Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Its extremely hard to watch Fanning play a one two with Niall Murphy and launch a sky scraper every single puck out. We are so predictable from puck outs and general play launching balls in the full forward line. We have completely went away from the running game which suits us way better. That's why I would much rather Chin in hf line we need to add physciality there and lads dont look wont look to hit a crowded full forward line when he isnt there. Think Tucker Kinsella needs a chance over Mac too but he hasnt seen game time in a while."
What gets me about this is for years under Davy lads said we should be going long. A tradional Wexford game it was called. And now when we are going long most of the time lads are saying we are launching skyscrapers. When we caty it a bit lads are saying we are running in to brick walls. Not only are the results very frustrating but so is the amount of crap spoken on this forum. as of late these kind of results in championship are happening fairly regularily so its not just tactics. Maybe this is or level nd we have to accept it

WEXILE_AGAIN (Wexford) - Posts: 16 - 29/04/2024 17:31:06    2541577

Replying To Williekavanagh:  "Cannot believe how negative ye all are. No player sets out to play poorly but it happens. Still 6 points to play for so get behind the lads they need you. Why be so quick to make them star players and even quicker to desert them when needed most. You must remember the manager is learning of the huff as well. It's his first year."
Great post. While we lost and drew the last 2 games we could've won both. Think that's what has lads down here frustrated. If we had of played even a little better as a whole set up we would've won both games.
Agree 100% about Rossiter. I was worried would he be experienced enough when he was appointed, and everyone said fair play to him when he was, and said we would all have to be patient. And then we aren't being patient. It's like my work. I'd get a lad ring up about a bike needing work and I'd tell him not to drop it down as it would be 3 months til I could look at it. Next thing he rings back and says he, or a mate, brother, sister or whoever, is going down to Wexford and could he drop it in. I'd say OK but it will still be 3 months til I can look at it. The bike gets dropped. Then 2 or 3 weeks later he's ringing wondering did I start at it yet:-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 29/04/2024 17:45:06    2541584

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Some of the stuff on here is self pitying nonsense. You lost a game to us. Big deal, get over it."
Lost to Antrim.
We have never lost a championship game to them that I can remember

wex82 (Wexford) - Posts: 212 - 29/04/2024 18:29:35    2541597

We always hear about giving the weaker teams the opportunities to play at a higher level to improve.

So there has to be an impact over time on a team like Wexford playing the so called weaker teams. If Wexford were competing in the Munster championship for the last number of years for example would they be a better team now?

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 382 - 29/04/2024 18:29:50    2541598

Think one of the advantages of playing Chin in the half-forward line is that our gameplan right now seems to be "Where's Lee" and if you play him in the full-forward line, it just means that we drive the ball long. Maybe if we played him in the half-forward line, we'd be more inclined to work the ball short and play our running game in order to get the ball to him. One of the few times we did play our running game was the last free-in we won, that came about with Lee out the pitch. And the funny thing is that the few times we did run at them, we had success. We had a size disadvantage on Saturday but probably had a speed advantage and yet we resorted to long balls rather than a running game, make that make sense

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 284 - 29/04/2024 18:45:24    2541603

Listening to the OTB podcast now, excellent analysis of the game and really highlighting kust how well Antrim hurled Saturday evening, and Skehill has just made an excellent point. When the pressure comes on in the closing stages we seem to go back to type, to what some people down here term "the Wexford Way". Lump it long down on top of big forwards. We go away from what got us into the winning position in the 1st place. This is pretty easy to defend against if you know what is coming. Unless of course its us who is getting long ball lumped in against us:-(

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 29/04/2024 18:54:35    2541607

Replying To wex82:  "Lost to Antrim.
We have never lost a championship game to them that I can remember"
U21 team including likes of Chin and McDonald lost a semi final to them anyway. There was talk before that game that they would struggle to field a team. Beaten fair and square that day too.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 219 - 29/04/2024 22:44:48    2541643

Replying To Viking66:  "Listening to the OTB podcast now, excellent analysis of the game and really highlighting kust how well Antrim hurled Saturday evening, and Skehill has just made an excellent point. When the pressure comes on in the closing stages we seem to go back to type, to what some people down here term "the Wexford Way". Lump it long down on top of big forwards. We go away from what got us into the winning position in the 1st place. This is pretty easy to defend against if you know what is coming. Unless of course its us who is getting long ball lumped in against us:-("
Tipp 2019....with an extra man...ball after ball landed down on top of the Maher's by Fanning. Put Casey and Byrne in there and they won't do it.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 219 - 29/04/2024 22:46:44    2541646

