Cavan v Roscommon

It's the hurling replay they are showing

Mr.Benson (Cavan) - Posts: 49 - 07/07/2014 16:07:20    1615285

Very quiet on the game for Saturday!Any news of who is out?Really hope Cavan take the game to Roscommon like they did in Croke Park for first half.No point in sitting back.We can stretch them around the park with good, fast play. Cavan lost a lot of midfield battle in Croker, n need to win as much possession as possible. It is vital the kick outs are accurate unlike against Armagh. Breffini Abú

captaincavan (Cavan) - Posts: 16 - 09/07/2014 15:39:34    1616413

i expect cavan to beat the rossie , i hope they to aswell , i think the management has got this team so far and need to add something to there game , i think a few of these u21 players should be starting , argue anyway and 1 or 2 more , i think jack brady is back on for , id like to see mckeever getting player for his work rate and never say die attitude .

cavanlawd123 (Cavan) - Posts: 70 - 09/07/2014 16:38:50    1616460

have been to all the cavan games minor u 21 juniors and seniors have been both impressed and disappointed at different times at recent games have been pretty impressed with 1 to 6 am a big g mac fan but feel the last couple of games he has not been playing to his full potential but feel there is a big game in him and hopefully sat next is it so would have to say midfield has been a stuggle was very impressed with lyng last day out our forwards are capable but sometimes dont pass when they should and dont take enough chances young argue should take a shot himself very capable lad lacks a bit of confidence but that will come martin reilly is a real work horse mckeever is a very steady sub settles the game down wish the lads and management best of luck on sat

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 09/07/2014 18:17:07    1616518

Best of luck to the boys Saturday. Roscommon wont like coming to Breffne park after the joust there in the league, and that is a bonus for us. We need a good lively crowd in on Saturday, get behind the team and make plenty of noise !!

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 10/07/2014 10:57:03    1616689

ROSCOMMON: R. O'Reilly; S. McDermott, N. Collins, R. Stack; P. Brogan, D. Donnelly, I. Kilbride; K. Higgins (0-1), M. Finneran; D. Keane, D. Shine (0-4, three frees, one penalty), C. Compton; S. Kilbride (1-1), D. O'Gara, F. Cregg (0-1). Subs used: D. Keenan for Compton (half time), C. Burns for Keane (51 mins), C. Murtagh (0-1) for O'Gara (59 mins), D. Flynn for Donnelly (61 mins), C. Cregg for F. Cregg (69 mins)
Heres the roscommon team that day 6 starters in the dead rubber match and a man sent off at half time cant see significance of it myself but every straw you feel gives a advantage clutch away

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 10/07/2014 12:44:19    1616764

OhtobeARossie
County: Roscommon

Heres the roscommon team that day 6 starters in the dead rubber match and a man sent off at half time cant see significance of it myself but every straw you feel gives a advantage clutch away

Sure yous thumped us in Breffni Park in the 2013 league, yous beat us in the 2014 league final, you've gotten the better of us at u21 level in recent times, one wonders how we're going to compete at all! We'd do well to get within 5 points of the mighty Roscommon!

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 10/07/2014 14:55:58    1616866

OhtobeARossie

I forgot ...that is right, a man sent off ye lost your composure, we'll gladly take that again thanking you

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 10/07/2014 15:39:08    1616899

All slagging apart.
We'll need to be at our best to win on Saturday !!!!

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 10/07/2014 16:42:20    1616940

I forgot ...that is right, a man sent off ye lost your composure, we'll gladly take that again thanking you
At least he made it to half time before losing composure some of yours lost it following the band.
The hand was out sorry
This is tongue in cheek stuff and just banter as I believe it'll be a cracking close game.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 10/07/2014 17:34:33    1616967

OhtobeARossie

At least he made it to half time before losing composure some of yours lost it following the band.
The hand was out sorry
This is tongue in cheek stuff and just banter as I believe it'll be a cracking close game.

Sure we're too cute in Cavan to fall for that craic ;) Will be a close game, from our point of view a lot depending on whether Mackey plays, or how long he is fit for. We've been out of form since the league final. Basically we owe yous one.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 10/07/2014 17:43:11    1616978

What's the story, is Mackey expected to play a part? What about Keating?

decky (Roscommon) - Posts: 384 - 10/07/2014 18:12:12    1616997

1Conor Gilsenan
2Jason McLoughlin
3Rory Dunne
4Feargal Flanagan
5Joshua Hayes
6James McEnroe
7Robert Maloney-Derham
8Damien O'Reilly
9Gearoid McKiernan
10Michael Argue
11Michael Lyng
12Niall McDermott
13Jack Brady
14Eugene Keating
15Martin Reilly

Mr.Benson (Cavan) - Posts: 49 - 10/07/2014 21:44:21    1617119

Givney and mackey on bench?

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 10/07/2014 21:59:30    1617139

I don't think Mackey will play much part in this as he is barely training and needs a long rest to recover. Givney would be a decent impact sub. This is going to be a very interesting game. Lets face it, we are two teams who have enjoyed underage success and have a good platform to build on but are still a considerable distance away from competing with the Dubs and the likes. In saying that, the Rossies ran Mayo very close so there is definitely progress on their end. I am not big on harping on about injured players, because every county has their issues, but missing our 3 Ulster "all stars" is a problem for us. We do however have a great back line in my opinion and if we can win possession at midfield we have creativity in Lyng and Martin Reilly. Faster ball to the forward line might do damage. Keating, if he actually plays, could be the difference. I have a feeling that the Rossies are very confident on this one and we can capitalise on that. This is Breffini park in the championship lads. I think we will win.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 11/07/2014 09:05:49    1617167

Good luck to all concerned tomorrow evening. It should be a close game but with a good local support the boys can just about edge it!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 11/07/2014 09:25:15    1617180

This team seems to be selected mostly on form which is good to see. I hope these 15 actually start the game and we don't have a few un-enforced changes pre throw in. One positional switch I would make would be to take FF out of the FB line. He would always be in my team but not there. His game is energy, linking up, chasing down, covering and probing. He is not a specialist corner back as highlighted in the Armagh game. In any case, as always, they wear our blue jerseys and have our full support.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 11/07/2014 09:32:27    1617186

We need to find a way to give Gearoid more freedom to go forward. He can carry, create and score. Midfield can be covered by Argue when Gearoid goes forward. We need more attacking threats and he is almost unstoppable when carrying with pace.

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 11/07/2014 09:52:41    1617194

Gearoid needs a big performance as he hasn't been at his best this year.
Can anyone say what kind of injury Mackey has?
Roscommon will be very buoyed after their performance against Mayo.
Tough assignment for us I fear!
Best of luck to the lads!!!!

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 11/07/2014 16:24:28    1617420

Really struggling to call a winner here, on current form its Roscommon all day, we could well be playing Mayo tomorrow only for a bit of inexperience to cost Roscommon. Yet, I think we have to snap out of this bad spell at some stage, luck got us over the line against a poor Westmeath team and we all know what happened in Armagh. But we can't stay in that rut forever we know we're capable of better. This year was always going to be tough after last year, teams have copped on to our system and know how to deal with it. Its up to the management to come up with a plan B. So far we have not seen a plan B.

Good luck to the lads tomorrow.

BELIEVE

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 11/07/2014 19:41:41    1617524