Ulster club SFC final: Slaughtneil continue winning run against outclassed Gaels

November 26, 2017

Slaughtneil's Paul McNeill with Micheal Lyng of Cavan Gaels.
©INPHO/Jonathan Porter.

Slaughtneil (Derry) 1-15

Cavan Gaels (Cavan) 0-10

Shane McGuigan bagged 1-6 as Slaughtneil completed a unique Ulster 'double treble' with a comfortable victory over Cavan Gaels at the Athletic Grounds. 

For the second year in-a-row, the remarkable Derry club have completed a treble of provincial senior football, senior hurling and senior camogie titles. Cavan Gaels came to Armagh hoping to become the first club from the Breffni County to lift the Ulster club SFC crown, but they were no match for their battled-hardened opponents who had six different scorers, including the redoubtable Chrissy McKaigue, who excelled once again at centre back. Brendan Rogers and Pasty Bradley also starred at full back and midfield respectively as the Emmets set up a mouth-watering All-Ireland semi-final against surprise Munster winners Nemo Rangers next February.

Before an attendance of 7,591, Shane McGuigan and Christopher Bradley settled the holders with early points. Martin Dunne and Seanie Johnston replied with good scores for the Gaels, who were appearing in their first provincial final in 40 years, but Slaughtneil were full value for their 0-7 to 0-4 interva lead. Indeed, they could have been out of sight if Bradley and Se McGuigan hadn't missed early goal chances.

The game was effectively ended as a contest seven minutes into the second half when full back Brendan Rogers stormed forward to set up Shane McGuigan for the only goal. 

Johnston, Dunne and Niall Smith responded with scores for the Terry Coyle Park outfit, but the result was never in doubt as late points from McGuigan and Bradley underlined Slaughtneil's superiority.

Slaughtneil - A McMullan; P McNeill, K McKaigue, B Rogers; F McEldowney, C McKaigue (0-1), K Feeney; P Bradley, P Cassidy; R Bradley (0-2), Shane McGuigan (1-6, 0-2f), G Bradley; C Bradley (0-3, 1f), Se McGuigan (0-1), Brian Cassidy (0-2). Subs: B McGuigan for G Bradley, P Kearney for F McEldowney (BC), P McGuigan for R Bradley.

Cavan Gaels - C Flynn; L Fortune, N Murray (0-1), K Meehan; S Murray (0-1), B Fortune, D Sexton; P Graham, R Maloney Derham; N Smith (0-1), M Lyng, L Murphy; P O'Connor, S Johnston (0-3f), M Dunne (0-4, 1'45). Sub: D Meehan for P Graham.

Referee - C Branagan.

Most Read Stories