Galway Hurling thread

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "They all count, if we're not counting early years stuff then Wexfords 4 in a row in football counts for naught by that metric or a lot of our Leinster and all Ireland success in hurling and football. Just because it happened a long time ago doesn't mean it shouldn't count…although I'd be happy to discount anything pre 70s if meant Tipp, Cork and to a lesser extent Kilkenny have most of their success forgotten!"
No I wasn't counting it because it was a club game between 2 clubs!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 30/04/2024 20:34:35    2542068

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "They all count, if we're not counting early years stuff then Wexfords 4 in a row in football counts for naught by that metric or a lot of our Leinster and all Ireland success in hurling and football. Just because it happened a long time ago doesn't mean it shouldn't count…although I'd be happy to discount anything pre 70s if meant Tipp, Cork and to a lesser extent Kilkenny have most of their success forgotten!"
If you discount pre 70s Tipp haven't more AIs than Limerick! And if you discount over around 20 years ago then by the end of this season Cork will have none! Same as us!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 30/04/2024 20:38:22    2542069

Replying To baire:  "You worry about your own county and its mindset, we're fairly handy at being critical of our own. We don't need any...what's the word...oh yes, flaky, any flaky ideas coming across the Shannon."
You're really not letting that go are you

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2749 - 30/04/2024 21:07:23    2542072

Replying To tommy k:  "Correct stool - how did you know? lol"
Cos you never seem to stop Monday morning quarterbacking and it's tedious to read at times. Plus you never want to give anyone any credit for things they do well, or performances that were good/excellent, it's always nit picking, some justified of course but much of it not, in my opinion.

Sometimes we lose games because the opposition are better, like last years AISF

We tend to not lose games we shouldn't be losing, and get results from games we should get results in, over the last few years, while impressing almost nobody in the process, even in last year's LF it's been overlooked that we overhauled a huge second half deficit only to lose to a very unfortunate late goal.

I assume if we had held on and won the Leinster Title last year the correct team would have been picked that day?

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 857 - 01/05/2024 13:25:16    2542247

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "Cos you never seem to stop Monday morning quarterbacking and it's tedious to read at times. Plus you never want to give anyone any credit for things they do well, or performances that were good/excellent, it's always nit picking, some justified of course but much of it not, in my opinion.

Sometimes we lose games because the opposition are better, like last years AISF

We tend to not lose games we shouldn't be losing, and get results from games we should get results in, over the last few years, while impressing almost nobody in the process, even in last year's LF it's been overlooked that we overhauled a huge second half deficit only to lose to a very unfortunate late goal.

I assume if we had held on and won the Leinster Title last year the correct team would have been picked that day?"
Correct stool - good man yourself! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3391 - 01/05/2024 15:48:56    2542285

Replying To Doylerwex:  "You're really not letting that go are you"
More to the point, are you? It wasn't once or twice you mentioned the Galway hurlers and added that word to them.
I hope it's a good game on Saturday, referred fairly and may the better team win.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 01/05/2024 15:49:41    2542287

Replying To baire:  "More to the point, are you? It wasn't once or twice you mentioned the Galway hurlers and added that word to them.
I hope it's a good game on Saturday, referred fairly and may the better team win."
refereed, rather

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 01/05/2024 15:57:15    2542291

Replying To baire:  "refereed, rather"
All games are referred fairly, though like everybody else, Referees can make mistakes. I gave up blaming Refs for our losses years ago. The reasons for loosing far more often rests with players or a Team's Management, but it is usually much easier to blame the Match Officials.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4350 - 01/05/2024 16:26:35    2542296

Replying To baire:  "refereed, rather"
I keep seeing comments about refereeing of both hurling and football but I wonder how many spectators, players even coaches have a proficient knowledge of the playing rules pertinent to either or both codes.I am not up to speed myself. I recently spoke to a man who at one time refereed at one of the higher tiers but quite a few years ago, he still attends a lot of games but admits he doesn't study the rules enough to be able to make a knowledgeable criticism.I 'm of the opinion he realises how complex the rulings are and how hard to implement they are, but it would be of great help if all involved had a basic knowledge of what was being adjudicated.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 71 - 01/05/2024 16:35:26    2542300

Replying To Oldtourman:  "All games are referred fairly, though like everybody else, Referees can make mistakes. I gave up blaming Refs for our losses years ago. The reasons for loosing far more often rests with players or a Team's Management, but it is usually much easier to blame the Match Officials."
That is nonsense, and we've been down this road before.

