Division 1 2017

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Your crowd must be very happy after Sunday, really looked a good outfit. Geaney is something else"
Ah it was good to get a win, esp away from home. But you have to factor in the inexperience of that Donegal side and a poor first half by them in particular.

Nothing to get carried away with, Saturday's game against a Mayo side in need of a win should be a better indicator of where we are at this remove.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/02/2017 15:00:37    1953308

Replying To cuederocket:  "Of course they were different games,but make no mistake,Kerry were deflated after the league final loss.I remember Tomas O Se writing in the Indo saying how disappointed he was in the manner of the defeat.And some Kerry posters on here were worried about their prospects after that game.

In saying that,there was only two points between the sides with 20 minutes to go before Aidan O Mahony received his marching orders.Although Dublin were dominating possession for the majority of the game it wasn't showing on the scoreboard.With the red card the flood gates opened.

In the All Ireland semi final,bar the final 7 minutes before half time when we imploded and conceded 2-3,i thought it was a very dominant display for large parts of the game which again,like the league final,didn't translate on the scoreboard.In that sense there were similiarities in the two games."
That's the thing about that league final, Kerry cared, we weren't too pushed, and that's why it hurt them.
But we controlled that game before and after O'Mahony walked, the AI semi, where we cared deeply, was not under the same control. We finished well.
Kerry are in the mix, no doubt, but they shouldn't bust their balls trying to win the league as it could cost them with injuries etc, and all for what, a league title?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 07/02/2017 19:43:21    1953416

Replying To realdub:  "That's the thing about that league final, Kerry cared, we weren't too pushed, and that's why it hurt them.
But we controlled that game before and after O'Mahony walked, the AI semi, where we cared deeply, was not under the same control. We finished well.
Kerry are in the mix, no doubt, but they shouldn't bust their balls trying to win the league as it could cost them with injuries etc, and all for what, a league title?"
We won't be bustin anything, the League is a means to an end, if you find yourself with a chance to win it then go out and try your best to do so, but it's a secondary concern.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/02/2017 20:58:57    1953435

Replying To TheHermit:  "We won't be bustin anything, the League is a means to an end, if you find yourself with a chance to win it then go out and try your best to do so, but it's a secondary concern."
Couldn't agree more, last year was an exception as Kerry saw it as a chance to beat Dublin down a little, but I'd say ye have learned from that one, as there is only one place to do the beating up!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 07/02/2017 21:15:40    1953441

Replying To TheHermit:  "We won't be bustin anything, the League is a means to an end, if you find yourself with a chance to win it then go out and try your best to do so, but it's a secondary concern."
If the league is there to be won,lets go out and win it.That's how i feel about it.I hope Jim Gavin and the players think the same.80,000 people at Croke Park for last years final showed the appetite is there to be league champions.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/02/2017 21:18:29    1953444

Couldn't agree more, last year was an exception as Kerry saw it as a chance to beat Dublin down a little, but I'd say ye have learned from that one, as there is only one place to do the beating up!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 07/02/2017 21:43:43    1953452

Replying To cuederocket:  "If the league is there to be won,lets go out and win it.That's how i feel about it.I hope Jim Gavin and the players think the same.80,000 people at Croke Park for last years final showed the appetite is there to be league champions."
Of course if your into the final you should be doing everything to win it, it's still a national title and IMO a county like Kerry should always try and be competitive and should try to pick up a League every few years. It's 09 since our last so I wouldn't say no to winning one of we were in touching distance.

