Bernard Flynn's comments on refs

Replying To realdub:  "Deary me, a Meath man unhappy with us winning, get used to it, I'm sure you are already. Believe me, that Meath team were filthy, but we never complained we just gave it back to them."
Ha, indeed ye gave it back but just never in the same quantity or quality :-)

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3735 - 08/04/2017 19:32:15    1977190

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "ya but the difference is/was, I don't and never have seen any Dubs bitching and moaning about Meath being rough....have you?
Ever?"
Oh now in fairness Liam I did encounter a few, particularly in the 87-88 period when Meath had dominance, a few Dubs weren't used to being second best and gave us plenty of it about being overly physical to use polite language but I would say the vast majority had no issue and vice versa

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3735 - 08/04/2017 19:36:19    1977192

It's great to see Flynn telling the truth. He always put it up to Dublin as a player. It's great to see a member of the media not following the rest of the Dublin media. Flynn and the rest of the Meath players of that time always stuck it up to Dublin. Between 1987 and 1991 Meath played Dublin 9 times including a league final. Dublin won only once. It was a period of sucess over Dublin that no other team has had since or before. The 4 games in 1991 scared Dublin for a decade or more. Dublin were a mental basket case from 92 to 2011. When it came to Ulster teams and Kerry. While Meath ,Kildare ,Westmeath and Laois all had great victories over Dublin. Dublin have never forgiven Meath for having the courage, determination and skills for taking them on and beaten them over and over again in the 80s and 90s. And in the 40s 50s and 60s. Even though they are going through their most successful period. The idea of Meath ex players giving them some trurh rattles them. Mick Lyons once said that Meath and Dublin was a matter of life and death. Lyons said he was willing to put life on the line to beat Dublin. Can you think of many players from other counties saying that. Thats whu Meath rattle Dublin unsercuties. Whike nearly everyone else throws in the white towel. Meath cannot or will not. It doesn't how far Meath fall and how successful Dublin are. Meath still believe and still more then anything want to beat Dublin. That's the Meath traditional it doesn't matter how successful Dublin are and how money is pumped into Dublin. We are not going anywhere. And we will keep taking the fight to Dublin. And with the McEntee brothers you can be assured they will take the fight to Dublin. I am certain 100% certain that the question is not if Meath will beat Dublin in the next few years the question but is when. The question then is can the Meath men of this generation do what Meath did to Dublin teams in 40s , 50s, 60s, 80s and 90s. Beat them when they seemed unbeatable . And then couldn't stop beat them. Meath are not going anywhere and we are great gaelic football county. For us it's not about All Irelands, it's not about Leinster titles, it has been and always will be about beating Dublin. Enjoy the moment for nothing ever lasts forever. 5 goals past Cluxton, 5 goals past Cluxton and 1991 and 1986 and 1996 they are great memories and on those memories the traditions Meath football fight fight on.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 08/04/2017 19:37:42    1977193

Replying To jimbodub:  "Meath lads

Enjoy Div 2 again next year

I'm sure Flynn would be talking about Meath this weekend if they had of been good enough to reach a Div 2 final, instead of talking about Dublin.

Whinging about Dublin when you can't beat Kildare.

Hopefully our paths cross again in Leinster, and ur boys have a chance of being relevant for a little bit during the build up"
In fairness Jim Bernard is an RTÉ analyst his job is to talk about the big upcoming games when asked and put out opinions, like all analysists some comments are liked and others aren't, what amazes me lately is how easy it is to get people wound up by the comments of one analyst or another, Dubs in particular at this moment in time should not give a flying penguin about what any analyst says about them. As for being relevant again we'll be careful what you wish for

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3735 - 08/04/2017 19:41:04    1977195

Another long response aye...

Good luck to you tomorrow shouting on Galway and Kerry ;)

Enjoy your day

I'll be in Croke Park watching Dublin going for 5 in a row NFL Div 1 titles and continue the greatest unbeaten run in competive football history.

