Why are pundits taking it easy on Kerry?

Jesus wept more bellyaching over RTE and their analysts, here's an idea lads if ye don't like it don't watch it but for the sanity of the rest of us change the record please, we are all aware RTE league coverage isn't perfect but TG4 adequately makes up for it, or maybe you want Sky to take over the whole plant!!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 10/04/2017 13:55:11    1977970

Replying To s goldrick:  "It is not just Maher, you will see this in any game and I have seen it loads of times. The black card is no deterrent in the dying minutes of the game.
Nothing is, not even a red card. If it means stopping an opponent from scoring in a situation like yesterday, every player will do it. They will continue doing it. The Black card to me has definitely reduced the number of body-checks on opponents who are going for a return pass or following the play.
I say reduced as Refs invariably let some go and miss others. But it was never going to be a solution for the last minute score-saving cynical foul."
Maybe a 14 metre free in irrespective of where the lad is brought down in say the last 5 mins?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 10/04/2017 13:58:42    1977971

Replying To anto_meath:  "The Sean Cavanagh incident was prior to the introduction of the Black Card to deal with such cynical play. Now Sean done what he had to do at the time put at the time there was no no punishment for such an act. The treatment of Sean Cavanagh by Brolly was wrong and over the top, but sure it got people talking so that made Joe happy. On yesterdays incident I was sure Dublin would have brought up Cluxton to take that last free as it was definatly more within his range than Dean Rocks."
It was well within rocks range
If it had of been further out by couple of metres it would have went over

Frederick (Louth) - Posts: 479 - 10/04/2017 14:07:08    1977975

Replying To Richieq:  "Jesus wept more bellyaching over RTE and their analysts, here's an idea lads if ye don't like it don't watch it but for the sanity of the rest of us change the record please, we are all aware RTE league coverage isn't perfect but TG4 adequately makes up for it, or maybe you want Sky to take over the whole plant!!!"
you are right TG4 is the best, 100%, the commentators are real class.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1672 - 10/04/2017 14:13:55    1977980

And you wonder why the GAA bring in Sky????

TG4 is the only place for real (and good) GAA coverage. Not the 'click bait' anlaysis of RTE

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 10/04/2017 14:25:56    1977992

RTE's analysis is and has been very poor for years now. The analysis last night was predictably RTE, little statistical analysis and too much subjective opinion. I mean most of the analysis was about how great Kerry did and how poor Dublin were! Dublin lost by the width of the post, there was very little in it.
RTE seem to prefer to have 'personalities' giving their opinions rather than real statistical analysis. The problem is that listening to the same people spouting the same half-baked opinions game after game becomes boring and pointless after a few years. I'm more interested in hearing what the likes of Ciaran Whelan has to say if only people would stop interrupting him.

Statler (Kildare) - Posts: 22 - 10/04/2017 15:16:10    1978018

There is nothing new here. RTE have instructed their panelists to cherry pick the flash points of a game, in order to market it. It is now a major source of revenue for sponsors and they want to portray it as a great sporting game. I am confident that this is the case across the board in other sports too. It's just that we are later on board this white washing.

The Kerry player, albeit well out the pitch, brought down the dublin player to break up an attack. Mission accomplished, as it was well out the pitch and proved to be a percentage foul well worth going for. It's not that grievous a crime when you compare it to some of the other talking points or potential ones during a game, but when it is in the context of picking who to demonize, it stands out as total hypocrisy.

You could argue that the black card dealt with this and that the panelists were thus off the hook, but if that is the case, then why analyze the game at all?

There are other channels worth tuning into. I think tnag do great coverage. Sky is well worth watching too, but will fall foul of this censorship too, as it seems to be policy to implement this now.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 10/04/2017 15:41:46    1978026

Are RTE restricted in the length of time they give to actual playing time that they show on the programme?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 10/04/2017 15:49:01    1978030

Replying To Donegalman:  "There is nothing new here. RTE have instructed their panelists to cherry pick the flash points of a game, in order to market it. It is now a major source of revenue for sponsors and they want to portray it as a great sporting game. I am confident that this is the case across the board in other sports too. It's just that we are later on board this white washing.

The Kerry player, albeit well out the pitch, brought down the dublin player to break up an attack. Mission accomplished, as it was well out the pitch and proved to be a percentage foul well worth going for. It's not that grievous a crime when you compare it to some of the other talking points or potential ones during a game, but when it is in the context of picking who to demonize, it stands out as total hypocrisy.

You could argue that the black card dealt with this and that the panelists were thus off the hook, but if that is the case, then why analyze the game at all?

