Monaghan Vs Dublin

Replying To TheUsername:  "Just in, hung around n Clones for a bit after the game to let the traffic ease.

Grand stretch in the legs for this time of the year.

We looked about 40-50% of our usual fitness and energy. An enjoyable first half. Thought John Smalls black card was a bit of a turning point, Dublin well on top before that, gave Monaghan the innititive and came out of their shell got a could of scores and the crowd got going, that was followed by blood sub Robbie McDaid getting black carded only to be replaced by MDM, who then had to inherit McDaid black, mad stuff really. Essentially Dublin played the best part of 20 mins with 14 men.

Dublin took early blood in the second half, but young Mulally got cleaned out for a good 15 mins in the second half via 2 goals and 2 points that swung the game. That said I remember Rory O Carroll getting cleaned out similarly when he was starting out so I wouldn't be to critical really. That swung it really and it was a robust cynical kind of a game that referees struggled for consistency.

Monaghan deserved it really, they looked a fair bit on in preparation, while it was a bit of a rag tag Dublin team, with a few expierence lads, a couple of fringe lads and couple of newbies. Monaghan will be happy with the well deserved couple of points.

Positives from a Dublin point of view, Con looked game and bulked up in a big way, Fenton class as always. Thought Comerford was very good in the main, distribution was excellent, though I think if Cluxton played we wouldn't have conceded twice, Brian Howard beast as always and Jonny cleaned a couple of good players out. Hopefully the game will bring some of fringe lads and newbies on.

If I'm being honest, I was delighted to see McCarthy, McCaffery, Kilkenny, Cluxton, O Sullivan, Bernard, Philly, or Connolly anywhere near a hard pitch in January.

Not to bothered by the result, glad some of the panel members and new players are getting the expierence and a loss is great expierence for these players. Nothing yielded, with everyone trying to set up to beat the Dubs, if they don't play against the first team it's trikier.

Monaghan full value for a fully deserved win and a big congratulations.

Next stop Croker, via McGraths."
Rory O Carroll getting cleaned out ? Never happened, maybe once off the Cork lad in the league semi in '14 that's the only time he was completely cleaned other than that never.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/01/2019 19:52:33    2160077

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Rory O Carroll getting cleaned out ? Never happened, maybe once off the Cork lad in the league semi in '14 that's the only time he was completely cleaned other than that never."
Leinster semi 2010, there went many admittedly.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/01/2019 20:06:18    2160085

Replying To TheUsername:  "Just in, hung around n Clones for a bit after the game to let the traffic ease.

Grand stretch in the legs for this time of the year.

We looked about 40-50% of our usual fitness and energy. An enjoyable first half. Thought John Smalls black card was a bit of a turning point, Dublin well on top before that, gave Monaghan the innititive and came out of their shell got a could of scores and the crowd got going, that was followed by blood sub Robbie McDaid getting black carded only to be replaced by MDM, who then had to inherit McDaid black, mad stuff really. Essentially Dublin played the best part of 20 mins with 14 men.

Dublin took early blood in the second half, but young Mulally got cleaned out for a good 15 mins in the second half via 2 goals and 2 points that swung the game. That said I remember Rory O Carroll getting cleaned out similarly when he was starting out so I wouldn't be to critical really. That swung it really and it was a robust cynical kind of a game that referees struggled for consistency.

Monaghan deserved it really, they looked a fair bit on in preparation, while it was a bit of a rag tag Dublin team, with a few expierence lads, a couple of fringe lads and couple of newbies. Monaghan will be happy with the well deserved couple of points.

Positives from a Dublin point of view, Con looked game and bulked up in a big way, Fenton class as always. Thought Comerford was very good in the main, distribution was excellent, though I think if Cluxton played we wouldn't have conceded twice, Brian Howard beast as always and Jonny cleaned a couple of good players out. Hopefully the game will bring some of fringe lads and newbies on.

If I'm being honest, I was delighted to see McCarthy, McCaffery, Kilkenny, Cluxton, O Sullivan, Bernard, Philly, or Connolly anywhere near a hard pitch in January.

Not to bothered by the result, glad some of the panel members and new players are getting the expierence and a loss is great expierence for these players. Nothing yielded, with everyone trying to set up to beat the Dubs, if they don't play against the first team it's trikier.

