New Admins at HS?

To Admins, and whoever else see's this...?

Whats the craic with the new ULTRA conservative administrating of this forum?
Threads and posts are disappearing all over the gaff lately. On the Eamonn Fitz comments thread last night you deleted half the posts!
There was nothing incriminating or libellous in any of it, but it seems if you so much as whisper anything thats not ultra positive, your posts are deleted!
Compare that to some of the stuff that has been left on in the recent past re Tiernan McCann, Diarmuid Connolly, Aidan O'Shea, Philly Mc ETC

Whats the story Admin. Ye want people to use this forum, ye want us to post, so please explain to us what it is that is upsetting ye that see fit to remove posts re Eamonn Fitzmaurice etc? And dont say it had become personal because it absolutely had not!

Do we, as your faithful users not deserve this much? Hard to be positive about a forum that just chops and cuts at the whim of one moderator over another.

Yours,

LW

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/04/2017 12:26:16    1976451

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "To Admins, and whoever else see's this...?

Threads and posts are disappearing all over the gaff lately. On the Eamonn Fitz comments thread last night you deleted half the posts!
There was nothing incriminating or libellous in any of it, but it seems if you so much as whisper anything thats not ultra positive, your posts are deleted!
Compare that to some of the stuff that has been left on in the recent past re Tiernan McCann, Diarmuid Connolly, Aidan O'Shea, Philly Mc ETC

Whats the story Admin. Ye want people to use this forum, ye want us to post, so please explain to us what it is that is upsetting ye that see fit to remove posts re Eamonn Fitzmaurice etc? And dont say it had become personal because it absolutely had not!

Do we, as your faithful users not deserve this much? Hard to be positive about a forum that just chops and cuts at the whim of one moderator over another.

Yours,

LW"
Green thumb for you, sir.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 06/04/2017 12:58:53    1976468

Yours,

LW"
I tried to set up one on Joe Brollys appearance on a newstalk podcast and it got pulled.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 06/04/2017 13:09:17    1976471

Yours,

LW"
Probably a lot to do with my recent victories time and time again over the prime whingers

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20610 - 06/04/2017 13:10:42    1976472

Also just to add, I'm using HS on Google Chrome and when I search the homepage a page from weeks ago is returned. I'm getting some very funny results.

At the moment if I hit hoganstand.com, this story from weeks ago is the homepage:
http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=266679

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 06/04/2017 13:25:23    1976480

"Yes rugby has that international factor and the four provinces. To their credit, Leinster, Munster and Connaught have, on most occasions, performed with pride and distinction. And yep unfortunately, rugby gets that over exposure from our Dublin 4 oval ball loving media. But what else? Outside of Limerick, Cork, Baile Atha Cliath and some of the other bigger towns. A couple of clubs in each county and they mostly up to their butt in debt. We have not one but two vastly superior products. Apart from the financial aspect which will undoubtedly attract some of the more talented kids, what the heck are we worried about? Thread is far too like a previous effort which bored the pants off most of us. It is ended here.

Admin.

Administrator (All) - Posts:2010 - 04/04/2017 22:02:13 "

Somethings up anyway Liam, the above is waaay out of character for admin :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 06/04/2017 14:08:09    1976509

Admin haven't addressed us so informally since RLF-gate back in the day :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 06/04/2017 14:09:30    1976510

Admins,......?

Anything??

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/04/2017 14:19:45    1976515

Yours,

LW"
I have also wondered this. I have had some very tame posts blocked over the past while for whatever reason, and yet some people seem to be able to personally attack and insult other posters at will.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 06/04/2017 14:35:50    1976524

Considering posts are pre moderated the least that could happen is a reason is given for a post not going live on the site and same could be given for why a thread is locked

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 06/04/2017 14:42:47    1976528

Replying To hurlinspuds:  "Also just to add, I'm using HS on Google Chrome and when I search the homepage a page from weeks ago is returned. I'm getting some very funny results.

At the moment if I hit hoganstand.com, this story from weeks ago is the homepage:
i" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=266679"
i noticed that too. It appeares to be caching the home page since they did some update. Just press Ctrl+F5 fo load the page without cache. Once I did that once the problem went away

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 339 - 06/04/2017 14:47:17    1976534

Replying To Breffni39:  "Admin haven't addressed us so informally since RLF-gate back in the day :)"
I have to ask, RLF-gate???
do tell

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 06/04/2017 15:18:01    1976545

Replying To keithlemon:  "I have to ask, RLF-gate???
do tell"
those were the days!
that lad was something else!
Real Louth Fan

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/04/2017 15:28:20    1976555

Replying To jimbodub:  "Probably a lot to do with my recent victories time and time again over the prime whingers"
Probably more to do with you crying like a baby. You have got about 3 thread shut down with your tantrums.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/04/2017 15:41:47    1976561

Replying To keithlemon:  "I have to ask, RLF-gate???
do tell"
Real Louth Fan, a former poster, was banned and a thread was created by admin about it. He gave admin dog's abuse via email. The thread had everything, it was great crack!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 06/04/2017 15:56:47    1976566

Sorted.

