Connacht Championship 2019

Replying To brisbane:  "Apples and oranges you say ? Moycullen has a population of around 1,500 plays in the Mens Super League the other Galway team in the Mens Super League is Maree a small village outside Oranmore. Ballina has a population of 10,000 and do not compete in the National league"
Fair play to them. Kevin Walsh was a class basketball player himself.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 19/05/2019 20:02:23    2185602

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "13 point win for Galway but fair to say it was never a 13 point game. Galway only led by 2 points at half time then got two goals in a minute midway into the 2nd half and put gloss on the victory with 1-2 late on.

Galway have home advantage for the final but I'll be surprised if they retain the Connacht title."
Where you there?

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 19/05/2019 20:15:52    2185612

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Coming for me? the state of you for not liking me calling things as there were for that Galway v Sligo game. What will you be like if Galway as i expect lose the Connacht final? and Galway regardless of the result will play with 13 men behind the ball so don't be criticizing little old Sligo."
Yes coming from you. We're you at the game?
Answer the question.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 19/05/2019 20:47:48    2185636

gaa_lover - what county are you from? I'm guessing Roscommon since your always on their page and seem to have nothing ever good to say about Galway or mayo....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 19/05/2019 22:09:44    2185669

Last week on the Sunday game instead of talking about the Roscommon Leitrim game joe brolly went on about scrapping the Provincial games for a tier structure this week after the sligo Galway game the same thing happened no analysis of the game just talking down the Province. Connacht need someone on RTE coverage who will stand up for the Province

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 20/05/2019 00:24:42    2185717

Replying To brisbane:  "Last week on the Sunday game instead of talking about the Roscommon Leitrim game joe brolly went on about scrapping the Provincial games for a tier structure this week after the sligo Galway game the same thing happened no analysis of the game just talking down the Province. Connacht need someone on RTE coverage who will stand up for the Province"
Agreed. Embarrassing. I hope they give plenty of analysis next Sun on the Mayo/Ros game. Embarrassing and disingenuous. On this one it is solely with the presenter. He leads and provokes the conversation. Des needs to up his game.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 20/05/2019 09:40:43    2185762

Not overly confident of Mayo winning this weekend, Roscommon are a good team and Cunningham is a good manager and theres no pressure on them.
Mayo need to get off to a quick start but that doesnt always happen for them, all the pressure is on the mayo team for this game and they dont play well in castlebar in championship.
Mayo need to be solid with there free taking and without Cillian they dont have that.
Mayo played A vs B game yday but havent heard anything from that, dont know if there missing anyone for roscommon game.
if i was betting, id throw a few euro on Roscommon

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 602 - 20/05/2019 09:52:55    2185769

After reading through the messages on here this morning, I have one question to ask everybody. Would you talk to someone you met in at a game in this petty, pedantic, niggly and child like manner? Everybody is at each other.

If you wouldn't speak in this above manner to someone about GAA who you ended up sat beside at a game which I would pray 99.5 percent of people wouldn't, why do it on here because of the anonymity and protection of being sat behind a screen. It would really put me off using this forum and a i feel sorry for the culprits.

Miami305 (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 20/05/2019 10:53:15    2185810

Replying To kiloughter:  "Agreed. Embarrassing. I hope they give plenty of analysis next Sun on the Mayo/Ros game. Embarrassing and disingenuous. On this one it is solely with the presenter. He leads and provokes the conversation. Des needs to up his game."
Agreed, Cahill needs to up his game. Brought the token lady onto the 'hurling panel' last evening, and proceeded to direct a hugely disproportionate amount of the 'analysis/discussion' at the two male panelists. I thought he'd 'sent her to make the tay' at one stage.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 20/05/2019 11:31:16    2185840

Replying To Miami305:  "After reading through the messages on here this morning, I have one question to ask everybody. Would you talk to someone you met in at a game in this petty, pedantic, niggly and child like manner? Everybody is at each other.

