Mayo V Donegal and the league in general 2017

I thought the discipline shown by both teams yesterday was poor. The Mayo supporters were on the ref's back and he found it very difficult to keep control. To be honest any number of players on both sides could have got the line for off the ball stuff. The sending off was really soft, I am a big fan of AOS and think he has the tools to be the best player in the country but he just gets too involved in skirmishes, this surely can't have a positive impact on his game long term.

I think Donegal can be happy with the league as we have blooded a lot of young players and stayed in Division 1. We also seem to be attacking more which is badly needed as we weren't scoring enough over the past 2 years. Hopefully we can mount a good challenge to win Ulster.

I'm not sure what to make of Mayo, they were poor in the first half but excellent in the second. They find it hard to be consistent from game to game and they also cannot put together a solid 70 minutes. If they could put together a consistent 70+ minutes they will be a match for anyone. I still think they will be the main challengers to Dublin.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 03/04/2017 16:56:28    1974911

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Mayo without O'Shea aren't at as much of a loss as Donegal without Murphy. Murphy is a more skilful footballer, a better forward and he's more mentally and physically aggressive than Aidan. He does the smart things in the big games, be it taking out an opponent, winning a free or a point from 40 yards.

Aidan is still learning as a forward but he's getting better. I don't think he has shown yet how good he can be but he needs more aggression in big games to be mentioned in the same class as Michael Murphy."
HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA best laugh i've had all day.
Aidan O Shea isnt a footballer anymore. Anyone who thinks he is obvious didnt watch the game yesterday or anything he has done in the last 2 years. He caught 1 ball yesterday. In 30 minutes of football he caught 1 ball. He offered nothing else in football terms.

He did however win Mayo the game with dirty underhand tactics that I would be ashamed of as a Mayo supporter.

When I was discussing the game afterwards I spoke of Doherty and Murphy both losing their temper. They are experienced players and should know better. I dont like my players being on the field to start rows.

Donegal down through the years have had an awful lot of tough and hard and even cynical players but Im glad to say that I have never seen a donegal player act like O Shea yesterday.

I think alot of counties want to see Mayo finally get their All Ireland but with players like O Shea in the side I would be delighted for them to lose 10 more. Thats harsh for some players like Higgins, Boyle (Who is think is hardy but plays football) and Moran (who could/should have got a black card yesterday) and others. Them players play the game right but not O Shea.

Rant over

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 03/04/2017 17:16:00    1974925

Mayo supporters yet again very aggressive yesterday . What is their problem ?

They deserved their win .

Aidan O'Shea should be embarrassed with himself - mouthing away.

He wont get them later in the year.

I don't care how long Mayo are waiting - the hospitality yet again from the home support was very poor. I wont be going to Castlebar again to a match.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 03/04/2017 18:02:05    1974947

Replying To dstuction:  "HAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA best laugh i've had all day.
Aidan O Shea isnt a footballer anymore. Anyone who thinks he is obvious didnt watch the game yesterday or anything he has done in the last 2 years. He caught 1 ball yesterday. In 30 minutes of football he caught 1 ball. He offered nothing else in football terms.

He did however win Mayo the game with dirty underhand tactics that I would be ashamed of as a Mayo supporter.

When I was discussing the game afterwards I spoke of Doherty and Murphy both losing their temper. They are experienced players and should know better. I dont like my players being on the field to start rows.

Donegal down through the years have had an awful lot of tough and hard and even cynical players but Im glad to say that I have never seen a donegal player act like O Shea yesterday.

I think alot of counties want to see Mayo finally get their All Ireland but with players like O Shea in the side I would be delighted for them to lose 10 more. Thats harsh for some players like Higgins, Boyle (Who is think is hardy but plays football) and Moran (who could/should have got a black card yesterday) and others. Them players play the game right but not O Shea.

Rant over"
Which part of my post did you find funny?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7370 - 03/04/2017 19:13:37    1974993

Rant over"
I think you have lost your head there mate. First thing AOS did was dispossess Michael Murphy. Donegal players were running around after O Se trying to provoke him. I've seen it happen against other teams too.

