Monaghan Vs Dublin

really enjoyed the game, monaghan fully deserved their win, no complaints. Dublin just not there yet, only back training a while, alot of lads to return, honestly not bothered about winning the league, itd be nice if we did but weve bigger ambitions, nice to get back at it though, looking forwaed to the galway game next week, lovely to be back on the road, up the dubs

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/01/2019 16:36:22    2159953

I'm seeing a massive Diarmuid Connolly shaped hole in that Dublin team

Pantani (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 27/01/2019 16:49:24    2159961

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "Ahem...whatever happened in Killarney has nothing to do with the Dublin full back line being completely taken apart..fitzsimons completely exposed.."
Monaghan managed to do something that Tyrone haven't managed in a decade, get on top of a Dublin full back line. Early days. Philly, Cian, Jack, James all to come back into those back lines.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 27/01/2019 17:06:26    2159972

Replying To Pantani:  "I'm seeing a massive Diarmuid Connolly shaped hole in that Dublin team"
Early days pantani. DC wasn't around for most of last year either. If he wanted inclusion this year I think he would need to be involved at this stage. Cannot see it myself.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 27/01/2019 17:15:40    2159974

A number of us called that result

I knew we'd have a very tough opener and Monaghan proved that today. Dubs did well for 20 minutes and won the first half but even at that Monaghan got on top and deservedly stayed on top for the remainder

Great crowd, as usual Kindomboy you have it arse about face.

Well done to Monaghan on what was a completely deserved victory

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 27/01/2019 17:21:03    2159980

Very enjoyable game by January standards, always a good occasion when the Dubs come into town. I'd been pretty confident of our chances earlier in the week, but when I seen that Dublin would be stronger than expected and that we'd be light enough ourselves, that confidence wilted a bit. Then we started very sloppy while Dublin ran up a bit of a score early, when we were 6 down halfway through the first half, I wasn't feeling too optimistic. But credit to the lads, they settled and got back into the game towards halftime and made a real contest of it. I know McCarron is getting some headlines for the wrong reasons but I thought he was a really big player for us today, he stepped up especially early on when he was accompanied by newer lads like Garland and Bannigan, and his kick passing in the second half made good use of the offensive mark.

Then we had the massive impact off the bench with McManus and O'Hanlon. It was great to see O'Hanlon make such an impression straight away, he's very highly rated within the county and he had a huge year with his club last year, so he's carrying on that form so far. He's really pacey and direct which could add a new dimension to our attack, especially in the summer. Early days for him yet of course but the signs are promising so far.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 27/01/2019 17:27:43    2159984

Best team won very early in the season but I stand by my thoughts from last year that if it was monaghan v dublin in an AI final it would be an epic battle one that Monaghan would have a chance of coming out on top. I don't think any other team could put it up to the dubs come championship

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 27/01/2019 17:31:50    2159987

I had Monaghan to win by 4pts before throw in we actually started brightly in the first 20mins...mccarron antics was frustrating but he is a league player never seems to carry it into summer. I am not a favour of the attacking mark doesn't warrant a free shot on goal. As Jim said only back 2 weeks that game will bring us on a ton.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 27/01/2019 18:16:47    2160006

Mark slows the game down though Monaghan used it to good effect today, so there's two ways of looking at it.
We'll be using 6'+ forwards soon. I feel an egg shape morph of the ball coming on.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 27/01/2019 18:46:49    2160025

Good game for January. We wanted it more and deserved it. Jack Mc Carron had a great game (MOTM) for us and was the most influential player on the pitch, should he have been red carded? would have been a bit harsh for me. O Hanlon had a great debut, his goal was excellent, could have taken the easy option and fisted it over the bar but backed himself, won his own ball too and is very direct.
Dublin weren't far enough along for today, but we're under no illusions where their priorities lie. I understand the argument Re. the mark giving a team a free point, sort of speak, but something had to be done, and if it does nothing else but keep more players up front then I'm for it. It suits us too especially if it influences MOR to play K Hughes up there with Mc Manus and O Hanlon.

