Ladies team news: Changes aplenty for final round

April 05, 2019

Dublin's Siobhan Woods and Sinead Finnegan celebrate. ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy.

Compiled by Jackie Cahill

THE semi-final match-ups for the 2019 Lidl National Football League Division 1 semi-finals will be confirmed on Sunday – with champions Dublin and challengers Cork meeting in Round 7 in Mallow.

Dublin, Cork, Donegal and Galway are already through to the last four – and they are the same semi-finalists from the 2018 TG4 All-Ireland Senior Championship.

When the dust settles on Sunday, the top team will play the team who finishes fourth in the semi-finals, while the second placed team will meet the third placed team.

If two teams finish level on points, their final placing in the standings will be determined by the head-to-head result in the group stages, while three or more teams locked together will be sorted out via scoring difference.

Cork have made six changes to the team that accounted for Mayo last time out, with Lisa Crowley coming in for goalkeeper Martina O’Brien.

Further out the field, Clare O’Shea, Meabh Cahalane, Laura O’Mahony, Libby Coppinger and Rhona Ní Bhuachalla are named to start, with Melissa Duggan, Niamh Cotter, Emma Spillane, Eimear Scally and Orla Finn dropping out of the team.

Dublin’s team shows eight changes compared to the one that started against Galway in Round 6.

Rachel Fleming is in for Ciara Trant in goal while further out the field, Éabha Rutledge, Emma McDonagh, Sinead Finnegan, Siobhan McGrath, Siobhan Woods, Siobhan Killeen and Hannah O’Neill are all starters.

They come in for Martha Byrne, Niamh Collins, Rachel Ruddy, Lauren Magee, Orlagh Nolan, captain Sinéad Aherne and Nicole Owens, a real indication of Dublin’s strength in depth, as manager Mick Bohan makes eight changes in total.

Galway meet Donegal in Corofin and there are three changes for the Tribeswomen, with Lisa Murphy in for goalkeeper Róisín Ní Chongaile, while Shauna Molloy and Sarah Conneally replace Barbara Hannon and Lucy Hannon.

Following a hard-fought win over Westmeath last time out, Donegal make three changes as goalkeeper Aislin Nee comes in for Aoife McColgan, with Ciara Grant and Shannon McGroddy replacing All Star Treasa Doherty and Sinead McGinty.

Westmeath make three changes for their clash with Tipperary, with Anna Jones, Nicole Feery and Annie Dolan coming in for Karen McDermott, Chloe Kelly and Karen Hegarty.

Tipperary manager Shane Ronayne makes no fewer than seven changes, with both counties assured of Division 1 Football again next year.

Roisin McGrath, Roisin Daly, Cora Maher, Elaine Fitzpatrick, Courtney Lonergan, Laura Dillon and Anna Carey all earn starts, with Lucy Spillane, Brid Condon, Anna Rose Kennedy, Caitlin Kennedy, Ava Fennessy, Angela McGuigan and Caoimhe Condon dropping to the bench. 

Relegated Monaghan have a vacancy between the sticks as Brídín Tierney, who played there against Tipperary, is named in attack.

Casey Treanor, Lisa Flynn and Eadaoin Treanor are called into the team for Monaghan’s last group fixture with Mayo, as Hannah McSkane, Abbie McCarey, Chloe McBride and Eva Woods sit this one out. 

Mayo’s team is much-changed following their loss to Cork, with Sorcha Murphy named in goal ahead of Michelle Treacy.

Nicola Meehan, Danielle Caldwell, Lisa Cafferky, Ciara Whyte, Noirin Moran and Roisin Durkin come in for starts outfield in place of Roisin Flynn, Feena McManamon, Kathryn Sullivan, Emma Needham, Niamh Kelly and Fiona Doherty.

In the absence of regular captain Niamh Kelly, Sinead Cafferky will captain the Mayo team.  

Cork: L Crowley; C O’Shea, H Looney, E Meaney; D Kiely, A Hutchings, E Kiely; M O’Callaghan, M Cahalane; O Farmer, C O’Sullivan, L O’Mahony; L Coppinger, D O’Sullivan (capt.), R Ní Bhuachalla.

Dublin: R Fleming; É Rutledge, O Carey, E McDonagh; S Goldrick, S Finnegan, A Kane; J Dunne, S McGrath; C Rowe, S Woods, H O’Neill; S Killeen, N Healy, N McEvoy.

Galway: L Murphy; F Cooney, S Lynch, O Murphy; S Molloy, S Burke, C Cooney; L Ward, L Gannon; O Divilly, T Leonard (capt.), M Glynn; R Leonard, S Conneally, L Coen.

Donegal: A Nee; A.M. McGlynn, E Gallagher, E McGinley; N Carr, N McLaughlin, N Boyle; K Herron, M Ryan; K Guthrie (capt.), N Hegarty, A Boyle Carr; S McGroddy, R Friel, C Grant.

Westmeath: L McCormack; R Dillon, J Rogers, F Coyle; L Brennan, F Claffey (capt.), A O’Malley; A Jones, J Maher; N Feery, L Slevin, K Boyce Jordan; S Dolan, J Hennessy, A Dolan.

Tipperary: L Fitzpatrick; R McGrath, M Curley, E Cronin; R Daly, S Lambert (capt.), C Maher; O O’Dwyer, E Fitzpatrick; C Lonergan, A Moloney, L Dillon; R Howard, A Carey, S Everard.

Monaghan: AN Other; N Kerr, S Boyd, C Treanor; A McAnespie, R Courtney, L Flynn; S Coyle, E McAnespie; A Treanor, L Maguire, B Tierney; C Courtney (capt.), M Atkinson, C McAnespie.

Mayo: S Murphy; N O’Malley, N Meehan, D Caldwell; Clodagh McManamon, Ciara McManamon, C Whyte; N Moran, D Finn; S Cafferky, L Cafferky, T O’Connor; R Durkin, R Kearns, G Kelly.

Most Read Stories