Mayo V Donegal and the league in general 2017

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Fair enough Lockjaw but in your original post you spoke about winning the National League not reaching the final & being "battered" by Dublin, two very different things. Foe what it's worth I don't think a full strength Donegal team would be battered by Dublin as I think Croke Park would suit them quite well.

As to the U21's these players will develop whether they win an Ulster U21title or not so I'm not quite sure what your point is.

Besides which I can't see any reason why they can't have a go at both. What a start to 2017 that would be!!"
I just think we're not quite in a position just yet to challenge Dublin in Croke Park where a national title is at stake. OK maybe "battered" was over stating it a wee bit I'll concede that.

You're also right in saying that the lads I mentioned will most likely push on to become senior stars. I just think that getting into and winning finals is a good habit to get into. It breeds a certain confidence, even arrogance in the best possible way. In my opinion our current crop of u21's stand a better chance of landing provincial silverware in the short term than our seniors do at national league level. But, as you say it would be fantastic to push on and win both!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 29/03/2017 19:50:10    1972903

I think regardless, either a U21 or National League title will push these lads on hugely because you currently have a big overlap. And just remember, it's not as if the main lads in our senior squad have all that many titles in their back pockets either. Ryan is probably our best, most important player and he only has one senior Ulster title, and 2 minor Ulster titles as far as I know.

I get where Lockjaw is coming from, I think all of us in Donegal are really desperate for the U21 lads to do well because they have such a talented team and there's been a few too many near misses the past few years with our underage. But of course a national league title would be great (we've only won 1 in our history!) and I'd quite enjoy having a rattle of the Dubs in the final.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 30/03/2017 11:28:03    1973069

Heh Donegal chaps,
What is the story with Mark Mchugh.
Ryan is turning into one of the best ball players in the game but his brother has disappeared?

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 30/03/2017 17:14:33    1973246

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I think regardless, either a U21 or National League title will push these lads on hugely because you currently have a big overlap. And just remember, it's not as if the main lads in our senior squad have all that many titles in their back pockets either. Ryan is probably our best, most important player and he only has one senior Ulster title, and 2 minor Ulster titles as far as I know.

I get where Lockjaw is coming from, I think all of us in Donegal are really desperate for the U21 lads to do well because they have such a talented team and there's been a few too many near misses the past few years with our underage. But of course a national league title would be great (we've only won 1 in our history!) and I'd quite enjoy having a rattle of the Dubs in the final."
Ryan McHugh has no Ulster minor titles.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 422 - 30/03/2017 20:37:18    1973321

Replying To woops:  "Heh Donegal chaps,
What is the story with Mark Mchugh.
Ryan is turning into one of the best ball players in the game but his brother has disappeared?"
I think Mark's focus and commitment waned a wee bit for a few years but he seems to be back at it now. He'll find it hard to become an automatic starter again but definitely a useful member of the squad when fully tuned in.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 31/03/2017 09:27:57    1973438

Donegal were brilliant in the first half today. Playing into a strong breeze they were streets ahead of our lads. I think Rory must have said at half time, "right lads you all know the prize for winning today is a run out against the Dubs next Sunday in Croke Park". They almost handed the ball to us at times in the second half. And thus the poisoned chalice passes to Kerry!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 02/04/2017 17:29:52    1974207

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Donegal were brilliant in the first half today. Playing into a strong breeze they were streets ahead of our lads. I think Rory must have said at half time, "right lads you all know the prize for winning today is a run out against the Dubs next Sunday in Croke Park". They almost handed the ball to us at times in the second half. And thus the poisoned chalice passes to Kerry!"
Listened to the game on the radio so hard to gauge whether it was a Donegal capitulation or a case of taking the foot off the pedal so to speak. I know personally I was in no way disappointed with the result today given the U-21 involvement in Ulster and probably beyond. In saying that it is 2 weeks in a row where Donegal have been in a very good position to win games but not see it out. In recent history supporters know this has been an issue under the current management so be interesting to hear Mayo as well as Donegal peoples thoughts who were at the game. It seemed Aidan O'Shea had a big influence on the game when he came on in more ways than one.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 02/04/2017 18:31:17    1974282

