National League

If Johnston is not getting up off the ground, hes falling on the ground. cant seem to hold his feet, cant win a ball-its not great for you go-to forward. madden and dillon should be persisted with to give them a chance. mc dermott and brady the other options for inside.our inside line is an issue though-we have enough half forward type players

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 30/03/2017 22:37:50    1973368

Replying To gowna02:  "Buchannan is not the answer at midfield at Division 1 or for a team aiming to win Ulster. Definitely not."
I disagree. I think he has real potential actually but he is young and needs time. He did very well for us last year. David Moran cleaned us last weekend and we have nobody to compete there at the moment. I think Buchanan can do a job there for sure. Mossy is not big enough to field but does a good job for us. McKiernan is not a consistent fielder. Buchanan can give us the stability in the middle to let Gearoid roam or else we can go with Corr and Buchanan and push Gearoid forward.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 31/03/2017 11:43:12    1973491

Well lads we meet again after numerous battles in last few years.we have had the upper hand in most of the meaningful games of last few years(league final and two championship matches) but having a great start to D1 last year we have fell apart largely down to change in magement.

After a mediocre start Cavan have seemed to be reaching next level in next magement after great work that was put in over last few years.

I expect Cavan to beat us Sunday and would not begrude yous what so ever I would love Ye to feel the euphoria we felt this time last year when we were sailing high. But saying that I think we need a win badly to boost morale come championship for us. Our team is named and for having the worst defense I the country we have two forwards playing in the backs so could be high scoring game but wish Ye boys the best of luck

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 01/04/2017 01:26:32    1973732

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Well lads we meet again after numerous battles in last few years.we have had the upper hand in most of the meaningful games of last few years(league final and two championship matches) but having a great start to D1 last year we have fell apart largely down to change in magement.

After a mediocre start Cavan have seemed to be reaching next level in next magement after great work that was put in over last few years.

I expect Cavan to beat us Sunday and would not begrude yous what so ever I would love Ye to feel the euphoria we felt this time last year when we were sailing high. But saying that I think we need a win badly to boost morale come championship for us. Our team is named and for having the worst defense I the country we have two forwards playing in the backs so could be high scoring game but wish Ye boys the best of luck"
If Cavan play an open game they will beat Roscommon of that I have no doubt but if they allow a negative game creep in we might as well say hello to Division 2. Mattie and the new management have got a nice crew of players together all wanting to win and to express themselves with their football skills. Unfortunately our destiny is not in our own hands after we gave Kerry a very soft point last weekend. This was a game we should have won comfortably but we did not so now we are depending on Kerry taking a point from Tyrone and Donegal beating Mayo. I can see Mayo losing all right but will Micky Heart like the good manager he is field a team to beat Kerry and send us sadly to division 2. Sadly our score difference is to bad should Kerry surprise me and take a point from Tyrone and Donegal do us a favour and beat Mayo score difference does not matter for we are ahead of Mayo on the head to head. So to those of you that are traveling to Roscommon please become the extra man and urge this team to drive it on and who knows what the overall result will be at 4pm tomorrow. I will not be there as there are matches on in the park but I will be there in spirit. My first target was for us to stay in Division 1 and then we can talk about Ulster.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 01/04/2017 09:25:18    1973753

Replying To seanorinn:  "If Cavan play an open game they will beat Roscommon of that I have no doubt but if they allow a negative game creep in we might as well say hello to Division 2. Mattie and the new management have got a nice crew of players together all wanting to win and to express themselves with their football skills. Unfortunately our destiny is not in our own hands after we gave Kerry a very soft point last weekend. This was a game we should have won comfortably but we did not so now we are depending on Kerry taking a point from Tyrone and Donegal beating Mayo. I can see Mayo losing all right but will Micky Heart like the good manager he is field a team to beat Kerry and send us sadly to division 2. Sadly our score difference is to bad should Kerry surprise me and take a point from Tyrone and Donegal do us a favour and beat Mayo score difference does not matter for we are ahead of Mayo on the head to head. So to those of you that are traveling to Roscommon please become the extra man and urge this team to drive it on and who knows what the overall result will be at 4pm tomorrow. I will not be there as there are matches on in the park but I will be there in spirit. My first target was for us to stay in Division 1 and then we can talk about Ulster."
An open game??

If we play an open game, roscommon have the forwards in Smith and Murtagh to hurt us.

We didn't play an open game against Mayo and we beat them. I wouldn't go changing our approach at this point.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 01/04/2017 12:06:52    1973798

Replying To cavanman47:  "An open game??

If we play an open game, roscommon have the forwards in Smith and Murtagh to hurt us.

We didn't play an open game against Mayo and we beat them. I wouldn't go changing our approach at this point."
An open game??

