Galway Football thread

Matthew Tierney had some impact off the bench the other day, and with 2 weeks of training til the derry game it will give him time to really get back into things. I was delighted to see shane walsh to the fore in out attack and stepping up when needed. A big win against derry in two weeks time in the stadium and hopefully back into Croke Park for the summer

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 33 - 06/05/2024 21:16:53    2543399

Had an enjoyable half hour there earlier reading the meltdown on the Mayo Blog, I would recommend it to anyone… really added to the good mood today!

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1582 - 06/05/2024 21:29:55    2543400

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "I can't understand how you don't see my point of view he is not up to standard for this job, sure maybe thats the problem he applied for the job but in my opinion and I am allowed to have an opinion this job should be given to someone and maybe one of the few candidates that you named who have showed the ability to win or even to compete, he played his wing forward as a sweeper with no plan to push up on there kickouts but what do I know, which players have i slated the results don't lie and im afraid at this level we are not even competitive,"
Finally that is my last post on it as we are poles apart on the topic, but the former players who do the coaching and who you hammered are Gary O'Donnell, Johnny Duane and Martin McNamara. These men owe us very little after all they've done for Galway football.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 729 - 06/05/2024 21:47:28    2543405

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "Great win yesterday over our nearest rivals, great to see Tierney made a great contribution when he came on, and also a few more lads coming back hope we can push on now again a super test lies ahead with Derry coming to town, i do have a little worry over Seán kelly he still doesn't look himself hopefully he can get back to form and fitness,"
Needs to be mentioned that Sean Kelly was "man marked" something from a Galway point of view I've no issue with. Might negate Sean Kelly a little but if the opposition need to man mark Kelly, Walsh, Comer its very difficult to put a defensive plan in place when these lads can pull them out of position.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 603 - 06/05/2024 22:25:28    2543409

Yesterday was a 20 man effort with significant impact from the bench which hasn't been the case for a few years. I thought Molloy was hard done by and should have been left until half time. Sweeney limped off and had ice on his ankle going into dressing room at half time. With players coming back from injury they cannot be expected to last a full 70 mins at the pace and intensity that was evident in Salthill yesterday. Carefully managing these players is imperative over the next 3 games in order to time our run into the knockout stages. This season has been a fantastic building exercise (however scary) that has blooded a number of young lads and exposed them to the highest level available, and we survived! So enough of the knocking of some of the most dedicated amateur Galway men who play for the pride of their jersey and for our entertainment and support the lads who live akin to monks in their private lives and give up so much of their time and personal lives to Galway football and our clubs.
"Gaillimh Abu"

Megane (Galway) - Posts: 13 - 06/05/2024 22:26:32    2543410

Replying To Kickitout:  "With all the players back from injury now it's important to get balance of starting team right need move Sean Kelly back into the backs big time he lost at midfield,, Need put forwards in the forwards yesterday Galway started with Molloy , sweeney in my opinion are wing backs Darcy is a midfielder they got away with it yesterday but against better opponents they won't ,, it will be hard team to pick next day for all the right reasons , Maher , tierney have start snd Kelly move back"
Yes and hopefully other players such as Tomo Culhane and Patrick Kelly who are injured as well as Cian Hernon and James McLaughlin can also rejoin the squad to further strengthen it. We will need all the best players available in the county to challenge for further honours if possible.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3394 - 07/05/2024 00:37:25    2543427

Fair play Gleeson. More pressure on goalkeepers in modern football than any other position (thanks to Cluxton) and I think all Galway supporters were delighted for him as not nice to see one player getting criticised so much. Shane Walsh also looked like he was proving a point and hopefully we will see him getting back into form for rest of championship. Think Sean Kelly will be back in full back line (maybe corner back) when McDaid comes back. I would play Tierney as impact sub for rest of year and start Sweeney and Heaney. Its amazing how one game can jumpstart the year in the current format. Topping the group is a serious advantage which will be difficult, but not as difficult as if we had lost the game.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 381 - 07/05/2024 08:15:04    2543439

Replying To GDL:  "Finally that is my last post on it as we are poles apart on the topic, but the former players who do the coaching and who you hammered are Gary O'Donnell, Johnny Duane and Martin McNamara. These men owe us very little after all they've done for Galway football."
I have never mentioned them in any post, but again apart from McNamara yes the other 2 mentioned were serious footballers but apart from some academy coaching they are not experienced enough for this role that is my point all along 3 out of the 4 haven't experienced this at the top level or near top level this is not a personal attack all i am stating is that under 17 and under 19 are huge to the development of Galway football,

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 110 - 07/05/2024 08:52:31    2543441

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "Needs to be mentioned that Sean Kelly was "man marked" something from a Galway point of view I've no issue with. Might negate Sean Kelly a little but if the opposition need to man mark Kelly, Walsh, Comer its very difficult to put a defensive plan in place when these lads can pull them out of position."
Yes that is true to be fair, but i think better coming from deeper he runs go under the radar a lot more, the main thing is he is back on the pitch playing

