park, this is a plea to just have this event better organized, no one wants someone to be hurt or severely injured at a football. Crushing at sporting events should never have the possibilities to happen.
I would have thought gates would be open at least 90 minutes before any game. Any Connacht game i work gates open 90 minutes before kick off and theyre open 2 hours before the biggest games.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 27/05/2017 17:02:19    1991264

Hahahahahahaha
All this from a Meath man who regularly visits the dinosaur that is pairc tailteann.
seriously you should have been at the Dublin club final between plunketts and vincents couple years ago that was Parnell park packed to the rafters literally standing in the stand no room on the path at side terrace yet nobody had any problems it went off smoothly. Didn't realise the meathers were that soft these days, make sure you bring the hand sanitizer the bars might not be swept since Louth v Wicklow haha
oh maybe an idea bring a bottle of water with you before you go the ground haha
come on man Parnell is similiar to most county grounds of its size. Louth and Meath both have run down grounds for home venues surely of all counties ye shouldn't be overly fussed at facilities at this stage.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:12028 - 27/05/2017 13:36:38
What a childish response. The OPs concerns were perfectly viable and this only shows you to be very petty.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 27/05/2017 17:04:11    1991265

Replying To ziggy32001:  "if you cannot get kids into the stand,then don't bring them. the rest of the ground is far from kid friendly."
Ziggy like myself you have been to many a game, honestly, everything else aside have you ever seen such a mess as last year? I agree about going to stand, I wouldn't bring them to a terrace

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/05/2017 17:04:52    1991266

Jesus man what a silly reply. Grow up ffs. Hopefully they get your email
Royal Dunne and everyone is safe come match day. Craobh is separate to PP and they never worked together and on the water situation I think it's up to yourself on a hot day to bring your own there only two small shops in the ground.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts:8567 - 27/05/2017 15:23:02
It shouldnt be simply up to you to bring whatever you need. The ground should have the appropriate services to provide for its customers.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 27/05/2017 17:06:14    1991267

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Jesus man what a silly reply. Grow up ffs. Hopefully they get your email
Royal Dunne and everyone is safe come match day. Craobh is separate to PP and they never worked together and on the water situation I think it's up to yourself on a hot day to bring your own there only two small shops in the ground."
Look I cam work with the crobh and even the shop situation, but leaving crowds outside a gate with loads of kids instead of just opening up the ground in the interest of safety was my main worry. The surge forward everytime a steward came around was worrying. As I said this has nothing to do with Dublin GAA , its got to do with getting thing organized better

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/05/2017 17:08:50    1991269

Replying To hill16no1man:  "How is it turning into a dubs everyone hates us?
Parnell ain't the burj al Arab but what 10 thousand stadium is ?
Drogheda is a glorified field and navan is falling apart at the seams.
complaining about not having water in a shop is ridiculous you can easily avoid by bringing your own before you go.
people are long enough going to matches to know how to avoid any of these prpblems,to make sure they get in early and avoid quewes it's common sense. If its unreserved seating it's your own tough look if you don't get a good seat, most ground are like that tullamore and portlaoise will be too for dublins games on Sunday and the following Saturday.
stewards at all grounds do barely anything there basically just filling in a check list by the gaa. Look at all grounds outside croker where people invade the pitch after the match you surely have more chance of crowd problems with that happening but nobody whinges about the stewards doing nothing to stop it haha.
a full house is always going to see quewes or tight for space it's the nature of it. I remember as a kid being on the hill and when a goal was scored often ending up fifteen feet away from where I was standing originally, there does be quewes going into the hill like that aswell and croke park is the best run stadium in the country. Its just common sense to go early and avoid."
Again you seemed to have not read my post correctly.
My MAIN issue was with ques outside. I said number of times the gates weren't opened ... That's my problem, we were there 2 hours plus before match gates were not opened so qued up waiting on them to open they opened about 30/20 minutes prior to kick off while thousand of people had now joined q, so how would arriving early , which I did, have helped ? When Parnell park would not open up entrances to ground, causing crushing pushing shoving etc and the natural surge forward taking everyone in front of them when gates are opened. Perhaps you didn't read my post properly. Parnell Park did not open up gates until late when huge crowds had gathered, everything else I will deal with, putting young children and elderly people in danger of been crushed or trampled on if god forbid one should fall is my main issue and what I have written to Dublin GAA, open up gates 90 minutes prior to game and get rid of the dangerous scenes of last year. The water and club house I can deal with.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/05/2017 17:25:53    1991272

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Petty tribalism is rich when you were all for Dublin v carlow having to take place in Cullen park despite it not having the capacity or capabilities of holding the game and i didn't see your concerns when I spoke of the last time Dublin played championship there when their was no stopping people without tickets getting in over a small wall behind the goal and the pitch seeing more streakers than player's over the 70 minutes. Plus hoganstand showed a picture of Cullen park stand with a seat with a pole directly in front of it making it impossible to see or sit in."
Firstly you equated a blocked view to a child getting crushed while entering a ground. I think that speaks a lot of your priorities. Secondly I never mentioned Cullen park and bringing dubs to Carlow, like last year I said if it couldn't cope with crowd then it should be moved, so you got me wrong again

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/05/2017 17:29:30    1991273

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Some people from Dublin taking criticisms of the ground a bit personally is quite strange.....

