Mayo V Donegal and the league in general 2017

Replying To Donegalman:  "No difficulties with the result. It's a lesson worth having in castlebar rather than croke park. Our lads will take all this on board I am sure. What encourages me is that when we stick to football we will compete with anyone. Mayo are at the sh1te or get off the pot stage of their teams life and we're always likely to do whatever it takes. It will be interesting to see how they get on this year."
Donegal man, we are sick of beating ye at this stage. troll on.

maigheoabu2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 17 - 04/04/2017 15:12:54    1975477

Replying To dstuction:  "That was Murphy to which i already said he should have been off. I also feel while it was harsh that Doherty did use his foot so rightfully seen the line. I am agreeing that our players lost discipline but you cannot condone your players actions. It's just mental. No was no badness until o Shea came on. That's pretty much a fact.

Question:
would the rowing have started if o Shea wasn't on the field?
As a mayo supporter would you not prefer to see o Shea playing football instead of carrying on like he did?
Have you ever dived like that with minimal contact in your playing days (past or present)?"
That was Murphy to which i already said he should have been off. I also feel while it was harsh that Doherty did use his foot so rightfully seen the line. I am agreeing that our players lost discipline but you cannot condone your players actions. It's just mental. No was no badness until o Shea came on. That's pretty much a fact.

Question:
would the rowing have started if o Shea wasn't on the field?
As a mayo supporter would you not prefer to see o Shea playing football instead of carrying on like he did?
Have you ever dived like that with minimal contact in your playing days (past or present)?

Look, Mayo aren't angels themselves, and our lads are well able to rough it when the occasion desires. But this is the second week in succession where one of our players has been struck in the face off the ball, with no sanction from GAA officialdom, either at the time or after the fact. So if the refs don't enforce the laws, we look after ourselves. The days of Mayo teams being intimidated by the opposition are over.

Murphy tackled Diarmuid O'Connor high as he was running along the sideline, viewable at about 9:15 in the video linked below. I would suggest that this was the incident that started the roola boola. AOS actually did very well not to retaliate after being punched several times in the face, which the linesman and refs somehow missed.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GF3YoA8P4Ro

O' Shea won a number of balls when he came on and drove Mayo on, so no, I've little complaints about how he played. I would prefer to see him keep his feet at times, but like your own Michael Murphy, he seems to need to be borderline assaulted at times before he gets awarded a free.

To answer your question about myself, I have never dived to get a player sent off, no.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 04/04/2017 16:44:23    1975553

Replying To maigheoabu2016:  "Donegal man, we are sick of beating ye at this stage. troll on."
Very insightful. Well done.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 04/04/2017 17:55:59    1975591

A very strange game in which Donegal played some of the best football I have ever seen them play in the first half only for them to completely lose the plot in the second half & show a side of themselves that I hoped we had seen the last of. We got bullied out of it when we tried to mix it & fell back to our old defensive ways when we went four points up. What annoyed me a bit was that it was some of our experienced players that were the worst offenders.

Its just as well it happened in a league game in Castlebar & not later in the summer but I have a feeling that this Donegal team will need a year or two to develop both physically & mentally to be able to face a team like Mayo.

It's all very well for a Donegal poster to say that we are a match for anyone when it comes to purely playing football but as we all know it takes a lot more than that to win at the highest level & we are a way off that at the moment.

Rory Gallagher has plenty to work on.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/04/2017 18:38:29    1975632

Replying To maigheoabu2016:  "Donegal man, we are sick of beating ye at this stage. troll on."
Except when it really really really counts.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/04/2017 18:39:41    1975635

You didn't beat us when it really mattered, in the All Ireland final of 2012. In fact, we had Sam Maguire won inside the first 10 minutes in effect. Don't forget that.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 04/04/2017 18:42:39    1975640

You might be sick of beating us but it still doesnt change the fact, that this year your team has got to deliver big time. It will be interesting to see how you fair this year, thats all I said and you can read it sideways or upside down if you like. Im not blaming Mayo for the 2nd half ugliness on Sunday nor am I saying we started it either. 6 of one or half a dozen of the other if I were to call it. Yes Murphy could have gotten a red. Unfortunately for Doherty he did and he will learn from it. He didnt endanger the health of anyone, it was more a gesture that got him the line than anything else.

What is undeniable and worrying from a Mayo point of view is that the game had to go down the toilet a bit for you to get back into it. Also worrying would be AOShea's track record of simulation. Mark my words, it could haunt him and Mayo this year, as all it will take is one ref who has a dislike for this type of player, to wave play on when there is a genuine foul and he makes a meal of it.

This is not really trolling, there was nothing major at stake for you as the game in Roscommon ensured your promotion. A bit disappointed that we didnt make the league final, but without Ryan McHugh we would not have had much of a chance against the dubs. So theres that.

I am just saying that this is an excellent opportunity for us to learn and improve as we know that we can play football and I am sure that we will too. Mayo hopefully will do likewise and we can look forward to the season rather than anticipate personalities taking over matches for the wrong reasons.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 04/04/2017 19:26:23    1975673

I dont get how it seem's to be totally acceptable now to puch Aiden O Shea in the face. He's been on the field for a total of about 40 minutes in the league and he's been punched in the face a total of 4 time's between the Tyrone and Donegal game's. There was total outrage on here last September and October over the handbag's between Keegan and Connolly but not a word from anyone outside of Mayo about how he's continually singled out for abuse.

glasagusdhearg (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 04/04/2017 20:00:14    1975698

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "You didn't beat us when it really mattered, in the All Ireland final of 2012. In fact, we had Sam Maguire won inside the first 10 minutes in effect. Don't forget that."
We won't.

