Was Gooch as good as Canavan?

Replying To Damothedub:  "Where have you been hiding ???"
I was being sarcastic, this argument is just as tedious. Maurice Fitz was better than both

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 04/04/2017 18:15:16    1975605

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "Anyone saying its a no brainer either way doesn't have a brain

The same goes for someone comparing Geraghty to either player, Geraghty was a great player but a totally different kind of player to the 2 lads mentioned."
My point was neither Gooch nor cannavan did or For that matter would have won a all star as a back, Geraghty did .

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/04/2017 18:15:20    1975606

Replying To waynoI:  "no he wasn't as good as canavan.....

he was miles better"
So he was both worse and miles better. Good one Wayneo.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 04/04/2017 18:16:43    1975607

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Canavan was kicked and booted out of that semi final, he was deliberately targeted. Tyrone learned a sore lesson that day and it served them well a few years later."
Well that's a utter lie of the highest order. Nobody booted or kicked him, he got a hard shoulder off john McDermott. I know some ulster people like rewriting history to portray themselves as the victim. But please lets stick to the fact, a Meath team full of kids ran rings round Tyrone and cannavan went missing very easily.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/04/2017 18:18:53    1975610

Replying To Crinigan:  "Cooper miles ahead of Canavan. Such a question.

I seem to remember Canavan being fairly marked out of it in the 1996 All Ireland Semi."
Agree 100%

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/04/2017 18:19:31    1975612

Replying To runnerin:  "If he didn't grab Mark o Reilly by the n*ts no one would've went near him let him without sin....."
Yep could give it but couldn't take it. Typical of that Tyrone team. Cannavan was a good player but a great one?? Its like comparing westlife to David bowie, in comparison to Gooch.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/04/2017 18:24:04    1975616

Replying To tyronetaffe:  "Would you be speaking about the alleged poke in the eye incident....I never heard of him having any medical attention before or after.Phantom injury
if you ask me.The reality is when the going got tough Gooch didn't want to know and that is the main difference between him and Canavan.BTW
Canavan couldn't kick a ball for 6months due to the ankle injury he sustained when was taken out of the 96 semi."
He wasn't that good before he went off after a SHOULDER LMFAO

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/04/2017 18:27:07    1975619

Replying To tyronetaffe:  "Would you be speaking about the alleged poke in the eye incident....I never heard of him having any medical attention before or after.Phantom injury
if you ask me.The reality is when the going got tough Gooch didn't want to know and that is the main difference between him and Canavan.BTW
Canavan couldn't kick a ball for 6months due to the ankle injury he sustained when was taken out of the 96 semi."
He had a minor operation on the eye afterwards if memory serves me correctly. Not that that matters. It was a shameful and deliberate act to take him out of the game as he was flying at the time.

The rest of your post doesn't warrant a response.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 04/04/2017 18:32:25    1975626

Both great players. For me Peter was better. Ask yourself this. If your team was 3 points down against a tight defence who would you want, answer will always be Peter. Had the skill strength and determination to win games by himself.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 04/04/2017 18:41:38    1975639

Replying To royaldunne:  "Well that's a utter lie of the highest order. Nobody booted or kicked him, he got a hard shoulder off john McDermott. I know some ulster people like rewriting history to portray themselves as the victim. But please lets stick to the fact, a Meath team full of kids ran rings round Tyrone and cannavan went missing very easily."
So now a lie is something you don't agree with and a fact is a hilariously biased account from the least neutral observer imaginable. Got it.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 04/04/2017 18:44:23    1975642

Gooch, Canavan, Matt Connor and a few others in that league. Cherish them all. They all had different attributes and length of career. It doesn't seem appropriate to me to compare.

Today is Gooch's day, there were none better.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 04/04/2017 18:47:02    1975645

Both great players, but I think the Gooch edges it.
I remember in one game in Croke Park (Can't remember who Kerry were playing) he was against two big lumps from the oppositon.
They tried to block him and he just jinked between the two of them with the ball.

The two were left like eejits just looking at each other.

Also the 2013 AI semi between Kerry and Dublin will always be the game Gooch played.
He was superb great movement and intelligence.

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 04/04/2017 18:53:35    1975651

Seriously the posters saying that it is a 100% one and dismissing the other as 'not a great player' are ridiculous. Or saying one is miles better than the other.

Both Gooch and Canavan were clearly, demonstratively, great players.

The personal preference of who we all preferred is fine as everyone will have slightly different opinions. For me it's Canavan but that doesn't mean Cooper wasn't an all time great too.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 04/04/2017 18:53:58    1975652

Gooch is the best player of his generation. Simple as.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 04/04/2017 18:58:09    1975655

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yep could give it but couldn't take it. Typical of that Tyrone team. Cannavan was a good player but a great one?? Its like comparing westlife to David bowie, in comparison to Gooch."
Someone call a taxi for this man.

Canavan not a great player?? Canavan and Cooper are both in the top 5 players ever to play the game, without question.

Watch this video. The first score on the video is ridiculous. Fouled 3 times, gets up and kicks the ball straight over the black spot.

I loved watching Cooper, he was magic. Both him and Canavan had the most brilliant kicking technique. Textbook stuff.

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 04/04/2017 19:25:31    1975672

Replying To A Another:  "You don't remember the 1996 semi too well then. Canavan started off brilliantly then was taken out of the game with a late hit and had to continue on one leg. An injury which kept him out of the game for months after. You can't call that being marked out of a game."
Canavan a great player (and after Jack O'Shea maybe the best Gaelic footballer of the last 50 years) but you don't remember that game very well if you think Canavan started off brilliantly, he had not done as much as expected up to the point he got the late shoulder from Johnny Mac (if I remember right McDermott shouldered him about 10 minutes from the end of the first half and at that stage he had scored one point).

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1358 - 04/04/2017 19:39:51    1975682

Gooch is in the top 10 of all time. Probably closer to the top (who btw id have matt Connor at 1) but certainly in top 10 along with Maurice Fitzgerald, Graham Geraghty, martin O'Connell and others. For me cannavan doesn't make the top 10.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/04/2017 19:44:05    1975686

Replying To TheHermit:  "Can we just not pay the man his dues for today and leave the comparisons for later in the week at least.

Was Turner as good as Monet, was Chopin as good as Holst, is a moro as good as a snickers.

Time enough for all this."
Couldn't agree more. It's Gooch's moment.....he was great....I will miss watching him do his thing.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 04/04/2017 20:05:23    1975700

Replying To royaldunne:  "Gooch is in the top 10 of all time. Probably closer to the top (who btw id have matt Connor at 1) but certainly in top 10 along with Maurice Fitzgerald, Graham Geraghty, martin O'Connell and others. For me cannavan doesn't make the top 10."
So a Meath man tells us Geraghty is in top 10 but not Canavan. I guess no bias there lol.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 04/04/2017 20:07:12    1975701

mini text survey, who was better gooch or canavan, result gooch 31 votes canavan 12

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 04/04/2017 20:07:30    1975703