Project Dublin - a great success

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "There is way more to the Dublin senior success story than this conspiracy theory. They have a perfect storm of favourable variables that translates into success, the main one being the work ethic of JG and his greater team. Cuala deserved their win on Paddy's Day too, but you think it is a conspiracy. Dublin win on merit, but yes a capital city will have more human and financial resources than say Leitrim. Tyrone, Donegal and Kerry just drew with them, is this part of the conspiracy? How many hurling counties combined would still lose to KK or Tipp? Dublin's success in recent years is a problem for some, but I do not understand the resentment. They have raised the standards and SLOWED Kerry from getting to Sam # 40."
Plus most of the resentment seems to be coming from Kerry same as when Tyrone had their number. How dare any team beat them they seem to think they have a god given right to win the All Ireland every year.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 26/03/2017 13:55:38    1971142

Replying To valley84:  "Have to agree

Roscommon players dropping out of their panel as it is not being resourced. They have no training centre
Dublin meanwhile have every facility and resource they need - food, gym, pitches, Croke Park"
It's true. Dublin do have food and the use of a gym and pitches to use. It's a disgrace that no other county has these perks I mean cone on ffs!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/03/2017 13:59:02    1971143

Replying To dubarra:  "Plus most of the resentment seems to be coming from Kerry same as when Tyrone had their number. How dare any team beat them they seem to think they have a god given right to win the All Ireland every year."
Many were very happy that Sky came on board

I wasn't one of them

Bad Monkey makes a good point about the influence they now have

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 26/03/2017 14:27:24    1971145

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Its not a criticism of Dublin ffs..I am a Dub. But the GAA have been clearly engineering a situation where it is unviable for smaller counties to complete any more. 50+ players turned down the opportunity to play football for Galway as it is not worth the commitment. Same in many other counties now . It is very evident here in Leinster. The GAA are forcing a move towards the 'package' of professional sport and Sky TV - likely 12 merged 'county' regions and to hell with the clubs"
They should be doing something to raise the standards of so-called lesser counties. I don't agree with the argument that they can raise their standards if they really want to. Not easy for Division 3 and 4 teams playing that standard, getting beat after one, two if their lucky, provincial games and getting hammered in the backdoor. Fair play to Tipperary, Fermanagh and Wexford to get to semi finals, Sligo and Limerick also had a few good summers through a backdoor All Ireland. But Tipperary and Fermanagh seem to be the only team improving their standard fairly consistently.

I don't know what could improve the standard of Division 3 and 4 counties. I think that some kind of league with a mix of all standards in each division with the aim of reducing the gap in standards between the top and bottom. The top teams in each division could mentor the bottom. A league all star team from each division play semi and final, maybe the final being a showcase game abroad like the current All Stars tour. Naive enough ideas I know but I'm from Mayo and I can dream!

I'm not usually cynical but I can see no good for the long-term future of inter-county GAA once the Super 8 starts. Against the wishes of CPA and GPA to make the strong stronger and rake in the cash. That'll lead to an Intermediate championship for Division 3 and 4 counties with even less of a chance of improving standards for them. What's a talented 19 year old inter-county footballer in those counties going to think? Give all my dedication to football when I finish my studies, to strive for a low standard of football , even though I'm playing a much higher standard in college? Look for a job here in Cork/Galway/Dublin and maybe play for them? Go to the AFL or try another sport? Or a 15 year old deciding between hurling, football, rugby, athletics, soccer,other sports, just sticking with club football. Some are worried about other sports taking potential young GAA players. If the GAA doesn't look after club and so-called lesser counties more potential players will leave.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7368 - 26/03/2017 14:34:11    1971149

Replying To JayP:  "Haters are gonna hate."
You tell them Eminem ;)

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 26/03/2017 14:35:09    1971150

Sorry Dubbara

Didn't mean to reply to you

You're right by the way

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 26/03/2017 14:39:13    1971151

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "They have raised the standards and SLOWED Kerry from getting to Sam # 40.

Any why was this a matter of national concern?

We have earned our success organically, certainly got F all help from Croke Park and HQ that is for sure. Are you suggesting if it was a level playing field we would win every year or what? I'm not sure......"
But I stated a fact not an opinion....Dublin have slowed down Kerry's path to Sam #40....so get over it

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1674 - 26/03/2017 15:44:07    1971168

Organically playing football in a hurling first province with one foot in a semi-final for 115 years

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 26/03/2017 15:49:22    1971169

Replying To GreenandRed:  "They should be doing something to raise the standards of so-called lesser counties. I don't agree with the argument that they can raise their standards if they really want to. Not easy for Division 3 and 4 teams playing that standard, getting beat after one, two if their lucky, provincial games and getting hammered in the backdoor. Fair play to Tipperary, Fermanagh and Wexford to get to semi finals, Sligo and Limerick also had a few good summers through a backdoor All Ireland. But Tipperary and Fermanagh seem to be the only team improving their standard fairly consistently.

