The Talent Drain

Replying To TheHermit:  "FYI, we play hurling too!"
Yeah And kilkenny play football.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/05/2017 13:10:59    1986211

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Yeah And kilkenny play football."
Ignorance of this kind should not be allowed past the Admin, take your head out of your a** Clondalkin

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/05/2017 13:40:39    1986220

I think the main issue here is that T Kennelly has agreed a new deal with AFL which offers new international recruits roughly 80K a year for a 2 year contract, 3 return flights for the individual and parents, a car, free digs,,,etc ( while lining his own pockets aswell). This is impossible for young players to refuse. Their heart might want to stay and play for the county but their head basically says it's a no brainer to take the ticket to OZ . to my knowledge, The GAA, nor any county, has come out publically with an action plan to tackle the poaching of the very best young prospects in Ireland. ( I'm pretty confident Dublin county Board were very active in bringing back C.Kilkenny and I applaud them for that) .
I see where the Kerry posters are coming from. Why should they just sit back and let the best underage talent get poached. Yes, it happens in other counties also but I'd be more frustrated with other counties taking no action rather that Kerry posters trying to raise the issue. Kildare should be up in arms over the list of young players they have lost but what did they do? did they raise the issue, not to my knowledge. Behind closed doors, I presume each county was trying to persuade these players from travelling but its definitely an issue that needs to be addressed by the GAA, rather the just shrugging the shoulders and sayings "sure what can we do".

Scaramanga (Cork) - Posts: 14 - 12/05/2017 17:05:31    1986295

I think the main issue here is that T Kennelly has agreed a new deal with AFL which offers new international recruits roughly 80K a year for a 2 year contract, 3 return flights for the individual and parents, a car, free digs,,,etc ( while lining his own pockets aswell). This is impossible for young players to refuse.

its definitely an issue that needs to be addressed by the GAA, rather the just shrugging the shoulders and sayings "sure what can we do".

Scaramanga (Cork) - Posts:1 - 12/05/2017

What do you think the GAA can do to address it? Stop Kennelly and other scouts from coming over? Stop players attending trials?

The GAA can't do anything. Simple as that.

The resources needed to compete with professional sports simply aren't there.

Players leave their clubs, drop off teams and stop playing football or hurling for a variety of reasons - why should Aussie rules be the only that's tackled?

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 12/05/2017 17:26:58    1986304

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "I think the main issue here is that T Kennelly has agreed a new deal with AFL which offers new international recruits roughly 80K a year for a 2 year contract, 3 return flights for the individual and parents, a car, free digs,,,etc ( while lining his own pockets aswell). This is impossible for young players to refuse.

its definitely an issue that needs to be addressed by the GAA, rather the just shrugging the shoulders and sayings "sure what can we do".

What do you think the GAA can do to address it? Stop Kennelly and other scouts from coming over? Stop players attending trials?

Players leave their clubs, drop off teams and stop playing football or hurling for a variety of reasons - why should Aussie rules be the only that's tackled?"
Exactly there are lads leave for very tackable reasons why on earth lads going to Aussie should be a priority is beyond me

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 12/05/2017 18:03:29    1986316

Replying To clondalkindub:  "My last post was replying to kingdomboy on his "we have the numbers to cope""
Clondalkin in the district of south Kerry where there is 9 parishes and 9 different football teams can you guess how many kids are registered to start school in all those 9 parishes this September?
The answer is 5 children that's FIVE children starting school in all those parishes in south Kerry this year so don't talk to us about numbers.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/05/2017 19:41:40    1986331

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Clondalkin in the district of south Kerry where there is 9 parishes and 9 different football teams can you guess how many kids are registered to start school in all those 9 parishes this September?
The answer is 5 children that's FIVE children starting school in all those parishes in south Kerry this year so don't talk to us about numbers."
Thats because all the Kerry women are marrying Dubs mate, moving east, driving SUV to Dundrum and their kids are togging out for the Jacks, as you say yourselves.

Bit of lynx and the like and sure might be the boost Kerry football needs. :)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/05/2017 20:05:11    1986334

Replying To TheUsername:  "Thats because all the Kerry women are marrying Dubs mate, moving east, driving SUV to Dundrum and their kids are togging out for the Jacks, as you say yourselves.

Bit of lynx and the like and sure might be the boost Kerry football needs. :)"
Ya the Kerry women love that westbritt accent. ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/05/2017 22:00:38    1986345

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya the Kerry women love that westbritt accent. ;-)"
Haha your not wrong mate, the game is turning into a stronghold in the most south of the southern parts of the county.

Even saw a kid hopping and soloing ball down Dun Loairghe pier the other day decked out in a Cuala kit, the times.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/05/2017 22:48:51    1986352

Replying To Damothedub:  "
Replying To if_in_doubt:  "I think the main issue here is that T Kennelly has agreed a new deal with AFL which offers new international recruits roughly 80K a year for a 2 year contract, 3 return flights for the individual and parents, a car, free digs,,,etc ( while lining his own pockets aswell). This is impossible for young players to refuse.