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Think one of the advantages of playing Chin in the half-forward line is that our gameplan right now seems to be "Where's Lee" and if you play him in the full-forward line, it just means that we drive the ball long. Maybe if we played him in the half-forward line, we'd be more inclined to work the ball short and play our running game in order to get the ball to him. One of the few times we did play our running game was the last free-in we won, that came about with Lee out the pitch. And the funny thing is that the few times we did run at them, we had success. We had a size disadvantage on Saturday but probably had a speed advantage and yet we resorted to long balls rather than a running game, make that make sense"
Totally agree having Chin in half forward line makes us revert to running game . Also gives Fanning an option to hit our half forward line rather than a one two with our corner back and hit a high hit and hope

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 29/04/2024 23:17:54    2541654

Replying To Viking66:  "Listening to the OTB podcast now, excellent analysis of the game and really highlighting kust how well Antrim hurled Saturday evening, and Skehill has just made an excellent point. When the pressure comes on in the closing stages we seem to go back to type, to what some people down here term "the Wexford Way". Lump it long down on top of big forwards. We go away from what got us into the winning position in the 1st place. This is pretty easy to defend against if you know what is coming. Unless of course its us who is getting long ball lumped in against us:-("
Skehill is one of the best pundits going. Very fair in his analysis and comes across as a very likeable fella. OTB hurling pod is probably the best going. Still giving ya an hour free as well when most are exclusively behind a paywall.

Heartandhand96 (Wexford) - Posts: 15 - 30/04/2024 00:13:33    2541662

Replying To WEXILE_AGAIN:  "What gets me about this is for years under Davy lads said we should be going long. A tradional Wexford game it was called. And now when we are going long most of the time lads are saying we are launching skyscrapers. When we caty it a bit lads are saying we are running in to brick walls. Not only are the results very frustrating but so is the amount of crap spoken on this forum. as of late these kind of results in championship are happening fairly regularily so its not just tactics. Maybe this is or level nd we have to accept it"
These results are frustrating but it has to be born in mind that Antrim are improving and have a good team. Tactically we need to play to our strengths. Yes a long balk to Chin is one of them, but not when he's tired and has 3 markers. Balls into him have to be better. And we should mix up our play. Rorys, Mogies and Byrnes points were largely all well worked. But we didn't do enough of this.
I'm a firm believer you make your own luck, but against Dublin the puckout leading to the goal should've been retaken as the ref didn't blow his whistle to restart the game, and Mcnaughton took 8 or 9 steps for one of the goals Antrim scored. Galway got a draw Sunday on the back of a point that was a foot wide, while Hayes had a perfectly good goal chalked off for Limerick also this weekend.
We aren't playing terribly as a team, we have only been pipped at the post twice. We do need more workrate from the forwards and around the middle 3rd though. Some lads seem badly out of form though. If Liam Ryan comes back straight away that strengthens our 2 back lines. If we win our 3 remaining games we are likely into a Leinster Final.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 30/04/2024 07:28:09    2541666

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Think one of the advantages of playing Chin in the half-forward line is that our gameplan right now seems to be "Where's Lee" and if you play him in the full-forward line, it just means that we drive the ball long. Maybe if we played him in the half-forward line, we'd be more inclined to work the ball short and play our running game in order to get the ball to him. One of the few times we did play our running game was the last free-in we won, that came about with Lee out the pitch. And the funny thing is that the few times we did run at them, we had success. We had a size disadvantage on Saturday but probably had a speed advantage and yet we resorted to long balls rather than a running game, make that make sense"
Makes perfect sense. The traditional Wexford way of playing sure......

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 30/04/2024 07:30:58    2541667

Replying To Timbertony:  "Tipp 2019....with an extra man...ball after ball landed down on top of the Maher's by Fanning. Put Casey and Byrne in there and they won't do it."
Give Duggan a go in goal

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 30/04/2024 08:07:56    2541674

Replying To hunting:  "We do need to keep the support up on Saturday it a vital game from a relegation point of view(for us) and the minors deserved the support as well."
Hopefully we get a great crowd. The lads need every bit of help they can get.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 30/04/2024 08:09:05    2541675

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Realistically speaking, he's too small for senior intercounty level"
He's only an inch or 2 shorter than Peter Casey. He's a hard little ###### who's not afraid to get stuck in either, played half of last years Intermediate championship with likely 2 cracked ribs and was still the top scorer by miles. He scored 10 points from play in the Intermediate semi final, 16 overall. Far more from play than Cian got in the other semi final for example. When he gets knocked down he bounces straight up.
He's the fastest lad on the panel over 20 yards also. He's well used to marking big men. I do agree though that if we are going to persist with high dropping ball straight from the keeper there's no point wasting his time playing him.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 30/04/2024 08:16:16    2541676

