Wexford Hurling thread 2024

I met sambo last year in the horse and hound he's very close friends with ray murphy from Cushinstown. An absolute gentleman. I saw him Saturday evening and just said congrats to him.

Only solice I can get is we won first goal scorer with chin at 9/1. One of the lads on the stag said we should have put it on Antrim at half time at 11/1.

Last 10 minutes are worrying in both games is it fitness is it lack of concentration I don't know. I'd also be concerned with management and making changes. Very slow. I believe the turning of the match was we had a free to put us 8 up and Mac bumped into eoin Campbell with the softest of shoulders and Antrim lad went down. They got a hop ball and it got them going.

Good luck to both minors and seniors we need it

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 269 - 03/05/2024 12:47:31    2542631

Viking, Willie cleary new principal of Taghmon national school. My cousins friend is in there too, he is a good hurling man

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 960 - 03/05/2024 12:49:37    2542634

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I'd hope for and expect 3 or 4 changes at least before throw in"
Not sure about 4 but I'd be expecting some changes for sure. Much though alot of us would like to see Duggan being given a go it's highly unlikely Keith Rossiter will drop Fanning. Obviously it would be great to see Ryan in from the start, but after that it becomes much more subjective and would depend on what way you would like to see the,team set up. A fully fit and firing Jacko would be great, but can you guarantee you will get that Jacko? I'd definitely like to see more workrate and movement in the middle 3rd. And pace inside. It's a shame Doyle isn't even on the bench. Lads like Mac, Dooley etc weren't very good last Saturday, but will he drop them? More importantly than personnel changes there has to be a 5-10% rise in intensity out of everyone. And I'd also like to see management being proactive rather than reactive. Like replacing lads when they start tiring, not when they are completely out on their feet. We have a good bench there so we should use it earlier.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 03/05/2024 12:57:16    2542637

Replying To hunting:  "Viking, Willie cleary new principal of Taghmon national school. My cousins friend is in there too, he is a good hurling man"
That's the type of principal that a school needs to drive things on.... huge bonus for Taghmon !

grassroots01 (Wexford) - Posts: 169 - 03/05/2024 13:27:53    2542649

Replying To hunting:  "Viking, Willie cleary new principal of Taghmon national school"
#### it I'm going to have to take back some of the negative stuff I posted about him;-)

Seriously though that's great news! Whatever about debating Egans tenure noone ever said he isn't a proper Wexford hurling man. He is exactly what we need to get hurling back on the front foot in our parishes largest school. We weren't even let organise hurling 365 in there before school because they have a breakfast club. We were told we could have half an hour at lunchtime, when most of us are working.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 03/05/2024 14:01:03    2542659

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I have 3 children playing GAA in the county so have a vested interest in the county. Maybe I should give up my coaching involvement in the local GAA club while I am at it? Because like every club ours is awash with volunteers........................
I am fair and balanced in my postings on here and if I criticise there is proposals for how to improve. I guess everything is perfect at the moment is it?
How could what he replied to be considered negative? Go read it. It was stating the bleeding obvious and a reality I hope does not pan out."
I know you put the time in. But like most of my friends from Dublin you do have a glass half empty attitude to things. No point worrying about the Carlow game because tomorrow's game will have a huge influence on the Carlow game. Performance wise as well as result wise.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 03/05/2024 14:03:50    2542661

Replying To Fulgrim:  "Bit worried if the team lines out as named.

With that said best of luck to the minors and seniors tomorrow, hopefully they can both get a result and inject a bit of life and enthusiasm into thinks. If ,by some miracle, we do turn Galway over, we are still in contention to make the All Ireland series."
If we beat Galway we have a realistic hope of making a Leinster final.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 03/05/2024 14:04:26    2542662

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "I met sambo last year in the horse and hound he's very close friends with ray murphy from Cushinstown. An absolute gentleman. I saw him Saturday evening and just said congrats to him.

