Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Congratulations Wexford. Great win. Well done. Head and shoulders above Galway, 12-15 points a better side. That Chin is some leader. Great championship now. Antrim vs Kilkenny final???

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1945 - 04/05/2024 17:38:52    2542860

Savage stuff!! I was skeptical but Jippo made some difference, seem way more assured at the back with him there. He frustrated the life out of Conor Cooney. Eoin Ryan, Jippo, Rory, and Chin were absolute immense. Didn't see it coming but couldn't be happier to be wrong.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 236 - 04/05/2024 17:39:43    2542861

Delighted and delighted particularly for Rory, Mac and Fanning, consistency is key now as we so often say on here. Fans needed that today as no doubt did the team

goreyll (Wexford) - Posts: 114 - 04/05/2024 17:42:30    2542864

So frustrating Wexford can play like that and the next week be so poor. Great result but need to show Carlow respect and deliver the same performance. About time we beat Galway at last also.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 157 - 04/05/2024 17:46:54    2542868

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Fair play Wexford but surely this result must make it more frustrating to be a yellow belly. There seems to be only 2 types of performances, brilliant and crap and nothing in the middle"
Yep

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 128 - 04/05/2024 17:49:07    2542870

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Shoulder to shoulder. Absolute joke. This isn't under 7s"
Well done Wexford. What character those lads showed today. The real Wexford finally stood up. We're right back in it now. Incidentally I saw a replay of the Byrne tackle and I'm as biased as anyone here but it wasn't shoulder to shoulder. He hit him on the blindside. it was a red. I hope it doesn't mean Cian Byrne will miss the match in Nowlan Park…

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 203 - 04/05/2024 17:58:17    2542876

More questions than answers after that. Galway were very poor. 1-6 from Rory when he wasn't being played 70 yards away. Liam Ryan with an absolutely titanic performance.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 72 - 04/05/2024 18:03:24    2542878

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Concannon can hit a fella on the top of the head and it's grand though"
I wasn't at the game as I'm away on holidays but it was a defo red he lined him up perfectly and straight on top of his head

juan31 (Wexford) - Posts: 158 - 04/05/2024 18:12:01    2542879

Replying To Doylerwex:  "Shoulder to shoulder. Absolute joke. This isn't under 7s"
Wexford deserved their win and congratulations to ye, but I am sorry, that is a strange take on the incident. Deserved red.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1581 - 04/05/2024 18:18:16    2542881

So happy I was wrong about today. Super performance. Rory O'Connor immense amongst huge performances all over the pitch. Bring that workrate every day and we are a good team. Let's make sure we back it up against Carlow. Loch Garman Abu

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 490 - 04/05/2024 18:30:49    2542889

We'll take it, but the mystery that is Wexford hurling just keeps going.

Matt was excellent.

Damien Reck was at his best in the first half.

Jippo immense.

Conor hearne had the game of his life.

Grealish is a savage marker, one of the best in the game. Honestly thought Byrne destroyed him.

Mac was unreal in the first half. He won every ball that went near him.

Chin was excellent in the first half. When he went out of it we actually got better.

Rory is unplayable when he's in form.

On as side note, umpire calls Mac's score, right behind it 100% over. It was about 3 feet inside.

Nilands only score from play was wide and ref ruled a score.

Did anyone notice Shane Reck was literally still in the dressing room when the ball was thrown in for second half?

He didn't come out until after we scored. Never saw that in all my years.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2751 - 04/05/2024 18:35:25    2542890

Also too I rang my dad after the game he was at the match he said he was talking to Cian Byrne after the game and he said the fella he fouled well his helmet strap was open before he fouled him so his opinion is it looked much worse than it was..I critised the team last week especially two players but that was one hell of a pperformance today

juan31 (Wexford) - Posts: 158 - 04/05/2024 18:49:20    2542899

Poor quality game but honestly who cares, showed way more than Galway and a bit of steel to finally get the win. No more sob story's of running close to a big team that isn't Kilkenny and then commending for not getting hammered. Biggest statement result since 2019 Leinster final. All the problems that existed before today are still there but please god this isn't the peak of it but the beginning of turning a new page, Carlow game is still huge, loose that and this counts for nothing. Galway were terrible today and Shefflin is under massive pressure now. Wexford well deserving of win and way better, one worry is we still left Galway in it when we could've pushed on more but hey it's so much better to have these problems than loosing by 3/4 or not showing up at all. Rory Macs best ever game for Wexford tbh, what a game he had, that's potential I think everyone in the country knows he has but so good to see him show. Nearly makes the last two results sting even more when you see them winning today. Crazy stuff but Loch Garman Abu

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 271 - 04/05/2024 19:05:11    2542907

If Wexford beat Carlow and Kilkenny that leaves 1 draw, 1 loss and 3 wins.

Is it enough to make 3rd place?

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 745 - 04/05/2024 19:09:39    2542909

Replying To ahsure.:  "Wexford deserved their win and congratulations to ye, but I am sorry, that is a strange take on the incident. Deserved red."
There was less in it than concannon strike to the head on Eoin Ryan immediately after.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2751 - 04/05/2024 19:12:10    2542910

2 week break now does anyone know what injured players if any are in contention for Carlow. It would be great to have Dee O'Keefe back, any word on CBD or Molloy? Am I missing any other injured players? McGuckin was on the bench today.

Hopefully the break too will benefit Kevin Foley, Donohoe. I thought both of those looked tired or underperformed in Dublin, Carlow game.

Hopefully Jack O is not after aggregating his injury and I'm guessing Cian Byrne is looking at a suspension

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 128 - 04/05/2024 19:12:17    2542911

Replying To Past hurler:  "If Wexford beat Carlow and Kilkenny that leaves 1 draw, 1 loss and 3 wins.

Is it enough to make 3rd place?"
I'd say that puts us in Leinster final

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 128 - 04/05/2024 19:13:29    2542913

Replying To Past hurler:  "If Wexford beat Carlow and Kilkenny that leaves 1 draw, 1 loss and 3 wins.

Is it enough to make 3rd place?"
We'd be in the Leinster final on the head to head then.

Let's worry about Carlow first.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2751 - 04/05/2024 19:16:30    2542915

Replying To Doylerwex:  "We'd be in the Leinster final on the head to head then.

Let's worry about Carlow first."
I think the only way it wouldn't put us in final is that if 3 teams finish level on points then it goes to score difference. I'm guessing if that happened we'd be tight because we don't blow teams away on the scoreboard but yes Carlow is a leinster quarter final for us and if we win that the kk is a leinster semi

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 128 - 04/05/2024 19:20:06    2542920

Replying To Doylerwex:  "We'll take it, but the mystery that is Wexford hurling just keeps going.

Matt was excellent.

Damien Reck was at his best in the first half.

Jippo immense.

Conor hearne had the game of his life.

Grealish is a savage marker, one of the best in the game. Honestly thought Byrne destroyed him.

Mac was unreal in the first half. He won every ball that went near him.

Chin was excellent in the first half. When he went out of it we actually got better.

Rory is unplayable when he's in form.

On as side note, umpire calls Mac's score, right behind it 100% over. It was about 3 feet inside.

Nilands only score from play was wide and ref ruled a score.

Did anyone notice Shane Reck was literally still in the dressing room when the ball was thrown in for second half?

He didn't come out until after we scored. Never saw that in all my years."
It happened 1988 with the wexford keeper late coming out. Paul Nolan I think it was v Kilkenny .

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 269 - 04/05/2024 19:51:57    2542929