Monaghan V Dublin

Replying To jimbodub:  "Don't get why there's any doubt, Monaghan have had a good league, I wouldn't be surprised to see Dublin lose this one, obviously be disappointed but Monaghan have it in them to beat anyone, are at home and have a league final to play for..

Dublin will have to be at their best

I'd take a draw right now if it was offered, that would put Dublin at 10pts and let our positive points difference do the business

Just speaking for myself but when I saw that our last game would be up in Monaghan, I was hoping Dublin would have already done enough to qualify..."
If Mayo beat Donegal the result in clones wont matter for Dublin regardless as our scoring difference is about 30 points better than Tyrone if they were to beat Kerry and we would be in the league final against Monaghan next weekend

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/04/2017 18:47:05    1973876

Dublin by 5 to 7 points..at a canter..

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 02/04/2017 10:12:11    1974009

Monaghan by 2 points

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1905 - 02/04/2017 10:44:36    1974018

Well it's a strange spot to be in

I'll actually be shouting for Mayo today...

Hope I don't do myself an injury

Hon Mayo (just got sick a little)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 02/04/2017 11:15:58    1974024

Fabulous game so far. Serious pace. My only gripe is the referees interpetion of using the back card. Connolly gets the line and the Monaghan centre forward gets a yellow for cinically taking down Fenton!!!! Aside from that, a great game by both teams.

Bain (Donegal) - Posts: 470 - 02/04/2017 15:31:32    1974090

Great game, two teams left the field completely spent. Enthralling to the end. Two dodgy black cards, but the teams can't help that.

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 02/04/2017 15:41:30    1974095

Jaysus that was another close one, brilliant resolve once again to come back when it looked lost. One game away now from a historic 5 league titles in a row!!

Hill16Army (Dublin) - Posts: 88 - 02/04/2017 15:42:28    1974096

Replying To Bain:  "Fabulous game so far. Serious pace. My only gripe is the referees interpetion of using the back card. Connolly gets the line and the Monaghan centre forward gets a yellow for cinically taking down Fenton!!!! Aside from that, a great game by both teams."
I think your right Carey's yellow probably more in the spirit of what the black card should be for than either black cards given.
Great game dubs showed great resolve again but defending could have been much better. Monaghan whether through fatigue or what we have we hold attitude dropped off last 15 mins and was the losing of the game for them.

ctowers (Dublin) - Posts: 99 - 02/04/2017 15:45:47    1974104

amazing game... amazing team...

6 points down... win by 3 against a very good monaghan team ... in clones ...

hunger is unreal. drive is unreal. different gravy..

up the greatest dublin team ever witnessed

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/04/2017 15:46:28    1974106

Another great win for this team, 6 points down away from home against a Monaghan side playing very well indeed, can't ask for more, great stuff from both sides and a great game.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 02/04/2017 15:47:24    1974109

Dublin v Kerry final.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 02/04/2017 15:48:41    1974113

Replying To Bain:  "Fabulous game so far. Serious pace. My only gripe is the referees interpetion of using the back card. Connolly gets the line and the Monaghan centre forward gets a yellow for cinically taking down Fenton!!!! Aside from that, a great game by both teams."
Brilliant game to watch but your right both black cards were harsh, hughes trip was no way on purpose v poor decision and no way should connelly have received one either but other than that what a game both teams give it 100% from the off just the better bench for dublin won it for them, now that mcmanus has a partner up top they look fantastic together. credit again to both teams excellent viewing.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 706 - 02/04/2017 16:06:11    1974130

Very bad luck today to Monaghan, that was one of the toughest games we have in our years of success. What a player Jack McCarron is, in additition to some very good players there and others coming through.

Feel you will have a big say in the championship this year, thourally deserve to be in the league final how they are not is beyond me.

I'd hate to call the Ulster Championshio this year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/04/2017 16:40:11    1974160

That was a tough defeat to take today, second year in a row we've been pipped at the line by Dublin. Though to be fair you could see it coming over the last 10 minutes, tiredness had just set in for us and Dublin were getting through far too easy, and we were making some sloppy mistakes and poor decision making in front of goal. Losing Hughes and Walshe early didn't help either.

Great game overall though, some advertisement for the league. You have to say fair play to the Dubs, some team. They just don't know when they're beaten. Incredible subs to bring off the bench too which so often makes the difference.

Despite the loss today it's been a very good league for us overall. More young players have been introduced and have gotten valuable experience and game time against the top teams. Definitely the biggest plus for us is the form of McCarron, it's great to see him get the recognition at a national level and perform like everyone in Monaghan has known he can. He's just been dogged with injuries the last few years so it's fantastic that he's slotted into the team seemlessly and is racking up scores against the top teams. It says alot that we were a kick of a ball away from a league final and yet McManus has been fairly quiet so far this year.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 02/04/2017 16:40:18    1974161

The umpires had a mare!! Called 4 points incorrectly!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/04/2017 18:02:17    1974241

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "The umpires had a mare!! Called 4 points incorrectly!!"
Will have to watch it later

But def a few hawk eye calls were needed

Felt Reddin's point was wide but Dean Rocks was over.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 02/04/2017 18:20:13    1974266

Super game, amazing atmosphere

Felt like Championship..