By the same token, don't forget that Donegal are behind Mayo on the roll of honour for All-Irelands in pretty much every grade of football. A little bit of grace wouldn't go amiss.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 04/04/2017 20:40:12    1975723

Replying To Gleebo:  "We won't.

By the same token, don't forget that Donegal are behind Mayo on the roll of honour for All-Irelands in pretty much every grade of football. A little bit of grace wouldn't go amiss."
Ah lads, that's starting to get silly.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 04/04/2017 20:51:12    1975731

Replying To Gleebo:  "We won't.

By the same token, don't forget that Donegal are behind Mayo on the roll of honour for All-Irelands in pretty much every grade of football. A little bit of grace wouldn't go amiss."
You'll see it was a response to a post which certainly lacked grace in itself. Or did you only read my post?

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 04/04/2017 20:52:21    1975732

Donegal v Mayo. Great game of football in the first half. Mayo wanted it more in the second half and really pushed up on us. We didn't help ourselves by trying to run it out with smaller players than Mayo and we paid the price. I think both teams lost their discipline but our younger players need to learn from this as we lost our focus on the game and Mayo won...other teams will be taking notes.

League in General
From a Donegal perspective we couldn't be happier to stay up and with the young crop coming through it seems we will be competitive again within the next few years. I don't think we'll count against the more experienced teams come championship, e.g. Tyrone, Monaghan in Ulster and Mayo, Kerry, Dublin in the AI but hopefully we get plenty of games to bring these lads on.

Overall I really enjoyed the league, there was some fantastic games throughout and you can see what it means to teams to retain their status or get promotion etc. Look how elated Mayo and ~Down were

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 04/04/2017 21:00:56    1975737

Time to close this thread. I've forgotten about Sunday now. Time to focus and look towards championship.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11238 - 04/04/2017 21:50:33    1975760

Not a Mayo supporter, the opposite actually (maroon blood etc) but I have to love the way AOS gets blamed for the Donegal lad kicking him in the balls! Same crack when the guy got sent off in the club final. Blame the guy getting the crack!

Someone hits u, u have 3 choices
1 ignore it - and they'll walk all over u
2 Retaliate - risk red card
3 Draw refs attention to it - best option imo

IMO AOS was right to go down. I don't condone diving when nothing happens but this certainly wasn't the case.

PS I've had tips in the balls that nearly killed me and full kicks that did no harm....... So can't really judge the impact!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1837 - 04/04/2017 22:38:19    1975791

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Very insightful. Well done."
Sick of beating us?? Sure we beat ye in bbofey last year??

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 04/04/2017 22:56:03    1975800

Been thinking about this and think its pretty even between these two in the championship, I could be wrong but I recall them meeting just four times with two wins each. Significantly Donegal have closed the deal and captured Sam after beating Mayo in 1992 and 2012 whereas Mayo turned the tables in 2013 and 2015.
I would imagine that the majority of Donegal fans cheer for Mayo in AI finals not involving their own county.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 05/04/2017 20:02:35    1976155

Curlew66,

Would doubt very much that Donegal shout for Mayo in All Ireland Finals. May have been the case of old but Mayo would be despised up here generally, and in the main due to the constant moaning by their supporters over the 2012 final where it is generally accepted they were a beaten docket after 10 minutes. The carry on of their supportersin subsequent games against Donegal certainly didn't endear them to Donegal supporters either. I know hate is a very strong word but any genuine Donegal fans I know absolutely detest Mayo and their supporters with a passion.

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 05/04/2017 22:09:44    1976240

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "Curlew66,

Would doubt very much that Donegal shout for Mayo in All Ireland Finals. May have been the case of old but Mayo would be despised up here generally, and in the main due to the constant moaning by their supporters over the 2012 final where it is generally accepted they were a beaten docket after 10 minutes. The carry on of their supportersin subsequent games against Donegal certainly didn't endear them to Donegal supporters either. I know hate is a very strong word but any genuine Donegal fans I know absolutely detest Mayo and their supporters with a passion."
Jeez speak for yourself. Hate with a passion??? It's football ffs

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 05/04/2017 22:28:15    1976249

only for Mayo men there would not be much Gaelic Football in donegal, most of them support Celtic before Gaelic, Mayo guards and Teachers brought Gaelic Football to donegal, even in 2012 three of their best had Mayo Fathers.

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 05/04/2017 22:29:02    1976250

Replying To Lifford Gael:  "Curlew66,

Would doubt very much that Donegal shout for Mayo in All Ireland Finals. May have been the case of old but Mayo would be despised up here generally, and in the main due to the constant moaning by their supporters over the 2012 final where it is generally accepted they were a beaten docket after 10 minutes. The carry on of their supportersin subsequent games against Donegal certainly didn't endear them to Donegal supporters either. I know hate is a very strong word but any genuine Donegal fans I know absolutely detest Mayo and their supporters with a passion."
Was chatting to a few Donegal supporters at the match in Castlebar at the weekend and they seemed friendly enough. I wished them well in the final thinking at the time that they had gone through on score difference. If I had known they despised me it would have been a different story. Grrrrrrr.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 05/04/2017 22:33:30    1976253