But in terms of priorty Id take beating Cork in a Munster final over a League title.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/02/2017 22:57:54    1953478

I agree with cuederocket, most counties use the League as a way of weaning in new players and doesn't really matter how we fare, the League deserves more respect, why, because no matter what division you look at nearly every team is evenly balanced in that division, you will not see a thrashing too often like you see in the championship, there is an appetite for the League just look at last weekend over 16000 in Cavan, nearly 11000 in Castlebar, I know some weaker counties will say they have small attendance but if more focus was put on the League by every county and the GAA the numbers will increase, there isn't a hope in hell if a division 4 team winning a provincial or All Ireland title but if promotion was secured to div 3, then up to div 2 you are in with a shout. Is it time to run the League alongside the championship or shorten the championship and start the League early April

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 09/02/2017 14:55:02    1954014

Replying To riverboys:  "I agree with cuederocket, most counties use the League as a way of weaning in new players and doesn't really matter how we fare, the League deserves more respect, why, because no matter what division you look at nearly every team is evenly balanced in that division, you will not see a thrashing too often like you see in the championship, there is an appetite for the League just look at last weekend over 16000 in Cavan, nearly 11000 in Castlebar, I know some weaker counties will say they have small attendance but if more focus was put on the League by every county and the GAA the numbers will increase, there isn't a hope in hell if a division 4 team winning a provincial or All Ireland title but if promotion was secured to div 3, then up to div 2 you are in with a shout. Is it time to run the League alongside the championship or shorten the championship and start the League early April"
Yes the League is probably a better competition in terms of the equality of standard between teams competing per division. However it's not going to be taken as serious (even with its bigger profile in the last decade) simply because it is the second or possibly third competition after the All-Ireland and Provincial Championships.

Players careers and County's legacies aren't judged on League titles, they are still judged on Celtic Crosses, All-Irelands and Provincial titles.

So why would counties and county players bust their posterior trying to win something that's just not as glamorous.

Now if you swapped over and the League was the be all and end all, then yes you'd see the likes of Kerry giving it everything.

But at the moment its only a means to an end, preparation for the real stuff - the Championship.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/02/2017 15:10:50    1954028

Replying To riverboys:  "I agree with cuederocket, most counties use the League as a way of weaning in new players and doesn't really matter how we fare, the League deserves more respect, why, because no matter what division you look at nearly every team is evenly balanced in that division, you will not see a thrashing too often like you see in the championship, there is an appetite for the League just look at last weekend over 16000 in Cavan, nearly 11000 in Castlebar, I know some weaker counties will say they have small attendance but if more focus was put on the League by every county and the GAA the numbers will increase, there isn't a hope in hell if a division 4 team winning a provincial or All Ireland title but if promotion was secured to div 3, then up to div 2 you are in with a shout. Is it time to run the League alongside the championship or shorten the championship and start the League early April"
Absolutely.The league is getting bigger,better,more competetive and more exciting every passing year.It is our second most prestigious national trophy.Games are hard fought between teams of similiar standards.When you get to the final,especially against your biggest rivals,in front of 80,000 people,i think the players and fans alike want to win that trophy.I was one very happy Dublin man coming out of Croke Park after last years big win.I don't get much satisfaction with winning every Leinster game by a cricket score against teams of an inferior standard,but beating the countries best teams to win the league is always worth celebrating.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 09/02/2017 15:16:44    1954030

100% League needs start later. I would switch the league and championship around. Play like the league years ago. Same 8 teams 4 Divisions

top 4 from Division 1
top 2 from Division 2
top team from Division 3& 4

into Quarter Final.

Prob with that format teams could loose interest if not in contention for promotion especially in bottom divisions. Format would effect the club scene too

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 09/02/2017 15:16:49    1954031

Ultan Harney pulled his hamstring again playing for DCU. Cant see us staying up without him he is a massive loss.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 09/02/2017 15:21:41    1954034

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yes the League is probably a better competition in terms of the equality of standard between teams competing per division. However it's not going to be taken as serious (even with its bigger profile in the last decade) simply because it is the second or possibly third competition after the All-Ireland and Provincial Championships.

Players careers and County's legacies aren't judged on League titles, they are still judged on Celtic Crosses, All-Irelands and Provincial titles.

So why would counties and county players bust their posterior trying to win something that's just not as glamorous.

Now if you swapped over and the League was the be all and end all, then yes you'd see the likes of Kerry giving it everything.