Monaghan played very well, but maybe didn't know how to handle their lead, Dubs did brilliantly to come back from 6, two sweet as feck goals, really top drawer stuff against a top side.

Unlucky to Monaghan, before Dublin's 2nd goal, I felt a draw was fair, but that's until James and Jack had another idea

Super win for Dublin, great to come through a game like that, great preparation for the final.

6 Div 1 finals in 7 years now for Dublin

On course for 5 in a row

Outstanding consistency from a truly great team.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 02/04/2017 18:27:19    1974275

Replying To patk:  "That was a tough defeat to take today, second year in a row we've been pipped at the line by Dublin. Though to be fair you could see it coming over the last 10 minutes, tiredness had just set in for us and Dublin were getting through far too easy, and we were making some sloppy mistakes and poor decision making in front of goal. Losing Hughes and Walshe early didn't help either.

Great game overall though, some advertisement for the league. You have to say fair play to the Dubs, some team. They just don't know when they're beaten. Incredible subs to bring off the bench too which so often makes the difference.

Despite the loss today it's been a very good league for us overall. More young players have been introduced and have gotten valuable experience and game time against the top teams. Definitely the biggest plus for us is the form of McCarron, it's great to see him get the recognition at a national level and perform like everyone in Monaghan has known he can. He's just been dogged with injuries the last few years so it's fantastic that he's slotted into the team seemlessly and is racking up scores against the top teams. It says alot that we were a kick of a ball away from a league final and yet McManus has been fairly quiet so far this year."
I thought you were top drawer today. Well organised and breaking with huge pace. We were in big trouble when 6 down in the second but as you say you tired with 10-12 to go and couldn't get back in numbers as you had been doing. Our fresh legs running off the shoulder into those new gaps, caused all the problems. A great game, the hardest we've had this year and a wakeup call for us going into the final.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/04/2017 19:08:22    1974316

Great achievement for this Dublin side, just never know when they are beaten. While the scores eventually came in the second half Jim Gavin has a serious issue at the other end of the pitch. Mc Carron scored 1 - 5 from play. If I'm not mistaken, all off Davy Byrne. Jim has always preached that the players who are performing, keep the jersey. Byrne was substituted after 20 mins or so last week and still managed to keep his place today, amazingly! Other players coming back like Cooper and Small will eventually take their place but it will be interesting to see who starts against Kerry next week. Lads like Darren Daly must wonder what they have to do to keep a jersey. Hasn't put a foot wrong in the league, in difficult away games in Donegal and Kerry, yet Byrne is preferred. interesting to note that Michael Fitzsimons only came in out of the cold last year after Byrne was cleaned out in both games against Mayo and has been excellent since. Young Conor Mc Hugh wasn't afforded the same latitude at the other end of the pitch when things didn't go for him today. While it's hard to question Gavin and his record as a manager, he appears to have blind spots when it comes to certain players.

dully83 (Dublin) - Posts: 9 - 02/04/2017 20:06:58    1974373

Listen, I'm just home and I'm a bit giddy, excuse the blue tinted glasses praise here but lads, for all the talk that goes on on social media, newspapers, radio phone ins etc about the advantages we have over others, there are just some things that money cant buy or no coach can teach, and that's the never say die attitude and all round mentality of this absolutely incredible, immense, phenomenal Dublin panel. I've just never seen anything like it in my life. You go into this game having just beaten a 90+ year record of unbeaten matches, You go to a ground that is notoriously tricky for visiting teams to go to, against a very good Monaghan side who only themselves needed a draw to make the final, Not to mention you already have 4 Allianz league titles in a row to your name, You've probably cemented yourself as part of the greatest Dublin team of all time, You are the team everybody outside of the capital want to beat/want to see beaten by someone, anyone at this stage.., the team everyone will increase their efforts to beat and end the run, You at no point in the first half take the lead, you are losing by 6 with 20 to go. At no point in the whole game up until injury time are you leading, and yet still, somehow, from somewhere you find the hunger, the grit, the determination, the energy, the drive to get yourselves over the line. Its absolutely out of this world, something that as I said, no amount of money can buy. We get a lot of praise for our skill level, our pace, our strength and depth, our ability to play scintillating football, but f**k me, The one thing that's always overlooked is our ability to grab victories or draw's from the jaws of defeat. We just never know when we are beaten, The attitude is top, top class.

Complacency wont beat this Dublin team, Its just not. That's not to say we wont get beaten, but when we do, It wont be because of a lack of fight, We wont just lie over and die, When we are beaten itll take something special, because these fellas just wont give away their honours without one absolute hell of a battle, If anyone is gonna beat us, by jesus you are gonna have to earn it.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 02/04/2017 20:53:13    1974411