Wicklow Forum

Popular Posts from stringfellohawk

Wicklow GAA thread - 2 Like(s)
Fair play to the minor footballers today a big win. Was anyone at the match were Wickow very good or Wexford very bad?

stringfellohawk (National) - 02/04/2022 14:03:38

Wicklow GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Good win for the minor lads tonight in what I can only imagine were awful conditions. Not a bad week for the footballers all round!

stringfellohawk (National) - 12/04/2023 20:48:07

Replying To louthman57:  "Heading to Aughrim Sunday next for the final league game, parking wise/access to Aughrim, any tips/best parking option for a Louth man travelling ? Thanks"
There is plenty of parking in the ground you will be able to drive straight in

stringfellohawk (National) - 21/03/2022 12:35:25

Brilliant win for the hurlers well done to all involved we very very rarely win in Croke Park so the everyone should enjoy the celebrations!

stringfellohawk (National) - 03/06/2023 17:23:51

Replying To Freethinker:  "Personally I think this application invite for managers is little more than a joke. Certainly at senior whatever about u20. What has changed since Davey, or Evans or anyone in the last 20/30 yrs ?? Who will put their hand up for a job that really needs a miracle worker. What are the parameters of the job ?? What is the time frame ?? What resources will they be given ?? What back up and support ?). An organisation who have proven their inadequacy for years again dipping their toe in the waters without a major overhaul of mindset is, to me, as I said above, a joke. So, the very best of luck to whoever is foolish enough to take on this job. He / she will receive no criticism from this quarter. On the bright side, at least the exercise will generate a little more traffic on this forum."
Depressing as it is I also have to agree and what is really disappointing is that we are starting to produce some good young players. I have seen some of the Minor championship games this year and they have been of good quality....certainly far better than 10 years ago. With the seniors back down to the basement again you would imagine they won't have a flood of applications from inside or outside the county. I really thought they were onto a winner with Davy with just a little ambition to match his I'm fairly sure we would have comfortably stayed in Divison 3 and might have even looked to consolidate that ..but sure same old same old with the county board. Anyway I hope they do their homework better than they did with that Kelly fella!

stringfellohawk (National) - 04/07/2022 19:55:06

Leitrim GAA thread - 1 Like(s)
Well done to Leitrim...enjoyed the banter with your supporters in Aughrim last year..hopefully yis don't make a dogs dinner of Divison 3 like we did this year!

stringfellohawk (National) - 25/03/2024 17:19:53

Just out of interest does anyone know of a midfielder in the county who can catch a high ball?

stringfellohawk (National) - 13/03/2022 17:21:05

Maybe I'm being far too optimistic, while the two last results have been awful I think the management is trying to change the system in which we play as the system we played in the league would definitely not keep us up in division three. He has given two of our more promising u20 forwards a bit of experience at senior level which hopefully reape some rewards next season. I think the main objective of the year was getting out of divison four...mission achieved...next year the main objective will be to stay up. Let's give the management the time to reshape the team.

stringfellohawk (National) - 21/05/2023 14:55:06

Well done to the u20 team last night...how many times have we lost games like that one in the past! Great week for Wicklow football...let's hope it continues for the next few weeks!

stringfellohawk (National) - 29/03/2023 20:01:51

I have to say I was very impressed with the final quarter that the lads put in today...I thought that after the goal the heads would drop and it would be lights out but the lads really stayed cool and ground out a win. There will still be some twists and turns in this league as the top 4/5 teams can beat each other on any given day but we are right in the middle of the battle which no one would have predicted after the second half v Sligo...plus a really strong win for the u20 on Saturday so all in all a good weekend for Wicklow football...is there a bit of buzz growing?!

stringfellohawk (National) - 05/03/2023 18:54:45

Brilliant win today well done to all involved bring on Kildare!

stringfellohawk (National) - 07/04/2024 19:06:10

Hate to be too positive but I think there are three games that we can win which will give us a good chance at staying up. I think Feemanagh at home, Antrim away and Louth at home are all winnable. Westmeath will win the group and probably Laois will be promoted followed by Limerick and Longford. Bit of a dog fight between ourselves, Louth and Anrtim for relegation.

stringfellohawk (National) - 24/01/2022 19:16:41

Replying To TopDrawer:  "There is another "what counties need new managers" article on the 42. Yet again no mention of Wicklow. Same with Saturday Sport on the radio a few weeks back. Pretty lazy journalism if you ask me. The 42 one was written by a Kevin O'Brien!"
I was thinking the very same thing about the 42 article...maybe they know something we don't know and a manager has already been appointed on the qt?!!

stringfellohawk (National) - 17/08/2022 13:02:25

What Happens Next - 1 Like(s)
Well lads having watched the two games today and I really do hate to be negative especially to players and management who give thier time voluntarily but when exactly are we going to start getting embarrassed by some of the results we are seeing.? It appears to me that we are setting our teams up for failure and not even giving them a chance to prosper. The minor team today looked like an u12 team compared to Derry...where is the strength and conditioning? Also so many basic skill errors including not being able to pass 20m. The players did try their hearts out until the end but they never even stood a chance. Maybe it is time to try something completely different like taking the younger grades out of inter country competition for a year or two and take time to sort out structures out so we can start producing teams who are given a chance to compete...how can we expect lads to hurl for their county when they have little chance of winning anything and every chance of getting a good auld fashioned hammering from a team like Derry (who are no world beaters). Maybe instead of inter county competition development squads could play in league in stronger countries like Dublin or Wexford so that way they get a good few games per year? As for the clubs clearly support is needed to help clubs coaching players correctly. The status quo has to change or we will continue reaping what we sow...which is unfortunately very little

stringfellohawk (Wicklow) - 24/07/2021 19:40:08

Replying To sponger:  "Absolute disaster result in the hurling. Maybe we are at our correct level."
Agreed a disaster given how they played up in Donegal a few weeks ago. We probably are at our level at the moment to be honest. Best of luck to the footballers tomorrow...all they can do is concentrate on winning the game and let the chips fall where they will!

stringfellohawk (National) - 25/03/2023 15:47:02

The very best of luck to the lads in the final today. Fingers crossed for a win...a great bunch of lads who have had a great year. Donegal are no mugs so hoping for a good game and a win for Wicklow

stringfellohawk (National) - 03/06/2023 10:17:23

Lads let's get real here the Wicklow County Board will do zero about this just like in the huge number of similar brawls throughout the County over the years. We will hear the usual defenses from the clubs iinvolved I.e. it was only one or two lads fighting and the whole club shouldn't be blamed for their actions etc erc. There will be no bans of players or mentors involved, no fines for the clubs, nothing to see here let's keep drifting along the same way we always do

stringfellohawk (National) - 10/10/2021 15:58:11

At the game today...scoreline was a bit unfair on the players...they just totally ran out of steam in the last 10 minutes. To be fair every single player gave whatever they had and their can be no complaints about the endeavour...just looking at the teams when they lined out and the difference in conditioning was plain to see but I do think we are going in the right direction which is good going forward

stringfellohawk (National) - 23/04/2023 20:41:01