Connacht Championship 2019

gave Mayo some soft frees alright, especially the last one. Must say Cox was brilliant last night. Mayo will not go far this year again, they are not a traditional super 8 county. Horan should go back to Sky, I miss his anti-Galway rhetoric.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 26/05/2019 11:11:23    2187541

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Will you go away you snow flake, it was just a witty remark. I'm sure there was no harm meant by it."
Kingdom Boy, dont believe all the red thumbs! I was giving you a green thumb but it registered as a red one and the system wouldn't allow me change it!!!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 26/05/2019 11:12:08    2187542

Mayo defence were not good, especially Higgins he was extremely poor for the first goal, he needs to be out the field and not marking one on one.
Not all the defence fault as there was so much space left infront of them as Roscommon pulled Mayo half back line all over the pitch. Plunkett to in expierenced to see it and Aidan O Shea plays his own game, he should have been filling the space.
Diarmuid O Connor and Mcloughlin should have been taken off, were not in the game and offered no scoring threat.
O Connor didnt look fit, think he just back from injury but it showed. Made awful decision at the end calling over Mcloughlin, who shook his head firstly saying he didnt want it but O Connor kept calling him and Mcloughlin eventually strolled over. Loftus wanted to take it so you should give it to the lad that wants it not the lad other side of the pitch trying to avoid it.
Fairplay Roscommon, there forwards were on form yesterday, Cox hit good scores in the second half and was always an option. Be hard to know who ye drop for the 2 smiths and Murtaghs

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 26/05/2019 11:13:22    2187543

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "No it's not, it's sick. Making a snide joke about the murder of someone; change JFK to Veronica Guerin, still find it "brilliant"?"
Go away

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 26/05/2019 11:46:43    2187551

Some great foot passing by Rossies last night and they were very economical in front of goal. However based on Mayo's wides tally it's hard to rate how good Rossies actually are.

In any case it's hard to see Galway underestimating them based on battles of previous 3 years. Could be a cracker of a game. Hopefully no wind in Salthill.

PS Paul Conroy made his return to club football last night with 1-5 from play. Kieran Molloy also got game time for Corofin. Good to see injuries clearing up ....... now just waiting on Cooke, Duggan, Kyne, Kelly and Damo!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 26/05/2019 11:53:08    2187557

Replying To The_analyser:  "The provincial championship is dead they say? those scenes tonight tells its own tale i reckon.

A very sweet victory especially for the way we were totally written off. Pure belief and character we showed to pull off that victory tonight to finally end the Machale park hoodoo v Mayo.

All the best to Mayo in qualifiers met many a gracious supporter after the match and they are the team that all will be looking to avoid in the back door i can imagine as for us we still have some unfinished business with the tribesmen."
We have some unfinished business given McHale spouting on newstalk saying the Rossies should have won the last 3 Connacht finals. Unreal the bias out there. Having said all that I am not a bit surprised with the result last night. Rossies have had good forwards for a few yrs now but have upped it in physicality (they had to after last year) plus injuries to a few of our key guys makes this final anyone's. I think if KW plays Martin Farragher from the start (with Damo Comer out) and goes more offensive it could be a classic.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 26/05/2019 11:55:26    2187559

Replying To mayo_123:  "Galway for Sam joke of the day"
Very churlish. In fairness who is saying that. If that is all you can muster in reaction it is as poor commentary as you will see.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 26/05/2019 12:04:45    2187563

Roscommon in there 4th final in a row , that's no fluke,
The Galway match on this evidence will be extremely hard to call .

Positives for mayo if there are any...
Darren coen looks an extremely gifted forward player and they need c o connor back asap especially for free-kicking responsibility.
Maybe horan underestimated Roscommon by not having him at least on the bench given he was so close to full match fitness.
Keeper also cannot be trusted.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 26/05/2019 12:30:26    2187578

Kicking myself i didnt put a fancied score on Roscommon yesterday, i balme tail backs on the M& trying to get down to Portloaise. Not overly surprised by the result to be honest, after our league game down in Hyde i thought Roscommon would be a different proposition this year. They always had quality but hey have addeded a tough a teak physicality to their game, im not sure Mayo will be their only scalp this year. Young Cox is a class act. Kerry loss is Roscommons gain without question but with surprise.