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 110 - 07/05/2024 08:54:56    2543443

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes and hopefully other players such as Tomo Culhane and Patrick Kelly who are injured as well as Cian Hernon and James McLaughlin can also rejoin the squad to further strengthen it. We will need all the best players available in the county to challenge for further honours if possible."
McLoughlin played for Moycullen last week so should be back in the squad shortly.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 696 - 07/05/2024 10:17:52    2543449

Great for Galway to win a tight game against our neighbours that went down to the wire. Our first time to show true grit since the famous Armagh game in Croker. There are a good few positives to take from it. Firstly, lots of talk beforehand about unease in the group that was partly fueled by online comment, was shown to be nonsense, with the way the team and management celebrated the victory. Four injured players who returned, Comer, Walsh, Maher and Tierney did not look out of place in spite of not having any recent meaningful match practice. Galway showed a hunger not seen for a long time and worked hard and were very well set up in defence. The introduction of Tierney made a huge difference. Now a few concerns that remain. Between the final on Sunday and the NFL final last year Galway have got nil from 7 clear cut goal chances v Reape, who it has to be said is a super keeper. Mayo were much better at finding a man in a decent position when it came to short kickouts. It is something that must improve if we meet them again in the later stages of the championship, especially if Paddy Durcan is back. Sean Kelly, Kieran Molloy and Liam Silke have not yet recovered top form after their time out of the game, but Sunday will have done them good. Although he got a lot of criticism from both sides David Gough is as good a ref as there is in the game. Finally a question, In the event that both Galway and Mayo reach the Quarters, is there any proviso to prevent them meeting in a quarter final or is it a clean open draw?

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1229 - 07/05/2024 11:05:59    2543462

Replying To giveitlong:  "Great for Galway to win a tight game against our neighbours that went down to the wire. Our first time to show true grit since the famous Armagh game in Croker. There are a good few positives to take from it. Firstly, lots of talk beforehand about unease in the group that was partly fueled by online comment, was shown to be nonsense, with the way the team and management celebrated the victory. Four injured players who returned, Comer, Walsh, Maher and Tierney did not look out of place in spite of not having any recent meaningful match practice. Galway showed a hunger not seen for a long time and worked hard and were very well set up in defence. The introduction of Tierney made a huge difference. Now a few concerns that remain. Between the final on Sunday and the NFL final last year Galway have got nil from 7 clear cut goal chances v Reape, who it has to be said is a super keeper. Mayo were much better at finding a man in a decent position when it came to short kickouts. It is something that must improve if we meet them again in the later stages of the championship, especially if Paddy Durcan is back. Sean Kelly, Kieran Molloy and Liam Silke have not yet recovered top form after their time out of the game, but Sunday will have done them good. Although he got a lot of criticism from both sides David Gough is as good a ref as there is in the game. Finally a question, In the event that both Galway and Mayo reach the Quarters, is there any proviso to prevent them meeting in a quarter final or is it a clean open draw?"
I'm 99% sure that repeats of provincial final pairings will be avoided at the quarter finals. The earliest we could meet again is in a semi.

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 14 - 07/05/2024 11:24:43    2543469

Replying To giveitlong:  "Great for Galway to win a tight game against our neighbours that went down to the wire. Our first time to show true grit since the famous Armagh game in Croker. There are a good few positives to take from it. Firstly, lots of talk beforehand about unease in the group that was partly fueled by online comment, was shown to be nonsense, with the way the team and management celebrated the victory. Four injured players who returned, Comer, Walsh, Maher and Tierney did not look out of place in spite of not having any recent meaningful match practice. Galway showed a hunger not seen for a long time and worked hard and were very well set up in defence. The introduction of Tierney made a huge difference. Now a few concerns that remain. Between the final on Sunday and the NFL final last year Galway have got nil from 7 clear cut goal chances v Reape, who it has to be said is a super keeper. Mayo were much better at finding a man in a decent position when it came to short kickouts. It is something that must improve if we meet them again in the later stages of the championship, especially if Paddy Durcan is back. Sean Kelly, Kieran Molloy and Liam Silke have not yet recovered top form after their time out of the game, but Sunday will have done them good. Although he got a lot of criticism from both sides David Gough is as good a ref as there is in the game. Finally a question, In the event that both Galway and Mayo reach the Quarters, is there any proviso to prevent them meeting in a quarter final or is it a clean open draw?"
The four preliminary quarter-finals will consist of the second placed teams being at home to third place teams, subject to avoiding of repeat provincial final pairings and where possible repeat pairings from Round One.

