Mayo Vs Roscommon

Replying To Belclare1:  "Its clear they are two average teams.."
Yeah I'd love to see the corofin lads show the "average lads" how it's done conditions I wouldn't throw a dog out in. But sure hey that doesn't fit in with your memo I understand. Fair play lad

WaitingInTheLongGrass (Roscommon) - Posts: 165 - 27/01/2019 10:35:01    2159856

Donie Smith should get a very long ban for what he did. Disgraceful

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 27/01/2019 10:50:37    2159859

It looked like Roscommon prioritised the approach/system that they obviously intend to play this year over the result or playing the conditions. In the long run this might not be as foolish as the result and the first half tactics make it appear. If you want to develop a style of play the only way to do it is to be fairly rigid about it... not much point in Cunningham telling them to throw off the shackles just because it's windy. It's the start of this process for Roscommon who, unlike Galway, have adopted no particular style of play these last few years. Time will tell if it's a good move... it's one thing getting into a straight-jacket, but getting out of it again can be tricky.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 27/01/2019 10:59:39    2159860

How folk on here can reach conclusions on the abilities of both teams in those conditions is farcical. If you were there you'd understand that competing and getting a result was all that mattered. If you watched at home or in the pub you have no idea how bad conditions were.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 27/01/2019 11:25:36    2159866

Replying To ponga:  "How folk on here can reach conclusions on the abilities of both teams in those conditions is farcical. If you were there you'd understand that competing and getting a result was all that mattered. If you watched at home or in the pub you have no idea how bad conditions were."
Bang on, weather (wind) was atrocious at a hurling match and talk about a game of two half's, wind destroy's a game of football and makes for a completely different match.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 27/01/2019 11:55:15    2159874

Replying To arock:  "Bang on, weather (wind) was atrocious at a hurling match and talk about a game of two half's, wind destroy's a game of football and makes for a completely different match."
that game could have gone anyway to be honest it was like a game in pingball weather was dreadful it was not a night for forwards so no manager will have learnt anything smith should be ashamed of himself for that terrible act that type of behaviour cannot be tolerated let's see what happpens

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 27/01/2019 12:05:03    2159878

Replying To shaggylegend:  "If I was to be critical of any team last night it would have to be Roscommon, playing a very defensive game in the first half with a gale blowing behind them. It's obvious Anthony Cunningham is trying to implement a more defensive approach to alleviate the hammering suffered in the super 8s.
I couldn't understand why the commentary were criticising Mayo in the first half, with a wind like that you had to manage the game and limit the damage. Mayo achieved that and in the second half used the wind to there benefit chipping scores over from 50 metres.
James Horan will get Mayo to the last 8. Mayo are notoriously slow starters during the league but usually come right for championship.

The usual resentment by Dubs and fellow western gaels is very evident on here."
Like the resentment you and Cavan, Tyrone etc have for each other. If you throw stones...

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 27/01/2019 12:07:05    2159879

Now ye understand what it is to play in a wind and try to adapt. We unfortunately get it with Pearse (as good as it is with general facilities like toilets, hot water etc) most games. Admittedly last night was extreme and unfair to judge teams on it.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 27/01/2019 12:10:20    2159882

Replying To moros:  "Wasn't too bad considering the injuries and absentees that we had...Smyth was lucky but Mayo are plenty adept at the dark arts as well."
Yeah Mayo the notorious eye gougers. Major difference between pushing the rules to limits and eye gouging. Anyone defending him should be embarrassed.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 27/01/2019 12:23:44    2159885

Hard luck to our players and management last night, the competitive performance was delivered and we just came up short by one point from getting at least a point out of that game last night.

The awful weather conditions suited a stronger and more physical team which was clearly Mayo but we didn't back down and kept fighting until the end which was very encouraging. Of course when you lose a game by the narrowest of margins you will tend to look back at where we could have won this game as the winning of it was there. 1st half clearly was that and to score only 5 times from 14 attempts on goal was a killer and huge bonus to Mayo. On another night Cathal Cregg with his experience would have taken that goal with his eyes closed.

