Ó Sé reveals admiration for McStay

August 09, 2017

Roscommon manager Kevin McStay and Darragh Ó Sé.

Darragh Ó Sé has praised Kevin McStay for walking the walk after years of talking the talk.

McStay swapped the comfort of The Sunday Game studio for the sideline when he became Roscommon manager (initially alongside Fergal O'Donnell) two years ago. He delivered a surprise Connacht SFC title this year, but Roscommon's summer ended in disappointment on Monday when they suffered a crushing All-Ireland SFC quarter-final replay loss to Mayo.

"I was watching Kevin McStay on the sideline during the game and even though his team was getting eviscerated, I had to admire him," Ó Sé wrote in the Irish Times.

"The Sunday Game studio is a grand, comfortable place to spend the summer and once you get settled in there, they're never in any big hurry to kick you back out into the big, bad world. You can talk the talk away there for as many years as you like.

"But you have to hand it to McStay. He could very easily have been sitting beside Marty Morrissey in the press box on Monday doing co-commentary but instead, he was down on the lonely sideline watching his team get murdered.

"That's a vulnerable spot to put yourself in. But fair play to him for putting himself in that position."

Most Read Stories