The cards seem to be as confusing as ever, How Jack Mc Carron did not get a black card for breaking up the last Dublin attack is beyond me, guess who won the resulting free kick to end the game. Anyway it wasn't refereeing decisions that decided it for us today. Hopefully we can produce two more performances like that in the next two games and put relegation to bed

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 27/01/2019 18:56:56    2160033

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Good game for January. We wanted it more and deserved it. Jack Mc Carron had a great game (MOTM) for us and was the most influential player on the pitch, should he have been red carded? would have been a bit harsh for me. O Hanlon had a great debut, his goal was excellent, could have taken the easy option and fisted it over the bar but backed himself, won his own ball too and is very direct.
Dublin weren't far enough along for today, but we're under no illusions where their priorities lie. I understand the argument Re. the mark giving a team a free point, sort of speak, but something had to be done, and if it does nothing else but keep more players up front then I'm for it. It suits us too especially if it influences MOR to play K Hughes up there with Mc Manus and O Hanlon.

The cards seem to be as confusing as ever, How Jack Mc Carron did not get a black card for breaking up the last Dublin attack is beyond me, guess who won the resulting free kick to end the game. Anyway it wasn't refereeing decisions that decided it for us today. Hopefully we can produce two more performances like that in the next two games and put relegation to bed"
I had been thinking that the offensive mark seems like it's made for Kieran Hughes, he has an incredible pair of hands. Though with Kearns out until the summer, Kieran might be used at midfield if we look like we're lacking a bit there in some games.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 27/01/2019 19:07:15    2160042

Replying To greysoil:  "12,500. Plenty of Dublin supporters"
I read on the HoganStand page 8.500 but that did sound very low so 12,500 still doesn't sound like a lot considering it's the 5 in a row chasing dubs in town, there were 13, 980 in Killarney for our game.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/01/2019 19:14:50    2160050

Replying To patk:  "I had been thinking that the offensive mark seems like it's made for Kieran Hughes, he has an incredible pair of hands. Though with Kearns out until the summer, Kieran might be used at midfield if we look like we're lacking a bit there in some games."
Take your point but Hughes could be moved out to win primary possession as required and I would be hoping that Kearns will make a comeback

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 27/01/2019 19:22:30    2160056

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I read on the HoganStand page 8.500 but that did sound very low so 12,500 still doesn't sound like a lot considering it's the 5 in a row chasing dubs in town, there were 13, 980 in Killarney for our game."
Breffni Park will never hold yez next week

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 27/01/2019 19:25:24    2160058

Replying To Pantani:  "I'm seeing a massive Diarmuid Connolly shaped hole in that Dublin team"
He will be back before the end of the league don't worry about it!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 27/01/2019 19:34:08    2160062

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I read on the HoganStand page 8.500 but that did sound very low so 12,500 still doesn't sound like a lot considering it's the 5 in a row chasing dubs in town, there were 13, 980 in Killarney for our game."
Yep...Tyrone always travel in their numbers. Fair play to them.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/01/2019 19:36:29    2160064

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Good game for January. We wanted it more and deserved it. Jack Mc Carron had a great game (MOTM) for us and was the most influential player on the pitch, should he have been red carded? would have been a bit harsh for me. O Hanlon had a great debut, his goal was excellent, could have taken the easy option and fisted it over the bar but backed himself, won his own ball too and is very direct.

The cards seem to be as confusing as ever, How Jack Mc Carron did not get a black card for breaking up the last Dublin attack is beyond me, guess who won the resulting free kick to end the game. Anyway it wasn't refereeing decisions that decided it for us today. Hopefully we can produce two more performances like that in the next two games and put relegation to bed"
I agree with all this apart from the McCarron knee into Smalls head , there wasn't mad aggression in it but it's a knee in the head to a defenseless player on the ground , he could of easily pulled out but didn't and left his knee in there it's a straight red card all day long. I just want to know what he was booked for? If he's booked for the knee then it's an automatic red card. That booking made no sense to me.

I don't want to see Monaghan down to 14 but to then see two of our players off over nothing black cards yet McCauley is busted open and small gets a knee in the head is hard to take from the ref today.

Again that's taking nothing away from Monaghan the best team won by a distance , McManus McCarron McCarthy New guy who scored the goal today and the other Hughes brother will cause plenty of trouble to defences this summer no doubt.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/01/2019 19:39:02    2160066

Just in, hung around n Clones for a bit after the game to let the traffic ease.