Thanks dahayeser (Cork).

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 06/04/2017 15:59:52    1976567

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Probably more to do with you crying like a baby. You have got about 3 thread shut down with your tantrums."
So easy.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20610 - 06/04/2017 16:13:12    1976571

Right friends. We gave this thread the go ahead out of respect for Liam who has been involved, practically from day one of these boards. Things aint easy in life. There are solicitors out there who would love to earn a bob from somebody saying the wrong thing. Hence why we moderate and three or four people perform this role. They have their own individual views and in general we try to encourage this individualism. Basically we are a publishing house, we produce a number of monthly, bi-monthly and yearly magazines/books. Also run a variety of websites and if truth be told the lack of a letters section on Hoganstand.com would be no great loss to us, certainly our accountant would be happy with its dis-appearance. But we get a certain kick of performing this duty and will continue to do so. Without sounding like a Sunday preacher could I just drop the following hints, items which the administrators frequently encounter.
People in general think that they and they only are always completely correct. Some threads often go in a different direction from the designated subject. People are often hurt about about letter content, a fact that the writer can be oblivious to. Threads are often commenced when a very similar thread already exists. Some writers try to post absolute nonsense. Too many personal attacks on other writers. Lately we have extended our cut off time to way beyond 10pm. Perhaps it is people arriving home late from the pub but the garbage posted can sometimes be beyond belief. One writer and yes he has contributed to this debate continually sends in each message not once but in thrice format . Often a person and it could be a manager or player etc etc requests that an individual letter or thread is removed. If the person has a valid point and is courteous on the matter we generally oblige.
Just some of the events in the day of an administrator. Please be a little understanding. We still take 3 to 4,000 letters a week and simply would not be able to commence a reply method. Anyway we have given you a say and this thread closes at 5pm. Slan Head administrator.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 06/04/2017 16:13:22    1976572

Replying To Administrator:  "Right friends. We gave this thread the go ahead out of respect for Liam who has been involved, practically from day one of these boards. Things aint easy in life. There are solicitors out there who would love to earn a bob from somebody saying the wrong thing. Hence why we moderate and three or four people perform this role. They have their own individual views and in general we try to encourage this individualism. Basically we are a publishing house, we produce a number of monthly, bi-monthly and yearly magazines/books. Also run a variety of websites and if truth be told the lack of a letters section on Hoganstand.com would be no great loss to us, certainly our accountant would be happy with its dis-appearance. But we get a certain kick of performing this duty and will continue to do so. Without sounding like a Sunday preacher could I just drop the following hints, items which the administrators frequently encounter.
People in general think that they and they only are always completely correct. Some threads often go in a different direction from the designated subject. People are often hurt about about letter content, a fact that the writer can be oblivious to. Threads are often commenced when a very similar thread already exists. Some writers try to post absolute nonsense. Too many personal attacks on other writers. Lately we have extended our cut off time to way beyond 10pm. Perhaps it is people arriving home late from the pub but the garbage posted can sometimes be beyond belief. One writer and yes he has contributed to this debate continually sends in each message not once but in thrice format . Often a person and it could be a manager or player etc etc requests that an individual letter or thread is removed. If the person has a valid point and is courteous on the matter we generally oblige.
Just some of the events in the day of an administrator. Please be a little understanding. We still take 3 to 4,000 letters a week and simply would not be able to commence a reply method. Anyway we have given you a say and this thread closes at 5pm. Slan Head administrator."
Very fair

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20610 - 06/04/2017 16:26:27    1976577

Replying To Administrator:  "Right friends. We gave this thread the go ahead out of respect for Liam who has been involved, practically from day one of these boards. Things aint easy in life. There are solicitors out there who would love to earn a bob from somebody saying the wrong thing. Hence why we moderate and three or four people perform this role. They have their own individual views and in general we try to encourage this individualism. Basically we are a publishing house, we produce a number of monthly, bi-monthly and yearly magazines/books. Also run a variety of websites and if truth be told the lack of a letters section on Hoganstand.com would be no great loss to us, certainly our accountant would be happy with its dis-appearance. But we get a certain kick of performing this duty and will continue to do so. Without sounding like a Sunday preacher could I just drop the following hints, items which the administrators frequently encounter.
Just some of the events in the day of an administrator. Please be a little understanding. We still take 3 to 4,000 letters a week and simply would not be able to commence a reply method. Anyway we have given you a say and this thread closes at 5pm. Slan Head administrator."
Fair enough lads.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 06/04/2017 16:26:37    1976578