USA Forum

Popular Posts from NarrowBack914

Galway Vs Mayo - 4 Like(s)

Replying To GDL:  "That is stretching it, I see Corofin missing Power, Cathal Silke, Liam Silke, Daithi Burke, Gary Sice and Ian Burke who didn't travel and Giz McGrath injured. Take seven out of any team and you will struggle or New York are brilliant as Corofin apparently beat Clare by 7 or 8 prior to the club final and Clare then turned Cork over the next weekend."
Was in Gaelic Park last night, great evening for football. The park was packed with loads of expats from all over Galway plus surrounding Connacht counties there, the buzz was terrific. Corofin played as best they could under the circumstances. They were missing the boys already noted plus Kieran Fitz too, combined with the early start in Galway, 7 hour flight, airport security and trek into the Bronx, those boys were truly tired. By the time the match kicked off would have been 2am Irish time. At the end of the match, the boys still had time to chat to the locals and take pics. Great reps of Galway and themselves. New York did play well thou, hopefully they will click as well next Sunday vs Leitrim. Best of luck vs Mayo in couple weeks.

NarrowBack914 (Galway) - 27/04/2018 12:28:02

Dublin Getting 2 Home Games In The Super 8s. Fair Or Unfair? - 2 Like(s)
Question, why have pool 1 play on Sundays and pool 2 play Saturdays??? What i mean is, Dublin only have to travel to Omagh for a match inbetween 2 matches at Croke Park on Saturdays. Kerry have to travel to Dublin and now Clones on a Sunday evening, forcing any supporters that would travel extended travel times with work the next morning. Why didnt group 1 get Saturdays as the travel time is longer then pool 2?? Just doesn't make sense to me.

NarrowBack914 (National) - 20/07/2018 14:36:30

Fenway Hurling Classic 2018 - 2 Like(s)
Was at the matches on Sunday in Fenway, there was no way in hell there were 12,000 people there. Talking to the ticket agents, they said only 8000 tickets were sold, and of that amount, less then 4000 people showed. It is a great idea to play matches when all the season is over, but to play on half a field with no point scoring, 11 a side is a bad promotion of the fastest field game in the world. They should do this right, meaning find a park/stadium that will let for full match to happen. The ref was blowing his whistle every 2 mins, making the match completely unbearable. And just think, the New England Patriots were off that day, so if they were playing football, you wouldn't have anyone in Fenway. Great idea and concept, piss poor execution though. Just my 2 cents.

NarrowBack914 (National) - 21/11/2018 15:25:17

Corofin V Dr Crokes - 2 Like(s)
Should be a great match and good start to Paddy's Day festivities in the capital. Crokes forwards will be tough to mark, so Corofin have to tighten up on that. When Kevin Cassidy ran at them today, he opened them up pretty handy. Two best teams in the country, so could be epic final.

NarrowBack914 (National) - 16/02/2019 17:49:28

Greatest Lost Talents In Your County - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Horsebox77:  "John Cronin from Waterville, he scored the crucial goal agains Cork in Killarney in 1991, he played a few games after, I recall he playing a league game or two at corner back he was very versatile. I remember seeing him playing either an intermediate or junior club final in Tralee few years after at full forarsfor his club, he had the knee heavily bandaged so take it injuries curtailed him. One of ye mentioned Paddy Curran also from Waterville, I marked him in his comeback game after the firs knee operation and he was still lively but was watching himself, I was being a bit robust as they say and he was running a mile from it, still he took one ball around me and planed it over the black spot from 35 yards, still had that class above, I heard then that he did the knee again the following week, we were talking after the game and he appeared a right genuine old soul, I felt for him when I heard it. Jack Ferriter was another one, was minor captain in 1994, and won an U21 in 1995 and 1996. Shoulder injuries ruled him out of further progression with Kerry and he ended up playing ball with Bishopstown. Back or Curran he was full forward on the minor team that included Moran and Tommy Walsh in midfield. The next best player then was the centre back Adrain Greaney, he never fulfilled his underage potential, he captained Brendans U21's to a County Title and UCC to sigerson under Billy Morgan, Billy by all accounts had massive time for him. He played a bit with Nemo scoring a goal in a Munster final two or three years back."
Another one is Dan Doona of Beaufort. Jack mentioned him in his book. Had a very good future ahead in the Green and Gold before taking off to America.