Players leave their clubs, drop off teams and stop playing football or hurling for a variety of reasons - why should Aussie rules be the only that's tackled?"
Exactly there are lads leave for very tackable reasons why on earth lads going to Aussie should be a priority is beyond me"
well Dublin obviously came up with a viable option to entice C kilkenny back!! i agree its very difficult to compete with a professional sport but if the county boards can come up with some incentives to at least make a player consider his options, its a start.And yes, players drop out all the time for various reasons, But were talking about the best prospects counties have. If you're a CEO of a company and your best up and coming staff are being head hunted by another firm, what would you? look to improve things to keep those individuals or leave them off and employ lesser quality staff. the latter is what the GAA are doing at the moment

Scaramanga (Cork) - Posts: 14 - 12/05/2017 23:05:26    1986361

FFS -GAA come up with a plan to incentivise them to stay!!

What are they doing? Well currently, 99.99% of the playing population must wait around to play their most important games in the muck and shite of winter (despite it being a summer sport) while they wait for the 0.01% to play their games. That 0.01% spend the year training to play 75% of games in games that they claim don't matter (the national league) and the remainder of games in uneven, outdated, boringly-predictable competitions (provincial championships). 25% of intercounty players will get to play games in August in meaningful games.

Mark O'Connor is making his debut for Geelong cats. He went over there in November. he has made great progress. He is playing a professional sport and is getting well paid. He will have free trips back to Kerry. If he gets homesick in a few years, then he can come back, There are loads of Irish people over there also. The weather is great. He gets to play meaningful matches week-in, week-out. He was one of the best talents of gaelic football, which inevitable implies that when he plays gaelic football at the top level, he will be targetted and left unprotected by referees.

I am delighted for him and I hope it works out for him. Ditto Darragh Joyce, Ray Connellan, etc I hope David Clifford goes too. This is an opportunity for these lads. A great opportunity to be professional sports people. The GAA don't give a damn about player welfare. I hope more and more of these players get the opportunity to go. They should go and give it a lash. If it doesn't work out, then they can still come back and have no regrets about it.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 13/05/2017 09:36:27    1986388

Replying To Scaramanga:  "
Replying To Damothedub:  "[quote=if_in_doubt:  "I think the main issue here is that T Kennelly has agreed a new deal with AFL which offers new international recruits roughly 80K a year for a 2 year contract, 3 return flights for the individual and parents, a car, free digs,,,etc ( while lining his own pockets aswell). This is impossible for young players to refuse.

Exactly there are lads leave for very tackable reasons why on earth lads going to Aussie should be a priority is beyond me"
well Dublin obviously came up with a viable option to entice C kilkenny back!! i agree its very difficult to compete with a professional sport but if the county boards can come up with some incentives to at least make a player consider his options, its a start.And yes, players drop out all the time for various reasons, But were talking about the best prospects counties have. If you're a CEO of a company and your best up and coming staff are being head hunted by another firm, what would you? look to improve things to keep those individuals or leave them off and employ lesser quality staff. the latter is what the GAA are doing at the moment"]That's an excellent post. And you're spot on.
I mean if the gaa stopped trying to develop football and hurling in South Africa and South America and the places where people have no interest in our games they would have plenty of money to give the young lads some few quid to go around their counties training the next generation on the way up.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/05/2017 10:54:59    1986393

You gotta love the culchies; Kilkenny went over for 6 weeks came home at Christmas and decided it wasn't for him absolutely nothing to do with Dublin enticing him back he's by all accounts a home bird who got home sickness and is happy to be training to be a teacher and playing for Dublin nothing more in it. Why would Dublin county board let him go in the first place if this was the case complete bs, great post benny bunny and your right the weather is great over there and the women are even greater unbelievable talent out there.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/05/2017 11:35:57    1986396

You would wonder what the impact of relative quick success of Mark O' Connor out there will have on the AFL recruitment. I suppose Kennelly and the like can now point to him and say well look what he did, this is how much he is earning etc. It must be very hard for a 17/18 year old to be turning down tens of thousands for a jaunt down under, while most of their peer will be heading down there anyway picking fruit for a couple of euro a day.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 13/05/2017 12:17:23    1986402

Replying To bennybunny:  "FFS -GAA come up with a plan to incentivise them to stay!!

What are they doing? Well currently, 99.99% of the playing population must wait around to play their most important games in the muck and shite of winter (despite it being a summer sport) while they wait for the 0.01% to play their games. That 0.01% spend the year training to play 75% of games in games that they claim don't matter (the national league) and the remainder of games in uneven, outdated, boringly-predictable competitions (provincial championships). 25% of intercounty players will get to play games in August in meaningful games.

