Pairc Ui Chaoimh And Liam Miller

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "That "amateur organisation" gets subsidies from the government. Without these they wouldn't have "their pitches/stadiums"."
Do GAA supporters not pay tax then????

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 30/07/2018 15:59:50    2127573

Replying To kildare73:  "I think the era of the GAA accepting public money to build grounds around the country and then locking the gates to other sports is on it's way out. That will be in the past in the coming years. The funny thing is, most of the sports participating public play both GAA and soccer, as well as a myriad of other sports so they are dealing with a lot of the same people. After the absolutely fantastic hurling over the weekend and across the year in general, the GAA should have confidence in it's games. Gaelic games in Ireland is engrained in our DNA, i can't see that ever changing and I hope it never does. Charge other sports for the use of GAA pitches, because the GAA still puts in the majority of the funding. They should be allowed reserve the right to charge some kind of feeling rather than locking the gates. This country isn't big enough or rich enough for every sport to have it's own big stadiums around the country being empty white elephants most of the year and I can't see why sporting organisations can't combine to build really high quality grounds here and there in strategic planning to give the public good grounds to enjoy sport in. We are a small country, we should be pulling together."
The GAA should also have the right to refuse requests to use their grounds . It is imperative that The GAA retain control over the opening of their grounds . No sport has a divine right to use the grounds of another association . The idea of building multi sport municipal grounds is fine in theory however the pitch dimensions required for football and hurling are far bigger than soccer and rugby . I was in Croke Park for rugby and soccer internationals . The pitches were much smaller than football and hurling pitches and were swamped in Croker .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 30/07/2018 20:00:42    2127637

I don't have time to reply to all the nonsense I've read on here. Suffice to say in my view, everything that Damien Duff said is 100% correct. The GAA leadership are a bloody disgrace and have dragged me and other members through the mud this past fortnight with their inept handling of this situation. They are disgrace.

The only problem I have with Damien Duff's comments is that he was the one to say it.

Another issue I'm sick to the teeth of is this horse manure about the GAA being an amateur organisation and isn't it great they can do this that and the other when professional sports can't. Horse manure. The GAA employs more full time salaried personnel including professional administrators than the FAI and the IRFU combined.

Finally, I never said Cork City own Turmers Cross. I know the Munster FA do and Cork rent it. Dunno what's that's got to do with anything but some fella from a louth thought he'd point that out for me. As for Monaghan, I know how many inter county grounds they have. My point which I think was misunderstood is that this is just ridiculous. What the point in having three stadiums of 8,000+ capacity when only one is needed and they they haven't one decent stadium amongst the three which is scandalous when you consider they have the Ulster final in antiquated Clones every year.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 30/07/2018 20:08:35    2127641

The GAA should also have the right to refuse requests to use their grounds . It is imperative that The GAA retain control over the opening of their grounds .
Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 4808 - 30/07/2018 20:00:42 2127637

Fair enough; then stop taking subsidies from the tax payers to build these grounds.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2474 - 30/07/2018 20:12:59    2127644

Replying To Onion Breath:  "I don't have time to reply to all the nonsense I've read on here. Suffice to say in my view, everything that Damien Duff said is 100% correct. The GAA leadership are a bloody disgrace and have dragged me and other members through the mud this past fortnight with their inept handling of this situation. They are disgrace.

The only problem I have with Damien Duff's comments is that he was the one to say it.

Another issue I'm sick to the teeth of is this horse manure about the GAA being an amateur organisation and isn't it great they can do this that and the other when professional sports can't. Horse manure. The GAA employs more full time salaried personnel including professional administrators than the FAI and the IRFU combined.