Grand stretch in the legs for this time of the year.

We looked about 40-50% of our usual fitness and energy. An enjoyable first half. Thought John Smalls black card was a bit of a turning point, Dublin well on top before that, gave Monaghan the innititive and came out of their shell got a could of scores and the crowd got going, that was followed by blood sub Robbie McDaid getting black carded only to be replaced by MDM, who then had to inherit McDaid black, mad stuff really. Essentially Dublin played the best part of 20 mins with 14 men.

Dublin took early blood in the second half, but young Mulally got cleaned out for a good 15 mins in the second half via 2 goals and 2 points that swung the game. That said I remember Rory O Carroll getting cleaned out similarly when he was starting out so I wouldn't be to critical really. That swung it really and it was a robust cynical kind of a game that referees struggled for consistency.

Monaghan deserved it really, they looked a fair bit on in preparation, while it was a bit of a rag tag Dublin team, with a few expierence lads, a couple of fringe lads and couple of newbies. Monaghan will be happy with the well deserved couple of points.

Positives from a Dublin point of view, Con looked game and bulked up in a big way, Fenton class as always. Thought Comerford was very good in the main, distribution was excellent, though I think if Cluxton played we wouldn't have conceded twice, Brian Howard beast as always and Jonny cleaned a couple of good players out. Hopefully the game will bring some of fringe lads and newbies on.

If I'm being honest, I was delighted to see McCarthy, McCaffery, Kilkenny, Cluxton, O Sullivan, Bernard, Philly, or Connolly anywhere near a hard pitch in January.

Not to bothered by the result, glad some of the panel members and new players are getting the expierence and a loss is great expierence for these players. Nothing yielded, with everyone trying to set up to beat the Dubs, if they don't play against the first team it's trikier.

Monaghan full value for a fully deserved win and a big congratulations.

Next stop Croker, via McGraths.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/01/2019 19:39:46    2160068

Another thing is Ryan Wylie the best corner back in the game right now? Don't know many better he's outstanding every time I watch Monaghan.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/01/2019 19:40:15    2160069

Just in, hung around n Clones for a bit after the game to let the traffic ease.

Grand stretch in the legs for this time of the year.

We looked about 40-50% of our usual fitness and energy. An enjoyable first half. Thought John Smalls black card was a bit of a turning point, Dublin well on top before that, gave Monaghan the innititive and came out of their shell got a could of scores and the crowd got going, that was followed by blood sub Robbie McDaid getting black carded only to be replaced by MDM, who then had to inherit McDaid black, mad stuff really. Essentially Dublin played the best part of 20 mins with 14 men.

Dublin took early blood in the second half, but young Mulally got cleaned out for a good 15 mins in the second half via 2 goals and 2 points that swung the game. That said I remember Rory O Carroll getting cleaned out similarly when he was starting out so I wouldn't be to critical really. That swung it really and it was a robust cynical kind of a game that referees struggled for consistency.

Monaghan deserved it really, they looked a fair bit on in preparation, while it was a bit of a rag tag Dublin team, with a few expierence lads, a couple of fringe lads and couple of newbies. Monaghan will be happy with the well deserved couple of points.

Positives from a Dublin point of view, Con looked game and bulked up in a big way, Fenton class as always. Thought Comerford was very good in the main, distribution was excellent, though I think if Cluxton played we wouldn't have conceded twice, Brian Howard beast as always and Jonny cleaned a couple of good players out. Hopefully the game will bring some of fringe lads and newbies on.

If I'm being honest, I was delighted to see McCarthy, McCaffery, Kilkenny, Cluxton, O Sullivan, Bernard, Philly, or Connolly anywhere near a hard pitch in January.

Not to bothered by the result, glad some of the panel members and new players are getting the expierence and a loss is great expierence for these players. Nothing yielded, with everyone trying to set up to beat the Dubs, if they don't play against the first team it's trikier.

Monaghan full value for a fully deserved win and a big congratulations.

Next stop Croker, via McGraths.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 27/01/2019 19:41:58    2160071