U21 All Ireland Football Final - Dublin v Galway

Well done Dublin on a thoroughly deserved win.
Hard luck to our lads, your gave us a lot of pleasure on your run to the final.
Some great prospects on both teams.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 29/04/2017 19:01:31    1983504

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Jesus that was awesome from Dublin , unreal football from our lads hard luck to Galway just came up against a really good Dublin team but I have to mention your full back he was outstanding he'll be a massive player for Galway in the future."
Well done Dublin great display .Agree apsolutely the Galway Full back is some bit of stuff he was excellent against Kerry aswell.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 29/04/2017 19:06:43    1983505

Well done our boys, All -Ireland champions again, totally deserved, hard luck to the tribesmen.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 29/04/2017 19:07:46    1983506

all the talk this year was about that Kerry side, where have the dubs been hiding this team, wasn't much talk about them, they look like a serious outfit to me

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 29/04/2017 19:43:59    1983512

Well done to Dublin - a great all-round team performance. Galway found it difficult to deal with Dublin's pace. Galway full-back was the outstanding player on the pitch.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 29/04/2017 19:48:12    1983514

Replying To neverright:  "Well done to Dublin - a great all-round team performance. Galway found it difficult to deal with Dublin's pace. Galway full-back was the outstanding player on the pitch."
Outstanding for Galway alright , we'd 15 outstanding players on the pitch.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/04/2017 19:57:09    1983516

Feckin delighted and this pint tastes damn good

As I hoped our defence was rock solid for most of the match, we turned over some amount of ball, great team performance but fair play to Galway, got back into the game out of nowhere and made Dublin work for it.

Delighted!! Up the Dubs.... and down this Guinness goes with more to follow... Better start googling a B&B...

Gerrrup the boys in blue

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/04/2017 19:58:44    1983518

The galway full back is Séan Andy Ó Ceallaigh from Naomh Ánna Léitír Móir. Nice to see he is so memorable.

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 29/04/2017 20:02:15    1983521

Replying To KerryKillers:  "just when you thought it was safe to go back in the water, we're around for a while yet my country friends :)"
You're Gonna need a bigger trophy cabinet !!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/04/2017 20:09:37    1983523

Well done Dublin, the better team won.
Nice to be the winners of the last U21.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 29/04/2017 20:15:10    1983524

Replying To jimbodub:  "You're Gonna need a bigger trophy cabinet !!"
bahaha touche!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 29/04/2017 20:20:19    1983525

The Dubs worked Galway into the ground. They couldn't cope with their intensity and discipined tackling. Galway full back was great and the number 24 stood out for Dublin!

breakingball22 (Louth) - Posts: 419 - 29/04/2017 20:26:44    1983526

Delighted with the win, our lads played a great game. 2nd goal very sloppy to give away. But other than that no complaints.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 29/04/2017 20:47:19    1983528

Replying To lilypad:  "all the talk this year was about that Kerry side, where have the dubs been hiding this team, wasn't much talk about them, they look like a serious outfit to me"
Brilliant win for the Dubs today.

To go into this game as underdogs and win convincingly when they upped it in the 2nd was great to see.

Hard luck to the Galway lads but some of them are sure to feature for their seniors in the not so distant future.

For Dublin it was our 4th U21 title since 2010 and great to win the last ever U21 All Ireland Football title.

A glimmer of light in our underage structures yet it seems. ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 29/04/2017 22:31:05    1983539

Well done to the dubs today, best team by a mile. Fair play to the Galway lads, they should be v proud of their efforts.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 30/04/2017 01:43:35    1983548

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "In terms of pure entertainment, the u21 championships have been better than the senior championships, in my opinion. There has historically been less tactical battles, less lads throwing themselves on the ground when barely touched, more "pure" football in terms of skill and pace as opposed to brawn etc.

The finals have also provided a lot of highlights, though the hurling finals have been a bit disappointing in recent years as they have been very one-sided contests. Same for some of the football finals, though these have tended to be closer.

For me, I'd rate winning the u21 final higher than winning the league or Leinster championship. However, I'm sure several other counties / fans would rate winning their provincial championship higher so its purely a matter of opinion and circumstance."
Excellent post

Winning yesterday was right up there

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/04/2017 10:32:03    1983564

Hard luck to Galway yesterday didn't get to see the game till late last night , unfortunately for Galway it panned out as I predicted on here during the week as Galway shot their load playing our Kerry team in the semifinal two weeks previous .
Galway didn't bring a quarter of the intensity in the game yesterday that they brought against our selves, but then again that had as much to do with us not being tuned in as anything else on the day.

Also like I said last week it can be bad to win a semifinal playing good football as it had happened our teams many times in the past, your better off coming in under the radar.

Anyway Galway have some great players on that u21 team hopefully a 5/6 of them will make it to the senior panel.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/04/2017 11:30:07    1983581

Well done to the Dubs. Thought Galway players never quite got going, which might have been a side effect of the high of the Kerry performance. Too many handling errors, some forced by the Dubs intensity but a lot not, plus kickouts very poor on the day. Dubs played like a well drilled unit and were well deserved winners. Best player on the pitch was Galway's fb, which contrasts with previous games when their forwards shone. Dubs 24 deserved motm though for great leadership when brought in.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 30/04/2017 12:00:45    1983589

Well done on a great win, congrats to Dessie Farrell and his management team its a difficult grade to be consistently successful with and he has done this. Hard luck to Galway great to see them playing a high quality brand of football bodes well for their championship. Entertaining game underage always delivers in that regard.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 30/04/2017 12:24:20    1983592

Serious performance from the Dubs yesterday. Galway went to play the final and the Dubs went to play Galway. Best team won on the day. Galway have to start become more opposition aware and not alway try to play total football all the time, that sometime you have to play horses for courses. They improved significantly when they brought on Eric Lee and Colin Brady who ran at the blacket. Management will have a few sleepless nights when they review the tactics, but the future is promising with the senior team going to benefit with a number of potential senior county footballers becoming available and a promising batch also in the minors.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 30/04/2017 12:34:26    1983594