Failed drug test

Sport Ireland has stated it was 'bad luck', if you read this thread you'd swear the whole Kerry squad were taking EPO

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts:246 - 30/05/2017

I doubt anybody seriously thinks there's a systematic doping scheme in place in Kerry.

At the same time though nowhere in the Sport Ireland statement does it mention 'bad luck'.

Sport Ireland Statement

The Disciplinary Panel, which is an independent panel of experts from legal, sports administration and medical backgrounds, has indicated that it will give its reasoned decision shortly and this decision will be published by Sport Ireland on receipt in line with standard practice, along with the decision of the GAA Anti-Doping Committee.

Sport Ireland cannot comment on the detail of the decision of the independent Irish Anti-Doping Disciplinary Panel until such time as that reasoned decision is received.

Haven't looked forward to an anti-doping report for a while.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 30/05/2017 13:05:16    1992163

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The mud has stuck now even if O'Sullivan's case seems innocent. Why is O'Sullivan himself not talking to media to give his side of the story?
Whether he likes it or not keeping it quiet this long will have some people thinking there's something to hide. He failed because of a contaminated product? How can anyone know if he got the product for performance-enhancing ingredients not on the label? Like all county players they have a list of what supplements they can and cannot take.

Thomas Connolly, a Monaghan squad player, was given a two year suspension for unintentionally taking a prohibited substance. His name was made public at the time of his suspension. If he took these banned substances unintentionally and O'Sullivan took banned substances unintentionally then why did Connolly get a two year ban and O'Sullivan less than 6 months.

I think it's naive to think that no-one in the GAA are intentionally taking performance enhancers that are not on the approved list."
It's only logical that among the hundreds or thousands of GAA players across county and club there is someone somewhere doing something he shouldn't.

As for the Monghan players case, I don't know the full details of that so maybe someone else can answer that question. But that was steroids if I'm not mistaken and I assume they would be far less lenient on someone taking something like that rather than what appears to have been a supplement in this case.

Sport Ireland have said the product was contaminated so I would trust them to know rather than the implication from your post that O'Sullivan was looking for something he shouldn't have been. That's just flinging mud at a player who has been exonerated!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/05/2017 13:07:00    1992165

Replying To GreenandRed:  "The mud has stuck now even if O'Sullivan's case seems innocent. Why is O'Sullivan himself not talking to media to give his side of the story?
Whether he likes it or not keeping it quiet this long will have some people thinking there's something to hide. He failed because of a contaminated product? How can anyone know if he got the product for performance-enhancing ingredients not on the label? Like all county players they have a list of what supplements they can and cannot take.

Thomas Connolly, a Monaghan squad player, was given a two year suspension for unintentionally taking a prohibited substance. His name was made public at the time of his suspension. If he took these banned substances unintentionally and O'Sullivan took banned substances unintentionally then why did Connolly get a two year ban and O'Sullivan less than 6 months.

I think it's naive to think that no-one in the GAA are intentionally taking performance enhancers that are not on the approved list."
Mayo supporters weren't over enthusiastic recently with two ex managers giving their side of a story , but know the Kerry lad should sing , aren't these things always so easy to see and straight forward when its not your county involved.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 30/05/2017 13:49:53    1992191

Replying To TheHermit:  "It's only logical that among the hundreds or thousands of GAA players across county and club there is someone somewhere doing something he shouldn't.

As for the Monghan players case, I don't know the full details of that so maybe someone else can answer that question. But that was steroids if I'm not mistaken and I assume they would be far less lenient on someone taking something like that rather than what appears to have been a supplement in this case.

Sport Ireland have said the product was contaminated so I would trust them to know rather than the implication from your post that O'Sullivan was looking for something he shouldn't have been. That's just flinging mud at a player who has been exonerated!"
It was contaminated. That's why it wasn't on the approved list. He wasn't exonerated. He had to servd a suspension. He says he didn't 'intentionally' take an unapproved substance. So he was given it and told to take it or he went off the approved list and took it himself. Either way isn't good. Because it's been kept a secret it looks even more suspicious. How do we know he didn't take a contaminated product specifically because he knew what performance-enhancing effect it has?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 30/05/2017 14:01:19    1992194

Replying To TheHermit:  "It's only logical that among the hundreds or thousands of GAA players across county and club there is someone somewhere doing something he shouldn't.

Sport Ireland have said the product was contaminated so I would trust them to know rather than the implication from your post that O'Sullivan was looking for something he shouldn't have been. That's just flinging mud at a player who has been exonerated!"
i am sure there is but he is not the first Kerry player to be caught is he? Personally i think Kerry should be put on red alert after this as the obviously cant read the guide lines down there like the rest of the country seem to be able to do.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 30/05/2017 14:05:33    1992199

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "i am sure there is but he is not the first Kerry player to be caught is he? Personally i think Kerry should be put on red alert after this as the obviously cant read the guide lines down there like the rest of the country seem to be able to do."
Yes of course, two incidents - one involving an inhaler the other involving a supplement- which took place 9 years apart and happen to be from the one county. But hey, Kerry are obviously as guilty as hell and the entire squad should be thrown out of the game for good!

I suppose next someone on here will be able to find a time Lance Armstrong visited Kerry and make 10 out of 2 +2.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/05/2017 14:28:38    1992218

Replying To Damothedub:  "Mayo supporters weren't over enthusiastic recently with two ex managers giving their side of a story , but know the Kerry lad should sing , aren't these things always so easy to see and straight forward when its not your county involved."
Indeed they're not. No more than here we don't know the full story of Connelly and Holmes or what went on with the players. But at least they had some say in the media. Why are people speaking on O'Sullivan's behalf and not him talking?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 30/05/2017 14:34:35    1992225

So you're saying give the Kerry lad the benefit of every doubt and go by the letter of the law for the Monaghan lad. Yeah seems fair.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 30/05/2017 14:43:02    1992229

We have been doping our players for years only to recently find out that you aren't actually supposed to use Dope but performance enhancing drugs. It does explain a lot though!!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 30/05/2017 14:44:26    1992231

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yes of course, two incidents - one involving an inhaler the other involving a supplement- which took place 9 years apart and happen to be from the one county. But hey, Kerry are obviously as guilty as hell and the entire squad should be thrown out of the game for good!

