Cavan v Galway

Dean what are you talking about? Why should Cavan be up there in terms of Senior Success bases on underage success? Roscommon, Galway, Tipperary have all had as much and more success than Cavan. Where has that translated to Senior Success barring a bit of a league run from Roscommon? Why should be we doing better than they are.

Quit heaping on the ultimatum lads. Sunday will be a great day. Enjoy the build up and the game for God's sake it's a game of football you're meant to enjoy it!

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 31/03/2016 15:42:52    1839715

Hyland didn't admit he made a mistake in getting rid of Johnston, just like Seanie never admitted that he did anything wrong. Maybe I imagined the whole thing, but sure he's scoring and that's all that matters.

There was a bit of praise a few posts ago but I see himself is now saying that "Hyland doesn't have the ability to bring them on" . What would I know over here in the States though?

The other boy fully expects to beat Tyrone in a league final. Cavan might beat them, but why would anyone full expect it?

It's never dull.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 31/03/2016 17:07:57    1839769

Skelling (USA) - Posts:106 - 31/03/2016 17:07:57 1839769

I suppose this is what happens when teams start winning. I made a statement after the Derry match that we had five games left and there were ten points and a possibility of promotion some laughed at me. After last Sunday I think my statement was a bold one especially watching the last 15 minuets or so against Laois and the number of chances they Laois had.
Talking about Croke Park or playing Tyrone never crossed my mind and getting these 10 points is all that mattered to me nothing else. There is a possibility we may well get what I predicted and if Cavan do I will be well pleased not because Cavan will play in Croke Park but because Cavan will get to play football against the big teams and this is the only way to start thinking further ahead of us once we start churning out wins in the top tier.
I only hope the players are not thinking the way many are on here are and putting unnecessary pressure on themselves for if they are I fear things might just go wrong for Cavan and my prediction.
Just be calm play to your ability and I hope that people on the side line don't start panicking either for if this happens it will be very close to call. If Cavan continue to play as they are now with plenty people running off the man in possession giving him options Cavan should do fine and please god let's hope the moment does not get to them.
People seem to forget there are two teams here with one agenda and thats to have enough points to finish second. A draw will do Cavan thats the only advantage we have this I am sure puts added pressure on Galway.
So as some have said look forward to the day and enjoy, please god Cavan supporters will be the happier leaving Kingspan at 15.30

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 31/03/2016 17:50:41    1839798

Yeah I'd echo those sentiments of Jonsmith and Sean. Anyone half witted enough to be putting ridiculous goals on this group of players should be ashamed of themselves. Beating your chest on an online forum on what levels of success or failure you accept!!- Is this supposed to make you a man? Are we supposed to be impressed or something? Players have one responsibility on Sunday. And that's to themselves and to each other. And it's to go out there and leave everything on the field. Let the chips fall where they may. They owe us nothing!

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 31/03/2016 18:49:42    1839824

What unattainable goals are you on about Hardtimes?
Posters want Cavan to win an important match. It's well within their ability to win this match and the one after. We've been preparing for this day for years surely. We have a better team than Galway. Our results in the league prove this surely.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 31/03/2016 19:52:31    1839851

This team needs to deliver .. They owe us plenty. We are the supporters who travel in all types of weather around the country, dig deep in our pockets at various fundraisers etc ..Now that the style of football is more attack minded and we scoring heavily let's seize the moment and win Sunday and against Tyrone too. If we don't set aims or goals then we will settle for mediocrity . We need to lose the "nearly " team tag . Get in to the top tier and then it's progress . Falling short is not progress it's staying the same. Push on from last years league

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 31/03/2016 20:39:02    1839879

Cavan have been more consistent. But not much difference player wise. Galway on form can be very good. Shane Walsh, Damien Comer, Tom Flynn , Paul Conroy are quality players. They have performed better away from home in the League then in their home games.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 31/03/2016 20:46:31    1839884

Learn to read properly Slasher- I said ridiculous goals. Fully expecting to beat Tyrone in a league final- we haven't even played Galway yet. But then again our players are fully expected to **** the bed against Galway like they always do!! Figure that one out. Harry Houdini must be making an appearance Sunday. I haven't failed to notice that you have a problem with some of my posts but don't seem to have any problem with disgusting remarks said about our players. Or are you saving your back handed compliments for another day? Keep writing. I'm sure Terry is mad keen on logging on here to avail of your football insight once again.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 31/03/2016 21:18:55    1839908

What unattainable goals are you on about Hardtimes?
Posters want Cavan to win an important match. It's well within their ability to win this match and the one after. We've been preparing for this day for years surely. We have a better team than Galway. Our results in the league prove this surely.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts:9888 - 31/03/2016 19:52:31 1839851

You can forget results Cavan_Slasher the game on Sunday is a new experience for these Cavan lads and please god they will prevail.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 31/03/2016 21:20:02    1839909

Here's calling on everyone to get out to Breifne on Sunday to support Cavan. And I mean support Cavan. Loud vocal support when they come on the field and at half time when coming off. Sometimes supporters tend to get frustrated when they don't see the ball going forward as quickly as they would like. This can feed into players on the field with the result that they get anxious and start forcing it. So encouragement all the way and hopefully we'll be lifting the roof of the stand at the end of the game.

