Failed drug test

Ignore Breffni lads he is obsessed with Kerry to an insane degree

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 30/05/2017 19:20:22    1992357

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "Ignore Breffni lads he is obsessed with Kerry to an insane degree"
Sure sign things are going well in the kingdom when the begrudgers are out in force.

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 30/05/2017 20:25:35    1992375

The reaction of tbe Kerry posters is pathetic, totally pathetic but predictable. Rules are there for a reason. Banned substances in sport are a serious issue and must be treated seriously whether intentional or not. Kerry must accept their player broke these rules and had to face the consequences. Stop putting up excuses and tbe tiresome, paranoid, non stop whinging.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 30/05/2017 20:59:00    1992392

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The reaction of tbe Kerry posters is pathetic, totally pathetic but predictable. Rules are there for a reason. Banned substances in sport are a serious issue and must be treated seriously whether intentional or not. Kerry must accept their player broke these rules and had to face the consequences. Stop putting up excuses and tbe tiresome, paranoid, non stop whinging."
Evidently another poster that can't read.

I don't see any Kerry fan on here saying he shouldn't have served a ban if he failed a test.

But it is important to point out he was cleared of any intentional wrong doing by the agency in charge of drug tests in Ireland.

He was entitled to appeal the ban's lenght in the circumstances and he did so.

Why this all only came to light now is something for Sports Ireland to explain which they said they will do in the coming days. That's the real issue, transparency.

I'm sure they will also take time to explain the context of why he failed. For example, I see someone posting above that he bought caffeine gel online, when the press are clearly reporting he was trying to take an alternative supplement because he had a problem with caffeine gel. There is no mention of it being purchased online.

What is pathetic, to use your terminology, is how the usual posters on here and other commentators will use the headline 'Kerry player failed drugs test' to throw a bit of mud at this young player and the Kerry GAA as a whole regardless of the facts behind the headline.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/05/2017 21:33:34    1992408

Replying To as_ky:  "Sure sign things are going well in the kingdom when the begrudgers are out in force."
No

He just has yiz figured perfectly.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/05/2017 21:57:26    1992418

Replying To Breffni39:  "Yeah you always fall back on that one and I keep telling you it's not Kerry, it's you and a couple of Kerry posters I have form on. I don't think you'll ever get this. I'm indifferent to Kerry and this bothers you. Yerra yerra poor aul Kerry."
You should just save that response Breff

It'll come in handy for future rebuttals

They really just can't get it.

Some really poor Kerry posters on here now compared to the old days.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/05/2017 22:01:51    1992421

Replying To jimbodub:  "You should just save that response Breff

It'll come in handy for future rebuttals

They really just can't get it.

Some really poor Kerry posters on here now compared to the old days."
Yerra I know us Kerry lads can't compete with the articulation, wit and insight of the Breffni/Jimbo double act on here but you know what if you don't like what Kerry posters have to say, you can avoid topics on Kerry or you can stick to your own counties forum.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/05/2017 22:36:04    1992439

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "Ignore Breffni lads he is obsessed with Kerry to an insane degree"
Ya and breffni and jimbo have very little to add to actual football discussions them selfs just the side shows that go with the games.

They just love the drama I guess.

I bet the love home and away and fair city.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 30/05/2017 22:43:26    1992444

Replying To TheHermit:  "Evidently another poster that can't read.

I don't see any Kerry fan on here saying he shouldn't have served a ban if he failed a test.

But it is important to point out he was cleared of any intentional wrong doing by the agency in charge of drug tests in Ireland.

Why this all only came to light now is something for Sports Ireland to explain which they said they will do in the coming days. That's the real issue, transparency.

I'm sure they will also take time to explain the context of why he failed. For example, I see someone posting above that he bought caffeine gel online, when the press are clearly reporting he was trying to take an alternative supplement because he had a problem with caffeine gel. There is no mention of it being purchased online.

What is pathetic, to use your terminology, is how the usual posters on here and other commentators will use the headline 'Kerry player failed drugs test' to throw a bit of mud at this young player and the Kerry GAA as a whole regardless of the facts behind the headline."
On the caffeine gel mate, I was just paraphrasing what Eugene McGee said on the last word tonight. I'm not sure where he got that information from whether from the formal SI report or informally in the GAA circles he's exposed to.

Hopefully nothing sinister.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/05/2017 23:22:19    1992459

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra I know us Kerry lads can't compete with the articulation, wit and insight of the Breffni/Jimbo double act on here but you know what if you don't like what Kerry posters have to say, you can avoid topics on Kerry or you can stick to your own counties forum."
Have you been on the dinner?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/05/2017 23:44:06    1992466

What is pathetic, to use your terminology, is how the usual posters on here and other commentators will use the headline 'Kerry player failed drugs test' to throw a bit of mud at this young player and the Kerry GAA as a whole regardless of the facts behind the headline."
He took a substance not on the approved list. As an intercounty player he knew it wasn't on the approved list. How is that not intentionally doing wrong?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 30/05/2017 23:56:39    1992469

Replying To as_ky:  "Sure sign things are going well in the kingdom when the begrudgers are out in force."
Yeah everyone on here is saying that the rules should be followed and if you break the rules, you have to pay the price. How is that begrudgery towards Kerry? I don't know why all the Kerry posters are feeling the need to defend him when nobody knows what the story is yet. The only thing we do know is that he failed the test, so that's a story in itself as it's very unusual. The only reason you're defending the failed drugs test is because he's from your own county. All I've heard from the O Sè's in the media is "sure he's a good lad etc". I have no doubt that he's a nice fella and all that but whether he is or he isn't is completely irrelevant.

