Donegal V Dublin

Replying To greatpoint:  "This really has nothing to do with anyone living in the past, I'm a neutral observer in this so you're wasting your time trying to get a rise.

You mention this thread not being about Tyrone vs. Donegal, you do understand it was your comment about Tyrone vs. Donegal that I replied to?

If Donegal were poor last year then what exactly does that say about your county? Donegal controlled the game for long periods before letting Tyrone back in late on, and considering that was your only notable result last year it's tough for an outsider to take this hyperbole seriously.

If you're simply going to be a blind cheerleader for your county on here no one is going to what you say seriously. You need to think a little bit deeper than that."
It was GameofTyrones post you replied to, not mine. My first post never once mentioned Tyrone.

Tyrone beat Donegal last year, so i would say it means they were better?

Tyrone allowed Donegal to control that game. Tyrone retreated all game and when Donegal got to Tyrone's 45m line then they committed to the tackle, then when the opportunity arose, they broke up the field at serious pace. Most of Donegals scores from play that day came from long range from McHugh and MacNialais.

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 23/02/2017 21:32:17    1960062

Takeyourpoint, I would reserve judgement for a while yet on how back we have slipped. I think that it is at the end of the year when we can all look back with a clear view of the status quo. At the moment, even if results say one thing, it means little, other than avoiding relegation or getting a team to play a bit. Tyrone are at the sh1te or get off the pot stage of their development, (for the last few years actually), and I would say that if Tyrone don't win Ulster again, or get to an all Ireland final, or both, then their season will be hard for everyone involved to take. If we avoid relegation and get a good run in the championship and we see a couple of lads standing up to the mark, then we will be mostly happy.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/02/2017 23:54:11    1960092

Tyrone scraped over the line against us last year but to be fair we beat them continuously for years in Ulster, so you had to win one eventually.

Tyrone absolutely need to deliver this season to continue an upward momentum, otherwise a change of manager and change of direction might take place and the uncertainty of that.

Personally I don't think they have the forwards to win an All Ireland. They're classy in terms of possession and movement. Very much so. But match-winning ability at the highest level, I think they're short. Grand against Derry and Cavan but against bigger teams, I haven't seen it. Defensively they're extremely solid.

They're clearly favourite for Ulster this year and have an eye on bigger prizes, however I wouldn't back against us at all if we played them

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 24/02/2017 15:52:01    1960257

I think Tyrone are very much like Mayo and even Donegal in that they lack an inside forward or 2 but both Mayo and Tyrone clearly in different place to Donegal. But they are gonna be there or thereabouts as nobody will enjoy playing them. Cathal McShane is also developing into a fantastic player. It is hard not to agree with what the Tyrone lads are saying but there is no way you can predict what might happen. It is not just one Donegal minor or U-21 team it is a few decent squads year after year coming through. How they deliver at senior level nobody can say. You would hope a few will be up to the grade. I think the relative underage success achieved has been with management teams that are far from convincing. But from both a Donegal and Tyrone perspective both are in need of inside forwards that I am not sure are there. Tyrone have advantage with their management team with Donegal's far from convincing as of so far.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 24/02/2017 16:21:00    1960269

*above pose was a bit arseways as edited and forgot to reedit....I meant Tyrone in relation to being there or thereabouts. I was comparing them to Mayo in being a similar place and missing similar kinda player or players to get to the holy grail. Donegal have regressed and a quarter final will be a success this year. I do not see past Tyrone in Ulster this year.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 24/02/2017 20:12:59    1960327

Regressed for this season which is predictable given the changes but for how long or if permanently only time will tell.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 24/02/2017 23:29:28    1960355

Make sure "bitegate" doesn't surface again on Sunday

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 25/02/2017 10:46:43    1960390

I am looking forward to a good spectacle of football. The last game in ballybofey ended in a draw 3 years ago and was fairly ding dong. I think that we could see the odd goal tomorrow.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/02/2017 11:17:37    1960399

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Make sure "bitegate" doesn't surface again on Sunday"
It won't mcbrearty is not playing

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 25/02/2017 11:36:53    1960408

This is a great opportunity for the new Donegal. Time for lads to really put their names forward. Clearly that's a major ask of very young guys but this is as big an opportunity as it is a challenge. Division One is a terrific breeding ground and playing Kerry and Dublin for example will push these lads forward in ways which no amount of training can. It's early in the year and time is needed, but I'm optimistic we can really tear into Dublin tomorrow in Ballybofey. It's a home game, we have loads of talent, but obviously Dublin are big favourites and rightly so. Miles ahead in terms of their development and the stage they're at, they're relentless, deserve serious credit at this stage as they're going all year round without any real drop off!

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 25/02/2017 12:12:26    1960418

Looks like there might be only two winners tomorrow - the wind and rain.
I'm expecting it to be a fairly dour game with plenty of cards of all colours and a few bizzare scores.
Still, I hope you all get your money's worth up there !

DubsExileInNaas (Dublin) - Posts: 171 - 25/02/2017 13:25:44    1960441

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Make sure "bitegate" doesn't surface again on Sunday"
Hopefully players wont players crown jewels wont be squeezed while he held in a headlock.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 25/02/2017 20:24:53    1960607

Dublin alleged announced team:
Best Keeper of all time.
Philly Mc
Fitzy
Lowdnes
Darren Daly
Jonny Small
Jack
Brian Fenton
MDM
Niall Scully
Shane Carthy (Vincent's)
Jason Whelan
Kilkenny
O'Gara
Deano

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/02/2017 21:05:33    1960650

Replying To TheUsername:  "Dublin alleged announced team:
Best Keeper of all time.
Philly Mc
Fitzy
Lowdnes
Darren Daly
Jonny Small
Jack
Brian Fenton
MDM
Niall Scully
Shane Carthy (Vincent's)
Jason Whelan
Kilkenny
O'Gara
Deano"
Will be interesting to see how Scully and Carthy perform later today.

Weather is brutal and gonna a slog of a match.

Hopefully a big crowd en route...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 26/02/2017 09:23:31    1960802

Replying To jacktheDub:  "It won't mcbrearty is not playing"
So ye admit that he was targeted so?

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 26/02/2017 10:34:32    1960828

Replying To Gael85:  "Hopefully players wont players crown jewels wont be squeezed while he held in a headlock."
Yeah, and hopefully certain areas of a players' faces won't be interfered with either.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 26/02/2017 10:34:58    1960829

Replying To jacktheDub:  "It won't mcbrearty is not playing"
So ye admit that he was targeted so?

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 26/02/2017 10:36:24    1960832

Replying To Gael85:  "Hopefully players wont players crown jewels wont be squeezed while he held in a headlock."
Good call - ye are known for that in fairness

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 26/02/2017 10:37:20    1960833

Hopefully the Jacks will feed the players before they go on the field this time

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 26/02/2017 10:38:16    1960835

Replying To eunans4ever:  "So ye admit that he was targeted so?"
Pot Kettle black....!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 26/02/2017 10:53:21    1960847