I wouldnt be to disspondent if i was Mayo, pound for pound they mix with the best, have some decent quality and with a fair wind the qualifieres may suit them, if they come out of it, they are a real wild card in the S8's all to play for.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/05/2019 12:35:35    2187582

I predicted a Galway-Roscommon Final months ago so I expected that result yesterday. Mayo will regroup and will play in the super eights no doubt. I remember in 2001 when Roscommon knocked us out of Connacht it was similar and Galway met them in the quarter-finals and it was a different story. Mayo are ranked #1 after all so they will not go away easily. It was nice to see the joy in Roscommon supporters on TV yesterday. Good for GAA.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 26/05/2019 13:07:06    2187591

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "I predicted a Galway-Roscommon Final months ago so I expected that result yesterday. Mayo will regroup and will play in the super eights no doubt. I remember in 2001 when Roscommon knocked us out of Connacht it was similar and Galway met them in the quarter-finals and it was a different story. Mayo are ranked #1 after all so they will not go away easily. It was nice to see the joy in Roscommon supporters on TV yesterday. Good for GAA."
I dont get this.. Mayo will make the super 8s no doubt.. There is a massive doubt.. People had no doubt they'd win Connacht. They are very average..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 26/05/2019 14:17:19    2187611

Replying To Belclare:  "I dont get this.. Mayo will make the super 8s no doubt.. There is a massive doubt.. People had no doubt they'd win Connacht. They are very average.."
I'm guessing that the overall view is that games in croke park tend to suit the Mayo team better
rather than the boxed in pitches in connaught which allows opposition to implement ambush styled winning performances .

It's very hard to judge a Mayo team in connacht in May/june, to the team that's likely to run out at croke park further down the line.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 26/05/2019 14:55:22    2187628

Replying To BeJasus:  "I'm guessing that the overall view is that games in croke park tend to suit the Mayo team better
rather than the boxed in pitches in connaught which allows opposition to implement ambush styled winning performances .

It's very hard to judge a Mayo team in connacht in May/june, to the team that's likely to run out at croke park further down the line."
Goals must be 10 yards wider not the pitch.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 26/05/2019 15:05:43    2187637

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Kingdom Boy, dont believe all the red thumbs! I was giving you a green thumb but it registered as a red one and the system wouldn't allow me change it!!!"
You're grand out bud, the ould thumb thing is gas and I don't take any notice either way ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/05/2019 15:12:07    2187638

Replying To BeJasus:  "I'm guessing that the overall view is that games in croke park tend to suit the Mayo team better

It's very hard to judge a Mayo team in connacht in May/june, to the team that's likely to run out at croke park further down the line."
But all the qualifiers will be in county grounds and not in Croke Park. Mayo looked tired yesterday and will need to regroup which I'm sure they will. As for my beloved Rosommon, absolutely brilliant yesterday and the scenes on the pitch will live long in the memory.

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 26/05/2019 15:28:06    2187643

Well done Roscommon savage win I did not see that one coming at all, listen small pitches don't suit Mayo but that's still no excuse to be losing at home to Roscommon. Posters saying Mayo will make the super 8's must have short memories

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/05/2019 15:31:48    2187645

Mayo were flat yesterday and not tuned in, couldnt catch simple passes Doherty dropped an easy one infront of goals, we won alot of breaks but o shea and rusne were not catching anything, ruane spilt a few easy ones.
Quailifiers are a lottery, no one wants to go qualifiers route but hopefully could suit Mayo and give younger lads games and confidence. Few more players to come in to the team.
Wouldnt say Mayo are average yet, just won the league so shows there better than average

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 26/05/2019 15:42:46    2187648

http://www.mayonews.ie/sports/33723-maughan-mayo-will-be-too-strong

Beautiful

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/05/2019 16:10:46    2187661

Pitch dimensions had no bearing on last night's result. Roscommon were locked and loaded and hit us with a ferocity most didn't expect. Some 'pundits' predicted our fitness would get us through comfortably and massively underestimated the Rossies physical threat. We were ambling when they scored their first goal. They chased down everything and relished hitting us when they could if the opportunity was there. When Roscommon subs were taken off they were gassed ran to a standstill, and more eager subs in to do more of the same. To say Donie Smith was chomping at the bit would be a huge understatement. They executed a great squad gameplan, we had a bit of a plan, 15 players and some subs.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 26/05/2019 16:56:39    2187678

Replying To Belclare:  "I dont get this.. Mayo will make the super 8s no doubt.. There is a massive doubt.. People had no doubt they'd win Connacht. They are very average.."
I think the rate of unforced errors is what bet Mayo and once they get a free taker they will progress to the playoffs. Handing the ball to McLoughlin was crazy as Rob Hennelly was given the jersey due to his kick outs and frees. Even Loftus would have scored it. I blame the captain for Mayo's loss. They will be back.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 26/05/2019 16:58:12    2187680