The last day in Salthill presents a classic example. Walsh pulled TJ in injury time for overcarryinging in the tackles after a terrific fetch. Niland pointed, getting Galway to within 1, affording them an opportunity to draw the game with a later point.

Now, replace Walsh with Owens in the same exact scenario. Tj is awarded a free after his fetch. TJ points free. KK hold out to win game.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3498 - 01/05/2024 17:04:01    2542303

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "That is nonsense, and we've been down this road before.

The last day in Salthill presents a classic example. Walsh pulled TJ in injury time for overcarryinging in the tackles after a terrific fetch. Niland pointed, getting Galway to within 1, affording them an opportunity to draw the game with a later point.

Now, replace Walsh with Owens in the same exact scenario. Tj is awarded a free after his fetch. TJ points free. KK hold out to win game."
OTM, you're around a long time, but do you not know by now that those popes are infallible? Whatever the pope says is gospel truth, even though both his facts of the game of hurling, and his awareness of the art of the game of hurling are indeed limited...fallible even!

So, it is not nonsense!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1944 - 01/05/2024 17:17:44    2542305

I always like the Wexford style of hurling and I would be expecting some sort of backlash from Wexford on Saturday......you would only imagine a proud team like them should be hurting after the Antrim defeat?
I know Galway aren't humming yet and definitely have a few issues to sort, but I see this as an opportunity to absolutely cut loose and go for it.....Rock and roll kamikaze hurling! high ball, low ball, fast ball, wide ball no tactics whatsoever just let the lads off the leash and let them play their own hurling.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2248 - 01/05/2024 17:43:55    2542308

Following Sunday's disappointing display, optimism for Galway's prospects, both short and long term, is hard to come by. The notion of this being mere 'shadow boxing' before the Leinster final is wishful thinking; Galway face significant challenges ahead. Even if they scrape past Wexford, it will likely be a narrow victory with many uncertainties.
Against Kilkenny, Galway's backline appeared lost, while their midfield and half forwards struggled defensively. The team also seemed to lack fitness and hunger which is is troubling . Several players appear past their prime or below the required standard for inter-county hurling. Despite club success, one player consistently falls short at the county level.
The inclusion of Johnny Glynn, who returned after five years away from hurling, raises questions about management's judgment, reminiscent of managing a junior B team. The lack of focus on nurturing young talent is troubling, with reliance on underperforming familiar faces.
Shefflin's reluctance to integrate younger players hampers progress. Last year's team, despite promise, fell short in crucial moments. Immediate changes are needed, but with the season too far gone, a significant overhaul may be challenging to have any impact on what is surely going to be another lost season.

Galway4ever (Galway) - Posts: 211 - 01/05/2024 18:34:43    2542320

Replying To Oldtourman:  "All games are referred fairly, though like everybody else, Referees can make mistakes. I gave up blaming Refs for our losses years ago. The reasons for loosing far more often rests with players or a Team's Management, but it is usually much easier to blame the Match Officials."
Not sure about that. Good teams find ways to win anyway but referees have enormous influence on close games.

We lost because we deserved to lose, but in the last minute Wexford had a line ball. Conor Mac got a dig and hit his man a shoulder in return. The ref gave a throw ball, Antrim broke and scored a goal. You can make a strong argument that decision cost us our season and allowed Antrim to make history.

We put ourselves in that situation but that decision had a profound impact.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2749 - 01/05/2024 19:49:40    2542332

Replying To baire:  "More to the point, are you? It wasn't once or twice you mentioned the Galway hurlers and added that word to them.
I hope it's a good game on Saturday, referred fairly and may the better team win."
Perhaps it was a poor choice of words but the point remains unchanged.

Like I said before we're the same but with marginally less talent.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2749 - 01/05/2024 19:51:14    2542333

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "That is nonsense, and we've been down this road before.

