Club SFC round-up: Tyrone champions dethroned at first hurdle

September 09, 2017

Killyclogher captain Martin Swift raises the O'Neill Cup.
©INPHO/Presseye/Andrew Paton.

Killyclogher's reign as Tyrone SFC champions is over as they lost to Pomeroy in the first round this evening.

An early John Loughran goal helped Pomeroy to a 1-2 to 0-4 half-time lead at Dunmoyle and the 2016 intermediate winners went on to win by 1-9 to 0-7.

Without the injured Tiernan McCann - Killyclogher could only muster one score in the final 20 minutes as county panellist Frank Burns sent over Pomeroy's last three points to ensure their passage to the quarter-finals.

2015 winners Trillick and 2016 runners-up Coalisland are also into the last-eight after their respective victories over Strabane and Galbally.

Late goals from James Mannion and Stephen Walsh saw Monivea-Abbey become the first team to qualify for the Galway SFC semi-finals.

With county senior hurler Paul Flaherty in top form, last year's intermediate champions beat Tuam Stars by 3-9 to 1-10 in Corofin.

They will be joined in the last-four by Mountbellew-Moylough who showed their title credentials by hammering St James' by nineteen points - 3-20 to 0-10 - at Tuam Stadium.

Goalkeeper Marc Anthony McGinley inspired St Michael's to a 0-13 to 1-8 success over Burt in their Donegal SFC quarter-final clash.

The Donegal netminder pulled off some brilliant saves as the Creeslough/Dunfanaghy outfit squeezed through at O'Donnell Park.

In Ardara, Naomh Conaill enjoyed a narrow 2-13 to 0-15 win against Killybegs in the second of today's two last-eight ties in the race for the Dr Maguire Cup.

First-half goals courtesy of Eoghan McGettigan and Dermot Molloy proved crucial for the Glenties who finished with 13-men.



Tyrone SFC first round
Pomeroy 1-9 Killyclogher 0-7
Coalisland 3-11 Galbally 1-11
Trillick 3-17 Strabane 0-6 (Fri)

Galway SFC quarter-finals
Monivea-Abbey 3-9 Tuam Stars 1-10
Mountbellew-Moylough 3-20 St James' 0-10

Galway SFC relegation
Killeririn 1-7 Barna 0-8
Killannin 3-18 An Cheathrú Rua 3-10

Donegal SFC quarter-finals
St Michael's 0-13 Burt 1-8
Naomh Conaill 2-13 Killybegs 0-15

Cork SFC fourth round
Ballincollig 2-20 Carrigaline 1-8
Nemo Rangers 2-20 Kiskeam 0-11

Wicklow SFC quarter-finals
Avondale 1-8 Arklow 1-7
Baltinglass 0-14 Eire Óg 2-8

Derry SFC semi-final
Ballinascreen 0-11 Greenlough 0-9

Meath SFC round 5
Moynalvey 3-14 St Colmcille's 2-13
Simonstown 1-12 Blackhall Gaels 1-4
Navan O'Mahonys 3-14 Seneschalstown 0-9
Wolfe Tones 2-22 Summerhill    0-11 (Fri)
Gaeil Colmcille 0-15 Rathkenny 0-8 (Fri)
Donaghmore-Ashbourne Duleek-Bellewstown 0-7 (Fri)

Cavan SFC quarter-final
Kingscourt 1-10 Killygarry 0-12

Louth SFC quarter-final replay
St Joseph's 3-10 Geraldines 1-11

Fermanagh SFC semi-final
Derrygonnelly 0-9 Roslea 1-6 (Fri)

Fermanagh SFC relegation play-off
Erne Gaels 3-10 Kinawley 1-11

Most Read Stories