Finally, I never said Cork City own Turmers Cross. I know the Munster FA do and Cork rent it. Dunno what's that's got to do with anything but some fella from a louth thought he'd point that out for me. As for Monaghan, I know how many inter county grounds they have. My point which I think was misunderstood is that this is just ridiculous. What the point in having three stadiums of 8,000+ capacity when only one is needed and they they haven't one decent stadium amongst the three which is scandalous when you consider they have the Ulster final in antiquated Clones every year."
I think we should call you onionbreathless. What a post that was . Talk about over the top . What you have to say is rubbish . The initial response from The GAA last Friday was wrong . Subsequent to that the situation under the stewardship of John Horan was well handled .
What you have to say about the stadia in Monaghan is nonsense . The three grounds are first class . Have you been in any of them ? I would suggest that the next time you want to let off steam that you take a deep onion breath and do some research . Maybe then you won't compose such poorly informed posts .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 30/07/2018 22:11:24    2127678

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "The GAA should also have the right to refuse requests to use their grounds . It is imperative that The GAA retain control over the opening of their grounds .

Fair enough; then stop taking subsidies from the tax payers to build these grounds."
They are fully deserving of those subsidies given the massive contribution they make to this country from a social, cultural and sporting point of view . No other organisation comes anywhere near them
They are also more than entitled to those subsidies given the proven track record they have in stadium development .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 30/07/2018 22:14:29    2127679

Replying To Greengrass:  "The GAA should also have the right to refuse requests to use their grounds . It is imperative that The GAA retain control over the opening of their grounds . No sport has a divine right to use the grounds of another association . The idea of building multi sport municipal grounds is fine in theory however the pitch dimensions required for football and hurling are far bigger than soccer and rugby . I was in Croke Park for rugby and soccer internationals . The pitches were much smaller than football and hurling pitches and were swamped in Croker ."
I'd agree that the GAA should maintain full control over self funded grounds. No problem with that. But like I said previously, the day is going where you can take almost take a almost 40% grand aid from the public purse and then claim full and exclusive ownership and full control. As well as public pressure for the Liam Miller game to go ahead in PUC, there was clearly political pressure too. Shane Ross hinted as much when he said if the game didn't go ahead in PUC then grants to sporting organisations in future would have to be reviewed. That was putting the writing on the wall and like him or loathe him he was putting forward government policy. As for the different pitch dimensions, that's just something that would be gotten past. Its not that big an issue. If it meant sporting organisations putting their heads together and giving fans top class facilities nationally, i think most people would get over it.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 30/07/2018 22:26:40    2127684

Replying To Greengrass:  "I think we should call you onionbreathless. What a post that was . Talk about over the top . What you have to say is rubbish . The initial response from The GAA last Friday was wrong . Subsequent to that the situation under the stewardship of John Horan was well handled .
What you have to say about the stadia in Monaghan is nonsense . The three grounds are first class . Have you been in any of them ? I would suggest that the next time you want to let off steam that you take a deep onion breath and do some research . Maybe then you won't compose such poorly informed posts ."
Ah here, now you're getting personal.

What I said was my opinion and I said that too.

I have been in Monaghan- Clones, Inniskeen and Carrickmacross. Not in Inniskeen since 2005 I think it was. The other two much more recently and for you to describe them as "first class" is beneath contempt. They are appalling venues. Luke most GAA grounds admittedly but you really need to get out more and visit third and fourth tier venues in other countries and you'd be embarrassed by your "first class" comment. For God's in european terms even Croke Park isn't first class any more.

Mind you, the irony, sorry brass neck, of someone from Louth pontificating about venues is side splitting. The last person from outside Louth to use the toilets in Drogheda's notorious Gaelic Grounds is still being resuscitated.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 30/07/2018 23:11:55    2127696

