Defence clap clap clap.. Defence clap clap clap

Replying To Mobot:  "And what Ulster team is to blame for the lower scoring 2015 All Ireland final where no Ulster team was involved?"
Thats why I said generally, also the weather that game was absolutely dreadful in stark contrast to 2014. Kerry Dublin and Kerry Mayo are nearly always very high scoring games

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 28/02/2017 17:26:21    1962223

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "Thats why I said generally, also the weather that game was absolutely dreadful in stark contrast to 2014. Kerry Dublin and Kerry Mayo are nearly always very high scoring games"
Poor defense, strong attack. Depends on your point of view really.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 28/02/2017 17:42:14    1962233

Replying To Mobot:  "And what Ulster team is to blame for the lower scoring 2015 All Ireland final where no Ulster team was involved?"
The ice rink surface and incessant downpour they were Ulster champions in the 90tys

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/02/2017 18:12:41    1962251

Every sport makes major changes to its rules to keep it relevant. Basketball brought in the shot clock and 3 point line. Soccer changed the pass back rule, rugby the number of points for a try and the bonus point system, tennis changed the ball weight to prevent the big serves dominating etc etc.
The current blanket defence tactic makes it almost impossible to have an attractive game if both sides adopt this tactic to the extreme. Of course it has its merits and is no doubt successful and when one team is prepared to attack can produce a very good spectacle but that is completely dependent on one side being willing to take a chance. But for every brilliant Donegal style flying counter attack score there are endless minutes of mind numbing boredom particularly as the skill levels drop through the grades.
A couple of simple rule changes to free up space.
1. Replace the 45 with a 40 meter line
2 Minimum 4 players inside the 40 at all times.
3. No return (for the ball) back over the halfway line once crossed.
4. A score from outside the 40 = 2 points
The 45 kick would be done away with , instead the attacking team would be given procession on halfway.

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 28/02/2017 19:11:16    1962271

Replying To catchturnscore:  "Every sport makes major changes to its rules to keep it relevant. Basketball brought in the shot clock and 3 point line. Soccer changed the pass back rule, rugby the number of points for a try and the bonus point system, tennis changed the ball weight to prevent the big serves dominating etc etc.
The current blanket defence tactic makes it almost impossible to have an attractive game if both sides adopt this tactic to the extreme. Of course it has its merits and is no doubt successful and when one team is prepared to attack can produce a very good spectacle but that is completely dependent on one side being willing to take a chance. But for every brilliant Donegal style flying counter attack score there are endless minutes of mind numbing boredom particularly as the skill levels drop through the grades.
The 45 kick would be done away with , instead the attacking team would be given procession on halfway."
BS

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/02/2017 19:49:43    1962287

Only saw the last 20 minutes of Donegal/Dublin, didn't think it was as bad as people are making out. Heavy pitch and swirling winds in February rarely produce free flowing attacking football.

As regards a few of the usual 'dirty Nordie' or other stuff being thrown about, I can only offer this anecdotal evidence.

In 20+ years of watching the Wexford footballers, Ive seen several matches against Ulster opposition (against every county except Donegal}, both league and championship. In all those games, I cant remember any that would stand out as being blighted by overly-defensive or dirty play. Usually the opposite actually, sometimes open and always entertaining games. Infact, the only 2 teams I would describe as dirty in that period are both Leinster counties {whom shall remain unnamed!}

Look-it, football is a living, breathing thing, and tactics and styles have and will always change. Right now a possession based style is de-rigeur, eventually it will go out of use again, and what it'll be replaced with is anyones guess.
In the meantime, just take every game as it comes, don't hold grudges and try enjoy the show!

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 28/02/2017 19:58:48    1962294

Replying To waynoI:  "BS"
Explain why please. Do other sports not evolve? I'm watching our games over 50 years and have never been so dissolusioned with it as now. I've no anti Dub/anti Ulster agenda unlike the vast majority of posters . Should our games not change to reflect the fact that the incredible athletism the players now have is leading to stand still hand passing back and forth movements across the half way line followed by the crossfield kick to change the play and then back to the handpassing. Or would you leave it as it is?