Only solice I can get is we won first goal scorer with chin at 9/1. One of the lads on the stag said we should have put it on Antrim at half time at 11/1.

Last 10 minutes are worrying in both games is it fitness is it lack of concentration I don't know. I'd also be concerned with management and making changes. Very slow. I believe the turning of the match was we had a free to put us 8 up and Mac bumped into eoin Campbell with the softest of shoulders and Antrim lad went down. They got a hop ball and it got them going.

Good luck to both minors and seniors we need it"
Mac shouldn't have got involved there. They scored a goal in the subsequent play.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 03/05/2024 14:05:37    2542663

Replying To Viking66:  "Not sure about 4 but I'd be expecting some changes for sure. Much though alot of us would like to see Duggan being given a go it's highly unlikely Keith Rossiter will drop Fanning. Obviously it would be great to see Ryan in from the start, but after that it becomes much more subjective and would depend on what way you would like to see the,team set up. A fully fit and firing Jacko would be great, but can you guarantee you will get that Jacko? I'd definitely like to see more workrate and movement in the middle 3rd. And pace inside. It's a shame Doyle isn't even on the bench. Lads like Mac, Dooley etc weren't very good last Saturday, but will he drop them? More importantly than personnel changes there has to be a 5-10% rise in intensity out of everyone. And I'd also like to see management being proactive rather than reactive. Like replacing lads when they start tiring, not when they are completely out on their feet. We have a good bench there so we should use it earlier."
If no changes. Competition for places my ****.

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 90 - 03/05/2024 14:17:29    2542666

Replying To Viking66:  "#### it I'm going to have to take back some of the negative stuff I posted about him;-)

Seriously though that's great news! Whatever about debating Egans tenure noone ever said he isn't a proper Wexford hurling man. He is exactly what we need to get hurling back on the front foot in our parishes largest school. We weren't even let organise hurling 365 in there before school because they have a breakfast club. We were told we could have half an hour at lunchtime, when most of us are working."
As I mentioned before viking, my cousin's friend (who teaches there) does hurling with them at least once a week during during his own lunch breaks. Cleary with be some help to ye i would Imagine.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 960 - 03/05/2024 14:41:08    2542671

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "I met sambo last year in the horse and hound he's very close friends with ray murphy from Cushinstown. An absolute gentleman. I saw him Saturday evening and just said congrats to him.

Good luck to both minors and seniors we need it"
Most Laochra Gael episodes are very good but Sambo's was outstanding.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1760 - 03/05/2024 14:46:25    2542672

Replying To hunting:  "As I mentioned before viking, my cousin's friend (who teaches there) does hurling with them at least once a week during during his own lunch breaks. Cleary with be some help to ye i would Imagine."
Trevors a good man but has got absolutely no support. Hopefully this appointment will be a great thing for the school and club going forwards .

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 03/05/2024 15:03:58    2542678

Replying To hunting:  "As I mentioned before viking, my cousin's friend (who teaches there) does hurling with them at least once a week during during his own lunch breaks. Cleary with be some help to ye i would Imagine."
As a matter of interest, how widespread is Hurling 365 and how active are primary schools and teachers in general in driving hurling?

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 139 - 03/05/2024 15:18:36    2542682

Replying To Viking66:  "I know you put the time in. But like most of my friends from Dublin you do have a glass half empty attitude to things. No point worrying about the Carlow game because tomorrow's game will have a huge influence on the Carlow game. Performance wise as well as result wise."
There are loads of people in Wexford who have a glass 90% full while the tap is on full pelt and water is p***ing out the bottom of it attitude though.
I check here every now and then and don't agree with everything Exile says but do believe his posts are measured and ideas are at very least thought out. He has banged a drum about 4G pitches and combined colleges and on both of these, he is 100% right.
Many people in Wexford want to complain about everything and would throw out the u20 team this weekend to "freshen it up" or "prove a point to the established players" and then go mad when they were beat by 25 points.
If you are going to complain you have to have a solution to the problem, or an idea how it should be done better.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1741 - 03/05/2024 15:39:09    2542687

