Meath vs Kildare 5th February

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "Supposedly on the GPS trackers against DIT Lowndes covered the most distance on the Meath team.. how many more miles would you like from him??"
I retract my comment if this is the case

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 07/02/2017 16:54:17    1953350

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "Supposedly on the GPS trackers against DIT Lowndes covered the most distance on the Meath team.. how many more miles would you like from him??"
Have you any other inside info for us?

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 07/02/2017 18:24:33    1953396

Replying To royaldunne:  "I don't know anything about him never seen him play. Unfair for me to mention name directly, but his club is dunboyne. Look we all hear this at every game I know that , what I really found interesting was his thought process in not joining Meath, and is he just a one off? Or is others like that. People living in county may have better idea than me, I just found it astonishing, as I see no greater honour"
Too much commitment ! Takes over your life ! Put in all that effort to be torn apart on this,roared at by supporters that you should have done this that or the other! Like any of us could done any better ! I have no doubt about the players attitudes there simply not as good as other teams

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 07/02/2017 22:06:04    1953462

Meath may not have the best footballers, but last Sundays display showed up the Meath team to be poorly organised, poorly coached, over trained and no game plan. There was no intensity (over trained), we showed no ambition going forward asides O Sullivan, with loads of ponderous slow play. I mean Christ kick passing is an art disappearing fast in our county. Kildare manager has Kildare lads playing fast, transitioning back to front really quick with lots of kick passing ( very un Kildare like but finally maybe Kildare realise , hand passing is for basketball). The way they played at weekend was a clear coached style of play. It is going to be interesting few weeks. We have average players who have flirted with relegation to Div3 last year, but a good coach like Pete McGrath would do a job on the players at his disposal in Meath even though there pretty average. There is no question about it. The question is Andy McEntee going to work an oracle like Pete McGrath or is he just another average coach who will do no better than MOD. Early days but opening game suggests, what Meath are going to dish up won't be pretty in coming weeks. Hope I am wrong .

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 07/02/2017 23:23:24    1953482

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "Meath may not have the best footballers, but last Sundays display showed up the Meath team to be poorly organised, poorly coached, over trained and no game plan. There was no intensity (over trained), we showed no ambition going forward asides O Sullivan, with loads of ponderous slow play. I mean Christ kick passing is an art disappearing fast in our county. Kildare manager has Kildare lads playing fast, transitioning back to front really quick with lots of kick passing ( very un Kildare like but finally maybe Kildare realise , hand passing is for basketball). The way they played at weekend was a clear coached style of play. It is going to be interesting few weeks. We have average players who have flirted with relegation to Div3 last year, but a good coach like Pete McGrath would do a job on the players at his disposal in Meath even though there pretty average. There is no question about it. The question is Andy McEntee going to work an oracle like Pete McGrath or is he just another average coach who will do no better than MOD. Early days but opening game suggests, what Meath are going to dish up won't be pretty in coming weeks. Hope I am wrong ."
One game and you have come to the conclusion that the manager isn't good enough.............

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 08/02/2017 08:24:25    1953523

i didnt say he didnt get about the field he looked tired after 20 mins of hard running. as i said im reserving judgement on the lad because thats the only time i seen him play

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 08/02/2017 09:41:01    1953534

Why can't Meath just develop a system to make it hard for teams to score against us. Do we still have the attitude, 'Sure we're Meath, we'll play 15 on 15 and go toe to toe, we won't adapt our play'. That's what I can't understand. Loads of teams have better players who will beat us every day.....so why not make it hard for them to do so. If that means low, scoring, poor football then so what. What harm is it if we play a couple of sweepers, protect the D area. Have every man know exactly where he should be, zone he has to cover. It's about organisation. And when we break, we'll have men over to help build from deep. I'm not saying it'll make us win a Leinster or All Ireland, but it will mean we will be difficult to break down. Hard to play against. Right now, nobody minds playing us. And teams will steam roll us as we're so open and have no protection at the back.