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 28/02/2017 20:54:29    1962312

Dublin are the best county team at the moment by far followed by mayo fact is they both play blanket defence me i like to cal it counter attacking football as for dirty ulster teams get real dubs , kerty mayo arent angels its a mans game if u dont want some hard hitting time to play soccer

hoopman (Tyrone) - Posts: 105 - 28/02/2017 21:09:40    1962317

Replying To catchturnscore:  "Every sport makes major changes to its rules to keep it relevant. Basketball brought in the shot clock and 3 point line. Soccer changed the pass back rule, rugby the number of points for a try and the bonus point system, tennis changed the ball weight to prevent the big serves dominating etc etc.
The 45 kick would be done away with , instead the attacking team would be given procession on halfway."
I would never give out about suggestions on ways of possibly improving the game so fair play for giving it some thought. The only one I could see working is No.3. I think this rule already applies to the 7 aside game and would be no harm trying out at some stage in the future. It could well lead to the defending teams pushing up higher and using the half way line to their advantage and forcing more turnovers. May not work either but could be worth a try.
Number 2 is a definite no, how are officals supposed to keept track of how many players are inside the 45/40?.
Number 1 and 4 are hard to get on board with too. Don't think you can get rid of the 45m kick as it is a skill on it's own. The 2 points for a long range score sounds good in principle but I've played in games before where you might have the wind at your back in the 1st half and dies away for the 2nd half or worse can even change direction. That can be unlucky as it is without being punished x 2 for a point scored outside the 45.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 01/03/2017 10:29:31    1962396

Replying To Mobot:  "I would never give out about suggestions on ways of possibly improving the game so fair play for giving it some thought. The only one I could see working is No.3. I think this rule already applies to the 7 aside game and would be no harm trying out at some stage in the future. It could well lead to the defending teams pushing up higher and using the half way line to their advantage and forcing more turnovers. May not work either but could be worth a try.
Number 2 is a definite no, how are officals supposed to keept track of how many players are inside the 45/40?.
Number 1 and 4 are hard to get on board with too. Don't think you can get rid of the 45m kick as it is a skill on it's own. The 2 points for a long range score sounds good in principle but I've played in games before where you might have the wind at your back in the 1st half and dies away for the 2nd half or worse can even change direction. That can be unlucky as it is without being punished x 2 for a point scored outside the 45."
Fair point about the wind advantage but I would argue that the defending team would counter this by pushing up the defensive lines even more and thus more space closer to goal .
The number of players could be dealt with by having 2 refs as in the compromise matches. I don't think the no return for the ball rule can work without this adjustment also.
Slightly off topic but do you know if Donegal have a goalsoring coach, as they are usually clinical when the chance arrives.

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 01/03/2017 13:33:17    1962470

Could you imagine a world cup without the italians? It wouldn't be the same, like them or dislike them. In fact, it is an archetypical style that you almost need to create debate and variety in the games. Ps. when Ireland used to go out and put 11 men behind the ball and try and get a scoreless draw, they would be congratulated by all here as national heroes. I think people have to start to become a bit more balanced about this.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 01/03/2017 14:12:10    1962481

Replying To extranjero:  "Only saw the last 20 minutes of Donegal/Dublin, didn't think it was as bad as people are making out. Heavy pitch and swirling winds in February rarely produce free flowing attacking football.

As regards a few of the usual 'dirty Nordie' or other stuff being thrown about, I can only offer this anecdotal evidence.

In 20+ years of watching the Wexford footballers, Ive seen several matches against Ulster opposition (against every county except Donegal}, both league and championship. In all those games, I cant remember any that would stand out as being blighted by overly-defensive or dirty play. Usually the opposite actually, sometimes open and always entertaining games. Infact, the only 2 teams I would describe as dirty in that period are both Leinster counties {whom shall remain unnamed!}

Look-it, football is a living, breathing thing, and tactics and styles have and will always change. Right now a possession based style is de-rigeur, eventually it will go out of use again, and what it'll be replaced with is anyones guess.
In the meantime, just take every game as it comes, don't hold grudges and try enjoy the show!"
Refreshing to read, fair play for the independent thought.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 01/03/2017 14:25:15    1962490

Replying To extranjero:  "Only saw the last 20 minutes of Donegal/Dublin, didn't think it was as bad as people are making out. Heavy pitch and swirling winds in February rarely produce free flowing attacking football.

In the meantime, just take every game as it comes, don't hold grudges and try enjoy the show!"
Follow Extranjero's path to enlightment lads!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 01/03/2017 14:52:29    1962500

Replying To catchturnscore:  "Fair point about the wind advantage but I would argue that the defending team would counter this by pushing up the defensive lines even more and thus more space closer to goal .
The number of players could be dealt with by having 2 refs as in the compromise matches. I don't think the no return for the ball rule can work without this adjustment also.
Slightly off topic but do you know if Donegal have a goalsoring coach, as they are usually clinical when the chance arrives."
Rory was a fair scoring machine himself.Rememember the 3-9 he scored in a championship game.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 01/03/2017 15:26:30    1962523