I suppose next someone on here will be able to find a time Lance Armstrong visited Kerry and make 10 out of 2 +2."
There's a very good reason that no-one thinks that the Kerry squad aren't taking performances enhancers. Ye don't need them. Unfortunately for the rest of us!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 30/05/2017 15:22:16    1992250

Apologies, should be -

There's a very good reason that no-one thinks that the Kerry squad are taking performances enhancers.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 30/05/2017 15:25:08    1992253

Replying To TheHermit:  "Yes of course, two incidents - one involving an inhaler the other involving a supplement- which took place 9 years apart and happen to be from the one county. But hey, Kerry are obviously as guilty as hell and the entire squad should be thrown out of the game for good!

I suppose next someone on here will be able to find a time Lance Armstrong visited Kerry and make 10 out of 2 +2."
Yes exactly two incidents surely after a player in the past failing to follow the strict guidelines there would be an emphasis on not letting it happen again within the county. Apart from one Monaghan player cant think of any other county whos players failed to abide by the doping rules and for that reason they need extra monoriting.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 30/05/2017 15:29:03    1992255

Replying To Breffni39:  "So you're saying give the Kerry lad the benefit of every doubt and go by the letter of the law for the Monaghan lad. Yeah seems fair."
Where did I say that?

I don't know anything much about the Monaghan case bar that it was a case of failure due to steriods.

Both served a suspension.I am only giving my opinion why the Monaghan player may have got a longer suspension. Nothing more.

I've never commented on here about any other doping case before O'Sullivan's came to light and this thread was started.

Maybe read a post next time rather than replying to what you think it says.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/05/2017 15:38:20    1992264

One point worth clarifying is that the product he took was contaminated, and wasn't on the approved list. Contaminated in this case doesn't mean an approved product, which in some way had something extra in it, causing the failed test.
It means the product was not approved and the actual breakdown of ingredients was not verified by the anti-doping authorities.
Again, I'm not saying that O'Sullivan intentionally did anything. In fact I'd highly doubt it. But this is where he does bear some responsibility. There are some earlier comments suggesting that he was unlucky, in that he took something which was approved, but was contaminated. That's not the case.
He took something which was not on the approved list, and left himself open to something like this. The supplement industry is very poorly regulated, so anything can be found in products which aren't on the approved list. What he took may not have 'supposed' to have methylhexaneamine, but that's a risk when taking something which isn't approved.
At the end of it, he has suffered the consequences and I feel sorry for him, but it might do some good in warning other players who might naively be taking unapproved supplements.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2045 - 30/05/2017 16:22:35    1992283

Replying To TheHermit:  "Where did I say that?

I don't know anything much about the Monaghan case bar that it was a case of failure due to steriods.

Both served a suspension.I am only giving my opinion why the Monaghan player may have got a longer suspension. Nothing more.

I've never commented on here about any other doping case before O'Sullivan's came to light and this thread was started.

Maybe read a post next time rather than replying to what you think it says."
I did read your post and that's exactly what it reads like.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 30/05/2017 16:37:33    1992290

Replying To Breffni39:  "
Replying To TheHermit:  "Where did I say that?

Maybe read a post next time rather than replying to what you think it says."
I did read your post and that's exactly what it reads like."
I'm sure I'm your head it did, you have plenty of form when it comes to anything that might cast Kerry in a bad light.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/05/2017 17:07:12    1992306

Yeah you always fall back on that one and I keep telling you it's not Kerry, it's you and a couple of Kerry posters I have form on. I don't think you'll ever get this. I'm indifferent to Kerry and this bothers you. Yerra yerra poor aul Kerry.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 30/05/2017 17:31:47    1992315

The governance of this just seems wrong to me surely with a team of sports scientists for the senior team, things like this shouldn't happen. Seems odd that the lad is buying caffeine gel online, when it is supplied by the Kerry sport science team. The closing of the ranks by the senior team seems odd as well surely they knew and were left in no uncertain terms only to take what the sports science team prescribes after this incident, if not its bad governance again, I'm sure they did know though and can understand protecting a team mate.

Is it true that he took a break from his suspension, played, then served the rest of his ban, maybe that has something to do with appeal process. Eugene McGhee had a very strong opinion on it this evening.

Hopefully nothimg murkier then a mistake and lads sticking up for a teammate going on here, I'm sure that's the case.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 30/05/2017 19:02:02    1992347

Why was the book thrown at the Monaghan player and Kerry player's infringement wouldn't be known to the public except for a press scoop?

It seems like preferencial treatment. Two years and public announcement vs keep it quite and serve less than quarter of the Monaghan player's ban in two chunks.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 30/05/2017 19:11:53    1992352

Replying To Breffni39:  "Yeah you always fall back on that one and I keep telling you it's not Kerry, it's you and a couple of Kerry posters I have form on. I don't think you'll ever get this. I'm indifferent to Kerry and this bothers you. Yerra yerra poor aul Kerry."
Yerra ya its funny how someone whose 'indifferent' always pops up on any topic that concerns Kerry.

Just as well they brought in the old thumbs up, thumbs down gimmick. It keeps you entertained anyway ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/05/2017 19:18:05    1992353