Bernard Flynn's comments on refs

Replying To Lyons2000:  "It's great to see Flynn telling the truth. He always put it up to Dublin as a player. It's great to see a member of the media not following the rest of the Dublin media. Flynn and the rest of the Meath players of that time always stuck it up to Dublin. Between 1987 and 1991 Meath played Dublin 9 times including a league final. Dublin won only once. It was a period of sucess over Dublin that no other team has had since or before. The 4 games in 1991 scared Dublin for a decade or more. Dublin were a mental basket case from 92 to 2011. When it came to Ulster teams and Kerry. While Meath ,Kildare ,Westmeath and Laois all had great victories over Dublin. Dublin have never forgiven Meath for having the courage, determination and skills for taking them on and beaten them over and over again in the 80s and 90s. And in the 40s 50s and 60s. Even though they are going through their most successful period. The idea of Meath ex players giving them some trurh rattles them. Mick Lyons once said that Meath and Dublin was a matter of life and death. Lyons said he was willing to put life on the line to beat Dublin. Can you think of many players from other counties saying that. Thats whu Meath rattle Dublin unsercuties. Whike nearly everyone else throws in the white towel. Meath cannot or will not. It doesn't how far Meath fall and how successful Dublin are. Meath still believe and still more then anything want to beat Dublin. That's the Meath traditional it doesn't matter how successful Dublin are and how money is pumped into Dublin. We are not going anywhere. And we will keep taking the fight to Dublin. And with the McEntee brothers you can be assured they will take the fight to Dublin. I am certain 100% certain that the question is not if Meath will beat Dublin in the next few years the question but is when. The question then is can the Meath men of this generation do what Meath did to Dublin teams in 40s , 50s, 60s, 80s and 90s. Beat them when they seemed unbeatable . And then couldn't stop beat them. Meath are not going anywhere and we are great gaelic football county. For us it's not about All Irelands, it's not about Leinster titles, it has been and always will be about beating Dublin. Enjoy the moment for nothing ever lasts forever. 5 goals past Cluxton, 5 goals past Cluxton and 1991 and 1986 and 1996 they are great memories and on those memories the traditions Meath football fight fight on."
Notions!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 08/04/2017 21:40:47    1977237

Pity Meath aren't half as spirited on the pitch

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/04/2017 22:08:28    1977240

Replying To royaldunne:  "Under McEntee Meath will beat Dublin, that is a certainty, 5 years? Nah.. More like within 3, and yep id put my house in that."
He'll be lucky to get 3 years if he has another one like this year

You're still in Div 2, your U21 side got bed ten by WM.. the panel you currently have is just about a top 10 side

Not seeing a bright future, 3 years and you'll be beating Dublin?

I'd concentrate trying to best WM and Kildare first if I were you

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/04/2017 22:15:33    1977242

Meath have overachieved as a county. If you look at the top 6 counties it goes like 1 Kerry 2 Dublin 3 Galway 4 Cork 5 Meath 6 Down.

Well Kerry are geniuses gaelic football freeks of nature. The new Zealand Brazil of gaelic football . Even at that Kerry would be in thr top ten counties in Ireland in terms of stature. Cork Galway and Dublin should be in the top 6. They are the centre of political social economic and cultural in their respective areas. They are three of our most famous counties. Probaly our three most iconic counties. With big resources. There is no surprise that Dublin Cork or Galway are in the top gaelic football counties. But Meath and Down standout. Down have 5 All Irelands to Armagh 1. Why is that.

There is something special about Down football. It is a county that has overachieved. But it does come from a part of Ireland namely Ulster which has had the best players, best teams, best managers in modern football. Ulster teams believe they win All Irelands and beat Dublin and Kerry. They have an aura about them . But Down are the true trailblazers of Ulster football. If you have no Down there would have been no Tyrone or Donegal. Down knocked down the door for Ulster team in the 60s and 90s.

