Things GAA culchies love.

Replying To Laois76:  "Shur every Leinster semi final is played in Croker we've played in countless matches in Croker. I'd say 'Leix' have won more games in Croker than Mayo!!"
Mayo have a great record in Croke Park...finals on the other hand are a different story.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11239 - 31/03/2017 14:58:37    1973580

A nice bit of onion

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 31/03/2017 15:03:13    1973583

love when the town puts up the blue and white bunting, posters of the team everywhere, all the little kids running around wearing the jersey, all thr pub talk is about the upcoming match...momentarily thinking we are derek mcgrath doing team selections over a few pints :) and the farmers have the bails oh hay with "up the deise" painted on them....a great man once said "i loves me county"

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 31/03/2017 15:10:11    1973587

and journey "dont stop believin" on replay for a fortnight on the local radio station

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 31/03/2017 15:12:48    1973590

Coming up to a traffic collision on the way to the game trying to get a glance at the car to see if you know who was involved so if you do you can then screw the window down and shout a bit of good natured abuse at them.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 31/03/2017 15:34:36    1973599

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Coming up to a traffic collision on the way to the game trying to get a glance at the car to see if you know who was involved so if you do you can then screw the window down and shout a bit of good natured abuse at them."
Passing cars on the fast lane in the motorway and looking over to see if you know them...if you do....beep beep...wave or stick the fingers up depending on who it is :) .....then eventually the fast lane becomes the slow lane with the culchie drivers who don't know how to drive on a motorway.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11239 - 31/03/2017 16:02:17    1973613

The port tunnel

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1064 - 31/03/2017 16:04:59    1973616

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo have a great record in Croke Park...finals on the other hand are a different story."
I'd say Laois have possibly played a lot more matches than Mayo though Yewtree. We'd have provincial senior and minor football games there and also hurling minor and senior games. I know you'd think we haven't much success in hurling but we won semi finals in senior hurling in Croke Park in the 1980s, 1940s, 1910s, add this to winning many football semi finals. Even our minor footballers in the 90s and 00s. Iwasn't having a clip at Mayo, just Mr. Swartz!

I'll give him a free history leason when i'm at it, he was calling us 'Leix' in a derogatory way. Well ourselves and Offaly were called Queen's and King's county after the Laois/Offaly plantation in 1555/56. After Queen Mary of England and her husband Phillip II of Spain. We were the first 2 irish counties planted. The reason being the O'Carrolls of Offaly, the O'Moores of Laois and other clans, including my own, were causing so much hassle for the English government. We were constantly raiding the Pale and very Gaelic. Queens county is often thrown at us by ignorant people who know no better :) The reasons were very similar to why Ulster was planted.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 31/03/2017 16:42:11    1973629

Back in the day coming up to Dublin for the AI quarters, semis and finals. scoring with chicks ,some good , some bad. The Noughties was some craic following Kerry up in the big smoke.
With age , inability to get over hangovers and I suppose having a missus and less firing Kerry team the trips are rarer these days!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 31/03/2017 18:16:49    1973660

I still have a few of the old crepe paper hats in blue and white with "Up Cavan" written on them.
When it rains the colour runs down your face. Anyone remember them?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 31/03/2017 19:40:33    1973673

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "I still have a few of the old crepe paper hats in blue and white with "Up Cavan" written on them.
When it rains the colour runs down your face. Anyone remember them?"
yup i have my waterford one!!!! gaa antiques :)

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 31/03/2017 20:23:52    1973682

Replying To Laois76:  "I'd say Laois have possibly played a lot more matches than Mayo though Yewtree. We'd have provincial senior and minor football games there and also hurling minor and senior games. I know you'd think we haven't much success in hurling but we won semi finals in senior hurling in Croke Park in the 1980s, 1940s, 1910s, add this to winning many football semi finals. Even our minor footballers in the 90s and 00s. Iwasn't having a clip at Mayo, just Mr. Swartz!

I'll give him a free history leason when i'm at it, he was calling us 'Leix' in a derogatory way. Well ourselves and Offaly were called Queen's and King's county after the Laois/Offaly plantation in 1555/56. After Queen Mary of England and her husband Phillip II of Spain. We were the first 2 irish counties planted. The reason being the O'Carrolls of Offaly, the O'Moores of Laois and other clans, including my own, were causing so much hassle for the English government. We were constantly raiding the Pale and very Gaelic. Queens county is often thrown at us by ignorant people who know no better :) The reasons were very similar to why Ulster was planted."
A lot of Leinster ding dongs but how did he do when ye got to the 'dance'? Lost to Mayo!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 31/03/2017 20:39:52    1973683

How can you not have Whinging as number 1....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 31/03/2017 20:53:40    1973687

We do love Up for the Match, Marty Morrissey, the skirts worn by camogie players , picking our nose, giving out about the price of going to games, seated stand seats, a right good row , pints of red lemonade during lent , good black turf. These are some of our favourite things.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 31/03/2017 21:16:12    1973690

Drinking pints in the local at 3 in the morning.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7370 - 31/03/2017 22:46:03    1973714

Farting in the terrace/stand after a few pints and a burger THEN looking around in mock disgust to let others think it wasn't you.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 01/04/2017 02:56:18    1973735

Raindrops on roses, whiskers on kittens, bright copper kettles, warm woollen mittens, brown paper packages tied up with strings. Yep thems the things what define us poor country folk. And how could I forget the girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes...........

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 01/04/2017 11:05:54    1973784

Mass on saturday half 6. Standing down the back with a few of the older gents. Have my kildare hoodie on proud as punch. If the priest doesnt mention the match at least twice its a bad sermon

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 366 - 01/04/2017 13:14:45    1973812

Straw hats (sombrero if you're from Cork), I love me straw hat, I generally keep it and the Kepak jersey for the Leinster final though.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/04/2017 15:01:24    1973835