Monaghan full value for a fully deserved win and a big congratulations.

Next stop Croker, via McGraths."
Great game for time of year but I think what most people are overlooking is that Monaghan were nowhere near full strength today which is the good thing about it. It's not like the Dubs have been sitting on their laurels since winning All Ireland and they have their fair share of training done. One thing that really surprised me about them was how their heads seemed to drop a bit after the first goal and to be honest I knew it was Monaghans game from there. Dublin goalie definitely a weak link and lacks confidence. Another 2 wins will do us and then it's back to concentrating on Super 8's with hopefully another Ulster in our back pockets. Roscommon next week will be a measure of where Monaghan are at.

FarneyLenny (Monaghan) - Posts: 110 - 27/01/2019 21:02:29    2160113

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Breffni Park will never hold yez next week"
They're erecting a big screen in the square to deal with the over flow :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/01/2019 21:03:58    2160115

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Another thing is Ryan Wylie the best corner back in the game right now? Don't know many better he's outstanding every time I watch Monaghan."
Well observed. None of his direct opponents scored more than 0-1 against him last year. He is the most underrated player on the Monaghan team.

PearseBro (Monaghan) - Posts: 459 - 27/01/2019 21:24:48    2160128

just watched the tape, good game FairPlay Monaghan, handpass rule being scrapped worked wonders for the home side there. I agree with Gavin that the GAA got it wrong.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1672 - 27/01/2019 21:40:29    2160138

Good win and performance as expected from the lads a seasoned division 1 team and one of the top 3 teams in the country. I take offence to say that we stunned Dublin, All top 6 division 1 teams can expect to beat each other on a given day. As for all the Dubs complaining about the referee in the first half, I thought bothblack cards were cynical fouls when the whole pitch opened up for Mc carron and Garland and both were pull downs, only pity it wasnt mc manus on both occasions and I am quite sure he would of shrugged off both tackles and goaled.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 380 - 27/01/2019 21:40:52    2160140

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Good win and performance as expected from the lads a seasoned division 1 team and one of the top 3 teams in the country. I take offence to say that we stunned Dublin, All top 6 division 1 teams can expect to beat each other on a given day. As for all the Dubs complaining about the referee in the first half, I thought bothblack cards were cynical fouls when the whole pitch opened up for Mc carron and Garland and both were pull downs, only pity it wasnt mc manus on both occasions and I am quite sure he would of shrugged off both tackles and goaled."
Technically Mc Carron's disallowed goal should have stood and we had a few bad misses as well, though Dublin with Kilkenny and Philly are a different animal. Would use Mc Manus in a similar role for most of the league, give the rest of them more responsibility, Bannigan was OK too, given the opposition, Malone and Wylie were good as usual, Would also persist with Barry Kerr

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 27/01/2019 22:15:27    2160160

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Good win and performance as expected from the lads a seasoned division 1 team and one of the top 3 teams in the country. I take offence to say that we stunned Dublin, All top 6 division 1 teams can expect to beat each other on a given day. As for all the Dubs complaining about the referee in the first half, I thought bothblack cards were cynical fouls when the whole pitch opened up for Mc carron and Garland and both were pull downs, only pity it wasnt mc manus on both occasions and I am quite sure he would of shrugged off both tackles and goaled."
But they weren't pulled downs, tv pictures clearly show they weren't , The black cards are not an excuse as to why we lost the better team won the black cards had nothing to do with the outcome.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/01/2019 22:19:36    2160162

Replying To FarneyLenny:  "Great game for time of year but I think what most people are overlooking is that Monaghan were nowhere near full strength today which is the good thing about it. It's not like the Dubs have been sitting on their laurels since winning All Ireland and they have their fair share of training done. One thing that really surprised me about them was how their heads seemed to drop a bit after the first goal and to be honest I knew it was Monaghans game from there. Dublin goalie definitely a weak link and lacks confidence. Another 2 wins will do us and then it's back to concentrating on Super 8's with hopefully another Ulster in our back pockets. Roscommon next week will be a measure of where Monaghan are at."
I think the majority of the lads fielded today are two weeks back training. The majority of the panel haven't come back yet for different reasons, I beleive Ciaran Kilkenny is still state side and Super Brian 1, got off the plane this week.

But I'd say they have been keeping themselves ticking over informally over the winter.