Replying To kildare73:  "I'd agree that the GAA should maintain full control over self funded grounds. No problem with that. But like I said previously, the day is going where you can take almost take a almost 40% grand aid from the public purse and then claim full and exclusive ownership and full control. As well as public pressure for the Liam Miller game to go ahead in PUC, there was clearly political pressure too. Shane Ross hinted as much when he said if the game didn't go ahead in PUC then grants to sporting organisations in future would have to be reviewed. That was putting the writing on the wall and like him or loathe him he was putting forward government policy. As for the different pitch dimensions, that's just something that would be gotten past. Its not that big an issue. If it meant sporting organisations putting their heads together and giving fans top class facilities nationally, i think most people would get over it."
I said from the beginning that the decision would be walked back.O.K. whatever, the right thing is being done. The concern is we are going to move on to the next fiasco. It should not take too long. I was going to say Waterford playing their home games on Achill Island next year but that is so far off. There is plenty time to get a few more in before that. You would hope the suits would look inward after the weekend games and say to themselves we are a very small part of who puts on the show. We are well paid and they take the bumps and bruises. Not likely though. The gravy train rumbles on.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 30/07/2018 23:27:08    2127699

Replying To kildare73:  "I'd agree that the GAA should maintain full control over self funded grounds. No problem with that. But like I said previously, the day is going where you can take almost take a almost 40% grand aid from the public purse and then claim full and exclusive ownership and full control. As well as public pressure for the Liam Miller game to go ahead in PUC, there was clearly political pressure too. Shane Ross hinted as much when he said if the game didn't go ahead in PUC then grants to sporting organisations in future would have to be reviewed. That was putting the writing on the wall and like him or loathe him he was putting forward government policy. As for the different pitch dimensions, that's just something that would be gotten past. Its not that big an issue. If it meant sporting organisations putting their heads together and giving fans top class facilities nationally, i think most people would get over it."
Kildare 73could you tell me how the Aviva could be extended to facilitate a hurling or gaelic football match,the Aviva got 191 million of taxpayers money,Tallaght stadium got up to 2009 12.2 million of taxpayers money,could it hold a gaa match,some private school in the constituency of Shane Ross got taxpayers money for a sports pitch,will they share it with the local community,dont tell me different pitch dimensions could be gotten past,the only people developing new grounds are the Gaa,no new grounds by soccer or rugby,and even if they are they wont make the pitches big enough for Gaa,as for grants to the Gaa,the Revenue Commisiners collect lots of tax from Gaa,related activities.take last weekend alone,how much tax and vat will be collected from petrol, diesel,drink,there is even tax on hurling sticks,the gaa followers and members put lots of money back into the economy,you see the Gaa have already provided top class facilities around the country for their players,they didnt appear magically,it took hard work and lots of fund raising,members doing everything they could think of to raise money to provide those facilities,I can only speak for my area of KK but there are great club facilities in practically every club,finally if grants are to be reviewed on the basis of not sharing facilities only the Gaa will suffer because other sports grounds couldnt facilitate Gaa,

mooncat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 533 - 30/07/2018 23:41:01    2127712

Replying To Greengrass:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "The GAA should also have the right to refuse requests to use their grounds . It is imperative that The GAA retain control over the opening of their grounds .

Fair enough; then stop taking subsidies from the tax payers to build these grounds."
They are fully deserving of those subsidies given the massive contribution they make to this country from a social, cultural and sporting point of view . No other organisation comes anywhere near them
They are also more than entitled to those subsidies given the proven track record they have in stadium development ."
Sorry greengrass, you can't have your cake & eat it.

If you are taking taxpayers, many of whom have no interest in the GAA, money then you have to be willing to give a bit.

Nobody is suggesting that GAA grounds should be opened right left & centre for soccer but this was a no brainer & Croke Park made a balls of it plain & simple.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/07/2018 08:34:43    2127735

This would be the same Shane Ross who steadfastly refused to intervene in transport strikes as it was not appropriate to interfere, when he was the godamn minister for transport , this issue was a win win for any and every politician as it was popular easy and without any chance of backfiring , nobody including me Ross has the right to retrospectively question signed agreements , if I know anything about the GAA they would not be accepting funds if they were releasing control of what they were building in the first place

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 31/07/2018 09:12:58    2127743

The Government give a grant and get a massive return to the economy in the years that follow. Think what the Croke Park grant has returned to the exchequer? Not only that think of all the kids who get to see their heros in these fine Stadia and then want to hurl or play ball themselves. They have the ability to do so in GAA funded facilities the length and breath of the country. Think of what that is saving the health service.