I don't know what could improve the standard of Division 3 and 4 counties. I think that some kind of league with a mix of all standards in each division with the aim of reducing the gap in standards between the top and bottom. The top teams in each division could mentor the bottom. A league all star team from each division play semi and final, maybe the final being a showcase game abroad like the current All Stars tour. Naive enough ideas I know but I'm from Mayo and I can dream!

I'm not usually cynical but I can see no good for the long-term future of inter-county GAA once the Super 8 starts. Against the wishes of CPA and GPA to make the strong stronger and rake in the cash. That'll lead to an Intermediate championship for Division 3 and 4 counties with even less of a chance of improving standards for them. What's a talented 19 year old inter-county footballer in those counties going to think? Give all my dedication to football when I finish my studies, to strive for a low standard of football , even though I'm playing a much higher standard in college? Look for a job here in Cork/Galway/Dublin and maybe play for them? Go to the AFL or try another sport? Or a 15 year old deciding between hurling, football, rugby, athletics, soccer,other sports, just sticking with club football. Some are worried about other sports taking potential young GAA players. If the GAA doesn't look after club and so-called lesser counties more potential players will leave."
Any time you put 33 teams in the same competition there's going to be massive differences in standards, no matter what the sport is and no matter what investment is provided. Having 4 divisions in the league makes perfect sense yet when it comes to the Championship we put Div 1 teams against Div 4 teams etc. It happens in other sports such as soccer but in those cases the league is the premier competition and the one teams are judged by and not by open draw competitions which are considered inferior.
It's time for a tiered championship. Ironically, and despite popular belief, it is not the stronger counties that are against a tiered championship, it is the weaker counties. What hope do the likes of Leitrim, Antrim, Waterford, Carlow, Offaly. Longford. Clare, Wexford, Derry, Sligo, Westmeath, Limerick, Louth have of winning a provincial title let alone an All ireland? Every 2 or 3 years one of them will break from the pack and put together a championship run but that's hardly an argument in favour of the current structure. Much better off playing a B Championship where the winners and perhaps the losing finalists automatically qualify for the following year's A competition. But for no reason other than tradition and resistance to change, so many are against it.
As an interim measure I think the Super 8 is a great idea. Outside of Mayo, Dublin, Donegal, Tyrone, Kerry who are near certain qualifiers, it gives the likes of Cork, Galway, Monaghan, Down, Meath, Tipperary, Cavan, Kildare, Down, Roscommon, Derry and perhaps one or two more, the realistic prospect of getting three guaranteed high profile games one of which will be in there home ground, something that is a rare event these days.

Sindar (Roscommon) - Posts: 348 - 26/03/2017 15:56:20    1971171

Replying To bad.monkey:  "The GAA get a lot of stick but this Dublin project has been very successful. Through massive unjustifable funding and preferential treatment in fixtures the GAA now have forced the situation whereby counties will now need to consider merging to compete. Quite asute work to force the situation rather than propose the mergers themselves. This one big step closer to their ultimate goal of a neatly packaged "Super 12 or 10"teams. Far easier get bigger sponsorship and sell to Sky. Plus no need to deal with pesky small counties looking for a level playing field. Rossies have excellent structures, produce very good players but can now not complete even in a league game. Good job GAA. Role on Sky deciding fixture times, squad numbers and transfer windows"
Rarely I agree with you monkey but you are spot on this time. The Dublin project had been a great success. The relevant bodies, Dublin, their fans, Croke Park, the media and advertisers are all delighted as constant Dublin success means KERCHINGGG and under this GAA administration that's ALL that matters. Meanwhile the rest continue to struggle and lack of interest drives many to rugby and soccer. However let them eat cake, they are only plebs and culchies.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 26/03/2017 16:02:27    1971172

Replying To TheHermit:  "Kingdomboy, we'll win our All Ireland's the old fashioned way, the Kerry way. Blood sweat, pride, toil and tears. An Riocht Abu!!

37 and counting..."
Ye won't be winning many more the old fashioned way...you will still get a free pass in the hurling province but now you may have to win a few games to win an all-ireland from next year...how many all ireland's did you win after losing the one meaningful game you play in the hurling province in the last decade..not to worry you could lose 2 next year and win the big one..the old fashioned way and ye would have 2 less Sam's to celebrate.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 26/03/2017 16:03:00    1971173

Just to remind folks that the county who spent the most on their intercounty team last year was Mayo. €1.6m if memory serves me correctly.

DNS16 (Dublin) - Posts: 53 - 26/03/2017 16:18:40    1971179

In Leinster Meath and Kildare have absolutely no excuses for being so poor.They have frankly been an embarrassment this decade and Kildare all round have been terrible for most of their history.

That has absolutely nothing to do with Dublin.

This Dublin team are one of the greatest of all time because their players are great and all the money in the world doesn't produce raw talent like they have.Fair enough they have a population advantage and that helps a lot but so do a lot of other counties and yet they can't make anything of it.Why are Monaghan so good when the likes of Galway and Cork have declined so much in recent years.

