Defence clap clap clap.. Defence clap clap clap

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Great post wayno!!"
Agreed 100%.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 26/02/2017 21:14:40    1961289

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Honest question Hill. Would you really watch the Dubs winning by 23 points and it been over at half time or watch a good tight hard match that's close till the end? I know what match I would prefer."
So do I.

But each to their own

I would just rather go into a game not knowing whats going to happen as oppose to going and knowing we will be 10 15 or 20 point winners at the end of it.

I love us winning and long may it continue, but there comes a point in a game against a team that clearly aren't near your level that you start to feel a bit for them, And id never feel for Mayo, Tyrone, Kerry and Donegal, and infact take greater pleasure in beating those teams by a point or two, and that's a roundabout compliment to those teams.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/02/2017 21:32:55    1961312

Replying To Donegalman:  "No it wasn't. Very enjoyable to watch it live. Get own house in order and then criticize - for instance the next time you play/ lie down against the dubs"
watched the 1st half and I have to say I enjoyed it given the condition of pitch etc...was out walking for second half so only heard updates on headphones on radio one...couldnt believe it only ended 2-05 to 1-08...maybe the second half was very defensive but the 1st certainly wasnt...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 26/02/2017 21:36:27    1961315

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Honest question Hill. Would you really watch the Dubs winning by 23 points and it been over at half time or watch a good tight hard match that's close till the end? I know what match I would prefer."
I mean if the Dubs had of won by 1 point.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 26/02/2017 21:50:49    1961326

Replying To galwayford:  "I did'nt see the match. But conditions were difficult. Also strange to hear a Meath man having a go. When Meath are in division 1 and have won an All Ireland then I will listen. The GAA in Meath is fast becoming a "Joke". Remember the try, sorry goal that beat Louth a few years ago! And Meaths refusal to give a rematch also.
Get your own house in order Meath men."
Look forward to seeing you on in navan on Sunday.
This forum is getting worse and worse. Btw I wouldn't be so quick to tell any county to get their house in order if mine had been humiliated by Tipperary. Just saying

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 22:04:27    1961333

The game itself as a spectecle on TV was appalling of course been there it's going to be intense and exciting, but as a neutral sitting back it can be hard to watch. Now don't get me wrong Donegal are perfectionists at defensive game and it takes some amount of training and skill to do it that good. I can see both sides. No point in Donegal going man to man and getting hammered by the better players instead do what they do best (btw Dublin are probably next best at it) but it's hard watching on tele.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 22:17:33    1961338

To all those lamenting the way Donegal play, ask yourselves the question, do my own team play similar? Nobody asked asked any manager to copy a certain teams style of play. If a manager adopts this style of play that means he incapable of thinking for himself and just going with the flow. Don't complain, go out and just play 6 at the back and 6 up front with 2 standing around the middle. See what kind of results that gets. Don't complain if you get beat out the gate as at least you've gone and protected the "traditional" ethos of the game. Games change all the time. That's life. Adapt or die. Doi like the way the current game has gone? No. I don't but that's life. Get on with it.

Bain (Donegal) - Posts: 470 - 26/02/2017 22:46:41    1961349

Replying To Bain:  "To all those lamenting the way Donegal play, ask yourselves the question, do my own team play similar? Nobody asked asked any manager to copy a certain teams style of play. If a manager adopts this style of play that means he incapable of thinking for himself and just going with the flow. Don't complain, go out and just play 6 at the back and 6 up front with 2 standing around the middle. See what kind of results that gets. Don't complain if you get beat out the gate as at least you've gone and protected the "traditional" ethos of the game. Games change all the time. That's life. Adapt or die. Doi like the way the current game has gone? No. I don't but that's life. Get on with it."
What do you think of having to kick after a handpass? This was muted before. I know it was 3 handpass . honest question.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/02/2017 23:16:28    1961363

Replying To waynoI:  "Ive said it time and again on here and ill say it again.

Whatever way teams set up, that is up to them. I have no issue with what Donegal, Tyrone do. I don't care that Dublin get numbers behind the ball when the opposition attack us, I expect us to do that, Why wouldn't we ? Anybody who thinks we don't get back into a defensive shape when we don't have the ball is deluded. There is a skill to it and Donegal are brilliant at it and yano what, sometimes we are pretty damn good at it too, And I don't care. I personally was entertained this afternoon. Thought it was another fascinating game among two of the best teams of the last half decade or so which, as I already said, considering the poor conditions, was enthralling. It had some really nice scores, some fantastic defensive skills from both sides, bravery...hard hitting, and the normal couple of dreadful decisions and talking points. Glad we came away with our unbeaten league and record still in tact. I'm starting to get concerned with, not even our lack of goals, more our lack of goalscoring chances. I'm hoping its just the early season blues though, and when we start to get more lads back we will see more urgency."
Sensible post

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 27/02/2017 00:05:55    1961377

Replying To Triple H:  "No blinkers here, I'm from Meath and if ever there was somebody who would like to pick holes and give out about the Dubs it is me. But Donegal after claiming they would not play defensive initiated that bile today. And my God that was just disgusting to watch. Derry got stick a few years back for defending against Dublin but that was every bit as bad.

I await the whole 'talk when Meath can do this, that and the other' crap, and I admit Meath are trying to play defensive themselves and are just not good enough to do it, but seriously you cannot sit by and think that was not a horrible game of football, if you do it's you that has blinkers on. Football is gone to sh**e and ye boys have a lot to do with that.