NarrowBack914 (National) - 21/11/2019 18:07:56

RTE trying to silence critcs of SKY etc. - 2 Like(s)

Replying To CletusVanDamme:  "Second attempt at posting this. (Don't know what was the issue with the first attempt was) Yesterday I sat down to watch The Sunday Game expecting to watch 2 games and for some unexplained reason there is only 1 game. In Páirc Uí Chaoimh yesterday RTÉ had the cameras set up for the Waterford Wexford game, why oh why did they not show the Intermediate final also? They were showing "Junior", not the Junior Football Semi-Finals on that weekend but, Scharwanegger and DeVito's "Junior". (Not even the decent one by them. Twins BTW). RTÉ play the poor mouth saying SKY get all the big games, they don't make proper efforts to promote other games. RTÉ lust for what they don't have. TG4 (on a fraction of RTÉ Sport's budget) have invested in successfully promoting Ladies Football and Under 21s. RTÉ Sport is an embarrassing wreck. The Sunday Game (evening show) pads most of the show with highlights and analysis of the games I've seen that day on RTÉ and gives barely any coverage to the games I haven't. No one want to see a ten minute highlight reel of the game they already saw followed by a minute of highlights of games not shown live, this needs to be sorted out. After the first game of the football was played this year (Sligo v New York) and a couple of Leinster Hurling Round Robin games, RTÉ had their 'Start of the Championship' show on the following week. Lads, the season had started (and ended for some). Also show the New York game, 8pm on a Sunday evening with players from all over Ireland playing ball for New York, neutrals would watch for curiosity especially if someone from their own county was playing. The analysis is poor by the Sunday Game compared to Sky and rather than improve on this aspect the RTÉ pundits take potshots at Sky pundits. If it is a game not involving a Division 1 team, RTÉ pundits would rather discuss who will win the All-Ireland and ignore discussing the game in front of them in any meaningful way. RTÉ get your own house in order first before cutting the legs from your competition."
Very well said. This year RTE at least aired the NY v Sligo match on radio with a fellow New Yorker assisting with commentary. With this match being the "official kickoff" of the championship, you would think RTE would make more out of it. Think it should be given air time, but that's just my opinion.

NarrowBack914 (National) - 24/07/2017 15:23:11

NY GAA 2020 - 1 Like(s)
College team lost final today to John Moore's of Liverpool. Hard luck lads, but onward and upward for our youth. Represented NY well!!

NarrowBack914 (USA) - 08/02/2020 16:40:55

New York 2018 - 1 Like(s)
Gaelic Park, Kerry GAA & the GAA in general lost a legend that was John Riordan. A very nice man that always had a good word to say. Looked after many Gaels through the years. RIP John.

NarrowBack914 (USA) - 01/08/2018 12:34:00

Championship 2018 - 1 Like(s)
Just to let everyone know, John Riordan from Castlegregory passed away here in NY on Monday. A legend of a man who looked after many young Kerrymen and GAA Gaels in general when they came to the Big Apple. He bled Green and Gold throughout his life. Always had a kind word to say and some solid advice for a young lad coming out here to make his way and play football. If you all could keep him and his family in your prays.

NarrowBack914 (Kerry) - 01/08/2018 12:38:40

Club Championchips - 1 Like(s)
Lads, Paudi Clifford and Roche both looked excellent in East Kerry's win over Dingle this past weekend, any chance either/both will be around Senior team for league or championship?