Replying To StoreysTash:  "There are loads of people in Wexford who have a glass 90% full while the tap is on full pelt and water is p***ing out the bottom of it attitude though.
I check here every now and then and don't agree with everything Exile says but do believe his posts are measured and ideas are at very least thought out. He has banged a drum about 4G pitches and combined colleges and on both of these, he is 100% right.
Many people in Wexford want to complain about everything and would throw out the u20 team this weekend to "freshen it up" or "prove a point to the established players" and then go mad when they were beat by 25 points.
If you are going to complain you have to have a solution to the problem, or an idea how it should be done better."
Your last line is true, but "solutions" and ideas aren't good enough by themselves. You also need realistic and practical suggestions on how to put them in place and make them work. And on that point, I'd strongly disagree that Exiled's posts are "at very least thought out".

For instance, no point in talking about the "need" for a whole raft of 4G pitches when they cost over €1 million each, unless you can suggest where all this money is to come from.

No point in talking about the "need" for a combined colleges team if you have no realistic suggestions for how to overcome the logistical and administrative difficulties that occurred the previous time.

We may as well just say "We need better players. It's as simple as that", but not tell how we're going to develop all these better players in the first place.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2262 - 03/05/2024 16:18:30    2542691

Replying To StoreysTash:  "There are loads of people in Wexford who have a glass 90% full while the tap is on full pelt and water is p***ing out the bottom of it attitude though.
If you are going to complain you have to have a solution to the problem, or an idea how it should be done better."
Yeah I agree with that.

I don't agree with everything exiled says but he's entitled to his opinion, people call what he says as negative when it's in fact realistic if maybe on the pessimistic side but it's far more realistic than most of the other positive stuff I read here and no one bats an eyelid.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1354 - 03/05/2024 16:44:02    2542694

4g pitch will happen this winter. No point waiting for someone else to do it. Exiled is 100% right about the need for it. Fair play to all the people who pushed for it. Its going to take a big collective effort to pay for it though.
The combined schools is complicated. Had it continued then Enniscorthy CBS wouldn't have played PP Senior A this year for example. And with the current admissions procedures in place for secondary schools why should Peters and GC be excluded from a combined schools team? Plenty to consider and practical problems to overcome.
The only 2 criticisms I'd have of his posts are that he always dwells on the worst outcomes for us before they even happen, and he can't help being happy/I told you so if they do happen.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 03/05/2024 16:45:54    2542695

Replying To wexfordwin:  "As a matter of interest, how widespread is Hurling 365 and how active are primary schools and teachers in general in driving hurling?"
A mix bag as far as i know, some are very good and some are not, my own club are terrible and it very clear the ones that are doing well in underage are the ones who are working really hard with skills/365 coaching. Anyway best of luck to both minors and senior tomorrow, wouldn't it be a great shot in the arm to win both.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 960 - 03/05/2024 17:47:00    2542698

Replying To Viking66:  "4g pitch will happen this winter. No point waiting for someone else to do it. Exiled is 100% right about the need for it. Fair play to all the people who pushed for it. Its going to take a big collective effort to pay for it though.
The combined schools is complicated. Had it continued then Enniscorthy CBS wouldn't have played PP Senior A this year for example. And with the current admissions procedures in place for secondary schools why should Peters and GC be excluded from a combined schools team? Plenty to consider and practical problems to overcome.
The only 2 criticisms I'd have of his posts are that he always dwells on the worst outcomes for us before they even happen, and he can't help being happy/I told you so if they do happen."
Have to agree with viking on all accounts above.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 960 - 03/05/2024 17:48:46    2542699

Replying To wexfordwin:  "As a matter of interest, how widespread is Hurling 365 and how active are primary schools and teachers in general in driving hurling?"
Barely at all.

The fact there are so few male teachers now is not helpful in this regard.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2749 - 03/05/2024 18:05:04    2542704