Meath come from a part of the country leaving Dublin to one side which is a very strong football area. But so many teams have been starved of success in this area. While Meath have overachieved. Meath is an average Midlands county. There is very little difference between Meath and Kildare. Both have same the type of land , same type of accent. Both have a greal tradition of Gaelic football. But Meath have excelled while Kildare are a sleeping gaint. Kildare have reached 1All Ireland final in the last 90 years Meath have reached 15 finals in the same period. Meath have overachievedin gaelic football terms. One of the reasons for me is no other county has so many rivals on its border in footbsll. Meath has 8. 8. Kerry only has 2 counties on its border. The only county that has as many rivals in GAA on its borders is Tippearey. But Tippearey are surrounded by counties which are successful. by and large. No other county in Ireland has aa many rivals on its border surrounded by great GAA counties. But these counties have had little sucess in comparison to Meath. This has led to begrugery, which is normal. If I was to say the best teams and players I have seen play Meath , it would not be Kerry or Ulster teams. No it would Kildare, Cavan, Louth and Westmeath. When these teams play Meath they play out their if their skins and play brilliantly. This annoys me in one way. In that when Kildare or Louth play Meath they play brilliantly but when they play Dublin teams they r beaten before they even go on the field. I'm not just talking about now bit this has been going on decades. Meaths bogey team would be Kildare. At senior level Meath have 18 wins and Kildare 17 wins. At minor and under 21 level kildare haved wiped the floor with Meath recentlyou. But Meath is the only traditional successful county Kildare consistently beat. They rarely beat Dublin and never beat other top counties. If they played liked they did against Meath the same performance against Dublin in the last 30 years they would have many more leinster titles.

But I believe these rivalries have benefited Meath greatly. We have kildare to the south. Then we have great midland counties like Westmeath and Offaly. Then to the north we have louth and the province of Ulster and Cavan. While Tyrone and Armagh are to far away. And then of course the metropolis Dublin on our east. These rivals particularly drive us on and make us the county we are. Particularly our rivalry with Dublin. Always trying time knock Dublin of their perch. That's why Meath have produced footballers with such fighting and a never say die spirit like O Brien Quinn O Rourke and Giles.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 08/04/2017 22:19:43    1977244

Replying To Jackeen:  "Notions!!"
No not notions. Just the truth. Never right off Meath.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 08/04/2017 22:23:18    1977245

Replying To jimbodub:  "He'll be lucky to get 3 years if he has another one like this year

You're still in Div 2, your U21 side got bed ten by WM.. the panel you currently have is just about a top 10 side

I'd concentrate trying to best WM and Kildare first if I were you"
Jimbo - are noisy neighbours from Meath are getting ahead of themselves again...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 08/04/2017 22:44:08    1977249

Replying To jimbodub:  "Pity Meath aren't half as spirited on the pitch"
We have gone through a Post Alex Ferguson type period. When a manager stays in a job for over two decades. When he leaves all the issues bubbling underneath come to the fore. Look at Utd after Ferguson has left. They have gone through 3 managers and spent nearly half a billion and still have problems replacing him. The same happened with Meath . Boylan was over 2 decades in Meath. And as the same with Ferguson leaving Utd, Boylan leaving Meath meant all the issues and problems underneath came to fore. Its takes a while for a team to recover from a manager leaving after 2 decades in charge. Meath have had 6 managers in nearly 10 years. That's nearly 1 in every two years. How many of them have being a top class managers. I would say none. McEntee has the best CV of any manager that has taken over Meath. Already there has been improvementsent. Meath at the end of the league are playing at least 5 times better then last year. The 9 points comeback against Cork as far as I can see is the first proper Meath comeback in the league and championship since Boylan. And the intensity and work rate in the final games is the best I have seen since Boylan. And I would say it is better then 07 09 and 10 seasons when we made an impact. Our kick out strategy has improved. Becuase we did not have never have kickout strategy ever. It was just drive the ball out to the centre of the field. Gerry McEntee has rectified this. The team that played Kildare in the first game had 7 changes to the team that played Clare. And come the louth game with Newman back in the fold only 5 or 6 of the team that played kildare will be playing. This year will be tough. There will be ups and downs. But next year and the year after with this team will improve. This team is one of the youngest in the country and under McEntee can only get better. McEntee is the best manager we have had since Boylan. Conall Keaney said McEntee was the best manager he has worked with. And he has worked with Jim Galvin Paul Caffrey Pat Gilroy and Anthony Daly. Meath are always strong at the end of the decade eg 49 67 88 99. Meath can only get better. I am certain that Meath will be more stronger in the next few years then in the last. While Dublin who do have an older team. For example Martin Breheny did survey in the Indo that looked at which counties had the most player playing now who played in 2010. Dublin had the most with 8, followed by Mayo with 7 and Kerry I think with 6 or 7. Kildare Meath and Galway had the current squads with only 2 players that were playing in 2010. Meath can only get better. Dublin can't get any better.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 08/04/2017 22:52:09    1977250

