Galway Football thread

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "Exactly that. Oranmore and Maree will split in time too. You're just going to have too many people in those areas to be served by a single club. E.g. Brigid's and Castleknock in Dublin."
Disagree with you there. Sure should Corofin have been split back to Corofin and Belclare? No. None of the larger clubs will be "split in time" - they'll most likely just get stronger. The power base at underage is shifting or has perhaps already shifted rapidly to the belt of larger clubs within short commuting distance of Galway. Do you think a Claregalway, Oranmore-Maree, Salthill-Knocknacarra etc will want to split after they get more of a taste of success at underage? Not a chance of it. When a large club has a conveyor belt of underage talent coming through, plus some hungry and ambitious coaches (many of them dads of those young players) they're going to follow them up through the years and they'll want to drive on and get the very same taste of senior success as the traditional big clubs - Corofin, Tuam Stars etc etc have had down through the decades. Most of those larger clubs operate very good and well coached B and C grade juvenile teams, so players aren't really being left behind as is commonly touted. Where juvenile players are facing decisions and challenges is where top class young sports people are doing multiple sports and having to eventually chose between football, hurling, soccer, rugby and other sports - they'll do them all to 13 maybe 14 or 15 years of age but soon it becomes impossible to do them all - between an endless stream of training and games. The soccer and rugby underage seasons have gone out of hand. Underage soccer in Co Galway is encroaching further and further every year into the GAA season, as is rugby. I've nothing against either code in principle but they used to finish in March, then early April, then late April, then early May and now they're not done until late May even June and they're asking lads back in August! It's almost never ending with soccer now and it's quite deliberate in its overlapping scheduling. Rugby was always winter / early spring and now they go into May too. Kids are actually burning out trying to do everything. GAA needs to reassert it's season at underage.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 915 - 12/05/2024 18:06:33    2544321

Replying To fairplay4ever:  "Agree 100%. Oranmore were well beaten two weeks ago by Corofin second team .Corofin were missing a number of Galway u20's .Not sure how many Oranmore were missing but got the impression from them very few.
The point was made at the game that Oranmore thrashed Corofin in an u16 final approx. 4 or 5 years ago . Corofin have 7/8 of that team playing Senior/Intermediate compared to one from Oranmore.
Saw it last two nights in Div 3 of Feile where Headford are thrashing teams scoring 16/18 points and obviously told not to go for goals. I think they would beat most Division 2 teams and they have a few players that would make Oranmore/Corofin/Monivea/Caherlistrane "A" teams. Was told its not their fault and they had no say in what division they play in (decided by Coiste)but they are learning absolutely nothing . Should go on to win it unless similar mis matches in other groups."
I can assure you there is no lack of good coaching or good preperation in Claregalway.
I imagine it's the same in Oranmore.
It's certainly not the reason Claregalway have yet to have success at Adult level.

Headford are an average enough Junior Club.
Of course they will have the odd good player but I highly doubt they have a several u15s capable of playing on Oranmore/Corofin/Claregalways A teams !!

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 12/05/2024 18:39:34    2544329

Replying To Black+Blue:  "I can assure you there is no lack of good coaching or good preperation in Claregalway.
I imagine it's the same in Oranmore.
It's certainly not the reason Claregalway have yet to have success at Adult level.

Headford are an average enough Junior Club.
Of course they will have the odd good player but I highly doubt they have a several u15s capable of playing on Oranmore/Corofin/Claregalways A teams !!"
I've seen alot of underage games and they have at least 3 including Jeffrey Lynskeys son whom i gather is also a very good hurler(havent seen him hurl) and an excellent soccer goalie (have seen him).(Galway united have tried to sign him but Hurling is his first love). Doesn't mean they will be good players at 17/18 as size makes a big difference at 14/15. They won Div 3 fairly handy clocking up high scores considering how short the games are including 7-10 in semi final. Speaking of high scores ,wondering whats happening in Oranmore . Two weeks after they conceded 1-21 against Corofin 2'nds they conceded 9-16 against Leitir Mor.

fairplay4ever (Galway) - Posts: 417 - 12/05/2024 21:29:24    2544384

Naomh Anna scoring a lot of goals in All Games in Division 3A.
Why were Headord playing in low Division in Feile?

ref (Galway) - Posts: 247 - 13/05/2024 08:01:13    2544397

Looking ahead to the Derry game at the weekend, here is the team I would pick.