There are other channels worth tuning into. I think tnag do great coverage. Sky is well worth watching too, but will fall foul of this censorship too, as it seems to be policy to implement this now."
You're correct. As much as I disliked the Maher drag down it was 48m away from the Kerry goal. Sean Cavanagh rugby tackled a Monaghan player on the edge of his own parallelogram when that player was through for a one on one with the keeper. You'll never see a more blatant and cynical professional foul. Ulster posters comparing them both is comical.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 10/04/2017 17:56:09    1978075

Agree with the OP.It was a cynical piece of work by Maher at the end and it probably saved Kerry.If a Dublin player did the same thing he'ld be castigated.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 10/04/2017 18:08:23    1978079

I've said it before that the black card will do nothing to stop these deliberate drag downs in the dying seconds of games. Being given the line is a punishment worth taking if your team makes it through. The only way to prevent it is give an automatic penalty for a blatant drag down.

I see no difference between Cavanagh and Maher's incidents. They are both willing to leave the field in an attempt to prevent a game changing score regardless of where it happened on the pitch. Would I do it? too right I would, would i do it if the punishment was a penalty? no I wouldn't.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 10/04/2017 18:34:33    1978085

Replying To Kingoreilly:  "Cavanagh pulled the Monaghan player down and then held on to him when he was just yards from goal it'd looked allot worse then yesterday's it was pure blatant, plus it has allot to do with all the neutrals wanted Kerry to win yesterday but back in 2013 I think thats when Monaghan v Tyrone game was they were all shouting for Monaghan"
So it's a much worse offence when committed by a Tyrone player when most people are hoping Tyrone lose the game,than when a Kerry player does it but most people are hoping for a Kerry win?Ok got it......I'd say in fairness you're only being honest but this is exactly the double standards that people are complaining about in intercounty gaa these days.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 10/04/2017 18:41:35    1978087

This has been going on for decades. If Kerry Dublin, Galway or Down win a match or an All Ireland or the big three in hurling win there is little criticism. That's a fact. Look how in 1983 when Dublin had 3 players sent off in the most violent All Ireland final in living memory. What were the 12 remaining players called . They were called 12 apostles. If Meath had 3 players sent off in a final the whole county would have been court martialEd and the 3 players would have been sent to jail. I'm joking or maybe not. There has been double standards in the GAA for decades.

When county wins outside the Dublin and Kerrys and the big tree in hurling they are given a bad name. It is as if counties can take defeats from the Dublins of this world. But when it's any other county. Supporters cannot handle the defeat and look for excuses like that team defeated becuase are to physical or play to defensive. And that team then are giving a bad name eg Tyrone= puke football.
For example Meath in the 80s and 90s and Tyrone in the noughties, and Donegal in this decade all were given a bad name. Then in hurling Galway in the 80s and Clare in 90s were also given bad names. We live in a small country. When someone else wins other then the usual aristocratic counties excuses are made. The reason believed by many that counties outside the aristocratic ones win All Ireland is becuase of underhand tactics. The reason Meath Tyrone and Donegal footballers won All Irelands is becuase they had great teams, great players and great managers. When any county wins an All Ireland outside the Dublin of this world, they are badly maligned. It's a sad fact. But you may get used to it becuase it is a fact. Nothings going to change that. It's a Dublin controlled media.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 10/04/2017 18:48:19    1978089

Replying To salvador:  "The Kerry player slipped and accidentally brought down the Dublin player. Unfortunate but not cynical."
This post is a black card offence

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 10/04/2017 18:59:37    1978095

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "I missed the analysis last night......did they review the penalty not given to Dean Rock in the last few seconds of game? There were multiple pairs of official eyes looking in that direction."
Gave it a tiny bit of lip service, said it was a penalty and moved on. Was stonewall. And to add insult the umpire signalled wide.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 383 - 10/04/2017 19:02:52    1978099

Replying To Condorman:  "Agree with the OP.It was a cynical piece of work by Maher at the end and it probably saved Kerry.If a Dublin player did the same thing he'ld be castigated."
Why would he? Maher fouled at the right time, otherwise ye had a certain point or maybe a goal. It was a deliberate foul but what supporter would not hope that their player would do the same?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7362 - 10/04/2017 19:03:00    1978100

Never have sour grapes tasted so good Haha! Ciaran Abu!!!!!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 10/04/2017 19:03:01    1978101

Replying To Condorman:  "Agree with the OP.It was a cynical piece of work by Maher at the end and it probably saved Kerry.If a Dublin player did the same thing he'ld be castigated."
In fairness there were things Dublin players done yesterday that could have led to them being castigated, I haven't really heard any major outcry yet though, perhaps we are all becoming immune these types of things

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 10/04/2017 19:10:15    1978102

Replying To Joxer:  "You're correct. As much as I disliked the Maher drag down it was 48m away from the Kerry goal. Sean Cavanagh rugby tackled a Monaghan player on the edge of his own parallelogram when that player was through for a one on one with the keeper. You'll never see a more blatant and cynical professional foul. Ulster posters comparing them both is comical."
You'd be howling from the roof tops if it was a Tyrone player done it. Dublin/Kerry .......frenemies forever. Lol

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 10/04/2017 19:17:48    1978106

What was worse Maher's drag down or Barry John Keane kicking the ball off the kick-out tee during the dying moments of the 2014 AI Final?

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 10/04/2017 19:28:17    1978111