Monaghan V Dublin

fair play to both teams, fantastic game of football, topclass stuff and its only march, monaghan fair play to ye men, great disply, but im sure this really hurts, just a small % off again, but ye can look forward to a good summer, what can i say about dublin? lads dont agree with me but this without doubt is the greatest football team off all time, they are quicker to think/react, they run faster, jump higher, are so much stronger than any team in history, and they never panic or get flustered, they stick to game plan from 1st to 75th minute, people wont give them credit cause its the dubs but folks u are looking at the greatest gaelic football team in history

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 02/04/2017 20:55:16    1974414

Great game of football today.
Delighted to get the win and into league final for fifth year in row.
fair play to monaghan they really took game to us and made it really tough for the entire game.
never say for attitude and sheer resilience from dubs today was great to see.
few changes needed for the final in personal from what started today but last twenty minutes was relentless football and some finish from Jack to win it.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/04/2017 21:26:40    1974437

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "The umpires had a mare!! Called 4 points incorrectly!!"
True not the best umpiring some very dodgy calls

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 02/04/2017 21:34:40    1974444

Replying To jimbodub:  "Will have to watch it later

But def a few hawk eye calls were needed

Felt Reddin's point was wide but Dean Rocks was over."
Exactly those calls strange

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 02/04/2017 21:35:36    1974445

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "fair play to both teams, fantastic game of football, topclass stuff and its only march, monaghan fair play to ye men, great disply, but im sure this really hurts, just a small % off again, but ye can look forward to a good summer, what can i say about dublin? lads dont agree with me but this without doubt is the greatest football team off all time, they are quicker to think/react, they run faster, jump higher, are so much stronger than any team in history, and they never panic or get flustered, they stick to game plan from 1st to 75th minute, people wont give them credit cause its the dubs but folks u are looking at the greatest gaelic football team in history"
Refreshingly unbiased post.

And you are correct - if any other team was doing this people would be eulogizing about them....
Yet we are constantly spoken about in different terms.

Fair play to you.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 02/04/2017 21:40:50    1974450

League Sunday highlights of Monaghan v Dublin game showed 3 mins of it then spoke for 2 mins and then lets move on nothing about dodgy umpiring or refereein no talk about the black cards, top of the table clash a f..kings hambles

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 02/04/2017 21:46:51    1974456

A great game, fair play to Monaghan tiredness meant they conceded territory to the best running team in country. A poor starting 15 for Dublin struggled badly wont be seeing a few of those players, Rocks contribution aside from frees was really questionable. It was the bench that saved the day. The loss of Hughes was big blow Monaghan are a very good team and well ahead of Tyrone they can look forward to good summer. Dublin learned nothing they didnt know already super conditioning puts them well ahead of the chading pack.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 02/04/2017 21:50:38    1974459

And a plus 42 points difference that is some tally

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 02/04/2017 21:53:28    1974460

Just saw highlights there and it doesn't get any better missed chance today. Crucial score for me was the Brogan goal as the dubs scented blood after that. Beforehand looked like just one winner. Was a handy enough goal to give away to quality player like that with Kilkenny giving plenty of freedom to run into. The two misplaced passes from two of our lads in last five minutes leading to handy points was critical also. You do that against this dublin team its curtains. Unfortunately we wont ever move to the next level until we can keep the heads a bit better in those crucial last ten minutes against the bigger teams in the big matches. Yet still Plenty of pride in our performance today and throughout the league lots of new players introduced and great to see Jack McCarron show rest of the country what he can do. if Mcmanus can recover his fitness and form we will have a great chance in Ulster again this year.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1803 - 02/04/2017 22:08:58    1974476

Anybody got stats on today's game .would love to see the free count for and against dublin today .Thought ref very one sided today

Daz73 (Dublin) - Posts: 6 - 02/04/2017 22:10:51    1974479

Replying To arock:  "True not the best umpiring some very dodgy calls"
And one mention of it on the rubbish league Sunday coverage