Now, replace Walsh with Owens in the same exact scenario. Tj is awarded a free after his fetch. TJ points free. KK hold out to win game."
So you are ready to Canonise Thomas Walsh now. Ye were not that happy with him the day he blew up one of the Cooneys for taking too long over a free, below in Wexford Park.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4350 - 01/05/2024 20:03:29    2542338

Replying To Galway4ever:  "Following Sunday's disappointing display, optimism for Galway's prospects, both short and long term, is hard to come by. The notion of this being mere 'shadow boxing' before the Leinster final is wishful thinking; Galway face significant challenges ahead. Even if they scrape past Wexford, it will likely be a narrow victory with many uncertainties.
Against Kilkenny, Galway's backline appeared lost, while their midfield and half forwards struggled defensively. The team also seemed to lack fitness and hunger which is is troubling . Several players appear past their prime or below the required standard for inter-county hurling. Despite club success, one player consistently falls short at the county level.
The inclusion of Johnny Glynn, who returned after five years away from hurling, raises questions about management's judgment, reminiscent of managing a junior B team. The lack of focus on nurturing young talent is troubling, with reliance on underperforming familiar faces.
Shefflin's reluctance to integrate younger players hampers progress. Last year's team, despite promise, fell short in crucial moments. Immediate changes are needed, but with the season too far gone, a significant overhaul may be challenging to have any impact on what is surely going to be another lost season."
Have 2 agree Shefflin will have to go too loyal to some of the greatest hurlers galway have had in a while time for a complete overhaul befor you lose some of the young lads comming through.And before you think im slating Galway hurling i thinl we have similar problems too loyal to some great servants also.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 241 - 01/05/2024 20:38:05    2542342

Replying To tommy k:  "No I was at the games if you must know but I also heard what Farrell said - perhaps you can't understand that! So you are not defending Linnane - at least you admit that! I am saying the likes of Tuohy gives more options as he is quicker, can break tackles and take a score. I don't see Linnane doing that too often. Also you didn't comment on the other 2 players I mentioned - David Burke and Glennon. If you are an "expert" attending all these games and you don't listen to Cyril why not give us your own "expert opinion" on those players?"
Copy and paste of the players you've mentioned since Sunday

GMac Shane Cooney and Tiernan Killeen
TJ Brennan, Ian McGlynn and Liam Collins
Connaire, O'Hanlon and McManus Tuohy, Killeen and Ryan

If that isn't throwing muck against the wall I don't know what is. Overall the issue you raise is valid. Kilkenny players numbered 8-12 scored 16 points from play. No way to dress that up positively.

Glennon and Linnane (and Tuhoy for that matter) I'm not their biggest fan. I class Glennon as a two touch hurler. He needs time, space and usually two touches to get himself set. Modern game in a congested middle third that not the best solution.

Tuhoy is strong and plays close to the edge. Plenty to offer. Further back in defence I see him (like corner back) the better as he's less inclined to shoot from everywhere or run out of road on his long solo runs.

David Burke is David Burke. He simply needs to be managed a little better. He'll offer plenty if given the opportunity.

Of the players you mentioned for me only Killeen matches your need for "paceand strength" the are either lacking pace or lacking strength so I'm unsure as to how they are better than what is already there. Workrate would be an issue with a couple of them.

Remember Linnane coming on against Kilkenny in the Leinster Final last yeat when we were down and he put himself about all over the pitch. Strength and industry. Got plenty of praise then and the couple of games that followed. Those games didn't make him a superstar and the last day doesn't make him a Junior B hurler either. It's as likely he'll be one of our better players the next day out than any of the lads you mentioned.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 603 - 01/05/2024 21:28:12    2542349

That's easy for you to say, at least since 2018!

Flaherty (UK) - Posts: 126 - 01/05/2024 23:46:57    2542369

Replying To katser:  "I always like the Wexford style of hurling and I would be expecting some sort of backlash from Wexford on Saturday......you would only imagine a proud team like them should be hurting after the Antrim defeat?
I know Galway aren't humming yet and definitely have a few issues to sort, but I see this as an opportunity to absolutely cut loose and go for it.....Rock and roll kamikaze hurling! high ball, low ball, fast ball, wide ball no tactics whatsoever just let the lads off the leash and let them play their own hurling."
Katser in! Henry out!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1944 - 02/05/2024 01:29:32    2542375