Wicklow Forum

Popular Posts from themaddog

Donegal Vs Tyrone - 8 Like(s)

Replying To kevin03:  "Oh give me a break. It happened to murphy in the last 2 mins off the game. What's the point in going down then as the game was over at that stage. One trait I have noticed over the years is that when any free is given either for or against Donegal, murphy is standing right beside the ref shouting at him. Every single time. Mcquillan didn't move too many tyrone frees forward when murphy was constantly shouting."
Fair play to Michael Murphy. I knew he covered every blade of grass yesterday, and quite a bit of muck too, but I didn't realise he covered the ground you saw. To be constantly standing beside the ref every time the whistle is blown is a superhuman effort especially when you consider that he then has to move at record breaking speed to get on the end of many of those frees. You clearly have mastered lipreading when you know that Murphy was guilty of dissent when a free was awarded against Donegal.

themaddog (National) - 02/11/2020 18:44:09

The Donegal/Armagh Row - 6 Like(s)

Replying To Orchardgael22:  "Baseless accusations like this should have no place on a forum unless you have concrete evidence ie: the accusation has come straight from Murphy himself. If not the case, then I think both yourselves or the forum administrator should remove the comments. Vile accusations have repercussions both on and off the pitch. And as for the usual commentary about "orange flags" and "thuggary" its no surprise to us in Armagh. Having endured comments like "go back to your bombs and bullets" for years at away games in the South, we don't expect much better. And whilst this only stems from a handful of supporters, it tarnishes the game and leaves a very sour taste."
The paranoia is strong in this post. One of the Armagh players let the jersey down yesterday, it is not a baseless accusation. Vile behaviour on the pitch should also have consequences, unless you get your legal team involved like Armagh have a tendency to do. Unfortunately one of the Armagh players was unable to take his beating like a man and resorted to the lowest of behaviour. How Murphy showed such restraint when he followed him down to the Armagh huddle I'll never know. One man is a great ambassador for his county, the other is an Armagh man.

themaddog (National) - 25/04/2022 11:41:39

The Donegal/Armagh Row - 5 Like(s)

Replying To Saynothing:  "Now we have the Irish government homing cats and dogs for the refugees while some Irish people live on the streets and working families struggle to get by.Arguing about football is the least of some Irish families North and South."
Criticising aid given to victims of a war zone, using false equivalence and whataboutery, is pathetic behaviour. Talk to Ukrainian families about their horrific experiences and it might open your mind.

themaddog (National) - 22/04/2022 19:19:59

The Donegal/Armagh Row - 5 Like(s)

Replying To ardmhacha:  "Clear from who got suspended / targeted that it was a case of setting the trap and our boys walking straight into it."
Michael Murphy getting himself stamped on the trap those Armagh boys was a touch foolhardy.

themaddog (National) - 07/04/2022 09:41:08

Donegal GAA thread - 5 Like(s)

Replying To S1234:  "Never forget 2013 either mate think ye lot left pretty quick."
Did you stay for the presentation?

themaddog (National) - 10/01/2024 21:18:56

Donegal Vs Tyrone - 4 Like(s)

Replying To tyroneed:  "The officiating of this match was a complete joke. Multiple Donegal frees moved forward. Tyrone found it much harder to win frees for the same things especially close to goals. At the very end Tyrone were called back from possession in the penalty area to be given a free further out the pitch. Surely a slap to the head seen by an official in the first half is a red card even if RTE don't want it to be."
McKernan did the exact same thing to Michael Murphy. Thankfully Murphy didn't need ice or a concussion test.

themaddog (National) - 01/11/2020 17:50:51

Donegal GAA thread - 3 Like(s)

Replying To gunman:  "What in your opinion is O'Rourke lacking as a coach."
The ability to win games.

themaddog (National) - 24/04/2023 18:01:10

Ulster Final Donegal V Cavan - 3 Like(s)

Replying To s goldrick:  "hey, whoever you are you can shut the front door with those racist comments."
Racism is an extremely serious matter. Trivial accusations of racism undermines the suffering of genuine victims and reflects very poorly on those who make such accusations. Please explain how the comment was racist or withdraw the accusation.

themaddog (National) - 19/11/2020 12:30:58

Donegal GAA thread - 3 Like(s)
It's great to see the interest from Monaghan in the welfare of Donegal footballers. Perhaps they should concern themselves with the young footballers of Currin. Will they have a team in a few years? Will they all be welcome in Scotstown? Will Jim have to take Donegal to Darver for training to Circumvent an Ulster GAA suspension or does that only apply to a club in Monaghan?

themaddog (National) - 09/01/2024 16:38:52

NFL Division 2 2019 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To eunans4ever:  "I was there , I saw him - what's your point?"
Do you really need clarification? You posted "Hearing paddy Mc has broke down in training Awful blow" Ten days later Paddy is togged out in Croke Park and clearly close to a full return. He has spent countless hours in rehab to get back to full fitness. It is reckless and totally unacceptable to post false information about players in such a manner. Patrick and all others who play the game desrve much better.