Replying To panamasam:  "Listened to the game on the radio so hard to gauge whether it was a Donegal capitulation or a case of taking the foot off the pedal so to speak. I know personally I was in no way disappointed with the result today given the U-21 involvement in Ulster and probably beyond. In saying that it is 2 weeks in a row where Donegal have been in a very good position to win games but not see it out. In recent history supporters know this has been an issue under the current management so be interesting to hear Mayo as well as Donegal peoples thoughts who were at the game. It seemed Aidan O'Shea had a big influence on the game when he came on in more ways than one."
I don't know about this. There was a bit of taking the foot off the pedal but ultimately I have a horrible feeling that Gallagher has bench marked himself as being a manager who defaults to type no mater what. The evidence is there from today. In the 2nd half, going 4 points up and with a strong wind, he decides to play defensively rather than push on. I dont know how much this has to do with the way Mayo played in the 2nd half but surely we have to score a few points to make the gap uncatchable. We did the very same thing in the ulster final against Tyrone and in the final game of the league last year against monaghan. We had them for the taking and instead sat back and invited them on us. Disaster resulted.

I dont subscribe to poisoned chalice games v dublin. Every game you play in croke park is to your advantage and would have been great for our young lads.

Good luck to mayo, they obviously showed a lot of character. But by the sounds of it, our lads were drawn into a bit of a war in the 2nd half when we went 4 ahead and it didn't suit us. Our youth will learn from this, but we have got to get on with the business of attacking when a team is there for the taking rather than going back to our own 30 for the rest of the game.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 02/04/2017 18:52:25    1974303

Replying To panamasam:  "Listened to the game on the radio so hard to gauge whether it was a Donegal capitulation or a case of taking the foot off the pedal so to speak. I know personally I was in no way disappointed with the result today given the U-21 involvement in Ulster and probably beyond. In saying that it is 2 weeks in a row where Donegal have been in a very good position to win games but not see it out. In recent history supporters know this has been an issue under the current management so be interesting to hear Mayo as well as Donegal peoples thoughts who were at the game. It seemed Aidan O'Shea had a big influence on the game when he came on in more ways than one."
Donegal showed very little ambition from about ten minutes into the second half to the end. I don't know was it a case of them taking their eyes off the ball, Mayo upping their game or maybe both. The arrival of Aidan O Shea made a big difference as Donegal seemed to focus a lot of their attention on him. Speaking with my Mayo hat I thought he was more sinned against than sinning, but most of the action took place on the stand side which was the opposite to my position. I was really impressed with Donegal in the first half as their ball retention was first class and their running game caused us endless problems. For ourselves I think todays game threw up more questions than answers.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 02/04/2017 19:35:11    1974342

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Donegal showed very little ambition from about ten minutes into the second half to the end. I don't know was it a case of them taking their eyes off the ball, Mayo upping their game or maybe both. The arrival of Aidan O Shea made a big difference as Donegal seemed to focus a lot of their attention on him. Speaking with my Mayo hat I thought he was more sinned against than sinning, but most of the action took place on the stand side which was the opposite to my position. I was really impressed with Donegal in the first half as their ball retention was first class and their running game caused us endless problems. For ourselves I think todays game threw up more questions than answers."
Mayo not showing their hand during this campaign.
Topple kerry, Blitzed by the dubs and pulled two big results out of the bag against Tyrone and Donegal and handed kerry a day out against the Mighty Dubs,
Looking forward to the summer.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 02/04/2017 20:57:48    1974418

Aidan O Se is absolutely vital to this Mayo team. He came on and within seconds has ripped the ball of Murphy much to the roar of the home crowd and that started the Mayo revival.

Donegal were excellent in first half cutting Mayo open at will. I think they lost their heads and got distracted when Aideen came on.

Nice to stay up on our own terms. I still think we can be a force this summer and be at the business end but much to ponder and a lot of work to do.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11239 - 02/04/2017 20:58:02    1974419

Replying To yew_tree:  "Aidan O Se is absolutely vital to this Mayo team. He came on and within seconds has ripped the ball of Murphy much to the roar of the home crowd and that started the Mayo revival.