HurlingSnob (Dublin) - Posts: 220 - 31/05/2017 02:32:07    1992475

Replying To GreenandRed:  "

He took a substance not on the approved list. As an intercounty player he knew it wasn't on the approved list. How is that not intentionally doing wrong?"
AGAIN the agency that's tasked with all of this has stated in its written statement on the matter: 'Sport Ireland accepted that Mr. O'Sullivan bore no significant fault or negligence'

You might want to be the judge, jury and executioner on this, but if the body in charge is saying it was not intentional then I think they should know what they're talking about!

And I think you and others should be seriously asking yourself if its right to post what you are posting, all you are doing is trying to imply that what Sport Ireland themselves have said is wrong and that something worse is going on and when your dealing with a young fella's career and reputation I don't think that is right.

As I feared once this gets out, some fella's will disregard the facts and just jump to conclusions and use it as another stick to beat the Kerry footballers with over the summer.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 31/05/2017 09:33:22    1992512

It's a shame that many are going on the ultra defensive here. Username called it best, the issue is not as much about the drug or the player but how the issue has been dealt with by the governing bodies.
Regardless of whether he intentionally took something or not, he was served a suspension (which he appealed) but it would appear that the suspension was accommodated to suit either the player, his club or his county as he appears to have missed no competitive games while serving the suspension.
Lets forget that it's a Kerry player (as some posters just get so defensive about it), any county board that handles such a case this way needs to communicate their handling of this disciplinary case. Has a precedent been set here? Is this the first time such a suspension has been handled this way? Have their been other cases similar to this that have been hidden from the public view.
The only reason why this story came out is because a journalist unveiled it, the county board nor Sport Ireland nor the GAA communicated this out. I understand that we can't be hanging lads out to dry for innocent mistakes (which I believe O'Sullivan has made) but at the same time, covering it up and struggling to explain yourselves leaves a lot to be desired in getting your message across.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 31/05/2017 10:01:16    1992524

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yerra ya its funny how someone whose 'indifferent' always pops up on any topic that concerns Kerry.

Just as well they brought in the old thumbs up, thumbs down gimmick. It keeps you entertained anyway ;D"
Like I say you just don't get it.

I comment on all sorts of non-Kerry related topics. Yeah they exist!

Also, I can assure you the thumbs/up down gimmick is nothing to do with me. I haven't liked or disliked anything in this discussion.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 31/05/2017 10:32:22    1992540

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Ya and breffni and jimbo have very little to add to actual football discussions them selfs just the side shows that go with the games.

They just love the drama I guess.

I bet the love home and away and fair city."
I pretty much 100% backed the Kerry player earlier in the thread chief

So stop taking through your hoop

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 31/05/2017 11:32:45    1992569

Replying To TheHermit:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "[quote=TheHermit:  "Evidently another poster that can't read.

He took a substance not on the approved list. As an intercounty player he knew it wasn't on the approved list. How is that not intentionally doing wrong?"
AGAIN the agency that's tasked with all of this has stated in its written statement on the matter: 'Sport Ireland accepted that Mr. O'Sullivan bore no significant fault or negligence'

You might want to be the judge, jury and executioner on this, but if the body in charge is saying it was not intentional then I think they should know what they're talking about!

And I think you and others should be seriously asking yourself if its right to post what you are posting, all you are doing is trying to imply that what Sport Ireland themselves have said is wrong and that something worse is going on and when your dealing with a young fella's career and reputation I don't think that is right.

As I feared once this gets out, some fella's will disregard the facts and just jump to conclusions and use it as another stick to beat the Kerry footballers with over the summer."]I feel sorry for this guy. But he took a substance not on the approved list and he knew it wasn't on the approved list. For me it's immaterial what verdict Sport Ireland made. He took substance not on the approved list. It's as black and white as that .Maybe there are extenuating circumstances that haven't been made public. He should help himself more by making his own statement. I'm very wary of any any athlete saying they have taken something inadvertently when not getting caught can give them an advantage. It's up to them to know the approved list and take only approved substances.

If you get a speeding ticket in the post you're probably gonna pay the fine. Turning up in court saying you forgot the speed limit isn't a great defence.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 31/05/2017 16:29:03    1992720

So Brendan O'sullivan took a contaminated supplement is all it was .

So will the doubters come on now and apologise for taking the mans good name?

I doubt ye will.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 01/06/2017 20:55:03    1993271

I really don't get this, not casting allegations at the lad, but they took an open doped sample sent for analysing then sent an unopened sample and wasn't doped. The opened sample had been dopped and the unopened sample wasn't. How did they determine that he open sample wasn't tampered with, or maybe they couodnt/didn't and that's why he was banned? I don't see how this clears anyone of not doping, I'm happy to be wrong on that? How do they know how the sample got doped?

It seems hugely odd to me, that a player was taking something that was different from the rest of the team, surely there is a sports science team who manage this.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/06/2017 21:17:47    1993284

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "So Brendan O'sullivan took a contaminated supplement is all it was .

So will the doubters come on now and apologise for taking the mans good name?

I doubt ye will."
Sure this is what we knew already. He took a supplement that wasn't on the approved list. It was very naive. I posted exactly that fact a couple of days ago in this thread.
The reason it's not on the approved list is because it can contain anything. What he did was very stupid and he's completely accountable for what he puts into his body.
He took it on the recommendation of a friend in the gym, as alternative to what was recommended, according to the report. He didn't bother to check the supplement with the Kerry doctor or nutritionist.
It's very risky to take anything which isn't approved, given how poorly regulated the supplement industry is.
This is the reason he served a ban, because he was ultimately responsible.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2045 - 01/06/2017 21:44:16    1993293