We are only a week away from Leinster championship meeting of Meath and Louth, and majority of people who went to this venue last year have bad memories of the venue, now maybe staff were caught on the hop and didn't expect a sell out (actually probably over sold) but this year there can be no excuses, I genuinely feared for the younger member of my family safety as pushing and shoving while waiting for gates to open became very dangerous, I put my then 9 yo daughter in front of me with a Louth man saying he would try to keep the front from pushing back as i tried to lean back to stop any shove forward, all this while stewards put up signs saying they would not open gates until x time, there was unreserved seating and the Qs were getting bigger as everyone tried to push to front to get a better seat in stand,. The clubhouse was packed I had arrived somewhat early and tried to get a drink (non alcoholic) after waiting unsuccessfully for 20 minutes I left and looked at the bewildered family who were having a christening in clubhouse been taken over by quite loud and excited Meath and Louth men. Once inside the shop ran out of everything including water, on a hot day this was particularly bad for children.
If people are rushing/shoving before gates opened then the gardai/stewards need to be more proactive in policing entry to the ground. Poor if shop ran out of supplys but hhard for them to do much if demand is so high. Can be hard to predict at times at games. Poor management of venue to organise christening in clubhouse on day of game.
So PP you know what's coming, this game is already nearly a sell out, be prepared.
1. Open gates early , at least 90 minutes before throw in.
2. Do not have a function in club on that afternoon.
3 . Please ensure basic water supplies at venue, (go to cash and carry)
The last 2 are more for people having function and for children attending match.
4. Double the amount of stewards.
I have never worried for the safety of my children at a match (bar 10 when some idiots tried to get a rise) what makes the GAA great is the family day out aspect, the kids embarrassment at their dads childishness (well mine anyway) but the want to go to a match is always there. I only say this as I have my 5 tickets for this game bought , my now 10yo daughter for first time in 4 years doesn't want to go, the same girl who went with me to newry on a terrible night, and is like my mascot she goes to every game I go to, cause she is worried about last year and same thing happening again. I have told her it wont and they will be better organized this Time. Please Parnell Park make this a enjoyable and safe day for all attending.
This post is not intended in anyway as a slight on Dublin GAA or the officials at Parnell park, this is a plea to just have this event better organized, no one wants someone to be hurt or severely injured at a football. Crushing at sporting events should never have the possibilities to happen.
I would have thought gates would be open at least 90 minutes before any game. Any Connacht game i work gates open 90 minutes before kick off and theyre open 2 hours before the biggest games."
Unfortunately not open 90 minutes before hand they came up and put up sign to say not open until x time, I think it was 30 min before match, that caused those queuing behind me to get very irate and made situation worse. It was only time I have attended a match where gates were so late opening, I dont know if its a policy of pp or it was a one off thing.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/05/2017 17:45:51    1991276

Replying To royaldunne:  "Again you seemed to have not read my post correctly.
My MAIN issue was with ques outside. I said number of times the gates weren't opened ... That's my problem, we were there 2 hours plus before match gates were not opened so qued up waiting on them to open they opened about 30/20 minutes prior to kick off while thousand of people had now joined q, so how would arriving early , which I did, have helped ? When Parnell park would not open up entrances to ground, causing crushing pushing shoving etc and the natural surge forward taking everyone in front of them when gates are opened. Perhaps you didn't read my post properly. Parnell Park did not open up gates until late when huge crowds had gathered, everything else I will deal with, putting young children and elderly people in danger of been crushed or trampled on if god forbid one should fall is my main issue and what I have written to Dublin GAA, open up gates 90 minutes prior to game and get rid of the dangerous scenes of last year. The water and club house I can deal with."
You wrote a journal of things you want done and had problems with in your opening post though so you can't pull the you didn't read it right.
ok you wrote to Parnell office and what was their answer to the gates not being opened? It's not usual for Parnell park all the times I have played or gone as supporter have never witnesed that so would have to have been a reason.
Of course nobody wants crushes at games so cannot understand why that would be.but you seem to be making a meal of it literally with a litany of things from upset at craobh chirann clubhouse having a function on to the shop running out of water to the stand seats been filled without seat numbers.
I was at a league final when we beat Derry in 2014 and they only had the middle of the hill open and it was well overfull with the steps filled with people the whole way down,people were squashed heard people next to me pleading with gardai to get them to open another section as section a and the nally were empty but they just said its not up to us