Gleeson - Still very nervous going short and hits dangerous dribblers but hopefully his confidence will be up now. Good option for long range frees so that will secure his place long term.
McGrath
Kelly - It is his best position, he is best running from deep. Either play him full back or drop Daly and put Kelly CB. Harsh on Fitzgerald but Kelly offers more.
Glynn
O'Flaherty - Offers more pace than Silke and is direct. Silke might be better suited when the game opens up.
Daly - Would consider Kelly here also.
McHugh
Conroy
Maher
Sweeney - Was poor vs Mayo but has a good engine and is quick.
Darcy - Solid vs Mayo but if Tierney was more ready, I'd start Tierney. Tierney could be a good impact option again.
Heaney
Finnerty
Comer
O'Curraoin - Good free taker and showed well in the league.

Bench will be important and I think starting Walsh on the bench again is a good idea. Tierney should make an impact and McDaid should be fitter and hopefully has 20 mins or so in him.
Another idea with Kelly would be to have him man-mark glass and cancel him out.

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 381 - 13/05/2024 08:03:44    2544398

Galway are the only Provincial winners who are not bookies favorites to win their opening game of the round robin. Derry are odds on to beat us in Salthill at the weekend, while we remain joint 4th favs (with Donegal) at 10/1 for SAM.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1231 - 13/05/2024 09:51:53    2544414

Replying To giveitlong:  "Galway are the only Provincial winners who are not bookies favorites to win their opening game of the round robin. Derry are odds on to beat us in Salthill at the weekend, while we remain joint 4th favs (with Donegal) at 10/1 for SAM."
Saw a prediction model for the group stages and has Galway to finish 3rd in group. I think we are good enough to top it and we probably have the toughest opening game in all groups but so do Derry.

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 381 - 13/05/2024 10:05:36    2544419

Replying To fairplay4ever:  "I've seen alot of underage games and they have at least 3 including Jeffrey Lynskeys son whom i gather is also a very good hurler(havent seen him hurl) and an excellent soccer goalie (have seen him).(Galway united have tried to sign him but Hurling is his first love). Doesn't mean they will be good players at 17/18 as size makes a big difference at 14/15. They won Div 3 fairly handy clocking up high scores considering how short the games are including 7-10 in semi final. Speaking of high scores ,wondering whats happening in Oranmore . Two weeks after they conceded 1-21 against Corofin 2'nds they conceded 9-16 against Leitir Mor."
Fair enough.
I didn't realise you had seen them play.

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 13/05/2024 11:45:02    2544452

Replying To ref:  "Naomh Anna scoring a lot of goals in All Games in Division 3A.
Why were Headord playing in low Division in Feile?"
No idea how that works but looking at the Feile Divisions it seems a funny set up.

Div 2 of Feile had an awful lot of Senior Clubs like Salthill, Tuam, Annaghdown, Mountbellew, Moycullen in it, along with B teams from some of our other clubs.
Surely some of those teams should be moved up from Div 2 to Div 1 and then replaced with strong teams from Div 3 ?

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 13/05/2024 11:50:50    2544457

Weather no doubt could play its part, barely mentioned that the wind was worth a couple of points too Mayo in that 2nd half the last day.

Huge game for Derry, more of a must win for them after what happened the last day! They'll persist with the wandering keeper, we've definitely got the players to take advantage of that though.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 268 - 13/05/2024 13:41:28    2544504

Replying To jobseekersbent:  "Looking ahead to the Derry game at the weekend, here is the team I would pick.

Gleeson - Still very nervous going short and hits dangerous dribblers but hopefully his confidence will be up now. Good option for long range frees so that will secure his place long term.
McGrath
Kelly - It is his best position, he is best running from deep. Either play him full back or drop Daly and put Kelly CB. Harsh on Fitzgerald but Kelly offers more.
Glynn
O'Flaherty - Offers more pace than Silke and is direct. Silke might be better suited when the game opens up.
McHugh
Conroy
Maher
Darcy - Solid vs Mayo but if Tierney was more ready, I'd start Tierney. Tierney could be a good impact option again.
Heaney
Finnerty
Comer

Bench will be important and I think starting Walsh on the bench again is a good idea. Tierney should make an impact and McDaid should be fitter and hopefully has 20 mins or so in him.
Another idea with Kelly would be to have him man-mark glass and cancel him out."
I agree with you up to a point.