When was the last time he whingers were even in Div 1?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 08/04/2017 19:54:11    1977199

Replying To Richieq:  "Oh now in fairness Liam I did encounter a few, particularly in the 87-88 period when Meath had dominance, a few Dubs weren't used to being second best and gave us plenty of it about being overly physical to use polite language but I would say the vast majority had no issue and vice versa"
Oh yes

That particular Meath team were know for plenty of on the pitch antics

I believe they call it roid rage these days

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20681 - 08/04/2017 19:56:35    1977200

Dublin do tend to get the decisions though, objectively speaking that's just the way it is, there should be no shame in admitting that, especially when it's not the Dubs fault, sure isn't it culchies refing their games.

The Dubs owe a lot to us culchies, it was Meath who put them on the path to success in 2010, then in 2011 a Meath man handed them a place in that year's Leinster Final by awarding them an outrageous free in v Kikdare and a Cavan man handed them that year's All-Ireland with an equally baffling free in v Kerry. You're welcome lads.

Ps, I will admit though that Dublin 2013-present are more or less good enough to get by without referees (although they are still favoured) but it was the country lads who set you's up. A bit of appreciation wouldn't go astray!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 08/04/2017 20:04:11    1977202

Replying To Richieq:  "Oh now in fairness Liam I did encounter a few, particularly in the 87-88 period when Meath had dominance, a few Dubs weren't used to being second best and gave us plenty of it about being overly physical to use polite language but I would say the vast majority had no issue and vice versa"
Tomas O'Shea's comment in today's Independent, ' Sometimes I think Jim Gavin infers stuff without actually saying them in his interviews. If he has an issue, he should come out and say it himself.' suggests that there is a bit of whinging from the manager but that he is not man enough to be up-front about it.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 08/04/2017 20:05:38    1977203

Replying To Richieq:  "Ha, indeed ye gave it back but just never in the same quantity or quality :-)"
Exactly, well there ya go :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8667 - 08/04/2017 20:10:46    1977204

Replying To Lyons2000:  "It's great to see Flynn telling the truth. He always put it up to Dublin as a player. It's great to see a member of the media not following the rest of the Dublin media. Flynn and the rest of the Meath players of that time always stuck it up to Dublin. Between 1987 and 1991 Meath played Dublin 9 times including a league final. Dublin won only once. It was a period of sucess over Dublin that no other team has had since or before. The 4 games in 1991 scared Dublin for a decade or more. Dublin were a mental basket case from 92 to 2011. When it came to Ulster teams and Kerry. While Meath ,Kildare ,Westmeath and Laois all had great victories over Dublin. Dublin have never forgiven Meath for having the courage, determination and skills for taking them on and beaten them over and over again in the 80s and 90s. And in the 40s 50s and 60s. Even though they are going through their most successful period. The idea of Meath ex players giving them some trurh rattles them. Mick Lyons once said that Meath and Dublin was a matter of life and death. Lyons said he was willing to put life on the line to beat Dublin. Can you think of many players from other counties saying that. Thats whu Meath rattle Dublin unsercuties. Whike nearly everyone else throws in the white towel. Meath cannot or will not. It doesn't how far Meath fall and how successful Dublin are. Meath still believe and still more then anything want to beat Dublin. That's the Meath traditional it doesn't matter how successful Dublin are and how money is pumped into Dublin. We are not going anywhere. And we will keep taking the fight to Dublin. And with the McEntee brothers you can be assured they will take the fight to Dublin. I am certain 100% certain that the question is not if Meath will beat Dublin in the next few years the question but is when. The question then is can the Meath men of this generation do what Meath did to Dublin teams in 40s , 50s, 60s, 80s and 90s. Beat them when they seemed unbeatable . And then couldn't stop beat them. Meath are not going anywhere and we are great gaelic football county. For us it's not about All Irelands, it's not about Leinster titles, it has been and always will be about beating Dublin. Enjoy the moment for nothing ever lasts forever. 5 goals past Cluxton, 5 goals past Cluxton and 1991 and 1986 and 1996 they are great memories and on those memories the traditions Meath football fight fight on."
A beautiful post pulling at my heartstrings, if you are 100% sure, put your mortgage (or farm) on Meath beating us in the next 5 years
'91 scarred us so badly that you didn't beat us for another 5 years and in that time we contested 3 AI finals and a semi
The only life Lyons ever put on the line was the person he was marking :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8667 - 08/04/2017 20:19:11    1977205