Where we are now in hurling is where we are realistically .
The round Robin series prob does nt suit us as we are so inconsistent thats under any manager we ve had . We are great at one off performances even back in the day when the back door was introduced . If we had a good performance in leinster and were unlucky?!! Again .
We d go out and give a woeful effort in knock out stages 75% of the time
Think back you know that is correct .
Is it because we have to be on the top of our game to compete against the best and teams on our level or perceived to be a little lower raise their game and we dont or cant seem to cruise like other big teams . I m starting to believe we are nt good enough hard to say that without a knot in my stomach and a fear fir the future but is it our reality .
We want to believe we are at the top table of hurling when realistically we ve had a guests invite on occasion in lthe ast 40 plus years . They want us there as we bring something special and we are good company . But when the big boy stuff if handed required we are feeding off scraps and get token bites .
We have to improve and I really hope we can its not an easy fix . And I mich rather be fixing it in leinster than in Joe mc Donagh .
For that reason and because I m a proud wexford hurling supporter and always will be . I ll be there shouting my head off to encourage the lads and all I ll ever ask for is they give 100% every year , every training session , every meeting they listen and do whats asked whilst still working on their own game every practice match , every game in league or championship, every ball that comes to them and every ball that does nt they contest it , and every opposition player should worry about our workmate.
It's not over .
But no free pass for anyone if you are nt up to it or up for it step aside voluntarily ir forcibly give someone else the chance at least . I want to see hunger passion and never say due attitude
Wexford Abu

Formertownie (Wexford) - Posts: 189 - 30/04/2024 08:51:30    2541683

Replying To Viking66:  "These results are frustrating but it has to be born in mind that Antrim are improving and have a good team. Tactically we need to play to our strengths. Yes a long balk to Chin is one of them, but not when he's tired and has 3 markers. Balls into him have to be better. And we should mix up our play. Rorys, Mogies and Byrnes points were largely all well worked. But we didn't do enough of this.
I'm a firm believer you make your own luck, but against Dublin the puckout leading to the goal should've been retaken as the ref didn't blow his whistle to restart the game, and Mcnaughton took 8 or 9 steps for one of the goals Antrim scored. Galway got a draw Sunday on the back of a point that was a foot wide, while Hayes had a perfectly good goal chalked off for Limerick also this weekend.
We aren't playing terribly as a team, we have only been pipped at the post twice. We do need more workrate from the forwards and around the middle 3rd though. Some lads seem badly out of form though. If Liam Ryan comes back straight away that strengthens our 2 back lines. If we win our 3 remaining games we are likely into a Leinster Final."
If we somehow win our last 3 games its likely ourselves Galway and KK would be level on points then if results go as predicted? I would imagine a three way tie goes to score difference rather than head to head or has it changed?

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 30/04/2024 09:02:45    2541687

Replying To Viking66:  "Hopefully we get a great crowd. The lads need every bit of help they can get."
I hope so too. I would be fearful we will only get maybe 4 or 5k though unless its a good sunny day may attract more people. I know plenty going to Croke Park for the Leinster game Saturday and very few going to the Wexford match which is a sad reality. I just hope the lads can deliver a performance with passion and quality good enough to get a result. Who knows it may kick start our summer if we can

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 164 - 30/04/2024 09:06:22    2541688

Replying To Afinestick96:  "If we somehow win our last 3 games its likely ourselves Galway and KK would be level on points then if results go as predicted? I would imagine a three way tie goes to score difference rather than head to head or has it changed?"
Head to head would put us ahead wouldn't it if we won the 3 games. Its Wednesday now after I telling myself a thousand times that I'm not going to anymore games since Saturday...just went and bought my ticket this morning. Wouldn't it be great to get 2 good performances on Saturday and even better.to get some results.

I can understand people's frustration but at the end of the day we lost a game big deal. I'm living in Dublin no family really left anymore in Wexford so hurling is the only real time I get down so as hard and as frustrating it is at the moment and I think we must accept where we are and just hope for a big performance or two before the season is out. I still do believe tho we are destined for the drop in next few years or this year unless the round Robin or system changes but I'm hopeful work done in the county will have us up soon enough.

Loch Garman Abú

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 128 - 30/04/2024 09:17:11    2541689

Replying To Afinestick96:  "If we somehow win our last 3 games its likely ourselves Galway and KK would be level on points then if results go as predicted? I would imagine a three way tie goes to score difference rather than head to head or has it changed?"
It goes to a mini league of the tied teams. Which we would be top of.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 30/04/2024 09:37:09    2541694