And for people arguing against Dublin being good do you not realise that a strong Dublin team is good for the GAA as a whole and Dublin GAA being in the news is still GAA being in the news.Rugby only really exploded in this country when Leinster started winning Munster winning never had the same effect as Leinster winning did.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 26/03/2017 16:43:04    1971195

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "In Leinster Meath and Kildare have absolutely no excuses for being so poor.They have frankly been an embarrassment this decade and Kildare all round have been terrible for most of their history.

That has absolutely nothing to do with Dublin.

This Dublin team are one of the greatest of all time because their players are great and all the money in the world doesn't produce raw talent like they have.Fair enough they have a population advantage and that helps a lot but so do a lot of other counties and yet they can't make anything of it.Why are Monaghan so good when the likes of Galway and Cork have declined so much in recent years.

And for people arguing against Dublin being good do you not realise that a strong Dublin team is good for the GAA as a whole and Dublin GAA being in the news is still GAA being in the news.Rugby only really exploded in this country when Leinster started winning Munster winning never had the same effect as Leinster winning did."
Nonsense, you sound like a worshipping devotee.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 26/03/2017 16:55:08    1971210

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Nonsense, you sound like a worshipping devotee."
Says the fella that celebrates an Ulster team winning as if it was Antrim winning the All Ireland

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 26/03/2017 17:00:18    1971224

Replying To Sindar:  "Any time you put 33 teams in the same competition there's going to be massive differences in standards, no matter what the sport is and no matter what investment is provided. Having 4 divisions in the league makes perfect sense yet when it comes to the Championship we put Div 1 teams against Div 4 teams etc. It happens in other sports such as soccer but in those cases the league is the premier competition and the one teams are judged by and not by open draw competitions which are considered inferior.
It's time for a tiered championship. Ironically, and despite popular belief, it is not the stronger counties that are against a tiered championship, it is the weaker counties. What hope do the likes of Leitrim, Antrim, Waterford, Carlow, Offaly. Longford. Clare, Wexford, Derry, Sligo, Westmeath, Limerick, Louth have of winning a provincial title let alone an All ireland? Every 2 or 3 years one of them will break from the pack and put together a championship run but that's hardly an argument in favour of the current structure. Much better off playing a B Championship where the winners and perhaps the losing finalists automatically qualify for the following year's A competition. But for no reason other than tradition and resistance to change, so many are against it.
As an interim measure I think the Super 8 is a great idea. Outside of Mayo, Dublin, Donegal, Tyrone, Kerry who are near certain qualifiers, it gives the likes of Cork, Galway, Monaghan, Down, Meath, Tipperary, Cavan, Kildare, Down, Roscommon, Derry and perhaps one or two more, the realistic prospect of getting three guaranteed high profile games one of which will be in there home ground, something that is a rare event these days."
What hope do the likes of Leitrim, Antrim, Waterford, Carlow, Offaly. Longford. Clare, Wexford, Derry, Sligo, Westmeath, Limerick, Louth have of winning a provincial title let alone an All ireland?

Zero chance under the current structures. Which is why I'm saying that division 3 and 4 teams should have opportunities to play division 1 and 2 counties of a higher standard. Definitely they'll get a few hidings but their standards should improve. I don't know what type of competition or even if Division 3 or 4 counties would prefer it. Even an October to February FA Cup style competition under lights with some giantkilling potential? Do away with the January provincial leagues. I wouldn't be in favour if a B championship because of tradition, far from it. Just that I think it'll widen the gap between top and bottom.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7368 - 26/03/2017 17:00:23    1971225

Replying To jimbodub:  "Says the fella that celebrates an Ulster team winning as if it was Antrim winning the All Ireland"
Different scenario. We were on the battle lines together over the past 40 years. We share a bond the Mexicans will NEVER understand.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 26/03/2017 17:08:20    1971237

I don't think people know that Dublin have 8 or nine players off the 2014 under 21 allireland winning team
that's an amazing return from one underage team
and not just the huge no that has come through
look at the names john small. jack mc caffrey. brian fenton.ciaran killkenny.paul mannion. Cormac cosstello
.niall scully.c mc hugh and s.carthy
now this is a huge advantage to get this many from one team
the only hope for the rest of countys
is that its not gonna happen every year there an exceptional group of lads

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 26/03/2017 17:18:16    1971248

I have to agree with the sentiments expressed by the poster who started the thread. Look, the onus is on Dublin fans to prove the following:

Please outline how having all your games in Croke Park come the Summer is not an advantage.
Please outline how a population of 1 million people is not an advantage.
Please outline how multi-national super corporations as sponsors isn't an advantage.
Please outline how having the best facilities on your doorstep to train etc isn't an advantage.

The Kerry of the 80's scenario isn't a fair comparison, as Kerry weren't handed everything by Croke Park in order to be a success.

My own view is the GAA panicked at the success of Irish rugby and decided to target the capital to offset the gains made by other sports. Now hurling is threatening rugby as south Dublin's number one game, it's astonishing.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 26/03/2017 17:45:59    1971273

correction i forgot to include davy byrne and eric lowndes were also on that 2014 u21 team
but Ciaran killkenny was not

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 26/03/2017 17:52:30    1971281