VernonSmith (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 08/02/2017 11:30:50    1953570

Replying To VernonSmith:  "Why can't Meath just develop a system to make it hard for teams to score against us. Do we still have the attitude, 'Sure we're Meath, we'll play 15 on 15 and go toe to toe, we won't adapt our play'. That's what I can't understand. Loads of teams have better players who will beat us every day.....so why not make it hard for them to do so. If that means low, scoring, poor football then so what. What harm is it if we play a couple of sweepers, protect the D area. Have every man know exactly where he should be, zone he has to cover. It's about organisation. And when we break, we'll have men over to help build from deep. I'm not saying it'll make us win a Leinster or All Ireland, but it will mean we will be difficult to break down. Hard to play against. Right now, nobody minds playing us. And teams will steam roll us as we're so open and have no protection at the back."
Mick O Dowd tried that a few times last year esp against Dublin where we were very defensive.

Meathmen (Meath) - Posts: 73 - 08/02/2017 11:42:32    1953576

its far too early to judge andy,s performance. he certainly has taken over at a stage where our talent pool is at an all time low since ive been following meath (1985 onward). these lads can train 15 times a week and it not gona make a blind bit of difference. however i still cant get my head around two issues from last sun.

1. it was abvious to a blind man that our centreback was being cleaned out from 5 mins into game. he was left on until nearly end of match. did our selectors not alert manager to this or did andy choose to ignore their opinion.

2. we were being destroyed at midfield and yet persisted to kick ball into that area. is it not managers call to instruct keeper what kick outs to deploy. why werent short kick outs used. has he so little confidence of our defence to work it out of defence and at least retain possession?
i mean this is basic stuff that managers can get their head around at schools level.

royalperro (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 08/02/2017 11:50:34    1953579

Replying To VernonSmith:  "Why can't Meath just develop a system to make it hard for teams to score against us. Do we still have the attitude, 'Sure we're Meath, we'll play 15 on 15 and go toe to toe, we won't adapt our play'. That's what I can't understand. Loads of teams have better players who will beat us every day.....so why not make it hard for them to do so. If that means low, scoring, poor football then so what. What harm is it if we play a couple of sweepers, protect the D area. Have every man know exactly where he should be, zone he has to cover. It's about organisation. And when we break, we'll have men over to help build from deep. I'm not saying it'll make us win a Leinster or All Ireland, but it will mean we will be difficult to break down. Hard to play against. Right now, nobody minds playing us. And teams will steam roll us as we're so open and have no protection at the back."
where you not at the game sunday??? how many times did we come out of defence with the ball and only have 1 or 2 forwards to kick it too! we are playing a defensive system.....just not a good one

meathforsam09 (Meath) - Posts: 116 - 08/02/2017 13:24:26    1953614

Replying To GlasagusOr:  "He covered a lot of ground that night. He was keeping up with the play (out wide) more so than really getting involved in it. He would have the engine to play midfield (box to box) and can kick a pass. Unfortunately I see few if any players on the Meath team with the workrate, intensity and mobility to play midfield and really take charge (boss the game) and dominate their opponents.

You would have to wonder with all the training over the last number of months and years, would the team/players have higher energy levels during matches (the whole purpose of it all) if they cut back on training somewhat. I just do not see the point or benefit of training that much, if there is a hint of burnout on match day."
Whoa wil ye just listen to what ye are saying . Talking about players suffering from Burnout . Overtraining and burnout are been inter mingled on this site . I don't think people realise the difference .
Overtraining can lead to post training issues , tight muscles , slower than normal nerve impulses etc., thus slower movement , exhibited as a lethargy , which may have been the reason why they looked lethargic. Don't forget , it was stated on here that McEntee , Coughlan were disappoint with the level of fitness of the team when they took over . Whether that was a throw-away comment used just to justify the various moves within the county set up I don't know , but it was meant to have been said . etc.
Continuous overtraining can lead to the dreaded Burnout situation , but that's after prolonged overtraining , and overload , and has a physiological and psychological affect on the play . people talking about overtraining , burnout in the one breath need to step back a bit.
Meath's defence was a sea from 15 seconds onwards against Kildare . O neill knew who to target and done so efficiently . Our M/field was non existent and we continued to try to maintain possession by kicking our ball out there, Pure madness . Plan A isn't working so lets try plan B ( Where was that, is there a plan B ?)
We can go one for a short while hoping for an improvement , and it looks like Andy is going to be using the league to blood , give more game time to various players that he has brought into the panel . Hopefully this will not lead to us holding up Div 3 next year .