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/05/2017 19:14:09    1991283

Replying To hill16no1man:  "You wrote a journal of things you want done and had problems with in your opening post though so you can't pull the you didn't read it right.
ok you wrote to Parnell office and what was their answer to the gates not being opened? It's not usual for Parnell park all the times I have played or gone as supporter have never witnesed that so would have to have been a reason.
Of course nobody wants crushes at games so cannot understand why that would be.but you seem to be making a meal of it literally with a litany of things from upset at craobh chirann clubhouse having a function on to the shop running out of water to the stand seats been filled without seat numbers.
I was at a league final when we beat Derry in 2014 and they only had the middle of the hill open and it was well overfull with the steps filled with people the whole way down,people were squashed heard people next to me pleading with gardai to get them to open another section as section a and the nally were empty but they just said its not up to us"
Well now, on your last point, that's an abdication of responsibility by the gardai. If people are getting squashed at any game. the gardai surely must have a right and responsibility on health and safety grounds to overrule any preplanned decision by ground administrators.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 27/05/2017 19:40:33    1991285

Replying To Jackeen:  "Just a thought but perhaps contact them directly with your concerns? Doubtful they are on HS."
A carefully thought out reply

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 27/05/2017 21:08:22    1991310

You wrote a journal of things you want done and had problems with in your opening post though so you can't pull the you didn't read it right.
I was at a league final when we beat Derry in 2014 and they only had the middle of the hill open and it was well overfull with the steps filled with people the whole way down,people were squashed heard people next to me pleading with gardai to get them to open another section as section a and the nally were empty but they just said its not up to us
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:12030 - 27/05/2017 19:14:09
But hill how is the OP making a meal of things? If anyone's making a meal of it its you. If what OP said is true then stadium management need to completely change their policies and improve their services within the ground for supporters.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 27/05/2017 21:38:12    1991312

honestly in terms of planning and safety,the game i went to last year at parnell park was shocking and by far the worst seen, and i have been going to games all over the country for more than 20 years.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/05/2017 22:17:42    1991323

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "You wrote a journal of things you want done and had problems with in your opening post though so you can't pull the you didn't read it right.
But hill how is the OP making a meal of things? If anyone's making a meal of it its you. If what OP said is true then stadium management need to completely change their policies and improve their services within the ground for supporters."
oh it is true,anyone who went to the game would know it was true. they didn't care about supporters at all,and as i said before,i wouldn't bring kids to any of the terraces there. dangerous isn't the word.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/05/2017 22:19:16    1991324

Replying To ziggy32001:  "
Replying To ormondbannerman:  "You wrote a journal of things you want done and had problems with in your opening post though so you can't pull the you didn't read it right.
But hill how is the OP making a meal of things? If anyone's making a meal of it its you. If what OP said is true then stadium management need to completely change their policies and improve their services within the ground for supporters."
oh it is true,anyone who went to the game would know it was true. they didn't care about supporters at all,and as i said before,i wouldn't bring kids to any of the terraces there. dangerous isn't the word."
That's it ziggy. I think it was the worst I have seen in over 40 years going to matches. Not the facility, the organization.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2017 08:52:14    1991353

I was at the game last year behind the goal at the golf course end.

There was loads of room there.

Are you bringing your kids with you next week RD ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/05/2017 10:00:56    1991365

Hill why are you going on so silly like arguing with the man when he's telling you his daughter got an awful fright at nearly being crushed, your taking it personally like he's having a go at Dublin or something, if theirs a problem that hasn't been brought to Parnell Parks attention then I say far play to Royaldunne. You making a debate of it as if he's making it up is making you look ridiculous.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/05/2017 11:12:19    1991374

I was at the game last year with my 3 children. I do remember the queues to get in and we were there early but left standing for maybe 30 mins in a crowd as gates were closed. With 3-4 year olds I'd understand the nervousness. Simply not thought through properly. As for the terrace. The gradient is too shallow and it results in poor viewing and no visibility for kids. Mine didn't see much ball and it's the stand for me from now on. Again not a dig at Dublin GAA just constructive criticism and well done RD for highlighting these safety concerns. It would be worth mailing Parnell park themselves.

ged (Louth) - Posts: 296 - 28/05/2017 11:49:23    1991383

Hopefully whatever issues were there last year are sorted for this upcoming game.

I've been to Parnell with children on a number of occasions when it has been sold out and never seen any of the highlighted issues. Hopefully it was just a once off.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13710 - 28/05/2017 12:01:28    1991389

Replying To MesAmis:  "Hopefully whatever issues were there last year are sorted for this upcoming game.

I've been to Parnell with children on a number of occasions when it has been sold out and never seen any of the highlighted issues. Hopefully it was just a once off."
honestly think it was because dublin were not involved or it was too big for them been a champ game.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/05/2017 12:07:34    1991391