Mark O'Connor is making his debut for Geelong cats. He went over there in November. he has made great progress. He is playing a professional sport and is getting well paid. He will have free trips back to Kerry. If he gets homesick in a few years, then he can come back, There are loads of Irish people over there also. The weather is great. He gets to play meaningful matches week-in, week-out. He was one of the best talents of gaelic football, which inevitable implies that when he plays gaelic football at the top level, he will be targetted and left unprotected by referees.

I am delighted for him and I hope it works out for him. Ditto Darragh Joyce, Ray Connellan, etc I hope David Clifford goes too. This is an opportunity for these lads. A great opportunity to be professional sports people. The GAA don't give a damn about player welfare. I hope more and more of these players get the opportunity to go. They should go and give it a lash. If it doesn't work out, then they can still come back and have no regrets about it."
All the ills of GAA summed up in a single post. Completely agree

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 13/05/2017 16:26:35    1986447

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "All the ills of GAA summed up in a single post. Completely agree"
I Agree Bennybunny with your assessment of the GAA. it's a completely reactive organisation rather than a proactive once. eg, black card, super eights, all came in after constant complaints . So I see nothing wrong with Posters raising the issue of T Kennelly cherry picking the cream of the underage crop to try and get the GAA to react.
IMHO, there is nothing more despairing than basing your county hopes on upcoming prospects only to see them lost to the AFL, even for those few years they are contracted for. Where would Donegal be now if M Murphy decide to take up his offers, or Tyrone with Sean Cavanagh ( I'm confident they would have made good careers over there). How did the Derry natives feel when Conor Glass decided to put pen to paper?

Scaramanga (Cork) - Posts: 14 - 15/05/2017 13:15:59    1986800

Replying To clondalkindub:  "You gotta love the culchies; Kilkenny went over for 6 weeks came home at Christmas and decided it wasn't for him absolutely nothing to do with Dublin enticing him back he's by all accounts a home bird who got home sickness and is happy to be training to be a teacher and playing for Dublin nothing more in it. Why would Dublin county board let him go in the first place if this was the case complete bs, great post benny bunny and your right the weather is great over there and the women are even greater unbelievable talent out there."
It's ridiculous alright.

Kilkenny came back on his own but to believe some on here the Dublin County Board made him some sort of offer! Do the Dublin County Board run St. Pat's Teacher Training College now?

He wanted to play ball and be a teacher or maybe he wasn't going to make it over there. Nothing else to it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13714 - 15/05/2017 14:14:42    1986821

Replying To MesAmis:  "It's ridiculous alright.

Kilkenny came back on his own but to believe some on here the Dublin County Board made him some sort of offer! Do the Dublin County Board run St. Pat's Teacher Training College now?

He wanted to play ball and be a teacher or maybe he wasn't going to make it over there. Nothing else to it."
It tells it's own story.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 15/05/2017 14:55:25    1986838

Replying To MesAmis:  "It's ridiculous alright.

He wanted to play ball and be a teacher or maybe he wasn't going to make it over there. Nothing else to it."
In Kilkennys situation so you could say that the drain backed up.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/05/2017 15:57:29    1986860

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "
Replying To Scaramanga:  "[quote=Damothedub:  "[quote=if_in_doubt:  "I think the main issue here is that T Kennelly has agreed a new deal with AFL which offers new international recruits roughly 80K a year for a 2 year contract, 3 return flights for the individual and parents, a car, free digs,,,etc ( while lining his own pockets aswell). This is impossible for young players to refuse.

well Dublin obviously came up with a viable option to entice C kilkenny back!! i agree its very difficult to compete with a professional sport but if the county boards can come up with some incentives to at least make a player consider his options, its a start.And yes, players drop out all the time for various reasons, But were talking about the best prospects counties have. If you're a CEO of a company and your best up and coming staff are being head hunted by another firm, what would you? look to improve things to keep those individuals or leave them off and employ lesser quality staff. the latter is what the GAA are doing at the moment"]That's an excellent post. And you're spot on.
I mean if the gaa stopped trying to develop football and hurling in South Africa and South America and the places where people have no interest in our games they would have plenty of money to give the young lads some few quid to go around their counties training the next generation on the way up."]I mean if the gaa stopped trying to develop football and hurling in South Africa and South America and the places where people have no interest in our games they would have plenty of money to give the young lads some few quid to go around their counties training the next generation on the way up.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts:5125 - 13/05/2017 10:54:59 1986393

This nonsense again! The GAA spends sweet FA on gaelic games abroad my friend, the revenues for which come mostly from players' pockets and local sponsors. In fact, you could even make an argument that the GAA is beginning to make decent bunce out of all the foreign clubs, between affiliation fees, clubs abroad being hauled back to Ireland to play in their own continental championships some years and what's being charged to play in the World Games...

What's more, if someone from GAA HQ comes out to watch the pan-Asian games or whatever, he or she is looked after by the local club and board from the moment they land to the moment they leave. It's the same for coaches doing sessions abroad.

If clubs in Ireland are losing players to AFL, it's entirely due to socio-economic circumstances in rural Ireland and little else.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 15/05/2017 15:59:00    1986861