As been mentioned on here already it made little sense as to why Enda Smith was given the responsibility to take all frees last night when we had 5 better or more natural free takers than him. Donie Smith was a lucky boy and for the same incident another ref would have sent him and Higgins off. If we are to lose what could be our top scoring forward for a long time it will be huge blow to our chances of staying up.

I didn't notice it at the time but having watch it back since how was that Mayo goal allowed to stand last night? and they failed to score for the remaining 12 minutes of the games which shows it was a game of inches last night.

We need to bring the same guts and determination into the remaining games and more competitive performance like last night and we will be on the right side of the result.

Best for me last night was Killoran,Compton,N Daly and Hussey on his league debut. Hopefully in the weeks ahead our injury list will get shorter, Mullooly,Murray,Devaney are close to a return we are down to the bare bones at the moment as shown with giving 6 players their Div 1 debut last night.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 27/01/2019 13:39:28    2159897

Replying To shaggylegend:  "If I was to be critical of any team last night it would have to be Roscommon, playing a very defensive game in the first half with a gale blowing behind them. It's obvious Anthony Cunningham is trying to implement a more defensive approach to alleviate the hammering suffered in the super 8s.
I couldn't understand why the commentary were criticising Mayo in the first half, with a wind like that you had to manage the game and limit the damage. Mayo achieved that and in the second half used the wind to there benefit chipping scores over from 50 metres.
James Horan will get Mayo to the last 8. Mayo are notoriously slow starters during the league but usually come right for championship.

Resentment from what Dubs???

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 27/01/2019 22:24:14    2160169

Replying To ispeakwisdom:  "Hard luck to our players and management last night, the competitive performance was delivered and we just came up short by one point from getting at least a point out of that game last night.

The awful weather conditions suited a stronger and more physical team which was clearly Mayo but we didn't back down and kept fighting until the end which was very encouraging. Of course when you lose a game by the narrowest of margins you will tend to look back at where we could have won this game as the winning of it was there. 1st half clearly was that and to score only 5 times from 14 attempts on goal was a killer and huge bonus to Mayo. On another night Cathal Cregg with his experience would have taken that goal with his eyes closed.

As been mentioned on here already it made little sense as to why Enda Smith was given the responsibility to take all frees last night when we had 5 better or more natural free takers than him. Donie Smith was a lucky boy and for the same incident another ref would have sent him and Higgins off. If we are to lose what could be our top scoring forward for a long time it will be huge blow to our chances of staying up.

I didn't notice it at the time but having watch it back since how was that Mayo goal allowed to stand last night? and they failed to score for the remaining 12 minutes of the games which shows it was a game of inches last night.

We need to bring the same guts and determination into the remaining games and more competitive performance like last night and we will be on the right side of the result.

Best for me last night was Killoran,Compton,N Daly and Hussey on his league debut. Hopefully in the weeks ahead our injury list will get shorter, Mullooly,Murray,Devaney are close to a return we are down to the bare bones at the moment as shown with giving 6 players their Div 1 debut last night."
How would you possibly think Higgins could have been sent off after he was eye gouged. All he did in response was stand up and get in his face.

Kingofthehill100 (Mayo) - Posts: 68 - 28/01/2019 09:52:37    2160259

totally agree with you about commentary, were saying at half time Mayo mgmt. team would have more to be worried about, they were 4 points team, with a gale behind them in the second half, I would have been delighted.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 28/01/2019 10:13:12    2160271

Replying To Jackeen:  "Resentment from what Dubs???"
Mayo have won 3 senior All Irelands total Jackeen and the Dubs 4 in the last 4 years. What's not to resent:(

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 28/01/2019 10:54:12    2160299

Replying To Pericles:  "Mayo have won 3 senior All Irelands total Jackeen and the Dubs 4 in the last 4 years. What's not to resent:("
Huh? I'm asking what resentment towards either Mayo or Roscommon is shown on this thread by Dubs as per posters comments? I get why other counties would resent Dublin.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 28/01/2019 11:15:40    2160312