Joebe (Cavan) - Posts: 76 - 31/03/2016 21:38:33    1839919

This team needs to deliver .. They owe us plenty. We are the supporters who travel in all types of weather around the country, dig deep in our pockets at various fundraisers etc ..This team needs to deliver .. They owe us plenty. We are the supporters who travel in all types of weather around the country, dig deep in our pockets at various fundraisers etc ..Now that the style of football is more attack minded and we scoring heavily let's seize the moment and win Sunday and against Tyrone too. If we don't set aims or goals then we will settle for mediocrity . We need to lose the "nearly " team tag . Get in to the top tier and then it's progress . Falling short is not progress it's staying the same. Push on from last years league

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts:352 - 31/03/2016 20:39:02

Wow.. Just wow.. You go to what, 10-15 odd games (and that's if you go to every single one) and sit in the stand and all of a sudden you are owed something?! You do realise the players put in the amount of time and effort we put in all year to support in about a week of training, dieting etc to be ready for county football?
It's also hilarious that you sit at home beside your keyboard judging and think that you are in a position to "set aims and goals" for the team. These lads are all athletes, mentally and physically more invested in this that you or I will ever be. You don't think they set their own goals?

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 31/03/2016 21:57:26    1839925

Bottom line in this game is if it goes by form and momentum generally the team in the ascendancy carries the day. Ye tick this box. We have been topsy turvy. Should have beaten Meath and Fermanagh but got lucky against Armagh and were unlucky against Tyrone when we had them on the ropes. Our conversion rate has been disappointing particularly against Fermanagh and Tyrone. On the flip side we have many quality footballers who are finally maturing after impressive u21 success. We are also better tuned into a strategy of play compared to last season although our kick out strategy is hit and miss. Guys coming back from injury and the rejuvenation of Shane Walsh assuming he is fit for Sunday means this will be a close match. Have a mixture of hope and expectation but do expect us to impact in Connacht this year as while the Rossies are on the up the noisy neighbour immediately to our north might be on the wane.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 01/04/2016 08:53:02    1839937

Good Luck to Cavan on Sunday

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 01/04/2016 09:06:57    1839941

Best of luck to ye on Sunday, would be great to see the blues back in Div 1.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 01/04/2016 11:18:59    1840033

Best of luck to the team on Sunday, it will be interesting to see how they perform with a high level of expectation.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 01/04/2016 12:05:26    1840075

Learn to read properly Slasher- I said ridiculous goals. Fully expecting to beat Tyrone in a league final- we haven't even played Galway yet. But then again our players are fully expected to **** the bed against Galway like they always do!! Figure that one out. Harry Houdini must be making an appearance Sunday. I haven't failed to notice that you have a problem with some of my posts but don't seem to have any problem with disgusting remarks said about our players. Or are you saving your back handed compliments for another day? Keep writing. I'm sure Terry is mad keen on logging on here to avail of your football insight once again.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts:323 - 31/03/2016 21:18:55

I don't know what you are taking but you might need to change the prescription. I see no conspiracy theories on this thread. I don't even know what you're on about wihen you say -- " Or are you saving your back handed compliments for another day? " You seem a bit paranoid to be honest.

All i asked you to do was point out something that annoyed you and asked you why it should annoy you, but you failed to explain and instead attacked the poster which seems a bit silly really. I'll put it down to nerves.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 01/04/2016 18:36:33    1840316

Any man that suggests the management team have been on here reading his posts and changing strategy accordingly has a cheek to be talking about prescriptions.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 01/04/2016 19:22:09    1840344

Any man that suggests the management team have been on here reading his posts and changing strategy accordingly has a cheek to be talking about prescriptions.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts:324 - 01/04/2016 19:22:09 18

Please point out the post where that was even suggested by me?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 01/04/2016 20:12:37    1840369

Back on topic. The weather forecast for Sunday is not good. Plenty of rain and it may be windy too. The greasy ball will cause problems. Jack Brady will probably replace SJ if he's unfit. You would need a smaller and nippier forward to get to the breaking ball around the square. I hope we get a good start and settle down early. Get into our rhythm and make the required changes when necessary. Cavan by 5.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 01/04/2016 20:49:58    1840385

Same team I would say will start on Sunday. ???
Cavan_Slasher. If we have the same weather we are getting at the moment it will be hard to see how the pitch will take two matches. It's very wet right now so I hope Sunday dries up a bit to protect the pitch and help the quality of the game

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 01/04/2016 21:37:25    1840403