Fitzmaurice's Comments

Its gas, they had a chance to pull him on his comments on Terrace Talk last Monday, but he talked his way around it without being pushed by the radio panel, was surprised they didn't grill him, after all, he basically left his hand out to be slapped.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 08/04/2017 23:13:58    1977257

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=268757

the latest installment...he complains about Curran and Bealin being choir boys and that he can't stomach the whiter than white stuff but has no issues with having his own say on it and trying to bring the Eamon Fitzmaurice agenda back into the limelight..ironic indeed

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 09/04/2017 11:17:37    1977310

Replying To bennybunny:  "http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=268757

the latest installment...he complains about Curran and Bealin being choir boys and that he can't stomach the whiter than white stuff but has no issues with having his own say on it and trying to bring the Eamon Fitzmaurice agenda back into the limelight..ironic indeed"
Good to see Cork supporting Kerry.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 09/04/2017 14:48:11    1977370

I enjoy O' Shea. A few years ago he was painting Donegal as the doomsday team playing defensive football, how Kerry were forced into playing that way in the 2014 final and how Kerry would never stoop to the defensive levels of Donegal and Tyrone YET at the same time Kerry were doing the very same tactics! Irony is lost on him!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 09/04/2017 15:09:44    1977382

Jim Gavin is utter class. His comments re fitzmaurices just sum up the man. He knows exactly what Eamonn meant and understands it, probably agreed with him (obviously can't say that) and recognises the efforts of all teams.

On a side note is the contempt going out of sportspeople. Even at the masters the two boys high fiving each other and all. Great sportsmanship but makes for more entertaining viewing if there showing their competitive side.

Frederick (Louth) - Posts: 479 - 10/04/2017 14:40:04    1978002

For the most part managers and players are on a scripted robotic mode before and after the game. Why? Well you don't want to give you opposition any edge and these days the media are just waiting for you to slip up. Look at Eamon Fitz after the game being interviewed....he looked like a man that lost and straight away mentioned the championship.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 10/04/2017 15:47:31    1978029

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Smacks of James horan 2012 to me.
I haven't heard anybody from inside the Dublin camp complain about physicality, yesterday Philly McMahon was interviewed and said why wouldn't they use physicality to try and win.
as for his orchestrated media on Lee Keegan it's a bit laughable really as it's Keegan who is targetting players and because he finally got caught in the act (or rather actually awarded a black card instead of ref copping out with two yellows) somehow he is the victim, it was fitzmaurice own county men who came out preaching for people to target Connolly off the ball to try get him to react and get sent off so I see he failed to acknowledge that side of the media."
I have to ask Keegan 'targeting' players I'm there lad it's called marking your man. I have to wonder have some of ye lads played a meaningful game of football? You wouldn't let your marker fee rain you have to do your best to keep him away from the ball. Now at the top level of football it in another world. Look at every break after every foul or the ball has gone dead in this day and age there is a serious amount of proper squaring up and pushing and shoving in every inter county match. The game has become an ugly affair sprinkled very lightly with some instances of football. Keegan like many other players marking their men running a fine line and sometimes over it, which was a bit rich in September from those pundits who voiced their concerns about referees picking up on it. I am happy Keegan will do what it takes to try and to quote Philly McMahon so I wouldn't start talking about one player targeting your players when your own do the same. Hate the game not the player!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 11/04/2017 20:53:00    1978581

Replying To Spoddgy:  "I have to ask Keegan 'targeting' players I'm there lad it's called marking your man. I have to wonder have some of ye lads played a meaningful game of football? You wouldn't let your marker fee rain you have to do your best to keep him away from the ball. Now at the top level of football it in another world. Look at every break after every foul or the ball has gone dead in this day and age there is a serious amount of proper squaring up and pushing and shoving in every inter county match. The game has become an ugly affair sprinkled very lightly with some instances of football. Keegan like many other players marking their men running a fine line and sometimes over it, which was a bit rich in September from those pundits who voiced their concerns about referees picking up on it. I am happy Keegan will do what it takes to try and to quote Philly McMahon so I wouldn't start talking about one player targeting your players when your own do the same. Hate the game not the player!"
Pulling somebody off the ball isn't marking your man, holding him so he cannot get involved in play ain't marking your man, Connolly rightly for done for it the weekend so take off the red and green tinted glasses

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/04/2017 21:09:17    1978582

Replying To Jackeen:  "I have no problem with his comments at all. I Do however believe it's smacks of desperation especially when he brings up the Lee Keegan stuff. Safety in numbers and all that. I think what a number of Kerry pundits did re condoning roughing Connolly up was far worse of I'm honest. I will say that when a manager has to go down this route...like Horan before him, they aren't fully concentrating on their task at hand."
It interesting Fitzmaurice brought up Lee Keegan incident before league final. Was he setting up mind games for potential clash later in year? I hope Keegan wont be targeted by Kerry players? It was interesting to see James McCarthy targeted in league final and no action taken

BartMcQueen (Cork) - Posts: 196 - 25/07/2017 09:08:58    2022980