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 02/04/2017 22:23:12    1974489

I'll have to watch the TV version tonight but our first point was definitely wide.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 02/04/2017 22:27:08    1974493

Replying To Daz73:  "Anybody got stats on today's game .would love to see the free count for and against dublin today .Thought ref very one sided today"
Jesus lad ye won. Enjoy it. Who cares it was a great game

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 02/04/2017 22:28:39    1974494

Congrats to both dublin and monaghan on a very entertaining and hard fought game today. It was a good choice of match to televise. I hope that it is a sign of the times and there will be many games like this ahead.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 02/04/2017 22:34:28    1974501

Replying To arock:  "A great game, fair play to Monaghan tiredness meant they conceded territory to the best running team in country. A poor starting 15 for Dublin struggled badly wont be seeing a few of those players, Rocks contribution aside from frees was really questionable. It was the bench that saved the day. The loss of Hughes was big blow Monaghan are a very good team and well ahead of Tyrone they can look forward to good summer. Dublin learned nothing they didnt know already super conditioning puts them well ahead of the chading pack."
I agree if Dublin keep persisting with not playing their best starting 15 they'll get caught some day as for Rock he is back to where he was 2/3 years ago nothing from play only there for the frees Dublin are blessed to be able to pull it out of the bag game after game but its a very risky strategy they're using

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 02/04/2017 22:44:21    1974504

Replying To realdub:  "I'll have to watch the TV version tonight but our first point was definitely wide."
Thought the same, though I did think Reddins was a score.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/04/2017 22:57:59    1974513

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "fair play to both teams, fantastic game of football, topclass stuff and its only march, monaghan fair play to ye men, great disply, but im sure this really hurts, just a small % off again, but ye can look forward to a good summer, what can i say about dublin? lads dont agree with me but this without doubt is the greatest football team off all time, they are quicker to think/react, they run faster, jump higher, are so much stronger than any team in history, and they never panic or get flustered, they stick to game plan from 1st to 75th minute, people wont give them credit cause its the dubs but folks u are looking at the greatest gaelic football team in history"
I've seen most of the championship this Dublin team has played in the later stages of the championship since 2011. I saw almost all of the championship football Kerry played in Croke Park between 1975-1986. I would still feel that Kerry 1-15 were a better outfit . Having said that I feel that this Dublin team are next on the list when it comes to the great teams I have seen and I don't think they are finished yet . I may have to revise that opinion in years to come .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 02/04/2017 23:07:11    1974519

Replying To runnerin:  "I agree if Dublin keep persisting with not playing their best starting 15 they'll get caught some day as for Rock he is back to where he was 2/3 years ago nothing from play only there for the frees Dublin are blessed to be able to pull it out of the bag game after game but its a very risky strategy they're using"
We are not yet playing our best 15 because Jim needs to try out some new and young players.

When it matters in the Championship JG will field our strongest 15 but in saying that we will need to field a strong team next weekend.

I agree though - we can't keep relying on our strong bench to bail us out.

I would let rip next Sunday and go full throttle. We don't want to end the League losing a final to Kerry, that's for sure.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 02/04/2017 23:45:12    1974533

I've been watching football for nearly 50 yrs and I'm beginning to think this is the best panel of footballers I've ever had the pleasure to watch what they have achieved is phenomenal in this day and age with all the defensive tactics etc that they have to overcome. If you picked the best Dublin team of all time would there be any more than 5 or 6 from bygone yrs on it? Probably Mullins Kevin moran R Kelleher Paul Curran after that I'm not sure as I never seen Hefferan play.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 02/04/2017 23:45:42    1974534

There is no doubt in my mind that O'Dwyer's Kerry team are the best there's ever been, for now! We'd at least need a 3 in a row and a couple more to surpass them, and that is a monumental task.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 03/04/2017 00:29:56    1974540