We didn't play an open game against Mayo and we beat them. I wouldn't go changing our approach at this point.
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts:2442 - 01/04/2017 12:06:52 1973798

Opinions cavanman I feel if we play football we will beat them it's that simple we have the players to win and to win comfortably.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 01/04/2017 12:48:49    1973807

Whats up with Seanie Johnston - don't see his name on the panel at all for tomorrow ?

tenyearplan (Cavan) - Posts: 147 - 01/04/2017 14:56:20    1973831

Roscommon seem to have a hex over us from the last few encounters but I'm reasonably confident we can reverse the trend tomorrow. I think we are much more solid defensively than we were the last time we met. From what I recall last time we were missing our 1st and 2nd choice full backs, 1st choice CHB and Roscommon easily walked through a patch work defense. We have improved on our counter attacking as well so it will be interesting to see how the Ross set themselves up. If they're open at the back and rely solely on their forward play they will see a very different Cavan.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 01/04/2017 16:25:46    1973850

Replying To tenyearplan:  "Whats up with Seanie Johnston - don't see his name on the panel at all for tomorrow ?"
Johnston has a shoulder injury he had it going in to last weeks game so it mustn't have mended. I hope Killian Clarke is in the backs I don't like to see him named midfield . Best of luck to Cavan tomorrow.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 01/04/2017 17:02:03    1973856

Replying To blueman1903:  "Johnston has a shoulder injury he had it going in to last weeks game so it mustn't have mended. I hope Killian Clarke is in the backs I don't like to see him named midfield . Best of luck to Cavan tomorrow."
Replying To tenyearplan: "Whats up with Seanie Johnston - don't see his name on the panel at all for tomorrow ?"
Johnston has a shoulder injury he had it going in to last weeks game so it mustn't have mended. I hope Killian Clarke is in the backs I don't like to see him named midfield . Best of luck to Cavan tomorrow.
blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts:357 - 01/04/2017 17:02:03 1973856

A shoulder injury where did you hear that??

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 01/04/2017 19:09:44    1973884

Replying To seanorinn:  "Replying To tenyearplan: "Whats up with Seanie Johnston - don't see his name on the panel at all for tomorrow ?"

A shoulder injury where did you hear that??"
Sean , I heard mattie saying it in a interview last Sunday evening, he said seanie had a difficult week training with a shoulder injury, so I'm just guessing that's why hes not listed for Sunday

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 883 - 01/04/2017 20:08:40    1973901

Replying To seanorinn:  "Replying To tenyearplan: "Whats up with Seanie Johnston - don't see his name on the panel at all for tomorrow ?"

Mattie McGleenan said it in his interview after the Kerry match. You can hear it on the "we are Cavan " podcast.

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 01/04/2017 20:23:58    1973909

Mattie McGleenan said it in his interview after the Kerry match. You can hear it on the "we are Cavan " podcast.

evano11 (Cavan) - Posts: 265 - 01/04/2017 20:24:06    1973910

The very best of luck to Cavan tomorrow in Roscommon. Win and no matter what happens we will be proud of our team . Come on Cavan

Breffinifan (Cavan) - Posts: 91 - 01/04/2017 23:04:35    1973975

Headin down to the Rossies today feelin a bit disappointed. This could go either way. Can't help feelin we shoulda done better in division one. Yeah we choke teams up but we haven't develop at all as an attackin team fact is we were more of an attackin force under Hyland.
Good luck to the lads, need to win but sickenin that it's out of our own control. The day up In blaney has come back to haunt us.
Mc Gleenan seriously needs to find forwards and play and develop them as forwards, they are there but the game he is playin won't develop them.
He also needs to find defenders that can take responsibility and mark ther own man. We have sacrificed our attackin play so that our defence is propped up. Our full back line is rarely tested , our sweeper takes responsibility for nothin. Why? Because we have four extra players playin in defence why wouldn't our defence look class we play with10 defenders all the time? If we could play with 6 top class defenders instead of 10 middle of the road ones(4 of which regularly roam forward and kick the ball away)??? Dillon cut a lonely figure up front the last day no decent ball played, no chance to develop and then we depend on Johnson to come in and save us at the death. We musta kicked 12-13 wides from these roamin players be fore that. Mc Gleenan needs to go and watch a few club games hopefully he might see a bit of balance between forward and defensive play. Otherwise we haven't a hope of doin anythin and after today the season will be over in 3 Games. Not a good return for a group of lads who showed so much promise. We are in month of March, where are Mick Argue, Jack Brady, Tom Hayes, Paul O Connor gonna get game time to develop as forwards?
If we get relegated today it's a double defeat , we have not only dropped back a division we have done nothin to develop the team. Yeah depressin stuff.
Tool on the clubs now for a bit of decent football.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 02/04/2017 08:25:54    1973995