Good luck to Donegal. I think yourself and Monaghan could win Ulster.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11239 - 03/04/2017 19:20:53    1975000

Donegal ppl can blame Aidan O Shea all ye want for losing a game ye should have won. Doherty stupidly kicked out, like keegan did against Kerry a few years ago, and its a red card everyone knows that. Doherty and O shea were at each other from the minute O Shea came on, Michael Murphy was doing his fair share of dirty digs too but its part of the game now..so is players making the most of any contact, or no contact remember Donegal goalkeeper against Monaghan last year falling to the ground holding his face and there was zero contact..
Supports need to calm down with there rants and abuse of opposition players for doing stuff that there own county men are at, and this goes for mayo fans too when they go on about Connolly..

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 603 - 03/04/2017 19:31:54    1975002

Replying To tommy132:  "Donegal ppl can blame Aidan O Shea all ye want for losing a game ye should have won. Doherty stupidly kicked out, like keegan did against Kerry a few years ago, and its a red card everyone knows that. Doherty and O shea were at each other from the minute O Shea came on, Michael Murphy was doing his fair share of dirty digs too but its part of the game now..so is players making the most of any contact, or no contact remember Donegal goalkeeper against Monaghan last year falling to the ground holding his face and there was zero contact..
Supports need to calm down with there rants and abuse of opposition players for doing stuff that there own county men are at, and this goes for mayo fans too when they go on about Connolly.."
Read my comments. I have said that Both Doherty and Murphy lost their heads and it was disappointing. I even went as far as to say Murphy should have been sent off.
If you look back at that time last year a lot of Donegal people myself included were very much against him and his actions. In my mind there is no place for it in gaelic football.

I have no problem giving out about players on my team when I feel they overstep the mark.

How Mayo people can continuously defend O Shea and his antics is just confusing to me. Hold players responsible for that kind of action.
If a player plays poorly or makes a mistake I will rarely even mention it. That isn't always in their control but people taking the game I love and making a mockery of it like O Shea does more often than not is what really gets under my skin. How he stayed on the field is even more crazy (Although I admitted he didn't do anything to warrant a straight red, nor did any Mayo player)

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 03/04/2017 20:02:51    1975020

I find the rules of the game laughable at the moment. We have rules that are tight and enforced about attempting to strike but a different rule for actually properly striking or close lining someone.

The striking rule seems to be ignored all of the time when a player is in possession and his opponent hits him with a closed fist in the ribs 'attempting to get the ball.' Similarly, a close line tackle around the neck is a tactic used to stop a running player by a dangerous counter measure, and hopefully derail him for the rest of the game with fear or injury.

On the other hand, when a player attempts to strike, or raises his hand to strike and doesnt, the rule is enforced 100% of the time, usually because the opposition try and get the accused sent off.
Donegalman (All)

I agree with you on that and add that most of the Refs have not even played junior B but have done all the courses. Most of them don't know when to, or indeed when not to, give a black card- the first guy given a black card in the Dublin v Monaghan match was not even a foul and the second one was dubious as well.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 03/04/2017 20:32:02    1975043

Rant over"
You have to admit it was a great catch though!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 03/04/2017 20:32:22    1975045

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "You have to admit it was a great catch though!"
It was. if he spent more time playing football he might get back to his best. I remember him destroying us in 2013 in midfield.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 03/04/2017 21:01:40    1975071

From my vantage point I thought AOS escaped a black card when dragging E. Doherty down in the first place,
The Donegal player had a David Beckam moment with a flick back of his boot. Sending off looked harsh but technically a correct decision. Not sure if Eamon Doherty would make the starting 15 of a full strength Donegal team so he might not be a huge loss for the first round championship match. Aidan O Shea does and will have a huge role to play in any mayo challenge, not sure where to play him though. Was shaping up very well 2 years ago as a full forward ( v Sligo, Roscommon and Donegal) but then again he is capable of giving a team a huge lift in midfield. Biggest downside is that he gets by passed by clever fast moving teams running the ball through midfield.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 03/04/2017 22:30:10    1975110

Replying To dstuction:  "It was. if he spent more time playing football he might get back to his best. I remember him destroying us in 2013 in midfield."
Given that Aidan took a couple of straight punches in the puss yesterday (without sanction from the officials), some Donegal posters would do well to tone down the righteous indignation.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 03/04/2017 22:40:00    1975117

Replying To arock:  "I think any honest person would be embaressed with O'Shea's reaction."
Totally over reacted but he should not have been given the opportunity to. Right in front of the ref too - left him with no other option.