Fair play, it's hard to know if there's any meaning to be drawn from the game, I remember in 16 we got a draw at the death in Clones in a great game in the league, then really put Monaghan to the sword in the quartering the championship. League and a Championship football are different animals, as the above illustrates.

Even is a very young keeper, 19/20. We are very excited by him as he is the heir apparent and has wonderful distribution, he's learning his trade at the moment and great to see him get that expierence today, it will stand him in good stead.

If the question you are asking, is do I think Monaghan have cracked the Dublin code, today? Not even close. But are what everyone knows a very good team one of probably six best in the country and all looking to kick on in different ways. Good value for their win given the context for both teams. Best compliment I can give is many Dublin fans aren't surprised by the result today.

If I was Monaghan now I'd be going all out to win the league this year and I'd love to see them do it personally.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/01/2019 22:23:16    2160167

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Technically Mc Carron's disallowed goal should have stood and we had a few bad misses as well, though Dublin with Kilkenny and Philly are a different animal. Would use Mc Manus in a similar role for most of the league, give the rest of them more responsibility, Bannigan was OK too, given the opposition, Malone and Wylie were good as usual, Would also persist with Barry Kerr"
Would agree with you too, I couldn't see a technical reason why it shouldn't have stood myself.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/01/2019 22:24:37    2160170

incidentally, is Dave coldrick okay? Unusual for a ref to get subbed? Injured or sick or what ? Speedy recovery nonetheless. May have made a few mistakes but it's only sport, only a pastime and like players you don't want anyone getting injured, hope he is back reffing next weekend

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/01/2019 22:28:58    2160172

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Technically Mc Carron's disallowed goal should have stood and we had a few bad misses as well, though Dublin with Kilkenny and Philly are a different animal. Would use Mc Manus in a similar role for most of the league, give the rest of them more responsibility, Bannigan was OK too, given the opposition, Malone and Wylie were good as usual, Would also persist with Barry Kerr"
Philly and Kilkenny big losses and Cluxton but our most important player and I don't care what anyone says is Jack Mccaffrey we our a completely different team when he plays , his speed and direct running is such a massive asset to us and creates so many overlaps and goal chances he's a great player.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/01/2019 22:35:09    2160176

Replying To PearseBro:  "Well observed. None of his direct opponents scored more than 0-1 against him last year. He is the most underrated player on the Monaghan team."
No trying to pick an argument but is K Duffy not the most underrated on the team, he's very rarely mentioned

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 27/01/2019 22:48:25    2160184

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "They're erecting a big screen in the square to deal with the over flow :-)"
That might make it difficult to score.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 27/01/2019 22:54:55    2160185

O'Hanlon's goal was top class, he looked like he could have landed very dangerously when he took the ball, he hit the ground and was gone, with very neat toe to hand work and a quick change of foot finish, deadly.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 28/01/2019 00:03:26    2160205

It's the 28th January and there are already calls on Twitter for Monaghan to be split in two.

2019 everybody...

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 358 - 28/01/2019 07:48:26    2160218

McDaid's harsh, but Small's was a deserved black card. I felt Dublin did get the benefit also of some soft frees during the game, but I would also agree that McCarron should have been red carded & then black carded at the end.

Well deserved win for Monaghan, felt the 3 point margin flattered Dublin but like all great teams do, they hung in there & were very economical with what chances came their way.

Dublin are still awesome, Fenton looked imperious & a lot of quality still to come into that team. Kilkenny, McCarthy, Cluxton & McCaffrey especially.

They may not win the league this year, but still strong favs for Sam.

PS funny moment of the match was seeing so called 'Hardman' Cooper getting a lesson from McManus.

Illusionist (Cork) - Posts: 79 - 28/01/2019 09:05:05    2160228

Replying To TheUsername:  "Leinster semi 2010, there went many admittedly."
Myth, he wasn't roasted that day.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/01/2019 09:26:43    2160240

Replying To realdub:  "O'Hanlon's goal was top class, he looked like he could have landed very dangerously when he took the ball, he hit the ground and was gone, with very neat toe to hand work and a quick change of foot finish, deadly."
He's played basketball internationally, so has a great leap and pair of hands, along with serious pace. A great addition to our forward line if he can live up to his potential.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 28/01/2019 09:49:23    2160257