Donegal V Dublin

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Great weekend up in Donegal absolutely great people so friendly and great craic, killer drive but great to see the beautiful sights of Donegal. We all know by now my thoughts on that kind of football so I'm saying nothing.

Just one question;

We had a Donegal player over the sideline in the second half it was going to be our ball but the linesman told the ref that there was a push by a Dublin player on the Donegal player, as long as I'm playing football or watching the linesman can only give a lineball or tell the ref if theirs digs or whatever off the ball he can't actually ref the game for the ref, can he?"
Glad you enjoyed yourself up in Gods own County'.

Ref - The Killer drive ! Spare a thought for the Donegal faithful whom have been troopsing up and down that road this past number of yrs. Can be a nightmare drive alright at times but its never as bad if its been a good day for the team.On the other hand after a bad day its a bit of a slog alright!

InishowenMan (Donegal) - Posts: 216 - 27/02/2017 20:25:32    1961821

Great to see so many Dubs in Donegal .

Huge pity about the weather.

Lets call a spade a spade- we got a horrendous free at the end. One of the worst decisions ive seen in awhile.

I felt a draw overall was a fair result. Dublin way superior in first half and should have led by more.

Murphy was really good but if hes injured we are gone - you cant say that about Dublin. They could win AI , even without Connolly who is awesome.

This is an incredible Dublin side- Jim Gavin is such a cool customer.

I think we will be okay in a few years. Sam wont be going to the hills in 2017 but we have some nice players coming through.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 27/02/2017 21:04:56    1961841

Went along to this as an interested spectator yesterday, didn't think the game would go ahead when I saw groundsmen sweeping water off the pitch with yard brushes and certainly conditions were borderline. Overall a scrappy poor game that wasn't blessed with the greatest refereeing performance either, Dubs looked well out of their comfort zone and made some uncharacteristic mistakes/decisions but I was dissapointed Donegal didn't go for it more, seldom will they have such an opportunity to get a victory over the Dubs yet they didn't press forward enough in my view, O'Gara was doing good work and then got a stupid yellow for pulling a Donegal man down after Dublin had won back possession, such silly things take the gloss off O'Gara as a player and the Crumlin and Ballyboden Dubs behind me in the stand (who were all pure gents by the way, had great chat with them) let him know what they thought of his silliness. A fair result overall I suppose with Donegal certainly the happier with the draw but they have work to do going forward, the Dubs are the Dubs and it's going to take a fair performance to beat them in any game of any competition this year

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 27/02/2017 21:20:36    1961854

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Great to see so many Dubs in Donegal .

Lets call a spade a spade- we got a horrendous free at the end. One of the worst decisions ive seen in awhile.

I felt a draw overall was a fair result. Dublin way superior in first half and should have led by more.

Murphy was really good but if hes injured we are gone - you cant say that about Dublin. They could win AI , even without Connolly who is awesome.

I think we will be okay in a few years. Sam wont be going to the hills in 2017 but we have some nice players coming through."
Fair play...
Such a refreshing and unbiased post.

I agree a draw was a fair result.
Murphy put in his best shift in a long time. The decision for the free was astounding but we got a soft one v Tyrone so it all balances out.

Best of luck to Donegal for the rest of the season.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 27/02/2017 21:22:08    1961855

It was a soft free but it was a free he pulled his jersey , watched Philly's reaction to Whelan to know if he pulled his jersey or not, he eats him out of it , if he didn't pull his jersey Philly wouldn't of said a thing to Whelan.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/02/2017 22:42:14    1961890

Replying To TheRightStuff:  "Great to see so many Dubs in Donegal .

I think we will be okay in a few years. Sam wont be going to the hills in 2017 but we have some nice players coming through."
I think it was probably a free. Soft but a free nonetheless. As others have said check out Philly's reaction. I don't think he would have chewed out his club mate for nothing.

These things happen. Donegal deserved the draw. We got a fairly soft free at the start of the second half when Jack McCaffrey slipped over and Dean scored. I'm sure there were other frees, given and not given during the game, that were marginal calls.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 28/02/2017 08:18:51    1961920

Replying To MesAmis:  "I think it was probably a free. Soft but a free nonetheless. As others have said check out Philly's reaction. I don't think he would have chewed out his club mate for nothing.