The government are getting back anything they are giving to the GAA 10 fold. They have zero right to dictate what the stadia are used for.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 337 - 31/07/2018 09:33:15    2127749

Replying To Damothedub:  "This would be the same Shane Ross who steadfastly refused to intervene in transport strikes as it was not appropriate to interfere, when he was the godamn minister for transport , this issue was a win win for any and every politician as it was popular easy and without any chance of backfiring , nobody including me Ross has the right to retrospectively question signed agreements , if I know anything about the GAA they would not be accepting funds if they were releasing control of what they were building in the first place"
I didn't say I agree with Ross, I'm just saying he has his hands on the till when it comes to giving out sports funding and his comments were obviously government policy and he was putting it out there. And Croke Park heard him too. You can't say he was retrospectively questioning signed agreements, he was reminding the GAA what was in the signed agreement. PUC was to be made available on a "non discriminatory and transparent basis to various users". Croke Park signed off on that. So as I said previously, the days of taking public money but then assuming full control do seem to be over.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 31/07/2018 10:51:58    2127772

Replying To dahayeser:  "The Government give a grant and get a massive return to the economy in the years that follow. Think what the Croke Park grant has returned to the exchequer? Not only that think of all the kids who get to see their heros in these fine Stadia and then want to hurl or play ball themselves. They have the ability to do so in GAA funded facilities the length and breath of the country. Think of what that is saving the health service.

The government are getting back anything they are giving to the GAA 10 fold. They have zero right to dictate what the stadia are used for."
Yes they get a huge return but as I said in an earlier post the GAA took the grant on certain conditions, namely that PUC was available for various users and on a non discriminatory basis. That was in the terms of the agreement. Look, I'm a GAA supporter and match goer but I'm a realist too. Other sports are out there and Gaelic games for me out shines them all. But if you take public money then you are open to being dictated to. That's just a fact of life and that's what happened. Municipal stadia should be the way to go in future, then we would have higher class facilities and none of the rubbish that went on for the last couple of weeks.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 31/07/2018 11:00:05    2127776

Replying To dahayeser:  "The Government give a grant and get a massive return to the economy in the years that follow. Think what the Croke Park grant has returned to the exchequer? Not only that think of all the kids who get to see their heros in these fine Stadia and then want to hurl or play ball themselves. They have the ability to do so in GAA funded facilities the length and breath of the country. Think of what that is saving the health service.

The government are getting back anything they are giving to the GAA 10 fold. They have zero right to dictate what the stadia are used for."
The government are not "dictating" anything. Like the good politicians they are they recognise a good bandwagon when they see one & no better men than the suits in Croke Park to give them one & shoot themselves in both feet at the same time.

Like the Catholic Church it seems the GAA will never learn.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/07/2018 11:17:08    2127784

Replying To kildare73:  "Yes they get a huge return but as I said in an earlier post the GAA took the grant on certain conditions, namely that PUC was available for various users and on a non discriminatory basis. That was in the terms of the agreement. Look, I'm a GAA supporter and match goer but I'm a realist too. Other sports are out there and Gaelic games for me out shines them all. But if you take public money then you are open to being dictated to. That's just a fact of life and that's what happened. Municipal stadia should be the way to go in future, then we would have higher class facilities and none of the rubbish that went on for the last couple of weeks."
I don't know the exact conditions of the grant but I definitely see the logic of keeping GAA stadia for gaelic games where possible. Like it or not there is massive competition out there for the hearts and minds of the next generation. Global professional sports have huge advantages. The GAA's advantage is due to not having huge wage bills they can put money in to facilities to attract kids. We don't have the volume of games, the glamour or the blanket media coverage.