I have no interest in making this into a whole Meath v Donegal thing, I'm just saying how that there today was desperate."
People giving out about Donegal and Tyrone being defensive. One co
Mon denominator here I. Two games that were brutal. The dubs. They get 14 men behind the ball too

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 27/02/2017 02:06:20    1961386

Football evolved and changed about 15 years ago. Are we still actually talking about this type of stuff?

It wasn't the best game I've ever watched but it was competitive with some good passages of play and the result was in doubt right until the final whistle so I enjoyed it. Dublin started well but then Donegal came into the game and took a deserved lead and looked like they'd have it won. Then Dublin came back into it and took the lead and looked to have a good chance of the win until Donegal came back and got a deserved draw.

What more do we want from a game played in Feb in poor conditions?

People need to cop on a little bit. Teams will now go long periods in not scoring in games and 4/5 points a half is common enough particularly in bad conditions.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13709 - 27/02/2017 08:10:47    1961405

As a neutral I really enjoyed that game.

I think people are way too quick to start bashing teams over putting numbers back in to defense, much less attention is given to the speed and clinical nature of the counter attacks.

I don't think I'd have stayed watching that game if both teams played orthodox formations and Dublin were winning easily (not saying that would have definitely happened). You wouldn't have nearly 9000 paying customers showing up to watch that either.

Enjoyable game, both teams introducing some good new talent.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 337 - 27/02/2017 09:30:08    1961428

Replying To dahayeser:  "As a neutral I really enjoyed that game.

I think people are way too quick to start bashing teams over putting numbers back in to defense, much less attention is given to the speed and clinical nature of the counter attacks.

I don't think I'd have stayed watching that game if both teams played orthodox formations and Dublin were winning easily (not saying that would have definitely happened). You wouldn't have nearly 9000 paying customers showing up to watch that either.

Enjoyable game, both teams introducing some good new talent."
But there has to be a bigger picture , Dublin won't always be as good as they are now, I honestly don't think Gaelic football can keep getting people to pay money to watch that type of game. Ive stop going to home league games involving northern teams cause it's a bore fest. I know it will probably never be what it was but 15 players in their own half is brutal stuff to watch.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/02/2017 09:53:01    1961442

I can't believe this old chestnut is still being trotted out. Just to re-emphasize a few points that have been made here already.

- Donegal are in a transitional period and had a lot of new/young players making their first ever appearance against Dublin at senior level.
- We are/were many peoples' relegation candidates.
- The conditions were abysmal at times.
- We were missing one of our best players in attack.
- We were attempting to protect a proud unbeaten home record against the best team in Ireland (albeit missing a few marquee players)

So the OP advocates that we go toe to toe and see what happens? Naive nonsense. The point gained yesterday could prove crucial in the final standings. But more importantly it will have given our younger lads a good confidence boost.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 27/02/2017 09:58:38    1961443

Football will never be as boring as these tired, whiney, things-were-better-in-my-day rants.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 27/02/2017 10:10:18    1961456

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I can't believe this old chestnut is still being trotted out. Just to re-emphasize a few points that have been made here already.

- Donegal are in a transitional period and had a lot of new/young players making their first ever appearance against Dublin at senior level.
- We were attempting to protect a proud unbeaten home record against the best team in Ireland (albeit missing a few marquee players)

So the OP advocates that we go toe to toe and see what happens? Naive nonsense. The point gained yesterday could prove crucial in the final standings. But more importantly it will have given our younger lads a good confidence boost."
hold the phone .. not everyone is bashing the game yesterday

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/02/2017 10:27:04    1961469

If I was a Donegal supporter I wouldn't be bothered one bit with what others think of the entertainment value of my football team.
I would however be worried with the way the team are playing. The manager isn't bringing anything new to the party, other teams have copped on to this style now. Dublin, Kerry and others have shown that if you have patience and good enough forwards you'll come out on top. I understand why Donegal play the way they do but it's also limiting their ability to grow.
This style shouldn't define Donegal football for now and ever more simply because they won an All Ireland out of it. That to me is the real danger here. The fact that McGuinness came up with these tactics and made best use of players he put in certain positions doesn't mean that it can't be changed. I know some will say that it's not the exact same as it was when they tried it first.
It's easy for others to judge but I think it's a shame that the manager is not bringing in any great dynamic changes with what I would deem a very decent panel.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 27/02/2017 10:37:37    1961474

Replying To waynoI:  "hold the phone .. not everyone is bashing the game yesterday"
I know that. It was replying to the sentiment expressed in the opening post.
Games like yesterday's are sometimes more enjoyable playing in, and getting a result than high scoring end to end games. It was a dogged affair and both teams can take credit for slogging it out til the end. A draw was a fair result.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 27/02/2017 10:45:31    1961480

That point could be huge for us come the end of the league so I don't give a rat's arse how neutrals felt watching it.

Moaning about a Donegal team and kick passing too haha, have you ever watched us play in the entire history of the sport? We've always hand passed to death. Get over it.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 27/02/2017 10:55:24    1961488

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I can't believe this old chestnut is still being trotted out. Just to re-emphasize a few points that have been made here already.

So the OP advocates that we go toe to toe and see what happens? Naive nonsense. The point gained yesterday could prove crucial in the final standings. But more importantly it will have given our younger lads a good confidence boost."
It was a bit like Donegal last year they started of the league more attack minded then as soon as Dublin come along they revert to type I have always felt if teams pushed up on Dublin more and put more pressure on them they will get more joy. On yesterday's game on the balance of play Dublin probably deserved the win felt Donegal were living of scraps a bit. 2 extremely poor goals cost us and Rock missed a few free's which in the end is why we didn't win. Couple of big games for Dublin coming up we want to make the league final.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 27/02/2017 10:57:10    1961491