Replying To jimbodub:  "He'll be lucky to get 3 years if he has another one like this year

This year is not over yet. The first year a manager is just bedding in . Look at O Neill last year with Kildare. They were dreadful in the championship. But now the form team in Division 2 this year. It took Kevin Walsh 3 years to get Galway into Division 1. McEntee has a lot of work to do. Like Boylan in the mid 80s he has taken over a team with little or no underage sucess. But he has good players who are very young. Your are Very foolish to write off the McEntee brothers . They are proper warriors and they will sleep eat and drink Meath football to get us back up where we belong. We are not as bad as you want to believe. And we will get better. Mark my words. AND WE WILL BEAT DUBLIN. I AM CERTAIN OF THAT.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 08/04/2017 23:02:07    1977254

Meath lads, of course ye will beat us sometime, sure if you don't think you will, what's the point in playing? Kildare are ahead of ye in the pecking order at the moment so I'd look out for them first :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/04/2017 23:08:24    1977256

Replying To realdub:  "Meath lads, of course ye will beat us sometime, sure if you don't think you will, what's the point in playing? Kildare are ahead of ye in the pecking order at the moment so I'd look out for them first :D"
how do you know kildare are better than meath? beating us in our first league game with a new manager? if we meet in the champ kildar we meet a different meath.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/04/2017 08:58:39    1977274

u21 panel were missing 10 players,6/7 would be starters...

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/04/2017 09:17:46    1977282

Replying To ziggy32001:  "how do you know kildare are better than meath? beating us in our first league game with a new manager? if we meet in the champ kildar we meet a different meath."
From what I have seen, they are a better side than Meath, they have done better than Meath this year and I would fancy them to beat Meath.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 09/04/2017 11:53:25    1977317

Never mind Kildare

WM currently have Meaths number

Are have been the 2nd best team in Leinster in the last couple of years

While others have kicked a stone up the road feeling sorry for themselves WM have done some Trojan work, huge credit to them

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/04/2017 12:10:22    1977321

Under McEntee Meath will beat Dublin, that is a certainty, 5 years? Nah.. More like within 3, and yep id put my house in that.

royaldunne (Meath) - 08/04/2017 21:39:40

In the Leinster? No chance, maybe and I use MAYBE very loosely in the O'Byrne Cup with an experimental Dublin team out. He needs to be there for another 3 years for a start which isn't even certainty.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 09/04/2017 12:19:57    1977326

Replying To realdub:  "From what I have seen, they are a better side than Meath, they have done better than Meath this year and I would fancy them to beat Meath."
what did you see? meath made major improvements the more the league went on..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/04/2017 14:04:13    1977353

I have seen results, so Meath have improved, the other Meath lad reckons you'll beat us within the next couple of years, I disagree.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 09/04/2017 14:30:01    1977360

Replying To realdub:  "I have seen results, so Meath have improved, the other Meath lad reckons you'll beat us within the next couple of years, I disagree."
if we meet kildare there won't be a great deal between the sides.

wil we beat dubs in 2/3 years? who knows stranger things have happened in football in that a short time.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/04/2017 14:59:56    1977377

Replying To ziggy32001:  "if we meet kildare there won't be a great deal between the sides.

wil we beat dubs in 2/3 years? who knows stranger things have happened in football in that a short time."
Keep the faith Ziggy

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 09/04/2017 16:00:45    1977400

Replying To ziggy32001:  "if we meet kildare there won't be a great deal between the sides.

wil we beat dubs in 2/3 years? who knows stranger things have happened in football in that a short time."
I agree about Kikdare ziggy, I think if we meet it will be 50/50 as it generally always is, I wouldn't worry too much about the league result, that was basically McEntee's first real competitive game in charge.

As for beating Dublin, as you say who knows, it certainly won't be this year but we have to try and close the gap over the next few years and see where that takes us.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/04/2017 16:08:01    1977404

Replying To jimbodub:  "Pity Meath aren't half as spirited on the pitch"
You didn't see us against Galway or Cork so.....

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 09/04/2017 16:17:43    1977406