1. Kelly ... spot on
2. O'Flaherty yes but not sure of your logic. I think its the other way around , if you're going to use Silke and O'Flaherty in the same position , I would say start Silke and use O'Flaherty's running when the game opens up. Also I would suggest that maybe Silke's slip in form from 2022 is because he is being played in a different position to his All Star year.
3. Matt Tierney is a starter if he is fit , but you alluded to that.
4. Walsh is a starter all day. A generational talent that we need to maximise prescence. The bench option might have been suitable the last day as he is coming back from injury and there may not have been 70mins in him.... but he is 2 weeks further down the road now , and we need a good start v Derry. Also against Derry I dont think it makes sense to be planning to lose 1 or 2 of your sub options after 20 minutes.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 851 - 13/05/2024 13:53:44    2544510

Think galway definitely need start with string team definitely woukd expect, tierney , Maher to start personally I'd start Walsh also ,the team I would like see at some stage this year playing together
Gleason
McGrath. Fitzgerald. Glynn

Mchugh. Kelly. Mcdaid

Maher / Darcy

Heaney. Walsh Tierney

Finnerty. Comer. Cunningham

I genuinely think that forward line could do serious damage there definitely 5' natural forwards there heaney mighr not be as natural but in fairness he has proved to be quiet good also usually gets 1-2 scores I know that team will never play together but I think it's a balanced team with strong fast half back line which is vital in modern football

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 871 - 13/05/2024 16:34:49    2544546

Replying To Black+Blue:  "No idea how that works but looking at the Feile Divisions it seems a funny set up.

Div 2 of Feile had an awful lot of Senior Clubs like Salthill, Tuam, Annaghdown, Mountbellew, Moycullen in it, along with B teams from some of our other clubs.
Surely some of those teams should be moved up from Div 2 to Div 1 and then replaced with strong teams from Div 3 ?"
A lot of senior teams in division 2? Corofin,Salthill, Claregalway,Caherlistrane,Monivea,St James all in Division 1 Féile.

Castlebar2019 (Mayo) - Posts: 25 - 13/05/2024 17:38:25    2544565

Replying To Kickitout:  "Think galway definitely need start with string team definitely woukd expect, tierney , Maher to start personally I'd start Walsh also ,the team I would like see at some stage this year playing together
Gleason

Mchugh. Kelly. Mcdaid

Maher / Darcy

Heaney. Walsh Tierney

I genuinely think that forward line could do serious damage there definitely 5' natural forwards there heaney mighr not be as natural but in fairness he has proved to be quiet good also usually gets 1-2 scores I know that team will never play together but I think it's a balanced team with strong fast half back line which is vital in modern football"
Excellent team, would love to see it start.

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 126 - 13/05/2024 18:38:53    2544578

Replying To Castlebar2019:  "A lot of senior teams in division 2? Corofin,Salthill, Claregalway,Caherlistrane,Monivea,St James all in Division 1 Féile."
It goes by the division the team that is playing feile is in the year before as far as I know but could be wrong.Its to make sure that if a club with a senior team just happens to have weaker team at that age group they are playing at their own level or a team that has worked its way up to Div 1 isn't automatically in a lower division because they don't have a senior team.Not sure though.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 231 - 13/05/2024 21:18:21    2544601

Replying To Castlebar2019:  "A lot of senior teams in division 2? Corofin,Salthill, Claregalway,Caherlistrane,Monivea,St James all in Division 1 Féile."
Not sure why you felt the need for the question mark ? I didn't exactly make it up !

There was indeed an awful lot Senior Clubs in Division 2 .
Tuam, Annaghdown, Salthill, Mountbellew- Moylough, Moycullen plus Dunmore, An Spideal, Barna, Killannin.. some of those Clubs had more than 1 team entered.
I don't notice Leitir Mor or Milltown in Div 2 so I guess they were down even lower.

