Cavan v Roscommon

McStay says the ROSSIES are going to win, what more incentive would you need to put best foot forward and make him eat his words!!

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 11/07/2014 20:47:41    1617577

Really struggling to call a winner here, on current form its Roscommon all day, we could well be playing Mayo tomorrow only for a bit of inexperience to cost Roscommon. Yet, I think we have to snap out of this bad spell at some stage, luck got us over the line against a poor Westmeath team and we all know what happened in Armagh. But we can't stay in that rut forever we know we're capable of better. This year was always going to be tough after last year, teams have copped on to our system and know how to deal with it. Its up to the management to come up with a plan B. So far we have not seen a plan B.
Good luck to the lads tomorrow.
BELIEVE

We were the better team against Westmeath. Luck had nothing to do with it. We should have beat them by more and the only luck for them was that we didn't. Two years ago Kildare hammered us in Breffni. I was just looking over the programme. The majority of tomorrow's players were in that team or panel. Hyland has us playing to our strengths and as a smaller county that is what we need to do. People are fooling themselves if they think we've the players for a fast free flowing man on man type game. Lets all get behind the lads today. We are missing several key players so it is going to be tough.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 12/07/2014 08:56:53    1617626

Well said

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 12/07/2014 09:38:11    1617639

Ned_Stormcrow

Really struggling to call a winner here, on current form its Roscommon all day, we could well be playing Mayo tomorrow only for a bit of inexperience to cost Roscommon. Yet, I think we have to snap out of this bad spell at some stage, luck got us over the line against a poor Westmeath team and we all know what happened in Armagh. But we can't stay in that rut forever we know we're capable of better. This year was always going to be tough after last year, teams have copped on to our system and know how to deal with it. Its up to the management to come up with a plan B. So far we have not seen a plan B.

Good luck to the lads tomorrow.

BELIEVE

I agree with what Ned said above. We were very poor against Armagh because Armagh played us at our own game. And as Ned quite rightly said we had no plan B. I'm fed up listening to some people saying that we havent the footballers in Cavan. Of course we have. 5 Ulster U 21 finals in a row winning the last 4. Where are these players gone?
All I am asking is that we change our style and be more offensive.
Look at Monaghan who are well able to defend and defend properly but they break forward with the ball and give Mc Manus, Hughes etc a chance to get the scores. The difference with us is that we pass laterally or backwards.
Remember what happened in Croke Park against Kerry in the 2nd half when we abandoned the negativity , we suddenly looked like the better team.
First 20 mis in Croke Park as well against the Roosies in the League final we looked very good and then we suddenly reverted to our slow negative style and the Rossies took control.
I think if Martin Reilly, Niall Mc Dermott Micky Lyng etc were more attack minded we would be a different team.
I am still positive and will be down there today supporting the lads which I always have but I still think we are selling ourselves short.
Go out and run at the Rossies and we will see how good they are. Show us what Cavan football is all about. As Conor Moynagh said "we are Cavan"
Cavn Abu.

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 12/07/2014 10:29:56    1617658

I agree with these posts; we have a lot of good footballers but they can only do what management allows them to do. We saw over and over again that when the pressure is on us we can suddenly up it several gears and have won a lot of matches that way. That's because we abandon this lateral passing and run at defences but seemingly players are not allowed to do this very much. So it's up to management this time to come up with something more realistic for a game plan and let lads show their ability.

I'd rather lose by 4 or 5 points playing good football than lose by 1 point playing trash.

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 12/07/2014 11:01:43    1617675

best of luck to the lads this evening we will all be there shouting you on

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 12/07/2014 11:15:06    1617682

so what we are saying really is that Hyland is the "trappatoni" of Cavan football. He has done for Cavan what Trapp did for Ireland.. turned a team that was disorganised and non-commital in to a team that is "hard-to-beat, well organised,disciplined and plays to it's strengths. For this to work you need all the players to buy in to the philosophy , no one should show any creativity if it means putting the team at risk. defence is paramount. We will not be hammered by anyone (apart from Croatis/spain/Italy/Germany).... kerry and possibly Roscommon Today. Basically the Trapp/Hyland Philosophy will take you so far but it won't help you to compete with the top teams and ultimately the players will lose trust in the management and the fans will turn against you.