Replying To jimbodub:  "Oh yes

I believe they call it roid rage these days"
1 That Meath team was managed by the second most successful manager in gaelic footall History. With 4 All Ireland wins and 9 All Ireland Final appearances including 2 replay and 8 Leinster titles and 3 League titles eg Sean Boylan
That team had 3 of the best defenders of all time.
2 That team had the best full back of his generation and one of the best of all time -Mick Lyons
3 That team had one of the best corner backs of all time. Robbie O Malley was voted the best corner on the 40 year All star best team ever. Michael O Muirhertigh said O Malley was the best right corner back he saw play.
4 That team had the best wing back number of 7 of all time, the only modern player on the team of the Millennium -Martin O Connell
5 That team also had one of the best midfield partnership of the last 50 years eg McEntee and Hayes.
6 That team had the second best full forward line of the last 50 years.
7 That team had Colm O Rourke who is the mid 1980s was best footballer in Ireland
8 That team had Brian Stafford the greatest free taker of his generation and one of the greatest freetakers of all time
9 That team had Bernard Flynn at his peak was the best corner forward in Ireland.
10 That team is now considered one of the greatest of all time.
11 And finally Dublin could not beat that team in 9 attempts one victory. And that victory was because Lyons was missing and Harnan had to play full back. If Lyons was playing McNally would have not scored winning goal. Becuase no one Dublin forward scored a goal v Lyons.
It's great to see Meath still get under Dublin skin.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 08/04/2017 20:24:19    1977208

Couple of points: Dublin are good enough currently to win games without ANY help from referees, Croke Park, the media etc. The shameful part is they DO benefit from decisions and help from all of these. The biting, eye gouging incidents etc and other off tbe ball antics of some of their players have gone unpunished, ignored and not called out by either refs, the disciplinary bodies or sports journalists simply because it is Dublin.
I have stated previously that some officials are simply terrified of calling out ANYTHING negative against Dublin because of the fallout that would come their way. The media won't pull them up because of sales and revenue while they remain the darling and cash cow for Croke Park. There have been incidents over the past few years where Dublin players should have got not only black cards but straight reds yet play went on. Anything that has been referred to the CCCC always invariably goes Dublin's way. So all in all Bernard Flynn, whether you like him or not, is correct.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9780 - 08/04/2017 20:36:22    1977212