If you wouldn't speak in this above manner to someone about GAA who you ended up sat beside at a game which I would pray 99.5 percent of people wouldn't, why do it on here because of the anonymity and protection of being sat behind a screen. It would really put me off using this forum and a i feel sorry for the culprits."
While I haven't involved myself in much of this I can say hand on heart I spend my entire day with the Mayo people I work with insulting them. And vice versa. It is what it is. It may seem petty but that is the rivalry we have. Is buying a coffee mug every year and writing how long it is since Mayo won an All Ireland on it and increasing it by one every year petty? Maybe it is I guess......................

By the way its 68 years in case anyone has forgotten.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 20/05/2019 11:46:04    2185854

Sunday Game having Sean Cavanagh moaning about structures and how tough Ulster teams have it.

Im sorry but there are 3 connacht teams in Division 1 Sean, so Roscommon this year to win conancht will have to beat Leitrim (newly div 3) and then beat Mayo in Mayo and then Galway in Galway in order to do it.

Meanwhile Kerry and Dublin might aswell be handed the provincial championship cups in May every year and neither team will so much as have a game where a team stays within 10 points of them. If you want to talk about championship structures and soft provincial championships start somewhere else than Connacht, stop being Ulster Centric in all your points and analyse the game viewers just bloody watched.

kazoochka (Galway) - Posts: 343 - 20/05/2019 12:36:42    2185882

What's gas about the whole thing is seeing the word " analysis " coming up during the game and then getting 2 mins of Cavanagh talking about the Ulster championship. Surely he could have found time after the Ulster games to discuss this. That said, McStay loves the sound of his own voice so its not easy to get a word in.
Also no sign of Brolly after Downs great performance with 14 men for most of it, the way he was talking about Tally, I thought they'd lose by 20 points.
Hope to see the Mayo Roscommon game which will be the biggest game of the football season so far, without a doubt , get the same air time as the Munster hurling championship has got. We'll need separate shows if this carry on continues..

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 20/05/2019 13:37:56    2185905

Replying To yew_tree:  "gaa_lover - what county are you from? I'm guessing Roscommon since your always on their page and seem to have nothing ever good to say about Galway or mayo...."
He's not from Roscommon anyway and its fairly obvious who is from our county. We have loads of Galway/Mayo and the odd Leitrim lad pretending to rossies which is very tiresome routine at this stage.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 20/05/2019 16:22:05    2185967

68 years you say? Remarkable, when you consider the quality of their players and strength of their support. Sixty-eight years... wow. Just wow. Under American cultural resource protection law, that's old enough to qualify as an pre-historic event.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 20/05/2019 17:37:01    2185998

Replying To kazoochka:  "Sunday Game having Sean Cavanagh moaning about structures and how tough Ulster teams have it.

Im sorry but there are 3 connacht teams in Division 1 Sean, so Roscommon this year to win conancht will have to beat Leitrim (newly div 3) and then beat Mayo in Mayo and then Galway in Galway in order to do it.

Meanwhile Kerry and Dublin might aswell be handed the provincial championship cups in May every year and neither team will so much as have a game where a team stays within 10 points of them. If you want to talk about championship structures and soft provincial championships start somewhere else than Connacht, stop being Ulster Centric in all your points and analyse the game viewers just bloody watched."
Which is grand IF Roscommon win it. Galway had to play 2 team that will be plying their trade in Div 4 next year. Mayo would beat NY and Roscommon to get to a final. Connacht has three good teams and the rest are poor and have been mostly in my life save Sligo about 10 years ago. Sligo and Leitrim have 5 titles between them. Roscommon have nearly 5 times that. Galway and Mayo have twice what the rossies have. In Ulster its clearly more competitive and 'upsets' happen each year. Tyrone lost to Monaghan last year and then Monaghan lost to Fermanagh. This year Cavan have beaten Monaghan. In a harder slog as the gap between the best team in Ulster and the next 4-5 teams is not so large that this doesn't happen. The teams may not go on to win but it makes it tougher on the top sides in Ulster. I agree Connacht is more entertaining than Munster or Leinster (obvious point) but lets not make out it's as tough to get through as Ulster.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 20/05/2019 18:16:28    2186024

Yew i have no county i'm a total neutral that has been involved with New York GAA hence my main interest with Connacht football and all counties in that province.

