Kildare Vs Galway

reading an artivle in Today's Sindo by Joe Brolly bemoaning the state of Gaelic football. He list some rule changes that he thinks should be introduced to make the game a better spectacle . There are enough rules already, the problem is the officials do not enforce them. GAA must be the only organisation that does not enforce it's own rules on the field of play. I mean a player is not supposed to hold on to another either on or off the ball. this happens every minute in a game yet it's ignored . once in a blue moon a ref decides to give a free like Today when he adjudged Ronan Shanahan to be holding McManus off the ball. now it was an extremely soft free to say the least, in fact it was barely a free but for some reason known only to the ref , he decided to blow up for it at that particular time and no other. when a player is in possesion and gets knocked to the ground or falls, he is not allowed up but is mauled by 3 or 4 players and can not get rid of the ball even if he wanted to. what happens ? ref gives a free for over- carrying of course. "The Tackle" is the elephant in the room and until it is redefined or officiated on properly then it is referees who are increasingly deciding the results of close games.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/07/2018 22:43:45    2124923

Replying To Daith:  "Galway have the dark arts of pulling and dragging off the ball down to a tee. It is not refereed in the modern game. Joe McQuillan was looking at it going on right under his nose on that touchline and he didn't pull it once. As soon as a Kildare man retaliated and OCeallaigh was pulling the shirt off Dan Flynn all afternoon, McQuillan of course gets that Kildare man sent off. OCeallaigh was obviously tasked to antagonise Flynn and unfortunately Flynn fell for it."
Ya tis very disappointing to see the top forwards getting no protection...mentioned on da Sunday game the 'treatment ' Clifford got up n clones too ...umpires and linesmen a joke.
Flynn getting dragged round da place reacts an da hard man full back takes a dive...pure cynical.
To be fair refs wer very poor n both games today.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 22/07/2018 23:18:11    2124934

Thought it was a good match tbh. Kildare threw everything at Galway and fair play. But it always looked like Galway would prevail.
I've said from a while back that Galway are the only team that can beat dubs , I stand by that. I want that to be the all ire final. For me the best two teams in country at the moment.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 23/07/2018 08:18:14    2124962

Replying To 11jm11:  "Maybe the better team than kildare but galway wont win be winning an ireland thats for sure."
No body said they would win the All Ireland, but 'they' also said that we wouldn't stay up in Div 1, Beat Mayo in the Championship and beat Kerry in Croke Park

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 23/07/2018 08:50:29    2124970

Replying To Daith:  "Galway have the dark arts of pulling and dragging off the ball down to a tee. It is not refereed in the modern game. Joe McQuillan was looking at it going on right under his nose on that touchline and he didn't pull it once. As soon as a Kildare man retaliated and OCeallaigh was pulling the shirt off Dan Flynn all afternoon, McQuillan of course gets that Kildare man sent off. OCeallaigh was obviously tasked to antagonise Flynn and unfortunately Flynn fell for it."
Yeah in Fairness the Kildare lads didn't touch Comer or Burke off the ball so fair is fair - lets try and lobby GAA for a replay. Replay or nowehere?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 23/07/2018 08:53:01    2124971

Replying To royaldunne:  "Thought it was a good match tbh. Kildare threw everything at Galway and fair play. But it always looked like Galway would prevail.
I've said from a while back that Galway are the only team that can beat dubs , I stand by that. I want that to be the all ire final. For me the best two teams in country at the moment."
Agree, and when Galway were putting in great displays in the league people, everybody was writing them off as peaking too early, basically what it was is the Galway were beating everyone (Dublin aside) because they are a very good side.

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 23/07/2018 09:06:14    2124977

Replying To Belclare1:  "Agree, and when Galway were putting in great displays in the league people, everybody was writing them off as peaking too early, basically what it was is the Galway were beating everyone (Dublin aside) because they are a very good side."
Remember that - Galway have peaked too early.

It was suggested we use the Mayo model and play crap during the league to ensure a good long championship. Ah the aul pundits are really living in the stone age.