These things happen. Donegal deserved the draw. We got a fairly soft free at the start of the second half when Jack McCaffrey slipped over and Dean scored. I'm sure there were other frees, given and not given during the game, that were marginal calls."
You fail to mention the square ball is it me or has nobody anywhere actually mentioned it was a clear square ball?
Some people seem to think the square ball is no longer a time in football which is wrong. The time was amended not abolished. The player was in the square before the ball was passed there for its a free out.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/02/2017 11:55:24    1961998

Replying To MesAmis:  "I think it was probably a free. Soft but a free nonetheless. As others have said check out Philly's reaction. I don't think he would have chewed out his club mate for nothing.

These things happen. Donegal deserved the draw. We got a fairly soft free at the start of the second half when Jack McCaffrey slipped over and Dean scored. I'm sure there were other frees, given and not given during the game, that were marginal calls."
You fail to mention the square ball is it me or has nobody anywhere actually mentioned it was a clear square ball?
Some people seem to think the square ball is no longer a time in football which is wrong. The time was amended not abolished. The player was in the square before the ball was passed there for its a free out.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/02/2017 12:33:31    1962019

Replying To hill16no1man:  "You fail to mention the square ball is it me or has nobody anywhere actually mentioned it was a clear square ball?
Some people seem to think the square ball is no longer a time in football which is wrong. The time was amended not abolished. The player was in the square before the ball was passed there for its a free out."
Will somebody please give Dublin the 2 points quick....

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 244 - 28/02/2017 13:52:21    1962087

We could have lost that one, and in the end should have won it

So happy enough with a point away from home, awful conditions and it's a tough place to travel

Fair play to Donegal, played to their strengths but as a Dublin fan there's plenty to be positive about

Some heart in this team, and good to see lads get game time and again, we can change things up but the same mind set is there

Dublin are a very hard team to beat and at this time of year, nowhere near our full squad or fitness levels.. well I'm happy enough

Also the emergence of another top footballer - Niall Scully

The fella has an awful lot going for him, really enjoying his performances so far this year

Always enjoy watching players who have a football brain, with the skill set to back it up and he def has a high IQ in such.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/02/2017 13:52:31    1962088

Replying To hill16no1man:  "You fail to mention the square ball is it me or has nobody anywhere actually mentioned it was a clear square ball?
Some people seem to think the square ball is no longer a time in football which is wrong. The time was amended not abolished. The player was in the square before the ball was passed there for its a free out."
I admit I've only seen it the once but at the time I thought the ball never left the square after McGee fisted it across the goals? Need to watch it again. Think it was a tricky one from the officals to pick up in any event because the ball was bouncing about everywhere and it was hard to know at what stage McGee had drifted into the square.

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 28/02/2017 14:12:22    1962102

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11744 - 28/02/2017 12:33:31

To be honest Hill I only watched the match the once and didn't notice first time round whether or not it was a square ball.

These things happen though.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 28/02/2017 14:16:01    1962105

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "Will somebody please give Dublin the 2 points quick...."
Why because I point out that people seem to think the rule ain't in use anymore?
plenty of talk about black cards and frees awarded near the end of game's but it was a very clear square ball and no pundit has even noticed it, that's more important than the result going forward as the rule clearly still exists yet by not being pointed out will in the media will refs and umpires decide to not even look for these offences anymore?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/02/2017 16:13:13    1962171

Replying To Mobot:  "I admit I've only seen it the once but at the time I thought the ball never left the square after McGee fisted it across the goals? Need to watch it again. Think it was a tricky one from the officals to pick up in any event because the ball was bouncing about everywhere and it was hard to know at what stage McGee had drifted into the square."
To be honest I spotted in play and that's kind of my point nobody else seems to even consider it anymore.
the player who scored was the one had the shot saved, he then passed across the square the ball came off the post and back out where a player kicked the ball along the ground to the scorer who was standing in the square and moved a little left towards the ball and kicked it on the ground in.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/02/2017 16:27:02    1962184

Replying To Al_Maguire:  "Will somebody please give Dublin the 2 points quick...."
Had about twenty pints meself, in cosy Bonners for the weekend.Great county,great people and great craic. A draw a fair result too.

CaogaCuig (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 28/02/2017 21:02:22    1962313

Was fortunate to get a seat in the stand and enjoyed the banter between the witty Dublin fans and the welcoming, friendly home following.
Huge credit to both teams for serving up an enjoyable, exciting contest in awful conditions.
Donegal showed great spirit in the second half , resisted the temptation to kick it forward aimlessly against the elements but moved forward with intelligence and determination.
Dublin are great to watch in any conditions. They have a very strong panel with players of exciting potential such as Scully, McHugh and Lowndes.
Players like Cluxton. Cian O Sullivan, Connolly and Brogan wont be easy replaced .. wont be for many years yet I hope.
Well done to both teams.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 01/03/2017 22:52:47    1962673