Seeing that Barnowl94 is upset with me calling that Galway game yesterday as it was i wonder will he feel the same with these views coming from journalist Sean McGoldrick?

A goal burst helped Galway ease past Sligo but indifferent form continues to be a worry for Kevin Walsh
the margin was 13 but it flattered the Tribesmen, who were two points ahead at the break and scored 1-1 in injury time through Corofin substitute Martin Farragher
this was their second successive indifferent championship performance - they struggled to beat London in the quarter-final.
But for a two-goal salvo in three minutes early in the second half, they never exhibited the gulf in class which exists between a team that contested last year's All-Ireland semi-final and one which that hasn't won a competitive game since beating London last summer.

Before and after games i will always give a fair and honest assessment and don't be getting so dam sensitive when i say something "bad" about your county. Now have a good day folks!

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 20/05/2019 18:21:36    2186026

Replying To kazoochka:  "Sunday Game having Sean Cavanagh moaning about structures and how tough Ulster teams have it.

Meanwhile Kerry and Dublin might aswell be handed the provincial championship cups in May every year and neither team will so much as have a game where a team stays within 10 points of them. If you want to talk about championship structures and soft provincial championships start somewhere else than Connacht, stop being Ulster Centric in all your points and analyse the game viewers just bloody watched."
Which is grand IF Roscommon win it.

Galway had to play 2 team that will be plying their trade in Div 4 next year. Mayo would beat NY and Roscommon to get to a final. Connacht has three good teams and the rest are poor and have been mostly in my life save Sligo about 10 years ago. Sligo and Leitrim have 5 titles between them. Roscommon have nearly 5 times that. Galway and Mayo have twice what the rossies have. In Ulster its clearly more competitive and 'upsets' happen each year. Tyrone lost to Monaghan last year and then Monaghan lost to Fermanagh. This year Cavan have beaten Monaghan. In a harder slog as the gap between the best team in Ulster and the next 4-5 teams is not so large that this doesn't happen. The teams may not go on to win but it makes it tougher on the top sides in Ulster.

I agree Connacht is more entertaining than Munster or Leinster (obvious point) but lets not make out it's as tough to get through as Ulster.

Gator (Monaghan) - Posts: 238 - 20/05/2019 19:31:11    2186058

Yes Ulster has the best Championship, no reason to scrap it. Sean Cavanaugh forgot to mention that Galway had cliff hangers against Mayo and Ros in the last 3 semis and finals before this particular Sligo game. Mc Stay smirked on in approval of the "confirmation bias if you like" approach of the RTE view. Sligo beat Galway 3 out of 6 of their last championship meetings I think. Hurling style provincial c'ship might be the answer. Ulster and Leinster could have 2 groups as was mentioned on another thread.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 20/05/2019 20:55:31    2186085

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Yew i have no county i'm a total neutral that has been involved with New York GAA hence my main interest with Connacht football and all counties in that province.

Seeing that Barnowl94 is upset with me calling that Galway game yesterday as it was i wonder will he feel the same with these views coming from journalist Sean McGoldrick?

A goal burst helped Galway ease past Sligo but indifferent form continues to be a worry for Kevin Walsh
the margin was 13 but it flattered the Tribesmen, who were two points ahead at the break and scored 1-1 in injury time through Corofin substitute Martin Farragher
this was their second successive indifferent championship performance - they struggled to beat London in the quarter-final.
But for a two-goal salvo in three minutes early in the second half, they never exhibited the gulf in class which exists between a team that contested last year's All-Ireland semi-final and one which that hasn't won a competitive game since beating London last summer.

Before and after games i will always give a fair and honest assessment and don't be getting so dam sensitive when i say something "bad" about your county. Now have a good day folks!"
Answer one question.
Were you at the game?
I'm not one bit upset btw.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 20/05/2019 21:52:16    2186106

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Yew i have no county i'm a total neutral that has been involved with New York GAA hence my main interest with Connacht football and all counties in that province.

Before and after games i will always give a fair and honest assessment and don't be getting so dam sensitive when i say something "bad" about your county. Now have a good day folks!"
So you weren't at the game......

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 20/05/2019 21:57:16    2186108