The day the children of Cork start association Pairc Ui Caoimh with great Munster's European Rugby nights or goals scored by some Man United legend will be a bad day for the GAA.

Croke park was only open for a couple of years and yet Ireland's rugby victory win over England is probably the more talked about event that ever occurred on the hallowed turf. It was even a strong contender for Ireland's greatest sporting moment.

I think the Miller situation was opportunistic by the organisers. I hope it doesn't open the flood gates because strategically it would be a bad move for the GAA.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 337 - 31/07/2018 12:25:33    2127822

Replying To dahayeser:  "I don't know the exact conditions of the grant but I definitely see the logic of keeping GAA stadia for gaelic games where possible. Like it or not there is massive competition out there for the hearts and minds of the next generation. Global professional sports have huge advantages. The GAA's advantage is due to not having huge wage bills they can put money in to facilities to attract kids. We don't have the volume of games, the glamour or the blanket media coverage.

The day the children of Cork start association Pairc Ui Caoimh with great Munster's European Rugby nights or goals scored by some Man United legend will be a bad day for the GAA.

Croke park was only open for a couple of years and yet Ireland's rugby victory win over England is probably the more talked about event that ever occurred on the hallowed turf. It was even a strong contender for Ireland's greatest sporting moment.

I think the Miller situation was opportunistic by the organisers. I hope it doesn't open the flood gates because strategically it would be a bad move for the GAA."
There is no question of any "floodgates" being opened as the soccer & rugby people have more than adequate facilities to play their games.

This is different, it is a one off charity event to raise funds for the family of a young Cork sportsman, a GAA man in his time, who tragically died before his time. The only reason PUC was considered as the venue was because it has the biggest capacity in his native Cork & would therefore generate more money than any soccer or rugby venue in the county.

Talk of floodgates is nonsense.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 31/07/2018 12:38:09    2127825

Glasgow Celtic football club's home ground- Celtic park/Parkhead will hold next year's Rugby Guinness Pro 14 final. Good thing the GAA allowed the Liam Miller match imho. Also Guinness Pro 14 Rugby will be looking to hold their final in Pairc Uí Chaoimh in 2020- so I hope Cork GAA don't miss out ie they let them play it there. I hope the rule is amended. To me having a rugby final in the Pairc would be good P.R for the Cork GAA. Slán

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 31/07/2018 13:15:20    2127846

Replying To Onion Breath:  "Ah here, now you're getting personal.

What I said was my opinion and I said that too.

I have been in Monaghan- Clones, Inniskeen and Carrickmacross. Not in Inniskeen since 2005 I think it was. The other two much more recently and for you to describe them as "first class" is beneath contempt. They are appalling venues. Luke most GAA grounds admittedly but you really need to get out more and visit third and fourth tier venues in other countries and you'd be embarrassed by your "first class" comment. For God's in european terms even Croke Park isn't first class any more.

Mind you, the irony, sorry brass neck, of someone from Louth pontificating about venues is side splitting. The last person from outside Louth to use the toilets in Drogheda's notorious Gaelic Grounds is still being resuscitated."
Getting personal ?? Your skin is a wee bit thin . Your posts are now beyond ridiculous . You are actually comparing county Monaghan, the Inniskeen Grattan's and the Blayney Faughs with fully professional sports clubs who are associated with the richest spurt in the world . Do me a favour . Get yourself to Inniskeen . It is an excellent facility with a terrific atmosphere . I was there for the Monaghan Kerry game . I was in Blayney for the Monaghan game . It is another excellent facility . As for your assertion that Clones is an appalling ground well that is completely over the top .
You are absolutely correct when in what you say about The Athletic Grounds morning n Drogheda . I think you'll find that I made a comment to that effect somewhere in these pages .
I am still shaking my head in disbelief at your comments in relation to Croke Park .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 31/07/2018 13:57:09    2127866