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 08/02/2017 14:06:07    1953626

Replying To Talking_Sense:  "Meath may not have the best footballers, but last Sundays display showed up the Meath team to be poorly organised, poorly coached, over trained and no game plan. There was no intensity (over trained), we showed no ambition going forward asides O Sullivan, with loads of ponderous slow play. I mean Christ kick passing is an art disappearing fast in our county. Kildare manager has Kildare lads playing fast, transitioning back to front really quick with lots of kick passing ( very un Kildare like but finally maybe Kildare realise , hand passing is for basketball). The way they played at weekend was a clear coached style of play. It is going to be interesting few weeks. We have average players who have flirted with relegation to Div3 last year, but a good coach like Pete McGrath would do a job on the players at his disposal in Meath even though there pretty average. There is no question about it. The question is Andy McEntee going to work an oracle like Pete McGrath or is he just another average coach who will do no better than MOD. Early days but opening game suggests, what Meath are going to dish up won't be pretty in coming weeks. Hope I am wrong ."
I agree I think the team wasn't fully prepared, And what game plan there was obliviously poor. And management have to take some blame. However to compare Andy Mc Antee to Oneill who was with Kerry for around 3 years and this is his second year in charge of Kildare there for they should have a more or less settled team, And Pete Mc Grath who has at a rough guess 10 12 years at inter county level Is a bit unfair. Mc Antee is just one day in to step up into inter county level.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 08/02/2017 14:58:26    1953654

Replying To meathforsam09:  "where you not at the game sunday??? how many times did we come out of defence with the ball and only have 1 or 2 forwards to kick it too! we are playing a defensive system.....just not a good one"
How was that a defensive system? How can you say we were defensive - our no.6 attacked at will and left the centre open. No protection at the back. I'd have to ask were you at the game? There was no structure. We just got pulled out of shape due to no organisation? When I mention system, I mean lads are drilled and are to funnel back and occupy a zone. I'm not saying be as extreme as Donegal but we could all see their system and we could all see they knew when exactly to put pressure on a man. Engage the opposition when they enter that zone. Like where was Wallace playing? I couldn't understand his role

VernonSmith (Meath) - Posts: 112 - 08/02/2017 15:30:24    1953669

Meath-True: "Continuous overtraining can lead to the dreaded Burnout situation , but that's after prolonged overtraining , and overload , and has a physiological and psychological affect on the play . people talking about overtraining , burnout in the one breath need to step back a bit".

Is the four years many of the players trained under MOD not long enough for you. Their performances got progressively worse with each year/championship season that passed. You couldn't train that much and not be fit. There was more to it than that. If they are training most nights of the week over the last few months (and it is an even tougher schedule), who is to say they are not overdoing it and suffering the effects on match day. You build up your exercise routine gradually, not go killing yourself from the outset. In fact if the team were to play that poorly again, I sooner bring back some footballers like SOR (and others who have talent, but cannot commit to the level expected) and let them do a training schedule that suits their individual circumstances.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 08/02/2017 17:57:34    1953727

