Dublin V Monaghan

Replying To yelowbelly:  "A lot of comments here about it being a dead rubber, nothing at stake etc. . . .
but the crowd only came in when the "meaningful" game was over. I really felt sorry for P Gilroy and the Dublin hurlers, the support for them was pathetic."
You're either into hurling or you're not!!! Much like a lot of hurling supporters are not into football.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 25/03/2018 18:19:13    2087808

Congratulations to Monaghan today, great win in fairness.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/03/2018 18:23:22    2087810

Replying To DannyMcA:  "Are the Gaelic Grounds our national stadium? Ask Christy Cooney why?"
Sure you seem to think you have the answer plus I don't have christys number :-) but it is strange how out of all the stadiums in Ireland with terraces there is only one ground that has a Perspex screen in front of it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/03/2018 18:28:58    2087817

Well done Monaghan great point to win it and class goal to, I enjoyed that game thought it was end to end and some lads on both teams really impressing. The north should be very interesting again this year with donegal looking good and Monaghan with a lethal full forward line with the UCD McCarthy lad who is a player they will be hard to beat but hopefully they take this form into the championship.

Roll on next weeks league final I can't wait for this , let's see what Galway are really made of coming into the lions den. Mayo have momentum after today a hammering from Dublin could have a big baring on the big game in may.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/03/2018 18:40:40    2087827

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sure you seem to think you have the answer plus I don't have christys number :-) but it is strange how out of all the stadiums in Ireland with terraces there is only one ground that has a Perspex screen in front of it."
There are fences in front of other terraces around the country

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/03/2018 18:42:31    2087830

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sure you seem to think you have the answer plus I don't have christys number :-) but it is strange how out of all the stadiums in Ireland with terraces there is only one ground that has a Perspex screen in front of it."
A quick Google will give you the answer.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 25/03/2018 18:46:58    2087835

You do realise that Kingdomboy right?

There are fences in front of a fair few terraces

I believe the new PUC even has a fancy new red fence in front of its terrace..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/03/2018 18:59:23    2087852

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Congratulations to Monaghan today, great win in fairness."
What were the kingdom like today?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 25/03/2018 19:12:02    2087858

Only managed to see the first half of the deferred coverage, but it was very different to what I expected. It seemed to be very open and entertaining. I was surprised to see that great old veteran racing through and planting the ball in the net. Monaghan, however, missed a lot of chances in that first half. I'm not sure that James McCarthy is a centre-half back.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 25/03/2018 19:13:02    2087861

Fair play to monaghan on the balance of play they probably deserved it...Karl O'Connell is some player.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 25/03/2018 19:15:59    2087865

Replying To patk:  "Ah will ya stop. Sure it wasn't the Dubs full team we were playing but it wasn't the u-21s either, loads of all-stars and all-ireland medals scattered through that team.

Monaghan had nothing to play for today either, and experimented a good bit through the league and today - there's a handful of players that started today that won't against Tyrone. Sure it would be closer to our full strength team than Dublin, but then Dublin's strength in depth is far and away the best in the country so they're just not throwing any young lad in there.

I don't think anyone is getting overly carried away with this result, and I'd expect Dublin to get back to business in the final. But it is possible for it to be a dead rubber game and for us to still get something out of it. It's a big morale boost(especially for the young lads coming through) to beat the Dubs in Croker, a team which we haven't beaten since the mid-00s and who we've had a couple of bad beatings from in recent years. It's a good note to end the league on and a confidence booster ahead of the Ulster opener."
I wouldn't take anything away from Monaghan today. For the second week in a row our full back line took a pounding and were found wanting. Monaghan showed how it's done with some sensational scores. Truth be told we couldn't have complained if we lost by 6 or 7 as Monaghan had some poor wides in the first. I think Gavin will be concerned at how easy the opposition cut through us for the second week in a row. Dublin backs standing off their men daring them to shoot from distance and that's exactly what they did. Gonna be an intetesting final and will be interesting to see if our FB line gets another roasting. Well done Monaghan.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/03/2018 20:22:35    2087919

Well done to all involved today and throughout another successful league for the team and county. Considering that we played half the league with 14 men, a fact that cost us dearly in the two games we lost.
The game itself was very competitive considering there was nothing at stake, except players playing for places and maintain winning momentum pre championship. The last ten minutes was good stuff from both teams, sending off cost Dublin dearly today as we were composed enough to exploit it at the end. Dublin supporters very gracious in defeat, some were critical of the referee. Though having watched it back he did OK for me.
Its only a year or so ago the "sheep in a heap" were labelling us a one man team, we had 8 scorers today which is about our average for the league and are building up a strong squad. Conor Boyle was my man of the match today and gives the full back line a better looking balance IMO. C Mc Carthy seems to save his best for Croke Park. N Kearns has settled in well in mid field.
Keiran Hughes as a target man is a no brainer, but he needs someone to feed off him, and while not having a great league I believe a confident Jack Mc Carron is still the man for the job with Mc Manus. Barry Mc Ginn still has to come back too, so we are in a good place overall and as usual f*** the begrudgers

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 25/03/2018 20:31:45    2087927

Monaghan you beat us fair and square don't mind the begrudgers that was a strong Dublin team enjoy you're night it's very rare anyone beats us so fair play to you all well done.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/03/2018 20:40:18    2087931

Anyone seen dermo about ??
Thats a grand rest hes having

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 25/03/2018 20:44:58    2087938

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Monaghan you beat us fair and square don't mind the begrudgers that was a strong Dublin team enjoy you're night it's very rare anyone beats us so fair play to you all well done."
Your man Howard looks a fine prospect

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 25/03/2018 20:50:50    2087943

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Monaghan generally love winter football, it suits them, heavy men playing on heavy ground. However once the hard turf starts to set it then Monaghan will fade, happens year in year out, not enough speed there for the dry summer days, unfortunately"
Hopefully Mickey Harte & his players are similarly deluded but I doubt it. Plenty of pace in that team of ours plus a very strong bench. Tyrone on home patch will be favourites & that suits us just fine !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 25/03/2018 20:57:00    2087947

Replying To DannyMcA:  "The perspex was put up as a direct response to the attack on the referee after the 2010 Leinster final between Meath and Louth. The attacker came from the stands not the terrace so go figure. Nice try though."
That's ridiculous. Perspex there at Hill because that's the danger area.

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 25/03/2018 21:02:31    2087951

Replying To Shelbourne:  "That's ridiculous. Perspex there at Hill because that's the danger area."
It was put up after a Louth fans attacked Mr Sludden in 2010

There was nothing there before that

The Louth fans didn't even run out from the Hill

That's a fact. Go and educate yourself if you must or you could just save yourself the time and listen.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/03/2018 21:09:05    2087955

Replying To Shelbourne:  "That's ridiculous. Perspex there at Hill because that's the danger area."
danger area ? please explain

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 25/03/2018 21:22:51    2087966

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/hill-16-fence-will-create-other-barriers-128275.html

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 25/03/2018 21:33:08    2087972