But at the moment its only a means to an end, preparation for the real stuff - the Championship."
You would prefer to win a provincial medal v one county (Cork),than a competition against seven of the countries top teams?Munster,where Tipp,Clare,Waterford and Limerick,have won the sum total of one Provincial title between them in over 80 years,is ridiculously predictable,and has been for the guts of 100 years.Is it really that exciting to you,hermit?

As bennybunny said,there was a pathetic crowd of 9,000 at a recent Munster final between Cork and Limerick.Crowds at Kerry v Cork games are down too.Is it really that exciting?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 09/02/2017 15:22:55    1954035

Replying To cuederocket:  "You would prefer to win a provincial medal v one county (Cork),than a competition against seven of the countries top teams?Munster,where Tipp,Clare,Waterford and Limerick,have won the sum total of one Provincial title between them in over 80 years,is ridiculously predictable,and has been for the guts of 100 years.Is it really that exciting to you,hermit?

As bennybunny said,there was a pathetic crowd of 9,000 at a recent Munster final between Cork and Limerick.Crowds at Kerry v Cork games are down too.Is it really that exciting?"
Even Cork have gone backwards. They wont in contention for a good few years. Kerry second team would hammer Tipperary, Limerick, Clare and Waterford.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 09/02/2017 15:36:37    1954041

Replying To Gael85:  "Even Cork have gone backwards. They wont in contention for a good few years. Kerry second team would hammer Tipperary, Limerick, Clare and Waterford."
Sure didn't their U21s hammer Tipp recently in McGrath Cup?Fair play to Tipp's achievements last year but i can never see them beating Kerry.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 09/02/2017 15:51:35    1954048

Replying To cuederocket:  "You would prefer to win a provincial medal v one county (Cork),than a competition against seven of the countries top teams?Munster,where Tipp,Clare,Waterford and Limerick,have won the sum total of one Provincial title between them in over 80 years,is ridiculously predictable,and has been for the guts of 100 years.Is it really that exciting to you,hermit?

As bennybunny said,there was a pathetic crowd of 9,000 at a recent Munster final between Cork and Limerick.Crowds at Kerry v Cork games are down too.Is it really that exciting?"
Put it this way when a high profile player retires it lists his All-Ireland's, his provincial titles, his all stars and then his league medals.

It's still a secondary competition and yes, as I posted earlier, I'd value a Munster title having beaten Cork with 30,000 watching on more than a League title.
The League is still about preparing for summer and nothing more. If the Championship is rejigged and League placing becomes relevant (for example) than that attitude will change but until then, I won't lose any sleep over winning one or not (nice as it is to win the thing every now and then).

Most of the provincial championships have a heartbeat yet, just because Leinster has been destroyed doesn't mean we have to chuck all the rest of them out the gate.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/02/2017 15:56:20    1954051

Replying To cuederocket:  "Sure didn't their U21s hammer Tipp recently in McGrath Cup?Fair play to Tipp's achievements last year but i can never see them beating Kerry."
Agreed. Tipp is a hurling county. They are in same boat as Dublin hurlers-the poor relations.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 09/02/2017 16:07:23    1954056

Replying To TheHermit:  "Put it this way when a high profile player retires it lists his All-Ireland's, his provincial titles, his all stars and then his league medals.

It's still a secondary competition and yes, as I posted earlier, I'd value a Munster title having beaten Cork with 30,000 watching on more than a League title.
The League is still about preparing for summer and nothing more. If the Championship is rejigged and League placing becomes relevant (for example) than that attitude will change but until then, I won't lose any sleep over winning one or not (nice as it is to win the thing every now and then).