Replying To Lyons2000:  "It's great to see Flynn telling the truth. He always put it up to Dublin as a player. It's great to see a member of the media not following the rest of the Dublin media. Flynn and the rest of the Meath players of that time always stuck it up to Dublin. Between 1987 and 1991 Meath played Dublin 9 times including a league final. Dublin won only once. It was a period of sucess over Dublin that no other team has had since or before. The 4 games in 1991 scared Dublin for a decade or more. Dublin were a mental basket case from 92 to 2011. When it came to Ulster teams and Kerry. While Meath ,Kildare ,Westmeath and Laois all had great victories over Dublin. Dublin have never forgiven Meath for having the courage, determination and skills for taking them on and beaten them over and over again in the 80s and 90s. And in the 40s 50s and 60s. Even though they are going through their most successful period. The idea of Meath ex players giving them some trurh rattles them. Mick Lyons once said that Meath and Dublin was a matter of life and death. Lyons said he was willing to put life on the line to beat Dublin. Can you think of many players from other counties saying that. Thats whu Meath rattle Dublin unsercuties. Whike nearly everyone else throws in the white towel. Meath cannot or will not. It doesn't how far Meath fall and how successful Dublin are. Meath still believe and still more then anything want to beat Dublin. That's the Meath traditional it doesn't matter how successful Dublin are and how money is pumped into Dublin. We are not going anywhere. And we will keep taking the fight to Dublin. And with the McEntee brothers you can be assured they will take the fight to Dublin. I am certain 100% certain that the question is not if Meath will beat Dublin in the next few years the question but is when. The question then is can the Meath men of this generation do what Meath did to Dublin teams in 40s , 50s, 60s, 80s and 90s. Beat them when they seemed unbeatable . And then couldn't stop beat them. Meath are not going anywhere and we are great gaelic football county. For us it's not about All Irelands, it's not about Leinster titles, it has been and always will be about beating Dublin. Enjoy the moment for nothing ever lasts forever. 5 goals past Cluxton, 5 goals past Cluxton and 1991 and 1986 and 1996 they are great memories and on those memories the traditions Meath football fight fight on."
Feel better now ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 08/04/2017 20:40:56    1977214

Feel better now ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2842 - 08/04/2017 20:45:30    1977218

Replying To jimbodub:  "Oh yes

I believe they call it roid rage these days"
Dublin were no angels in the 70s and 80s. Do you ever see the footage when the whole Dublin back line take the head of Mickey Nedd Sullivan in the 1975 final. He ends up in hospital. Players like Sean Doherty Brian Mullins Pat O Neill Mick Kennedy Gerry Harnan kieth Barr Eamon Heery Charlie Redmond Curran Duff were tough players also.
And what is the toughest dirtiest final of the 80s. It must be 1988 Meath v Cork replay. No wrong the Dublin media would lead you to think so. The final replay was a tough dour match between two big teams who were physically a match for each other but Meath better had players . That Cork team only defeated that Meath team1 time in 5 big match if you include the league final in 1990. It was a great performance by Meath the best ever in an All Ireland by 14 men. Colm O Rourke gave an incredible performance. While Martin O Connell gave the best performance by Meath man in an All Ireland final ever and ended up footballer of the year.
No the toughest final was in 1983 when there 3 was Dublin men sent off. It was a very very tough match. And that is been very very diplomatic. It's a rarely mentioned game. But what we're the Dublin players called after . They were named the 12 apostles. That has to be the greatest piece of propaganda in the history of the GAA. The Dublin players were Saints when they had three players sent off in an All Ireland final. Dublin media did a great job covering up for the Dubs on field disgraceful behaviour in 1983. If 3 Meath had players sent off I'm sure the rest would not have been called the apostles. The whole county would be court martialEd. And the Dublin media would be calling for the arrest of the three players sent off. You think I'm joking. Maybe. But there are double standards for Meath and other counties. If a county outside Dublin Kerry Down and Galway win Sam they get a bad name undeservedly. Eg Meath in 80s Tyrone in noughties and Donegal this decade. It's the same in hurling if a county wins an All Ireland outside the top 3. Galway team in 80s were given bad name. Even though Clare in 90s were liked hroughout GAA world. They were not agmost the hurling community. Meath are the upstarts who dont know their place who wouldnt bow to all mighty Dublin, Meath who had the nerve to take on and beat Dublin. The Dublin supporters and the Dublin media and Dublin GAAmoneybags county will never forgive. While we will still dream in Meath of beating them. Never give up the fight. That what annoys them most they expect us to roll over. Imaginess if we were beat their great team but flawed team in the next year or 2 orr e years. That would be the sweetest victory ever. And would really annoying more then anything. They want to believe Meath finished. For Dublin can never beat a strong MEATH team. They think Meath is finished. We are only starting.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 08/04/2017 20:49:46    1977220

Replying To superbluedub:  "Feel better now ?"
And I feel much better the next time Meath beat Dublin and it will happen . You are not going to win forever.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 08/04/2017 21:03:19    1977224

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Meath man (well, Louth man who pretended to be from Meath) wants Dubs to lose...........