themaddog (Donegal) - 01/04/2019 18:20:29

The Donegal/Armagh Row - 2 Like(s)

Replying To ryan:  "If u wanna box, we will box, if u wanna play football, we will play football."
Armagh should stick to the boxing because they couldn't play football today. Rafferty's nonsense after the final whistle said it all. I hope Murphy wished him luck in the qualifiers. Good performance by Donegal with plenty of room for improvement. Murphy and McHugh were on top of their game and Jason McGee and Shane O'Donnell came of age.

themaddog (National) - 24/04/2022 21:04:17

NFL Division 1 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Royalio11:  "Donegal didnt score a point from play until the 41st minute. 2 dubious penalties which were outside the square. Donegal the better team, deserved to win but if Meath had any idea to shoot it would have been a closer affair."
Donegal absolutely dominated the game yesterday. After the first 20 minutes they totally controlled the tempo at which the game was played. Meath never penetrated the Donegal defence and had to resort to shooting from distance. Donegal, on the other hand, created six good goal chances. They played well within themselves and had another couple of gears if required. Unless there is a dramatic improvement Meath will finish the campaign pointless.

themaddog (National) - 03/02/2020 20:32:56

Replying To ardmhacha:  "The disgraceful bashing of Armagh GAA people from so called fellow gaels has been absolutely abhorrent throughout this thread - typified by the comment below and the public slandering of an amateur player accused of a horrible act with nothing more than hearsay as evidence. "One man is a great ambassador for his county, the other is an Armagh man." What a horrible comment to make - this should be removed by moderators."
If you think what Michael Murphy was subjected to after the final whistle on Sunday brings credit on Armagh you would be very much in the minority. The calls for evidence and proof from Armagh supporters are laughable. There was evidence of Rian O'Neill striking after the league game but that didn't stop Armagh appealing. Good luck in the qualifiers.

themaddog (National) - 26/04/2022 18:08:54

Donegal GAA thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To rorysboys:  "Good to hear two good men. Let's get behind them"
I thought you knew what was happening in the county. The coup is rewarded.

themaddog (National) - 28/03/2023 18:15:02

Replying To seanie08:  "Good to see O Neill free to play. He was the best player in Ulster championship last year. Should be a proper game now. Donegal still favourites through."
"If you wanna box say you wanna box and we'll box; if you wanna play football, say you wanna play football and we'll play football." It's not clear what O'Neill wants to do.

themaddog (National) - 12/04/2022 11:01:32

Jarlath Burns - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Greengrass:  "You sound like the protesters at the Port Tunnel amongst other places."
Agreed. Some of the posts on this thread are a disgrace.

themaddog (National) - 03/03/2023 13:46:02

Under 21 team for 2017 - 2 Like(s)

Replying To fatkeeper:  "Ive seen both Cavan and Donegal this year. Cavan are the better all round side."
Have you Saturday's lotto numbers?

themaddog (Donegal) - 05/04/2017 21:37:13

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "We should appeal the 5k fine now ;) All joking aside this was dealt with abysmally and the county board are know for this. Kilcar were in their right to appeal same way we were in our right back in 2013 with Glenswilly and both times it was dealt with horribly. The county board need refreshing and need younger people in there make it more streamlined and start making them selves looking good. One thing I will say is apart of Kilcars appeal was that a player came on from the dugout rather than the half way line is a bit of a joke. Every team including Kilcar can be proven Guilty of this throughout every single year."
You're doing yourself no favours implicating Kilcar in this debacle. As a neutral they are the only party emerging from the fiasco with some dignity. NC broke the rules, Kilcar didn't. However you are correct about the county board. They are taking the county backwards.

themaddog (National) - 10/02/2022 14:25:21

Replying To marty234:  "Ifs, buts and maybes you must be related to bonner lol...all he could say for yesterday was that he thought one of mayos scores were wide. Shocking...everyone now is tired of these excuses. If you think that mgt team doing well with talent and players at disposal, your knowledge of fball is very poor."
It was the second last score of the game, I was directly in line with it, and it was wide. Poor officiating decided the outcome of the game. The narrative would be very different if the correct decision had been made.

themaddog (National) - 01/02/2022 08:46:59

New Donegal Manager - 2 Like(s)

Replying To marty234:  "I have information ...he has been manager of dgl for 7/8 years and we have never competed in all Ireland semis that's enough for me to decide if he is good enough or not"
Interesting post. I'm not sure it is fair to blame him for the Rory Gallagher years. You also seem to be unaware that Donegal reached an All Ireland final in 2014.

themaddog (Donegal) - 17/09/2021 09:30:07