I'm not sure of the system of selection but it seems odd to me that all those Senior Clubs would be in the same Division 2 as Claregalway B team and other B teams rather than up in Division 1.

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 13/05/2024 21:24:31    2544602

Replying To Kickitout:  "Think galway definitely need start with string team definitely woukd expect, tierney , Maher to start personally I'd start Walsh also ,the team I would like see at some stage this year playing together
Gleason

Mchugh. Kelly. Mcdaid

Maher / Darcy

Heaney. Walsh Tierney

I genuinely think that forward line could do serious damage there definitely 5' natural forwards there heaney mighr not be as natural but in fairness he has proved to be quiet good also usually gets 1-2 scores I know that team will never play together but I think it's a balanced team with strong fast half back line which is vital in modern football"
Good team alright, Cunningham won't start though didn't get much of a run since Dublin game and hasn't played any championship. you could start Conroy inside and bring him out to try and compete with Derry midfield as is strong.

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 386 - 14/05/2024 08:40:55    2544621

Replying To Black+Blue:  "Not sure why you felt the need for the question mark ? I didn't exactly make it up !

There was indeed an awful lot Senior Clubs in Division 2 .
Tuam, Annaghdown, Salthill, Mountbellew- Moylough, Moycullen plus Dunmore, An Spideal, Barna, Killannin.. some of those Clubs had more than 1 team entered.
I don't notice Leitir Mor or Milltown in Div 2 so I guess they were down even lower.

I'm not sure of the system of selection but it seems odd to me that all those Senior Clubs would be in the same Division 2 as Claregalway B team and other B teams rather than up in Division 1."
Salthill were in Division 1 in the Féile. They were jn the same group as MB, Oranmore and James's.
There were only 8 teams in Division 1. 4 North and 4 West board, so there were always going to be a lot of senior clubs not represented there.
Fair play to MB and Monivea who contested the final. One an intermediate club and the other only gone up to senior last year. It's great to see some different names making the latter stages.
There were 18 teams in Division 2.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2080 - 14/05/2024 10:54:43    2544648

Replying To anotheralias:  "I agree with you up to a point.

1. Kelly ... spot on
2. O'Flaherty yes but not sure of your logic. I think its the other way around , if you're going to use Silke and O'Flaherty in the same position , I would say start Silke and use O'Flaherty's running when the game opens up. Also I would suggest that maybe Silke's slip in form from 2022 is because he is being played in a different position to his All Star year.
3. Matt Tierney is a starter if he is fit , but you alluded to that.
4. Walsh is a starter all day. A generational talent that we need to maximise prescence. The bench option might have been suitable the last day as he is coming back from injury and there may not have been 70mins in him.... but he is 2 weeks further down the road now , and we need a good start v Derry. Also against Derry I dont think it makes sense to be planning to lose 1 or 2 of your sub options after 20 minutes."
Ya I probably agree with your Flaherty logic thinking back on it. All of his good games have been as a sub. And Silke was good in the corner in 22. But can't see him dislodging the incumbents at the moment. Once McDaid is back, I think Silke will be benched.

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 381 - 14/05/2024 11:03:38    2544651

Replying To jobseekersbent:  "Looking ahead to the Derry game at the weekend, here is the team I would pick.

McGrath
Glynn
McHugh
Conroy
Maher
Heaney
Finnerty
Comer

Another idea with Kelly would be to have him man-mark glass and cancel him out."
Are you silly dropping Silke for O Flaherty. O Flaherty does not mark which is not great for a half back while Silke is a super man marker. Silke is miles ahead. O flaherty will get you 1 to 2 points but his man will get 3-4. O Currain is not there yet and has a tendency of playing for himself not a team. He will get there but not yet.
My team would be Gleeson, McGrath, Kelly, Glynn, McHugh Daly (though I think his position is in jeopardy) Silke, Conroy, Maher, Heaney, Tierney, Darcy, Walshe, Comer, Finnerty.

Subs, McDaid, Molloy and probably O Flaherty.

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 62 - 14/05/2024 11:37:31    2544672