Donegal were excellent in first half cutting Mayo open at will. I think they lost their heads and got distracted when Aideen came on.

Nice to stay up on our own terms. I still think we can be a force this summer and be at the business end but much to ponder and a lot of work to do."
Ya he is vital alright, joke of a red card.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 02/04/2017 22:03:29    1974472

Replying To yew_tree:  "Aidan O Se is absolutely vital to this Mayo team. He came on and within seconds has ripped the ball of Murphy much to the roar of the home crowd and that started the Mayo revival.

Nice to stay up on our own terms. I still think we can be a force this summer and be at the business end but much to ponder and a lot of work to do."
People give out about AOS a lot, saying he is over rated and has no legs - that may well be the case but without him Mayo are only a shadow of a team. Very similar to Donegal without Michael Murphy. Both players have lost their legs and ability to get up and down the pitch as much as they used to, but both are Vital to their respective counties.

Mayo will win Connacht and Kerry will canter to another Munster title, so yes ye will be at the business end of the championship yet again.

However, I think Kerry will be on an upward curve in the next few years - I think the opposite may possibly be the case for Mayo.
Just my honest opinion.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3738 - 02/04/2017 22:06:54    1974475

Replying To panamasam:  "Ya he is vital alright, joke of a red card."
He did kick hi, though....that's a red card. Although Aidan did seem to go down easily. The Donegal player did not even argue with the sending off.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11239 - 02/04/2017 22:20:44    1974485

Agter such a great first half performance and how we started the second I am really disappointed with the loss. I think Mayo upped their intensity big yime and O'Shea was a monster for them when he came on. He ruffled feathers and got into our heads so that was really disappointing from a discipline point of view. I just hope the young lads learn a lot from the second half today. Weren't up to it and the tackling got lazy, giving handy frees to O'Connor.

Overall delighted with the league campaign fair play to all the panel. A league final would have been a nice bonus for them but not the end of the world to miss out

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 02/04/2017 22:25:56    1974491

Replying To yew_tree:  "He did kick hi, though....that's a red card. Although Aidan did seem to go down easily. The Donegal player did not even argue with the sending off."
He raised his leg if there was any contact it was minimal and on the back of the calf. That other lump goes down like he got a kick in the ribs. It was embarrassing. Not just seeing a guy of that size reacting like that but also people including your man on the SG trying to fill us with nonsense saying such a thing deems a red card. Should be defending the guy harshly sent off not a guy with previous. Seriously a joke and I say that when quite content Donegal lost today with a view to our U-21's.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 02/04/2017 22:28:55    1974496

Replying To yew_tree:  "He did kick hi, though....that's a red card. Although Aidan did seem to go down easily. The Donegal player did not even argue with the sending off."
He goes down easily regularly. The risk attached to this behavior is that refs will not give him the benefit of the doubt - deserving or not - later in the year. I thought he gave the donegal man a good thump in the kidneys before he went to ground too.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 02/04/2017 22:33:15    1974499

Not for the first time.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 02/04/2017 22:47:27    1974508

Ah here any contact was minimal and on the calf. The big lad (with previous) goes down holding his ribs....it was embarrassing. I am quite content with Mayo winning today as it frees up the U-21's for remainder of their Ulster game so not as if I have chip on my shoulder cause of the result. That was a joke and an embarrassment to the sport. Not so much the officiating side of things esp considering the ref involved.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 02/04/2017 22:49:00    1974509

Replying To Fionn:  "People give out about AOS a lot, saying he is over rated and has no legs - that may well be the case but without him Mayo are only a shadow of a team. Very similar to Donegal without Michael Murphy. Both players have lost their legs and ability to get up and down the pitch as much as they used to, but both are Vital to their respective counties.

Mayo will win Connacht and Kerry will canter to another Munster title, so yes ye will be at the business end of the championship yet again.

However, I think Kerry will be on an upward curve in the next few years - I think the opposite may possibly be the case for Mayo.
Just my honest opinion."
Both players have lost their legs and ability to get up and down the pitch as much as they used to, but both are Vital to their respective counties.

AOS is 26 and Murphy is 27. you are talking as if these guys are 10 years older. They are in their prime.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 03/04/2017 06:56:56    1974553