Replying To Kingofthehill100:  "How would you possibly think Higgins could have been sent off after he was eye gouged. All he did in response was stand up and get in his face."
in fairness to higgins i didnt think he reacted that much, if that was me id absolutely upend whoever eyegouged me, id lose the plot, not sure id be able to keep my cool lol

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 28/01/2019 11:59:30    2160334

Replying To waynoI:  "in fairness to higgins i didnt think he reacted that much, if that was me id absolutely upend whoever eyegouged me, id lose the plot, not sure id be able to keep my cool lol"
Philly McMahon v Kerry and James McCarthy v Dublin also did eye gouging matches. One got a one game ban which Dublin appealed and the other got no ban at all. The slow mos that are used to try to hang Smith is a bit over the top as is the suggestion of the length of ban from trial by social media.

As for the game due to the weather no detail about the match is needed however the turning point of the match was the goal on 65 mins as without it i doubt Mayo would have won and it was a goal that should not have stood. A lucky round 1 win for Mayo was huge last year and the same could happen again this year.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 28/01/2019 16:30:48    2160463

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Philly McMahon v Kerry and James McCarthy v Dublin also did eye gouging matches. One got a one game ban which Dublin appealed and the other got no ban at all. The slow mos that are used to try to hang Smith is a bit over the top as is the suggestion of the length of ban from trial by social media.

As for the game due to the weather no detail about the match is needed however the turning point of the match was the goal on 65 mins as without it i doubt Mayo would have won and it was a goal that should not have stood. A lucky round 1 win for Mayo was huge last year and the same could happen again this year."
Agree that Ros can feel a little aggrieved about the steps, even though Reape was being pulled back on his way through and refs are, rightly or wrongly, inclined to give the benefit of the doubt to the attacker in that situation. I can't agree that the goal itself was the turning point though as Mayo were two points up at that stage and playing with the benefit of a gale. There was a sense of inevitability about the result once Mayo took the lead and the goal just led to them trying to shut up shop instead of pushing on. I thought Roscommon played well enough but if there is any such thing as a comfortable one point win this was it!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 28/01/2019 17:17:38    2160479

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Philly McMahon v Kerry and James McCarthy v Dublin also did eye gouging matches. One got a one game ban which Dublin appealed and the other got no ban at all. The slow mos that are used to try to hang Smith is a bit over the top as is the suggestion of the length of ban from trial by social media.

As for the game due to the weather no detail about the match is needed however the turning point of the match was the goal on 65 mins as without it i doubt Mayo would have won and it was a goal that should not have stood. A lucky round 1 win for Mayo was huge last year and the same could happen again this year."
Agree that Ros can feel a little aggrieved about the steps, even though Reape was being pulled back on his way through and refs are, rightly or wrongly, inclined to give the benefit of the doubt to the attacker in that situation. I can't agree that the goal itself was the turning point though as Mayo were two points up at that stage and playing with the benefit of a gale. There was a sense of inevitability about the result once Mayo took the lead and the goal just led to them trying to shut up shop instead of pushing on. I thought Roscommon played well enough but if there is any such thing as a comfortable one point win this was it!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 28/01/2019 17:17:38    2160480

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Agree that Ros can feel a little aggrieved about the steps, even though Reape was being pulled back on his way through and refs are, rightly or wrongly, inclined to give the benefit of the doubt to the attacker in that situation. I can't agree that the goal itself was the turning point though as Mayo were two points up at that stage and playing with the benefit of a gale. There was a sense of inevitability about the result once Mayo took the lead and the goal just led to them trying to shut up shop instead of pushing on. I thought Roscommon played well enough but if there is any such thing as a comfortable one point win this was it!"
It was over carrying that was badly missed by the officials. A so called comfortable one point win in a game that Mayo only scored 9 times and took 60 mins to take the lead? i think you need to take off the green and red glasses there. While the goal was key in a narrow win, Roscommon's lack of accurate free taker on the night (nine attempts one score) was the reason why that game was won and lost.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 28/01/2019 18:11:31    2160496