Replying To Meath_True:  "Whoa wil ye just listen to what ye are saying . Talking about players suffering from Burnout . Overtraining and burnout are been inter mingled on this site . I don't think people realise the difference .
Overtraining can lead to post training issues , tight muscles , slower than normal nerve impulses etc., thus slower movement , exhibited as a lethargy , which may have been the reason why they looked lethargic. Don't forget , it was stated on here that McEntee , Coughlan were disappoint with the level of fitness of the team when they took over . Whether that was a throw-away comment used just to justify the various moves within the county set up I don't know , but it was meant to have been said . etc.
Continuous overtraining can lead to the dreaded Burnout situation , but that's after prolonged overtraining , and overload , and has a physiological and psychological affect on the play . people talking about overtraining , burnout in the one breath need to step back a bit.
Meath's defence was a sea from 15 seconds onwards against Kildare . O neill knew who to target and done so efficiently . Our M/field was non existent and we continued to try to maintain possession by kicking our ball out there, Pure madness . Plan A isn't working so lets try plan B ( Where was that, is there a plan B ?)
We can go one for a short while hoping for an improvement , and it looks like Andy is going to be using the league to blood , give more game time to various players that he has brought into the panel . Hopefully this will not lead to us holding up Div 3 next year ."

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/02/2017 18:23:25    1953735

Look this my first ever pot on this forum,I dont usually get involve in a keyboard warrior war but the facts are the facts.
Meath were atrocious last Sunday and also against Louth the previous game. Lots of lads drafted from that were not on the squad for Louth and in turn lots of lads Dropped.

Last Sunday our Numbers 6 was roasted for start to finish and was left on for 67 minutes , WHY ?
Midfield roasted in first half , what happens brings off a back, moves a forward into backs and puts first half midfielder in forwards. WHY??

What is the story with Joe as a keeper ?
Andy dropped the simonstown keeper who has always played in goals and kept Joe who never played in goals

Where was Harnan last Sunday , he is our best number 6

Meath will be lucky to stay in DIV 2

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 08/02/2017 18:28:53    1953737

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/its-not-that-gaa-players-overtrain-its-that-they-underrecover-says-leading-sc-coach-30905863.html

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 08/02/2017 18:31:26    1953739

Replying To gardentree:  "Look this my first ever pot on this forum,I dont usually get involve in a keyboard warrior war but the facts are the facts.
Meath were atrocious last Sunday and also against Louth the previous game. Lots of lads drafted from that were not on the squad for Louth and in turn lots of lads Dropped.

Last Sunday our Numbers 6 was roasted for start to finish and was left on for 67 minutes , WHY ?
Midfield roasted in first half , what happens brings off a back, moves a forward into backs and puts first half midfielder in forwards. WHY??

Andy dropped the simonstown keeper who has always played in goals and kept Joe who never played in goals

Meath will be lucky to stay in DIV 2"
Very upbeT first post.
We have the best manager by far in charge, it will take time for him to stamp his authority on the team, but regardless of the results (only last Sunday as Louth game doesn't count) I am lot more optimistic about what next couple years hold than I was since 2011.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/02/2017 19:13:16    1953754

Replying To gardentree:  "Look this my first ever pot on this forum,I dont usually get involve in a keyboard warrior war but the facts are the facts.

Meath will be lucky to stay in DIV 2"
Very upbeT first post.
We have the best manager by far in charge, it will take time for him to stamp his authority on the team, but regardless of the results (only last Sunday as Louth game doesn't count) I am lot more optimistic about what next couple years hold than I was since 2011.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/02/2017 19:13:17    1953755

Replying To royaldunne:  "Very upbeT first post.
We have the best manager by far in charge, it will take time for him to stamp his authority on the team, but regardless of the results (only last Sunday as Louth game doesn't count) I am lot more optimistic about what next couple years hold than I was since 2011."
Jaysus royaldunne all this "hail Andy" stuff better come off for your sake! I don't think a combination of Sean Boylan and Mick O'Dywer could get much out of these players at the min! What would you say a successful year would be? And be honest

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 08/02/2017 21:30:12    1953817