Replying To shannon414:  "Headin down to the Rossies today feelin a bit disappointed. This could go either way. Can't help feelin we shoulda done better in division one. Yeah we choke teams up but we haven't develop at all as an attackin team fact is we were more of an attackin force under Hyland.
Good luck to the lads, need to win but sickenin that it's out of our own control. The day up In blaney has come back to haunt us.
Mc Gleenan seriously needs to find forwards and play and develop them as forwards, they are there but the game he is playin won't develop them.
He also needs to find defenders that can take responsibility and mark ther own man. We have sacrificed our attackin play so that our defence is propped up. Our full back line is rarely tested , our sweeper takes responsibility for nothin. Why? Because we have four extra players playin in defence why wouldn't our defence look class we play with10 defenders all the time? If we could play with 6 top class defenders instead of 10 middle of the road ones(4 of which regularly roam forward and kick the ball away)??? Dillon cut a lonely figure up front the last day no decent ball played, no chance to develop and then we depend on Johnson to come in and save us at the death. We musta kicked 12-13 wides from these roamin players be fore that. Mc Gleenan needs to go and watch a few club games hopefully he might see a bit of balance between forward and defensive play. Otherwise we haven't a hope of doin anythin and after today the season will be over in 3 Games. Not a good return for a group of lads who showed so much promise. We are in month of March, where are Mick Argue, Jack Brady, Tom Hayes, Paul O Connor gonna get game time to develop as forwards?
If we get relegated today it's a double defeat , we have not only dropped back a division we have done nothin to develop the team. Yeah depressin stuff.
Tool on the clubs now for a bit of decent football."
Mc Gleenan needs to go and watch a few club games hopefully he might see a bit of balance between forward and defensive play. Otherwise we haven't a hope of doin anythin and after today the season will be over in 3 Games. Not a good return for a group of lads who showed so much promise. We are in month of March, where are Mick Argue, Jack Brady, Tom Hayes, Paul O Connor gonna get game time to develop as forwards?

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts:178 - 02/04/2017 08:25:54 1973995
What you need to remember fella Mattie came to cavan when all the football had been played yes all the footbal. He had no chance of watching anyone play. This year relegated or not he will have plenty of time to watch so called games and try and set his own stall/stamp on things so like a good man stop pointing the fingers. Three of the above players above you mentioned are injured, Jack Brady and James McEnroe just starting to play a bit of football now so one might see them soon if not even today. We lost our way last Sunday we should have buried Kerry but we did not so now we are depending on Kerry and Donegal also off course we must get 2 points ourselves before their results come into play. I am hoping that today the lads will pick up a good score and who knows if Kerry and Mayo are well beaten we might still have it in our own hands to stay in division one.
I am hoping that Tyrone will give Kerry a point and Donegal beat Mayo and we win and we have nothing to worry about we will be Division one players next season thanks to Mattie the players and no one else.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 02/04/2017 10:20:16    1974011

Not about fingrpointin Sean. If we can't criticise and suggest alternatives we will never progress. The alternative is to say ah sure we are doin grand we can go back to division 2 and start to build again, we've done that already. Grand will not beat the Dublins or Donegals, they did not progress to their fantastic standards by settlin for doin grand.....Cavan fans or players don't want to settle for grand either.
Hope we see a good game today at least and would love to See Jack Brady play. He has been fit for the past 3 games....we shoulda seen him before now.

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts: 228 - 02/04/2017 11:38:57    1974028

Replying To seanorinn:  "Mc Gleenan needs to go and watch a few club games hopefully he might see a bit of balance between forward and defensive play. Otherwise we haven't a hope of doin anythin and after today the season will be over in 3 Games. Not a good return for a group of lads who showed so much promise. We are in month of March, where are Mick Argue, Jack Brady, Tom Hayes, Paul O Connor gonna get game time to develop as forwards?

shannon414 (Cavan) - Posts:178 - 02/04/2017 08:25:54 1973995
What you need to remember fella Mattie came to cavan when all the football had been played yes all the footbal. He had no chance of watching anyone play. This year relegated or not he will have plenty of time to watch so called games and try and set his own stall/stamp on things so like a good man stop pointing the fingers. Three of the above players above you mentioned are injured, Jack Brady and James McEnroe just starting to play a bit of football now so one might see them soon if not even today. We lost our way last Sunday we should have buried Kerry but we did not so now we are depending on Kerry and Donegal also off course we must get 2 points ourselves before their results come into play. I am hoping that today the lads will pick up a good score and who knows if Kerry and Mayo are well beaten we might still have it in our own hands to stay in division one.
I am hoping that Tyrone will give Kerry a point and Donegal beat Mayo and we win and we have nothing to worry about we will be Division one players next season thanks to Mattie the players and no one else."
Looking forward to another massive effort today from the squad and management remember the harder you work the luckier you get. This will not be easy and we have no special entitlement to anything, though you would think so from most of the opinion on here. I prefer to support the lads come what may.

rahanman (Cavan) - Posts: 127 - 02/04/2017 11:42:18    1974030

Bit of a long shot but anyone know of any way you can watch this online?

SamuraiBlue (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 02/04/2017 13:51:32    1974066

Donegal doing a number on Mayo so far! It's there for us. .

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 02/04/2017 14:47:15    1974078