Torcaill (Australia) - Posts: 204 - 03/04/2017 23:28:27    1975131

Just seen footage there posted on the Mayo Gaa blog page, Murphy was giving some big hits in the last 20 minutes, it was him elbowing Diarmuid O Connor out over the sideline that got the Mayo player's and fan's so angry. Aiden followed him up the sideline and got at least 2 raps for his trouble's and got another puk off a Donegal player too and who was the first man to get called over for a yellow, yes it was Aiden, oh and he took that kick in the crown jewel's which is why he went down so easily.

glasagusdhearg (Mayo) - Posts: 55 - 04/04/2017 00:09:34    1975138

Replying To Torcaill:  "Totally over reacted but he should not have been given the opportunity to. Right in front of the ref too - left him with no other option."
Have you ever gone down easy with a kick to the balls?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11239 - 04/04/2017 08:58:16    1975186

To be honest these debates are pointless as supporters can never see any wrong that their own side does. This is shaping up like the Lee Keegan v Dairmuid Connolly debate last year. As I posted above I thought both sides showed very poor discipline and made it impossible for the ref. Both Murphy and O'Shea were guilty of causing skirmishes. I am hoping Donegal learn from this as I felt we were playing well until we got involved in the off-the-ball physical stuff.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 04/04/2017 09:54:24    1975238

Replying To Gleebo:  "Given that Aidan took a couple of straight punches in the puss yesterday (without sanction from the officials), some Donegal posters would do well to tone down the righteous indignation."
That was Murphy to which i already said he should have been off. I also feel while it was harsh that Doherty did use his foot so rightfully seen the line. I am agreeing that our players lost discipline but you cannot condone your players actions. It's just mental. No was no badness until o Shea came on. That's pretty much a fact.

Question:
would the rowing have started if o Shea wasn't on the field?
As a mayo supporter would you not prefer to see o Shea playing football instead of carrying on like he did?
Have you ever dived like that with minimal contact in your playing days (past or present)?

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 04/04/2017 11:45:30    1975325

Replying To dstuction:  "That was Murphy to which i already said he should have been off. I also feel while it was harsh that Doherty did use his foot so rightfully seen the line. I am agreeing that our players lost discipline but you cannot condone your players actions. It's just mental. No was no badness until o Shea came on. That's pretty much a fact.

Question:
would the rowing have started if o Shea wasn't on the field?
As a mayo supporter would you not prefer to see o Shea playing football instead of carrying on like he did?
Have you ever dived like that with minimal contact in your playing days (past or present)?"
Sure isn't that why he brought O'Shea on to stop yer momentum. Like a redrag to a bull and start a row. Fairly effective it was too.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7370 - 04/04/2017 12:36:29    1975358

The ref has to take his fair share of the blame, if you allow a dog to bite without stopping him or punish him he will continue to keep doing it, while I'm not the biggest O'Shea fan Mayo made 2 big subs that was Coen and O'Shea, both took the game by the scruff of the neck and drove forward, a few incidents to fire up the team and fans does no harm, what is wrong is when a foul is committed and the ref plays on players then tackle even harder next time and a mêlée breaks out, ref then fobs it of by dishing out a few yellows, what happens then is the next average foul can easily turn into a red card. If the refs show some bottle and lay down the law early on and wave a few cards then players will cut out the nonsense, now a lot of my fellow county fans were roaring every time the ref gave a free to Donegal, now there was a few soft frees but Mayo often made lazy attempts at tackling and committed fouls which the ref rightly blew for, my problem was he was too slow to prevent flashpoints, if he showed them that he was the boss then certain things may not have happened

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 04/04/2017 13:31:49    1975401

No difficulties with the result. It's a lesson worth having in castlebar rather than croke park. Our lads will take all this on board I am sure. What encourages me is that when we stick to football we will compete with anyone. Mayo are at the sh1te or get off the pot stage of their teams life and we're always likely to do whatever it takes. It will be interesting to see how they get on this year.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 04/04/2017 14:33:59    1975446