NarrowBack914 (Kerry) - 23/10/2019 13:50:44

All Ireland Championship 2019 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Horsebox77:  "If that teams does start, it's a three line of two up front. From the goals back, Geaney and DC inside, Stephen and Seanie in the half forward, Sherwood and Graham between midfield and our half back line, Spillane in its Moran and Crowley on Murphy, Graham is picked to fall back into centre back berth as Crowley will be man to man on the big Donegal man."
Ah Horse, i can see what you mean if the team named is actually the starting team. After last week, i cant see anyone but Spillane in the middle with Moran. I feel Jack Sherwood has been very hit or miss lately, havent seen enough of him to really rate him at this point thou. I think with Donegal being without Gallagher in the backs, they may revert more back to the blanket defense to try an nullify the Kerry attack. I think if they go ahead and try to isolate DC, Stephen out on wing could run right up the middle and cause major problems for them. Graham definitely falls back in a sweeper role if, like you say, Crowley goes man Murphy - no easy task for any man though. Think Kerry have a more balanced side this time around and the battle of midfield will dictate how both teams play. To me, Kerry forwards are just that more lethal, and with Donegal being without their main man marker in Gallagher, they will have problems trying to keep the Kerry forwards quiet. Best of luck Kingdom, have been doing everyone proud so far.

NarrowBack914 (Kerry) - 20/07/2019 12:54:35

Corofin V Nemo - 1 Like(s)
Nice start to match already. Hon the parish!!

NarrowBack914 (Galway) - 04/01/2020 13:38:55

NY GAA 2017 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To TheDigger:  "New pictures on the NYGAA facebook page show a lot of progress has been made at Gaelic Park. Any word on a reopening date? How do the players like playing on Rockland's grass pitch?"
Heard they are shooting for July 10th, Rockland have their grand opening the weekend of July 7th to 9th, so senior board looking to open the Monday after from talking to a couple of boys in the know. 2 junior hurling matches today and list of 4 matches tomorrow, nice to see. Word is Rockland have a very nice setup and fields up there. Maybe senior board can take a lessons from them

NarrowBack914 (USA) - 24/06/2017 19:28:33

Club Semi Finals - 1 Like(s)

Replying To tommy k:  "I think the Gweedore backs have been very dirty in the first half with sneaky hits to the heads of Corofin players (with their hands and heads) and are lucky not to be down to 13 men already."
Yes Tommy, they got away with a lot of pulling and dragging. They did that an awful lot on Ian Burke, but he is just to good to contain. Hope Wall recovers from his injury and they are 100% for final. If its Crokes they play, they will need all hands available. Gary Sice was player of match for me, cool and calm under pressure. Backline needs to tighten up a bit, Cassidy looked dangerous when he ran at them.

NarrowBack914 (Galway) - 16/02/2019 15:40:04

Championship 2018 - 1 Like(s)
We have to play to our strengths, which has been quick low ball into our forwards and let them off to the races. Can understand bringing in Star as an option for the high ball, but why not start the same forward line and if JOD is not up for challenge, sub in Star in middle and push Geaney out to the corner. Seanie O Shea was nowhere to be found vs Galway, our half forwards have been playing strong up to last weekend, so they are do a bounce back. Monaghan play very similar defensive wise to Galway, so if anything, EF should have learned that pushing ball into the corners and around the perimeter of the attack is not the answer. That defensive mode needs players to run at it and open up pockets for runners. We had some very bad wides from 30 + yards out, when players could have ran at Galway backs and force the play. As far as our backline go, please for the love of God stop with the sweeper and zone marking. That is not Kerry football and any one that says we need to adapt to modern puke football is dead wrong. Our backs are young and fit and can mark Monaghan man for man. K. Young was way out of his league in center back, more suited for Griffin imo. Plus off day in midfield, need all boys to be clicking on Sunday. 4pm start time in Clones on a Sunday is a big ask for our supporters, but hopefully we get a good turnout. Safe travels to all making the trip up.

NarrowBack914 (Kerry) - 20/07/2018 13:51:56

Can Galway repeat feat as All Ireland/League Champs? - 1 Like(s)
Got to meet a few players and get pics with the McCarthy Cup out here in NYC last couple of nights. Great ambassadors to the county and game. Best of luck in 2018 lads.

NarrowBack914 (National) - 29/12/2017 18:01:59