Most of the provincial championships have a heartbeat yet, just because Leinster has been destroyed doesn't mean we have to chuck all the rest of them out the gate."
Enjoy yere one big game in Munster per year,hermit,with it's ever diminishing crowds.If that's all that it takes to excite you,fair enough.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 09/02/2017 16:21:18    1954061

Difference with me and you hermit is i have said on numerous occassions that Leinster holds little interest for me at present.I don't take any pleasure in hammering teams of vastly inferior standards and,through no fault of their own,totally out of their depth.I have attended very few Leinster turkey shoots of last 10 years where the hot topic of pre-game discussion is whether Dublin will cover the ever-increasing handicap spread.Lambs to the slaughter comes to mind.

Whereas ye Kerry lads have no issue in hammering the same four minnows over the last 100 years.Ye have no problem with the plight of the four counties ye have downtrodden for decades.All high-fives and smiles as Waterford or Clare are beaten mercilessly to the bloid-thirsty,adoring crowds.Never once have i heard you say,the system is not fair to these counties ; you've been happy with the status quo for 100 years.And whats another 100 years to massage yere egos while the game suffers all around ye.If you think that's good for the game then happy days.Kingdom Abu!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 09/02/2017 16:43:29    1954070

Replying To cuederocket:  "Difference with me and you hermit is i have said on numerous occassions that Leinster holds little interest for me at present.I don't take any pleasure in hammering teams of vastly inferior standards and,through no fault of their own,totally out of their depth.I have attended very few Leinster turkey shoots of last 10 years where the hot topic of pre-game discussion is whether Dublin will cover the ever-increasing handicap spread.Lambs to the slaughter comes to mind.

Whereas ye Kerry lads have no issue in hammering the same four minnows over the last 100 years.Ye have no problem with the plight of the four counties ye have downtrodden for decades.All high-fives and smiles as Waterford or Clare are beaten mercilessly to the bloid-thirsty,adoring crowds.Never once have i heard you say,the system is not fair to these counties ; you've been happy with the status quo for 100 years.And whats another 100 years to massage yere egos while the game suffers all around ye.If you think that's good for the game then happy days.Kingdom Abu!"
There is so much wrong with that post Cue, I don't know where to begin.

Yes I am what you would probably call a traditionalist when it comes to this Championship restructure debate. I have said on here numerous times that the provincial system should and must be accommodated. That's my opinion and I see nothing wrong with expressing it.

And yes Cue, a Munster final on a balmy Sunday afternoon in July in Killarney, with the stands full of swathes of Kerry and Cork fans and both counties going at it hammer and thongs does excite me!! And if you understood the Kerry/Cork thing believe me it would excite you too. The problem with you Dublin boys is you expect to be seen as our biggest rivals and can't understand that while the Dublin/Kerry thing rares up every couple of decades, Cork/Kerry is going on for 120 years+

Your accusation that it is somehow Kerry's fault about the standard of the other 4 counties is ludicrous. How are we meant to be held responsible for what happens in other places?
You seem to see Munster and Leinster as the same, they're not. There are huge historical, sporting and socio-economical differences between these two provinces. Kilkenny is arguably the one hurling county in Leinster. In Munster, all bar Kerry would consider themselves hurling counties. That has obviously had an impact on how they view and treat the football code and a knock on effect in terms of how competitive they are.
Leinster has become a dead duck for what I would argue are artificial reasons, which have been well flagged on here ad nauseum.

I would also say your reply shows a complete ignorance and disrespect of what the Munster football championships is actually like. If you look back at Kerry's wins over the Clares, Tipp and Limericks over the past 15 years, it might surprise you how close those games where especially compared to what Dublin have been doing in Leinster.

Ya maybe the 4 others havn't won a Munster title in a long long time, but they have always played hard and tried to (and most of the time succeed) in giving Kerry a game over the years. When's the last time a Leinster team did that to ye???

Is the fact the likes of Clare and Tipperary managed to be in a Q-final last year at least some small evidence for those looking in that they aren't actually too bad at football.

It is just arrogance on Dublin's part to think that just because they have contrived to make the Leinster Championship a laughing stock that the rest of us should all do away with our own provincial competitions.

The League is the League, the Championship is football.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/02/2017 18:35:36    1954119