The league is now a massive baramoter for where counties stand in terms of ability and development.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 23/07/2018 09:29:04    2124989

Galway are the number 1 contenders to Dublins title, there is no denying that now.
I expect them to finish top of their group, they would have too much for either Donegal or Tyrone so look very well placed to make the final.
Some people bemoan theier use of the dark arts yet would turn a blind eye if their own county was doing it.
I've said it before about Galway that they remind me very much of Dublin around 2010 - 2011. They've come up with a safety first game plan and have a serious full forward line as good as anyone else in the country.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 23/07/2018 09:29:42    2124993

Daniel Flynn didn't fall for anything. He was stupid enough to swing an elbow at a players face right in front of the linesman. Forwards get pulled and dragged constantly. Anyone who's even played at club level will have to put it with it. Comer takes more punishment than most in the game. He used to have problem with picking up cards as a result of retaliation, but he's matured and gets on with it now.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2045 - 23/07/2018 10:02:36    2125013

Although flynn did i feel deserve a card i think a red was harsh... Donaghy only received a yellow for pretty much the same thing. I do think the standard of refereeing has really plummeted this year and there are a lot of controversial calls in both codes week in week out at the moment. Its terrible to see the holding of opposition players before the kick out which was a consistent theme of yesterdays match. Cooke is very bad for it which is a shame as he is big and mobile. It would be a better spectacle to see him and feely going for high balls rather than pulling and dragging with only one man half getting up.

Caoimhog88 (Kildare) - Posts: 82 - 23/07/2018 10:45:50    2125032

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Daniel Flynn didn't fall for anything. He was stupid enough to swing an elbow at a players face right in front of the linesman. Forwards get pulled and dragged constantly. Anyone who's even played at club level will have to put it with it. Comer takes more punishment than most in the game. He used to have problem with picking up cards as a result of retaliation, but he's matured and gets on with it now."
That's fair enough but when you see Donaghy getting a yellow for the same type of incident you wonder about how one is red and the other is a yellow. Kildare without Flynn lose the game, Kerry with Donaghy providing an assist for their goal get a draw. Plus Donaghy can play against us in a fortnight. You have to wonder how refs can interpret similar incidents so differently.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 23/07/2018 11:03:01    2125051

Replying To kildare73:  "That's fair enough but when you see Donaghy getting a yellow for the same type of incident you wonder about how one is red and the other is a yellow. Kildare without Flynn lose the game, Kerry with Donaghy providing an assist for their goal get a draw. Plus Donaghy can play against us in a fortnight. You have to wonder how refs can interpret similar incidents so differently."
Fair point. Donaghy should have gone off imo

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 23/07/2018 12:08:49    2125117

I don't get the Kildare moaning...Flynn straight red right decision, Conway should have had one also for punching Cooke on the terrace side following a poor Lavelle kickout, Slatterey also should have a case to answer for his punching Varley on the ground in injury time.

The punishment for a strike or attempted strike is a red card, we complain about about linesmen and umpires not helping the Ref, well I'm not a fan of Joe Mc but he did the right thing, Flynn also nearly scored from his behaviour, he struck and then became active with Sean Andy down.

Kildare want it everyway, the Moorfield fullback had a Corofin player sent off earlier in the year and not a word out off Kildare about it, you couldn't make it up.

But here it is footballers win matches and not muscle men or athletes, Kildare never learn, Ian Burke led them a merry dance in the 2013 U21 semi final, he repeated the trick yesterday despite constant fouls and intimidation, they tried four different markers on him.

EDH (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 23/07/2018 14:35:44    2125232

Replying To EDH:  "I don't get the Kildare moaning...Flynn straight red right decision, Conway should have had one also for punching Cooke on the terrace side following a poor Lavelle kickout, Slatterey also should have a case to answer for his punching Varley on the ground in injury time.

The punishment for a strike or attempted strike is a red card, we complain about about linesmen and umpires not helping the Ref, well I'm not a fan of Joe Mc but he did the right thing, Flynn also nearly scored from his behaviour, he struck and then became active with Sean Andy down.

Kildare want it everyway, the Moorfield fullback had a Corofin player sent off earlier in the year and not a word out off Kildare about it, you couldn't make it up.