At the quarter-final stage the four group winners will meet the preliminary quarter-final victors, subject to the avoidance of repeat provincial final pairings and where possible repeat pairings from Round One.

emmomac (UK) - Posts: 268 - 07/05/2024 11:35:27    2543476

A great day on Sunday. A win like that does so much good. The manner of it, the opponents, and the poor form and injury issues leading in to it, made it a bit more special.
Some people questioned whether the missing players would make a huge difference. Well it's patently obvious, and shouldn't have needed explaining what a fit Damien Comer gives to this team. He gave us oxygen in the first half when we were really struggling. Having a player who can win his own ball so well, take on and beat his man regularly is massive. As well as that he's a huge scoring threat. I just hope we can keep him fit for the year.
It's great to see a lot of other key players making their way back and making crucial contributions.
Fair play to Conor Gleeson for those huge moments, not just the kicks but also breaking the Mayo kickout when we needed an equaliser and helping us win possession. We played with real energy and hunger at the end of the game. We stayed brave and pushed up on their last kickout, winning the turnover which led to the winning free. It would have been easier to fall back into protection mode after levelling the game so late.
We needed that win big time. The players, management and supporters were all well aware of that. The result is worth savouring for sure, and let's hope it's the catalyst for bigger and better things this year.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2066 - 07/05/2024 12:05:35    2543478

Yes Sunday was a special day, who ever said the provincial championship doesn't matter? Let me tell you folks, that mattered!

It felt similar to that win the Castlebar in 2022, that really served as a springboard to get our season going. I am hoping for a similar outcome this year. A word on our supporters, they really got behind the lads and I really do think it helped get us over the line, you could see what it meant to everyone in the end.

To take a step back, a lot of improvement needed starting with the kick out is still a concern for me. We lost nearly a 3rd of our own kickouts again. Gleeson in possession out the field, they were smart and didn't engage him until he hit the 40 and turned him over. It's a worry, on the flip of that he really stood up and was counted with his frees and I thought he was dominated in the air which is a big plus. I hope he takes confidence from Sunday.

I guess a positive on the kick out when it went long we had the upper hand on Mayo (9 possessions v 7) which is pleasing.

More of the good… keeping Mayo's two key forwards to 4 points from play is a decent return. I need to call out the mentality of our lads too, they didn't panic kept plugging away and got the win which is always a great sign of any team. I am sure Ann Marie Kennedy has a role to play there!!

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1582 - 07/05/2024 13:21:13    2543493

Replying To ahsure.:  "Had an enjoyable half hour there earlier reading the meltdown on the Mayo Blog, I would recommend it to anyone… really added to the good mood today!"
There's not many better things than seeing rival supporters sickened after ye beat them in a tight game. Problem is we've treated narrow defeats as bad luck stories, find plenty if excuses and don't seem to learn for the games ahead. We should have put ourselves further ahead before injury time. We've a few decent forwards but can do nothing if we're trying to slow the game down instead of feeding ball to them. A bit like 2022 but I tjought ye schooled us that day, I didn't think the scoreboard rrflected the gap between the teams. We limped out against Kerry after ye beat Armagh in a thriller and ye pushed Kerry to the pin of their collar in the final. Sure we'll lift Sam this year as long as Gough doesn't ref any of our games. Delusion.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 07/05/2024 14:19:11    2543499

Fixture list just released for the first round of the All Ireland group stage, Derry match to be played on Saturday 17th at 17:30. Hopefully a good crowd turns out to show support, match being shown on GAA Go.

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 14 - 07/05/2024 15:37:37    2543514

Replying To GreenandRed:  "There's not many better things than seeing rival supporters sickened after ye beat them in a tight game. Problem is we've treated narrow defeats as bad luck stories, find plenty if excuses and don't seem to learn for the games ahead. We should have put ourselves further ahead before injury time. We've a few decent forwards but can do nothing if we're trying to slow the game down instead of feeding ball to them. A bit like 2022 but I tjought ye schooled us that day, I didn't think the scoreboard rrflected the gap between the teams. We limped out against Kerry after ye beat Armagh in a thriller and ye pushed Kerry to the pin of their collar in the final. Sure we'll lift Sam this year as long as Gough doesn't ref any of our games. Delusion."
I think it forwards that Mayo are lacking. With exception of Donoghue there's no forward I was worried about before the game, and felt comfortable McGrath was picking him up. O' Shea and O Connor are past it, Conroy is headless all be it can be dangerous given space and Flynn generally fades out of games come championship.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 381 - 07/05/2024 15:47:58    2543516

Replying To LárBáire:  "Fixture list just released for the first round of the All Ireland group stage, Derry match to be played on Saturday 17th at 17:30. Hopefully a good crowd turns out to show support, match being shown on GAA Go."
Saturday is the 18th not 17th apologies

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 14 - 07/05/2024 16:22:37    2543525

Are Claregalway this strong compared to everyone else at U17 this year or was this a wrong score from the league semi final - Claregalway 12-12 Corofin 0-10?

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 696 - 07/05/2024 16:47:32    2543529