IMAGINE!!!

Culchies getting all the excuses in before May eve !!

This is gas.....

Hon da Dubs"
Actually since he has/is living in Mullingar for near on 30 years, with one of his children certs to play for Westmeath in near future. Also manager of Mullingar shamrocks , I doubt Bernie can be called anything other than a westie through and through, while I have lived there for many a year I never went native.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/04/2017 21:32:15    1977232

Replying To realdub:  "A beautiful post pulling at my heartstrings, if you are 100% sure, put your mortgage (or farm) on Meath beating us in the next 5 years
'91 scarred us so badly that you didn't beat us for another 5 years and in that time we contested 3 AI finals and a semi
The only life Lyons ever put on the line was the person he was marking :D"
I belive Meath will beat Dublin. You might not like to hear that. Thats life. I'm entitled to say a county that has the best record in the country by a mile v Dublin ( Meath v Dublin record for Meath is 10 wins and 6 draws in 30 years the second best record v Dublin is Kerry with 3 wins) will beat Dublin. We have been doing it for 7 decades .
There is no doubt the 1991 loss inflicted psychological damage to Dublin. Dublin for the next decade with Losses to Donegal Derry Down Tyrone and Armagh. Dublin could not win a top game v Ulster opposition. Because Ulster opposition had the best players, best teams, best systems and thr best managers in the country at the time. But that loss in 1991 left mental scars on that Dublin team.

Yes you did beat us in 92 -95. But you are the top dogs, the kingpins of leinster football. You have all the advantages with resources and population. We are just an ordinary Midlands county. We are the underdogs. We have overachieved in the last few decades. Dublin are always strong, tough to beat. You are the gaints of leinster football. But Meath have continued to upset the odds and knock Dublin down from their perch. Dublin have an aura surrounding them throughout the country and particularly in leinster football. So many teams for decades in leinster are beaten even before they go on the field. Kildare haven't beaten Dublin in nearly 20 years. Kildare have had 2 victories over Dublin in 40 years and 1 leinster final victory over Dublin in 90 years. Louth have not beaten Dublin in 40 years. Westmeath have only beaten Dublin 1 time in 50 years. Laois have beaten Dublin twice in 50 years. Longford have only beaten them once in their history. While Wicklow and Wexford have not beaten Dublin in over 70 years. While even a great county with a great gaelic football tradition Offaly have not beaten Dublin in 35 years. When you look at the above results its obvious to see that since Dublin emerged under Heffo in the 70s they are rarely beaten in Leinster.Many of the above teams are beaten before they even walk on the field in their heads. While Meath always upset the applecart.

Yes the last decade was a bad one for Meath. But who was last team to beat Dublin in leinster, it was Meath. And just like Tipp always believe they can beat Kilkenny. Or Galway beat Mayo. Or Cork beat Kerry. Or Armagh beat Tyrone. They might not be doing this at the moment. But Armagh will beat Tyrone , Cork will beat Kerry and Galway beat Mayo in the not so distant future. And Meath will beat Dublin. It's what rivals do. And I believe under the McEntee it can happen again. Theres no law saying I cannot say Meath will beat Dublin again. The Dublin response displays insecurities regarding Meath . It's good to see.

Lyons2000 (Meath) - Posts: 101 - 08/04/2017 21:32:35    1977233

Well said

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/04/2017 21:37:45    1977235

Replying To realdub:  "A beautiful post pulling at my heartstrings, if you are 100% sure, put your mortgage (or farm) on Meath beating us in the next 5 years
The only life Lyons ever put on the line was the person he was marking :D"
Under McEntee Meath will beat Dublin, that is a certainty, 5 years? Nah.. More like within 3, and yep id put my house in that.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/04/2017 21:39:40    1977236