But here it is footballers win matches and not muscle men or athletes, Kildare never learn, Ian Burke led them a merry dance in the 2013 U21 semi final, he repeated the trick yesterday despite constant fouls and intimidation, they tried four different markers on him."
Also Cooke in for Conroy was targeted right from the start, thinking they could bully a 20year old, in for Conroy. Great to see Cooke more than able to stand up for himself and the experience he gained from playing some Div 1 NFL games this year really stood to him yesterday - this shows why its absolutely critical to mix in your panel and let them gain NFL experience

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 23/07/2018 14:56:30    2125244

Replying To kildare73:  "That's fair enough but when you see Donaghy getting a yellow for the same type of incident you wonder about how one is red and the other is a yellow. Kildare without Flynn lose the game, Kerry with Donaghy providing an assist for their goal get a draw. Plus Donaghy can play against us in a fortnight. You have to wonder how refs can interpret similar incidents so differently."
Donaghy should have seen red as well, absolutely. A swinging arm or elbow can very dangerous. Deegan should've sent him off. I agree it is definitely unfair that Kildare will be without Flynn now but Kerry will have Donaghy available.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2045 - 23/07/2018 15:07:57    2125256

Flynn was unlucky on the red, I thought. He was severely provoked by Sean Andy, and also missed, when he lashed out. Playacting by Comer got another black book and yellow for Kildare players. The 'black book manoeuvre' from Comer was an expert con job, just pulled in the obstructing arm and rolled to ground. On the other hand, very dangerous leg tackes on Kerin and Cathal Sweeney by Kildare players late on, looked like possible straight red cards to me. Tackle on Sweeney was a dirty dangerous ankle kick.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3437 - 23/07/2018 15:17:16    2125260

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Flynn was unlucky on the red, I thought. He was severely provoked by Sean Andy, and also missed, when he lashed out. Playacting by Comer got another black book and yellow for Kildare players. The 'black book manoeuvre' from Comer was an expert con job, just pulled in the obstructing arm and rolled to ground. On the other hand, very dangerous leg tackes on Kerin and Cathal Sweeney by Kildare players late on, looked like possible straight red cards to me. Tackle on Sweeney was a dirty dangerous ankle kick."
But Pope a strike is a strike whether he made contact or not. It would take a rule change and once you have a closed fist you are entering tricky water. Basically Brolly and Cian O'Neill are trying to differentiate between a guy who turns around and boxes an opponent and what Flynn did because as they see it Flynn should be let away with just because the game was close. Maybe O'Neill needs to concentrate on ensuring that his players remain disciplined even if they are provoked.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1947 - 23/07/2018 15:49:02    2125281

Replying To kiloughter:  "But Pope a strike is a strike whether he made contact or not. It would take a rule change and once you have a closed fist you are entering tricky water. Basically Brolly and Cian O'Neill are trying to differentiate between a guy who turns around and boxes an opponent and what Flynn did because as they see it Flynn should be let away with just because the game was close. Maybe O'Neill needs to concentrate on ensuring that his players remain disciplined even if they are provoked."
Of course a strike is a strike, so why wasn't Donaghy sent off? And nobody please make out all the shenanigans was one sided in our game. Moolick was held from jumping by two arms wrapped around by a Galway midfielder right in front of the ref and in the next play was being dragged by his arm to stop him jumping. Both times nothing was done. Sean Andy pulling Flynn was just an example of what was happening all day. There was a pair of teams at it equally, one was punished more than the other.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 23/07/2018 16:26:56    2125299

'Kildare want it everyway, the Moorfield fullback had a Corofin player sent off earlier in the year and not a word out off Kildare about it, you couldn't make it up.'

Sorry but that's just rubbish. Every Kildare poster on here after that game said the Moorefield lad made a show of himself. It appears you can make it up !

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 23/07/2018 17:11:51    2125316

a swing and a miss is not a yellow card, sorry lads. Gutted for Flynn and he was unlucky but gritty performance by Galway who need to tidy up for the next day. Delighted for Kildare after the league they had, wish them well next season.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 23/07/2018 17:34:20    2125322