Like Ireland "do we have the players for a more attack-minded gameplan. Yes

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 12/07/2014 13:00:07    1617727

Its a wonder Cavan were in the doldrums for so long before Terry got hold of the U21s and then seniors given the tactical geniuses in the county as evident from comments on this board. Anyone remember games such as losing to Fermanagh in Breffni, hammered by Donegal, Longford, Kildare etc. Some short memories. Did yis ever think that maybe Terry might know a bit more about his players and Cavan football than yous?

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 12/07/2014 13:53:42    1617753

I would be seriously concerned about todays game, we seem to building up for our own destruction, I think the major problem is that management has a system they want to play and the select players they want to play it, unfortunately this system isn't working but it seems they are too stubborn to change it, If this whole situation isn't changed soon in the senior county set up all our years of u21 success will have been in vain, with more players opting to leave in the summers to America because they know unless there a favourite or willing to buy into the system that isn't working they wont get game time. maybe the players will take the shackles off themselves today and we could have a chance against the rossis,, like the 15 minutes spell against Westmeath, Good luck to the team today!

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 12/07/2014 14:05:10    1617756

S Goldrick.... I think u are spot on woth your post.. We should be playing a more attack minded game and see where it takes us.. At least the poor unfortunates that has to pay in wouldent be bored to tears.. Trap and Poney drove thousands of Irish fans away and Cavans style of play will do the same... Come on Terry let them express themselves as we have lots of talented players....!!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 12/07/2014 14:14:34    1617764

So goonie. McVetty and Killian Clarke went to the US as they were not the managers favourite as they didn't fit his system?? What a ridiculous assertion which is at odds with all evidence.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 12/07/2014 14:22:50    1617769

Look Fredflint, everybody remembers the bad days and we are really grateful for the work Terry has done. But we also remember some good days as well.So dont be so selective.
I was in Pairc Ui Chaoimh when Cork beat us out the gate under Tommy Carr. Embarrasing yes !!
But I was also on the Hill in Clones when a 14 man Cavan team should have beaten a very good Armagh team. Proud yes !!
I was in Breffni Park one Saturday night when we beat a very good Cork team in Div. 2 of the League. Proud yes and a certain S.J. starred.
But I am one of Terrys biggest fans but I was also very unhappy with our display against Armagh (like thousands of other Cavan fans) this year in the championship. It was also EMBARRASING.
So all we are asking is that we have a more attack minded policy. We have the young players so why not use them. Dont underestimate our players. Maybe Terry doesent dictate the style of play!!Maybe Peter Donnelly does!!
If you were happy with our display against Armagh then it tells a lot !!!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 12/07/2014 14:46:05    1617772

If Donegal fans were so concerned about the way they play since Jim McGuinness took over they would have very little support, he has delivered success. Thats what its all about at the end of the day, winning. Sure be naive and go all out attack, thats what cost Kildare against Meath 2 weeks ago.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 12/07/2014 14:49:06    1617775

That's a glorious list of good times there breffni dub. Beating a cork team that didn't train in breffni and nearly beating armagh. Is that the fruit of this glorious attacking football. Cavan are developing a slightly more expansive approach but we do not have forwards in the top tier so all out attack would be suicidal. We woukd be badly beaten if we go to a shoot out with roscommon today. If you think otherwise then good for you but you are wrong. The manager has earned the right to be trusted to do what is best and not listen to know nothing's on the side line. So stop moaning and support the lads today and get off Hylands back!

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 12/07/2014 15:17:52    1617779

Can I ask why people are using the U21 success as proof that we have the players to play attack focused football at Senior Level? Have any of you seen the U21s style of play since 2011?
The simple fact is we have don't have a top quality forward to build our attack around, we don't have a Senan Kilbride or Diarmuid Murtagh, we don't have a Conor McManus or Michael Murphy.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 12/07/2014 15:40:06    1617783

I find it a worrying fact that 3 of this years u21 players are opting for America this summer, .time to go and surport the lads now!!

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 308 - 12/07/2014 15:51:30    1617787

Embarrassing

DD10 (Cavan) - Posts: 130 - 12/07/2014 19:07:29    1617870

This is embarrassing!!!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 12/07/2014 19:09:35    1617871

Shameful BIG changes needed bring in someone who is attack minded not this crap sad day for cavan

Cavan_COYBIB (Cavan) - Posts: 62 - 12/07/2014 19:18:08    1617883

5points in a championship game at home is a disgrace, big changes needed, system not working and no plan B. Never getting soaked to watch this setup again.

finea3 (Longford) - Posts: 63 - 12/07/2014 19:36:39    1617916