Dublin V Monaghan

Dead rubber game alright!!!

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 25/03/2018 16:50:04    2087716

Deserved win for Monaghan. That win was defo coming!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 25/03/2018 16:53:23    2087720

well done to monaghan .. no arguments.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/03/2018 16:54:50    2087721

A kick in the arse before the final might not be a bad thing.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 25/03/2018 16:58:03    2087725

Monaghan generally love winter football, it suits them, heavy men playing on heavy ground. However once the hard turf starts to set it then Monaghan will fade, happens year in year out, not enough speed there for the dry summer days, unfortunately

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 25/03/2018 16:59:43    2087732

Replying To greysoil:  "Dead rubber game alright!!!"
Just because you won doesn't change that fact!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 25/03/2018 17:00:42    2087734

Great to finally get one over on the Dubs in Croke Park, and in a tight game where it could have went either way towards the end.

Sure it was a dead rubber game and neither team really had anything to play for. But it's still a significant win for us in that it's a big morale boost ahead of the championship. If we'd went up against the Dubs and once again been pipped at the end having lead the game, that kind of thing can get into your head and make things more difficult in the future. At last it was us who hit the crucial score at the death. Hopefully if we get back to Croke Park in the summer, this time the last experience there for our players won't be another disappointing defeat, but a win over the Dubs.

Dublin don't want to lose any games, you only have to look at last week where they dug out a result after looking in trouble against Galway. Even though this was meaningless in terms of the league final, Gavin won't be happy I'm sure and it could light a fire under them for the final. I'd still strongly fancy Dublin to win it out.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 25/03/2018 17:04:51    2087740

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Monaghan generally love winter football, it suits them, heavy men playing on heavy ground. However once the hard turf starts to set it then Monaghan will fade, happens year in year out, not enough speed there for the dry summer days, unfortunately"
There's a good bit of speed in the squad now actually, O 'Connell for one is one of the fastest around. It's about picking the right and balanced team for the summer.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 25/03/2018 17:07:30    2087748

Replying To greysoil:  "Dead rubber game alright!!!"
Less of the soccer showboating you!

;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/03/2018 17:08:33    2087749

Replying To DannyMcA:  "Just because you won doesn't change that fact!"
yea exactly. Not to mention a Dublin team already through, with a load of young fellas playing a fairly strong monaghan team. Not ta king away from them, fully deserved win but perspective needed. Do it again In a meaningful game.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 25/03/2018 17:11:11    2087753

Replying To DannyMcA:  "Just because you won doesn't change that fact!"
Obviously it was a dead rubber in terms of the league table, but it can be a morale boosting win for us even if it doesn't affect the Dubs. Beating Dublin in Croke Park could do wonders for a young lad's confidence, even if it ultimately didn't mean much in the grand scheme of things. That's the way I look at it.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 25/03/2018 17:11:41    2087754

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "Monaghan generally love winter football, it suits them, heavy men playing on heavy ground. However once the hard turf starts to set it then Monaghan will fade, happens year in year out, not enough speed there for the dry summer days, unfortunately"
I don't think Monaghan are one bit afraid of Tyrone , heavy men on heavy ground ..the match was played today in hq , roll on may ...

stoneygrey (Monaghan) - Posts: 213 - 25/03/2018 17:14:58    2087761

Replying To DannyMcA:  "Deserved win for Monaghan. That win was defo coming!"
Yeah hats off

Monaghan have consistently put it up to Dublin and have been unfortunate not to get a win before now so really fair fecks to them!

Big improvement needed next day out but good to give highly competitive game time to the younger lads in CP.

You either win or you learn wha!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/03/2018 17:19:05    2087766

it was like a summers day in dublin today no better pitch or dryer pitch in the country than croke park, your sour grapes dont stand up to that arguement today lad, roll on the championship and we,ll see what ground suits monaghan. also if you hadnt noticed monaghan have used a lot more players for the league and giving some of the elder lads rest time a complete flip flop from other seasons and we managed to stay up comfortably so hopefully now everyone will be up to speed and not flogged come championship time

mrsme (USA) - Posts: 172 - 25/03/2018 17:20:27    2087768

Replying To patk:  "Obviously it was a dead rubber in terms of the league table, but it can be a morale boosting win for us even if it doesn't affect the Dubs. Beating Dublin in Croke Park could do wonders for a young lad's confidence, even if it ultimately didn't mean much in the grand scheme of things. That's the way I look at it."
Oh I dont deny the moral boost that comes with beating Dublin at all! I completely get that and as I said it has been coming from Monaghan a while. Fair play!!

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 25/03/2018 17:24:55    2087769

Replying To patk:  "Great to finally get one over on the Dubs in Croke Park, and in a tight game where it could have went either way towards the end.

Sure it was a dead rubber game and neither team really had anything to play for. But it's still a significant win for us in that it's a big morale boost ahead of the championship. If we'd went up against the Dubs and once again been pipped at the end having lead the game, that kind of thing can get into your head and make things more difficult in the future. At last it was us who hit the crucial score at the death. Hopefully if we get back to Croke Park in the summer, this time the last experience there for our players won't be another disappointing defeat, but a win over the Dubs.

Dublin don't want to lose any games, you only have to look at last week where they dug out a result after looking in trouble against Galway. Even though this was meaningless in terms of the league final, Gavin won't be happy I'm sure and it could light a fire under them for the final. I'd still strongly fancy Dublin to win it out."
Exactly! The lads won't be one bit happy with that loss. For me I'm thrilled that Comerford did well on the kickouts. Obviously 2 goals conceded which is disappointing but ye have quality forwards so it was always a worry.

DannyMcA (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 25/03/2018 17:29:00    2087773

Replying To waynoI:  "yea exactly. Not to mention a Dublin team already through, with a load of young fellas playing a fairly strong monaghan team. Not ta king away from them, fully deserved win but perspective needed. Do it again In a meaningful game."
Ah will ya stop. Sure it wasn't the Dubs full team we were playing but it wasn't the u-21s either, loads of all-stars and all-ireland medals scattered through that team.

Monaghan had nothing to play for today either, and experimented a good bit through the league and today - there's a handful of players that started today that won't against Tyrone. Sure it would be closer to our full strength team than Dublin, but then Dublin's strength in depth is far and away the best in the country so they're just not throwing any young lad in there.

I don't think anyone is getting overly carried away with this result, and I'd expect Dublin to get back to business in the final. But it is possible for it to be a dead rubber game and for us to still get something out of it. It's a big morale boost(especially for the young lads coming through) to beat the Dubs in Croker, a team which we haven't beaten since the mid-00s and who we've had a couple of bad beatings from in recent years. It's a good note to end the league on and a confidence booster ahead of the Ulster opener.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 25/03/2018 17:36:38    2087778

Ahh now leave that out.. I'm sure you would have enjoyed watching Tyrone beat Dublin in CO today!

No need to be a wreck the buzz

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/03/2018 17:43:34    2087783

Better team won. Fair play.

Rory Beggan's distribution was sensational.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 25/03/2018 17:44:01    2087784

A lot of comments here about it being a dead rubber, nothing at stake etc. . . .
but the crowd only came in when the "meaningful" game was over. I really felt sorry for P Gilroy and the Dublin hurlers, the support for them was pathetic.

yelowbelly (Wexford) - Posts: 409 - 25/03/2018 18:09:49    2087799